Oslo ATTRACTIONS See all

Slottsparken (The Royal Palace Park)

Located in central Oslo, Slottsparken (or the Royal Palace Park) is the city central park that surrounds the Royal Palace. Construction began in the 1820s by Hans Linstow, the same architect who built the palace, although because of financial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It is an easy and fast way to see the main sightseeings.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Horrible service, the day I went to Oslo there was a marathon and no tours were available but they still sold me the ticket online and did not reply to my email explaining my situation. Really bad service.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent tour - the buses were waiting when we were allowed off the cruise ship - the commentary was excellent and very clear and we were given a very comprehensive map.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great way to see the city and visit major attractions!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This got us started on our trip to Oslo. Could see the whole town and then plan to return the next day

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great way to get around the city to see and all the sites. You really need to do this for 2 days to see it all.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour! A great way of getting a feel for the city and finding out where everything is located.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good value for money. 1.5 hours tour. Lots of places to hop off bus. Good frequency. Would use again.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The bus trip was a really goo way to see Oslo. It worked so well for us; the Viator payment voucher was quickly accepted and we were on our way. Pleased with this trip

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Oslo is a lovely and historic city. The scenery along the way on this tour is fantastic. Went around The Royal Palace, The Nobel Peace Centre, Viking Ship Museum, the Parliament, the Cathedral, etc. and enjoyed the scenery. Due to heavy rain late in the afternoon, we weren't able to still go further but it's worth going around on this tour. Worth recommending to people planning to visit Oslo, Norway.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very useful way of getting your bearings, quick introduction to the highlights and providing orientation to return for closer inspection. Ideal for a cruise call stops at the cruise terminal too. Great for those less able to walk

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We basically used the hop on hop off bus for transport from our cruise ship to a couple of particular attractions, such as the Viking ship museum and for transport back to the city and the cruise terminal. Like all hop on hop off busses, they seem awfully slow to get around and take longer than you might expect to do a circuit. I refer to some of these buses as hop on - don't go! This particular bus was better than some, but not ideal either. And do they represent value for money? I guess that depends on how much time you have. The reality is, that for one day, they don't represent very good value, when time is considered waiting for the bus and allowing sufficient time to visit museums etcetera. May be a better option for a longer stay.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

For cruise ship visitors, the mode of transportation is not logical for getting to various places in a short amount of time. To make the entire tour loop is one thing, but once you get off, it is extremely difficult to hop back on because the buses are full. Also, we needed to hop off early at the Visitor Information Center near City Hall to pick up our Oslo Pass. The plan was to pickup the pass and resume our travels on the bus for our pre-planned venue visits. But the driver gave us wrong information about which stop to get off and we had to walk a long distance to get to the Info Center. This wasted valuable time resulting in not getting to visit some of our planned places. So just to see the sights as an overview, get on and then don't get off! Enjoyed the little time we had in Oslo, however, and we would like to visit again.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Their were not enough buses. We waited at the Viking museum for over an hour with many other people. The first bus that showed up was full and could not take more passengers. We would have been better off taking the public transportation. These buses were stopping by every 15 to 20 minutes.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I was very disappointed with this tour. The information on the website is that you could get on at any of the stops not necessarily the first stop. I decided to get on at the Opera House stop. I was there well before 10.00am and waited for over half an hour and no bus whatsoever turned up. So I did my own sightseeing tour, that was a waste of money for me. If there are any changes to the route it should be corrected on the website and perhaps emailed to the customers.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very convenient and efficient way to see the major sites in Oslo along with good narration on the bus.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

No problems. Ran on time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour began very well,and being met at the cruise terminal was terrific. The narration on the city was interesting and we hopped off at the Viking Museum, where it had just begun to rain. By the time we got out and wanted to continue to the Kon Tiki museum it was pouring. We ran to catch the bus and as we arrived the doors closed and we had to take a cab or drown. Thirty dollars for a 2 minute ride- no exaggeration. We hopped back on to return to the ship-and the only seat was next to the stairs. As we drove, the water cascaded down on me like Niagara Falls. I took Tour Maps, opened them and made a barrier so I wouldn't get soaked. There should be a contingency for rain. Many of the other standees were drenched as well. Great tour on a sunny day!!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Hop-On-Hop-Off is more like "Mob-On-Mob-Off" at popular stops, especially the Vigelandsparken sculpture park. It would be helpful for the company to have a process that allows passengers to disembark before permitting others to board. Also, our driver did not announce our stops, so we missed the Viking Museum venue, which was at the top of our list. The map HOHO provided was ambiguous about the route. Our alternative was to stay on the bus for another one hour-plus loop, which our schedule did not permit.When we complained about this to the HOHO staff, they told us it was our responsibility to listen for the stops on our earphones, despite the fact that the earphones were difficult to use and the narrative was not easy to understand.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Only go on this tour if you need the orientation and the transportation from one place to another. On board commentary was not really informative, and on many occasions the commentary did not correspond to the place the bus passed by. The buses are not very good. On the lower level the left side of the bus is mostly abstracted by the stair to the upper level. We had this tour when it was raining, and the roof of the bus had a leak, so the water was dripping on us. On many buses the upper level does not have windows, so the rain and wind will blow into your face. Only some of the buses have windows on the upper level.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Got on bus at cruise terminal. Processed quickly with the prepaid voucher. Had to move several times to find an audio outlet that worked. Free WiFi worked very well. Got off at Nobel Museum. Buses came by frequently. Got a complete overview of Oslo in a short period of time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We learned a lot and will do Hop On Hop Off when traveling again.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message