• USD ($)
  • English

Palm Cove ATTRACTIONS See all

Hartley's Crocodile Adventures

An eco-adventure for all ages, Hartley’s Crocodile Adventures gives you the chance to get up close to those smiling crocodiles. It’s an informative and educational day where you will learn about many species native to Australia. Take a cruise ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I had a fantastic day here, but be under no illusions this is a farm for the purpose of breeding crocodiles for skin and meat, so if that offends you don't go. (But please do, you'll have a great day). It is not a zoo per say, but having said that it does also form the function of a zoo away from the meat production. There are also some excellent opportunities to photograph some 'wildlife' which visits or lives in and around the park, for example I took (for me) some great shots of Nankeen Night Herons. The shots of the crocs were outstanding too, both esturine and freshwater. In relatively safe and 'natural' conditions. I learnt loads too, about breeding, temperature affecting gender and so on. I missed the boat (timed) because I too busy talking to the Cassowaries, no problem, they just put me on the next boat. There was so much to do here, its not just crocs, although there were some monsters, there's koalas, birds, snakes, a lovely black headed python, beautiful frogs, roos (and loads more too) and a nice cafe for an ice cream or a cup of tea. I went off away from the crowd and did my own thing, watching the big male crocodiles having a spat, sorting out breeding rights. It was really nice, not to busy. They had some staged shows too, which the kids loved. I liked them too, with a Steve Irwin (rest his soul) type patter. It was such good value for money, I wish I could have spent longer here. From a wildlife perspective I was like a kid in a candy shop, with wild birds, rainbow lorikeets, and welcome swallow swooping in. The lady on reception was nice too, and we had a short chat about frogs. I did an expedition to Rio Mazan in Ecuador to help with frog study in the 80's. Hartley's was well organised (if a little contrived, like many of the Australian events I've been on), but I enjoyed it. I would go again, and so should you too.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

the shows are very good! good day out

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Pretty awesome. The guides there were knowledgable, friendly and funny. It was crazy watching the aligator attack show.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

Do a full day tour that includes the croc farm instead of this half day tour. You are only in the farm for two hours and that is about an hour too long cause the farm is very small. But the crocs are awesome to see and you do need to check out Hartley's if you have the chance to do so.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

Susan
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Brilliant tour , well organized. The bus driver was very good and interactive with the children and others. You don't miss a thing and its was a great tour, you come away with a better understand of Australia's wildlife.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Good shows! Need more time to enjoy!

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Brilliant place with very friendly staff. I had a terrific time.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Thought this was a great day. It was a great croc attack show when one of the handlers get into the pen to show you the head shake and death roll

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

HIEN V
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Very well organized afternoon. The boat tour and the crocodile attack show were fun, scary and informative.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

My very full half-day trip to Hartley's. The crocodile feeding on the riverboat tour was excellent, as was the attack show. The tour of the crocodile farm was interesting if a little short. And Hartley's also has a number of other animals on site, including koalas, cassowaries and exotic birds. I would strongly recommend visiting this place if you have a spare half day in Cairns

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Very nice and safe contact to awesome reptiles - Hartley's crew are wonderful cheerful people with a fantastic sence of humour! I've enjoyed this adventure a lot!

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

Suzy D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Great guide who really made the tour fun. Great shows and lots to see

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

Sharon W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Really enjoyed this. The snake and crocodile shows were a must. A half day trip is definitely enough to fit everything in.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Hartley's is a nice place to see Australian wildlife. It was well worth the half day and a great tour for someone arriving in Cairns early in the day and wanting to jump right in. All other tours began too early in the day before my 9 am arrival. The driver was very nice and quite knowledgeable about the habitat and local fauna.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

Shirley S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

The silence and stealth of the crocks was scary.

Doing what: Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message