Insider's Guide to Ottawa

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Ottawa ATTRACTIONS See all

Ottawa Parliament Hill

Canada’s political heart focuses on Ottawa’s Parliament Hill, crowned with a flurry of grand government buildings. The most impressive building is the Gothic-style Centre Block, the main Parliamentary Building, with its soaring central Peace ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

This was the worst experience in my life, very disappointed.

Doing what: Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water

Merle K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour and we saw much more than just wandering around the local area. The guide was great and showed us how to get to areas which we wanted to return to on our free day. Advice - we always do a city tour the first day we are there. Then if we have other free days we know exactly what to see and where we want to return to.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great. Extremely knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour is good for locals like us well as visitors to Ottawa.
Also pleased with Viator's response to conflict between tour company's requirement to pay for toddlers and website's nonpayment requirement which impacted cost comparison

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Unfortunately it rained when we were taking the tour the first time. We all moved downstairs and continued the tour from there. The tour guide was very upbeat and knowledgeable. We were happy with her. The downside is that the bus had some kind of protective coating on the windows so that it was if we were looking through a screen. This really obscured our vision, hampered any photography and put a damper on the tour. One piece of advice Pick a sunny day to take this tour.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Whilst the commentary was good the tour did not even last an hour! Started at 11.00am (not 10.30 am as advised) and we were back at the starting point by 11.50am.

Doing what: Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous combination of Hop On Hop Off Bus and River Cruise (no hop off recommended unless you swim well)
Lots of landmarks to see at all levels and from different perspectives

Really enjoyed both elements...highly recommended

Add on a free trip around Parliament building too!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I loved it. In hindsight, it should be done over a 2 or 3 day tour as everything is so spread and you need the time at each stop to fully appreciate this beautiful city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Standard fare hop on hop off tour. Only leaves the first stop every two hours so we ended up wasting time. We were there in August and they stop running at six, so wasted daylight hours. We really had time for two attractions. We called for hotel pick up which they provided free and our hotel was outside their usual pick up zone. This was much appreciated however the return driver very not happy about this. The guides were knowledgable and kept everyone informed.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My wife and I completely enjoyed the bus tour we were badly put off our efforts to find the canal we ended the bus tour at 11:30 took us until 1:30 to find the canal trip and thought it did not compare to the bus tour only seen the back of the buildings and far obstructed view by the tree canopy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good way to get around all the main sightseeing places. Lovely well put together itenerary.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The Ottawa bus tour and cruise was very generic but informative. The guide did speak very good English and French. He was very easy to understand. The bus and cruise took us to a lot of places. I was disappointed in the boat though as I thought it would be open air. Instead it was basically a closed in bus in the water. On the whole though, this was a good tour, impersonal but good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Staff informative and helpful
Canal cruise was down and back something needed on way back or change route if posasible.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message