Palm Cove ATTRACTIONS See all

Skyrail Cableway

The rainforests of far north Queensland boast unparalled biodiversity, abounding with many unique plant species as well as possums, tree kangaroos, bats and a huge range of birdlife. But you needn’t necessarily rough it to get a taste of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Fuzz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

a wonderful day - well worth the extra to go gold class

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Worth it! We loved the package - we were well taken care of and exceeded our expectations. The heli ride back from the GBR was the highlight - definitely don't skip that.
If anything, I could have skipped the Rain Forestation - was very crowded and felt rushed and herded through a tourist trap. I read about more adventures through the tableland, and think we might have enjoyed that more.
Overall, I was pleased with the 2-day package and thought it was an excellent value for the cost looking at individual prices. It was nice to not have to spend time while in Cairns sitting at travel agents office and compare prices while there. Having it set up and taken care of ahead of time was the way to go!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Girish V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was quite an experience. Thanks.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Nga Yee Vivian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had a great time. The crews are very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Tours run down are well-planned and smooth. Coach has been arranged and stand by at the pick-up beforehand, so customers don't have to wait long. A itinerary together with the tickets of the train and cable car is provided, customers could manage their trip without a problem. Really appreciated the attentive arrangement, will definitely join the local tour operator in the future!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Sheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day was beautiful. Took the cable up and the train back. Loved the little town.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

mike United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Starts with an hotel pickup straight to the train station. A great train journey up the mountains with a good live commentary and opportunities for some good photo opportunities. The old fashioned train, coaches and stations really added to the atmosphere.
The cableway return journey was also very good, with a couple of stopping points where you can get off to explore and take more photos.
The only downside is the village of Kuranda which was a bit touristy for our liking but might well suit others more.
Worth checking with your tour on return times - we were told one time - came down a bit early and found we had just missed an earlier bus that we did not know about.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Junaid S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

It was a good tour, a bit haphazardly organised so that we ended up missing the indigenous dance on day 1 and the last part of the day 1 tour ended up being really rushed so we couldn't enjoy the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway fully and were late by the end of it. But we loved everything we did get to do and see. I wish the helicopter ride went over more reefs, they just showed us 2 which were beautiful but we would've enjoyed seeing more within that time.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Franklin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gold Class Railway trip up to the Kuranda was great! Comfortable seating, good food and drinks with first-class service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Milts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Diving in the reef was a great experience and seeing the aerial view of the reef thru the helicopter back to Cairns was really just jaw-dropping! Will definitely come back and dive in the Great Barrier Reef!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Barry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both the train trip and the gondola through the tropical forest were great. I also really enjoyed snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef although the weather wasn't the best the reef was still something.A big thanks to the crew of our boat for looking after my other half she had bad sea sickness and couldn't get on the helicopter back quick enough, which was a great ride

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Jody M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I imagine the trip would have been much better if the weather had not been so bad. The main reason for the so-so rating, however, is that I found Kuranda to be a major tourist trap. I have rarely seen so many tourist shops, aside from cruise ports in the Caribbean.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Darryl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fabulous. We loved every minute.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Nigel China

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was fantastic! The best tour ever! Way beyond expectation!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Bryony C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant. Everything ran very smoothly: courteous and punctual drivers, tickets and itinerary printed for us so no queues. Just the right amount of time in Kuranda and to take the little boat trip on the Barron River to look at freshwater crocs and feed turtles and fish, railway gold class well worth the extra cost, and the drive back to Port Douglas around the coast at sunset a bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Philip M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great scenery, very friendly staff, would highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Neil D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sky rail up the mountain and gold class train back down was ideal for us 60 retirees. Many others including families were similar. Time in Kuranda between transfers was ideal for a good look aroung market areas and then nice meal at the pub. Very relaxed, walking was uphill and back for shops and sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Elizabeth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We bought the gold class tickets. Well worth the money. A day we will always remember. Such a well run day: from the coach pick-up at motel to the triain, first class service on the train, the village is full of things to do and see, the Skyrail was a wonderful experience then back on the coach, delivered to the front door of motel!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Grace L P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everyone is so helpful and nice. My sister and I had such a good time, we'll be back.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Rodney R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was so well organised, the staff all lovely and the air rail something to be experienced. I'd recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Russell Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

These were my first 2 days in Australia and, besides the sea sickness, was a great introduction of things to come during the rest of my trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Elizabeth S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Great train trip, good information and loved that the train stopped for photos at Barron falls. Loved the town at Kurranda. The Butterfly House and the Bird House were good to visit. Enjoyed wandering through the old market area. I wasn't keen about travelling back on Skyrail, as I don't like heights, but the view from up there is amazing. The staff were great. Would have preferred an option of travelling back by train or bus.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message