The Ottawa Locks 1 to 8 regulate the flow of the city’s signature Rideau Canal as it flows south from the Ottawa River. The hand-cranked locks provide a gradient of 24 meters (79 feet) on the canal, which runs for more than 200 km (124 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

COLIN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous combination of Hop On Hop Off Bus and River Cruise (no hop off recommended unless you swim well)
Lots of landmarks to see at all levels and from different perspectives

Really enjoyed both elements...highly recommended

Add on a free trip around Parliament building too!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Remedios L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Monique P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I loved it. In hindsight, it should be done over a 2 or 3 day tour as everything is so spread and you need the time at each stop to fully appreciate this beautiful city.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Gerald W Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My wife and I completely enjoyed the bus tour we were badly put off our efforts to find the canal we ended the bus tour at 11:30 took us until 1:30 to find the canal trip and thought it did not compare to the bus tour only seen the back of the buildings and far obstructed view by the tree canopy

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

mmortonuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good way to get around all the main sightseeing places. Lovely well put together itenerary.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Suresh B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Olympia L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The Ottawa bus tour and cruise was very generic but informative. The guide did speak very good English and French. He was very easy to understand. The bus and cruise took us to a lot of places. I was disappointed in the boat though as I thought it would be open air. Instead it was basically a closed in bus in the water. On the whole though, this was a good tour, impersonal but good.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Jeanette A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Staff informative and helpful
Canal cruise was down and back something needed on way back or change route if posasible.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Konrad B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We were travelling from Montreal via train so we arrived in Ottawa late morning. When we got to the kiosk to pick up our tour tickets, we learned that there are up to 2 hour intervals in between the hop off/hop on again. We only got as far as the bayward market, had lunch and rushed to the cruise due to time constraints. We ended up missing the first cruise and had to take the second one. It was very enjoyable! But since we had to get the train back to Montreal by 5 p.m., we never got a chance to get back on the hop on/hop off. Unfortunately we ended up seeing very little of the city. I would recommend doing this but stay in Ottawa overnight and not try to do this as a day trip. It's a very pretty city! I would also recommend going there on Canada Day (July 1st) to get the full experience of Canada's "4th of July."

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Nicole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent way to see the city and visit the attractions.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Winn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The only hiccup is that we were not picked up at Les Suites Hotel after calling and confirming that we would be by Grey Lines. I called them when we arrived home to put in a complaint, we were in their computer system, but the left hand did not let the right hand know what was going on. We eventually had to take a taxi, because we did not know where the kiosk was. Good bilingual guides, funny, especially the one on the Hop-on Hop-off.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Alfons S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Everything was OK. Nice trip, beautiful weather and lovely people. Thanks.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Maurice M H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

A very enjoyable experience. Buses were on time and we'll kept. Guides were knowledgeable and amusing. Good value for money.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Bram L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This tour is a brilliant way to see a multitude of Ottawa's places of interest in a 2-hour time span. Furthermore, you can hop on and hop off at about 20 sites. The guide was a young dude, but he was nevertheless fluent in French and English and more importantly informative and knowledgeable in a entertaining way. I personally recommend people to hop off at the Canadian war museum, a must see if you are interested in historical warfare.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Wiliiam D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Most enjoyable tour of Ottawa, with a good mixture of stops for photos and drive-bys. Outstanding driver!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Kim J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great city tour. Best way to see Ottawa. Our tour guide spoke both French and English and was very informative and fun! We did the Rideau Canal boat tour and that was very fun as well. Once again our tour guide was very informative and FUN! I would recommend this tour and believe it to be a bit cheaper than doing each tour separate.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Wombat Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Unfortunately we chose a rainy day for the boat trip but the experience was still enjoyable., Lots of information about the city. The Hop-on/off bus tour is worth doing as there is a lot of history in the city of Ottawa

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Jennai A

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The tour was very good except that the microphone on the bus was not working properly so we were not getting the full benefit of what the tour guide was saying which is the best part. Please provide the tour operators with properly functioning equipment. It would make a huge difference.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

peter m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

very good included boat trip as well'but strange ticket only valid for one day other citys tours valid for up to three days?

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Edith D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We really enjoyed the hop on hop off bus tour - so much that we did the whole tour twice! The guides were informative and entertaining. The boat cruise on the Ottawa River was very relaxing - the guide here was a bit hard to understand as she talked very quickly. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Rick E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Ottawa is a truly beautiful city. We would not have seen as much as we did without the bus trip. The boat was lovley and we were able to see the sunset. The best part was that on the boat as well as the bus tours ,the narrators were extremely knowledgeable, well spoken and entertaining. I would recomend both

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

robyn g

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Tour very interesting and informative

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Lili K

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

The Cruise was great - reallyenjoyed the tour guide and felt that I saw a great deal of the Ottawa Highlights however, the bus was not as enjoyable. The Tour Guide spoke to quickly and there wasn't enough to see - should visit other districts of Ottawa such as the Glebe, China Town etc.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Grace J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Enjoyed both the bus trip and the Ottawa river trip very much. Well worth the money and a great way to see the beautiful city of Ottawa. Added bonus of getting picked up from our hotel in the morning. Thank you.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Maria Jose U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

GREAT FOR ANY ONE AND EVERYONE TO DO AT LEAST ONCE... I had lived in Ottawa for 7 years but my fiance didn't know the city... We decided to take the tour to move around the city, but it surprised us on how informative and good the guide was, as well as the opportunity we had to go to different places around the city that normally we would've not gone... =)

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message