The rainforests of far north Queensland boast unparalled biodiversity, abounding with many unique plant species as well as possums, tree kangaroos, bats and a huge range of birdlife. But you needn’t necessarily rough it to get a taste of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommende these two awsome daytrips.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. Happy we upgraded to Gold. Would recommend this to one and all

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We simply loved our tour. It was amazing and would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour itself was very nice. However there were a few issues that could be improved. The bus company did not always come on time for the pick up, so I needed to call them. The boat was too packed with tourists, maybe the number can be restricted to enjoy more privacy for the participants. A lot of people got seasick and there were not enough room for sitting because people laid down etc. Overall it was a good trip. The helicopter ride over Great Barrier Reef, Kuranda tour, Skyrail were worthwhile.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Everything ran very smoothly and the scenic railway, rainforestation tour and the sky rail were great things to do for our kids and us alike. If anything the bus pickup at the end of the day could have been much earlier as we did not feel we needed as much time as allowed for in Kuranda or coming back down on the sky rail. Would suggest an hour earlier pickup.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE . MAKE SURE YOU DO OVER 2 DAYS THOUGH TO GIVE ENOUGH TIME IN KURANDA . WORTHWHILE WHEN YOU GET OFF THE TRAIN IN KURANDA GOING TO THE SKYRAIL TICKET OFFICE (ONLY 2 MINS WALK AWAY ) TO PICK UP YOUR TICKETS FOR THE RETURN JOURNEY LATER IN THE DAY TO SAVE QUEUING AS WAS QUITE BUSY GOING BACK DOWN . TRAIN RIDE PRETTY SPECTACULAR AND KURANDA VERY QUAINT . WE WENT END OF SEPT AND THE WATERFALL IS NOT IN FULL FLOW THEN . THE BARRIER REEF TRIP WAS EXCELLENT ALSO . THE CREW ON THE BOAT WERE BRILLIANT . WE TOOK HELICOPTER BACK TO CAIRNS WHICH GAVE SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF THE BARRIER REEF . THE WHOLE TRIP WAS WELL ORGANISED WITH NO PROBLEMS AT ALL.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Kaz
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

No skip the line here, only queue skipped was to purchase tickets, still had to queue for a considerable period.The fact that we paid considerably more through Viator than the other 2 couples we were seated with, (one were upgraded through their hotel the other was booked through there travel agent) just made it worse. Our allocated seats were also given to someone else, so we were moved to a shared carriage. And this was a gold upgrade! Very expensive experience, would not recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing crew and sights. Flawless.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day of fun for the entire family. Gold class was nice but not sure it's worth the extra money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, gold class well worth the extra. Both train and sky rail very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We were picked up on time from our hotel and taken first to drop off people at the Tjabukai Centre, then more people at Skyrail which seemed to be absolutely chaotic where we had to wait for some time while drivers swapped passengers between coaches and were finally taken to the Kuranda Scenic Rail station. We had booked Gold Class and our boarding pass said we would have time to explore Freshwater station and enjoy a Mocktail in the Pavilion area. When we finally found our way to the Paviliion, we were told that our driver should have given us stickers with our Boarding Pass identifying us as Gold Class passengers which he hadn't done. All other passengers had identifying badges and we felt like intruders in their carriage!
The journey up to Kuranda on the train was enjoyable and it was not Viator's fault that the weather was atrocious! Can thoroughly recommend going in a Gold Class carriage where they serve nibbles and drinks throughout the journey and the hostess was excellent. There was ample leisure time to explore Kuranda in the rain. Our journey down on Skyrail was marred only by the extremely long queues to get into a gondola and the fact that the cloud was so dense that we couldn't see more than a few metres - none of the spectacular views which I have previously seen from Skyrail. Again, the weather was not Viator's fault. I wasn't expecting to be standing in a queue with my 88 year old father for over 25 minutes to get into a gondola - this tour was called "Skip the Line" and we certainly weren't able to do that.
Good points - not having to find our own transport to the Train Station or home from Skyrail at the end of the afternoon.
Bad points - not being given Gold Class identification and thus feeling like gatecrashers, and having to stand in a looooong queue to get back down from Kuranda.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome two day trip. Both sets of guides were awesome. Only downside was the arrival back on the sky rail was late which caused the driver picking us up to chastise us as if it was our fault. He was absolutely the only negative we had either day.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

These two days present very different sides of Cairns and were excellent. The train trip up was very interesting and relaxing. I saw the rain forest in the rain plus all the animals including roos, crocs and koalas. I would have liked to had more time to browse the shops in Kurunda but I know everything cannot be done in a day. The wait for the trip down was a bit long but that was because the Skyrail had been shut down due to thunder storms. The driver was patiently waiting when I finally arrived to go back to my hotel. The reef trip the next day was very well organized. The highlight was the helicopter trip back to the airport. Absolutely fantastic!!! I also enjoyed the glass bottom boat trip and the lunch. If you only have two days in Cairns, this is how to spend the two days.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message