Palm Cove ATTRACTIONS See all

Skyrail Cableway

The rainforests of far north Queensland boast unparalled biodiversity, abounding with many unique plant species as well as possums, tree kangaroos, bats and a huge range of birdlife. But you needn’t necessarily rough it to get a taste of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 109 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Simply amazing! First you get to ride in a brand new first class boat out to the reef. Then you get to snorkel or dive in two different locations - the best snorkeling in the world as far as I'm concerned. Even though there are lots of people this tour has everything very organized. It's easy to get away from the crowds once your in the water as well. You get plenty of time to swim with the fishes. Kuranda was also very nice. The scenic railway and riding the gondola were highlights for me!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

DANIEL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour muy bien organizado. El primer día sin un guía pero con traslados, viaje en el scenic train almuerzo, recorridos y vuelta en teleférico cronometricamente indicados en el brief. El segundo día se llega a la Barrera de Coral en una embarcación lujosa y con buenos servicios buffet. Incursiones con snorkel y buceo, a elección, muy divertidas. Todo el tour muy recomendable.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

janine.s United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour we took the train up and sky rail down. everything went well from being picked up outside our apartment to being dropped off. Booking Gold class was worth every penny the seats on the train were comfortable and uncrowded, we were served with food and drink throughout the train journey. the free time we had at the top was more than long enough to do what we wanted. It was a very hot day and we took the skyrail down earlier than our given time which did not seem to matter, when we got down we did not have to wait long before we were taken to our hotel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Victoria N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

All ran smooth staff were awesome would highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Stuart C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Two days that were very well organised with top class tour operators in the local area. The reef trip was a game of two halves. The first, treated to a brand new boat, first step class crew providing entertainment and excellent advice with a brilliant lunch. The second half a huge disappointment as the helicopter ride was cancelled due to heavy rain. Can't hold that against the tour operator ! The second day in the rain forest was very good, really enjoyed the optional trip to tai forestation.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

ChuckJ

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Great choice if you have limited time. The Barrier Reef experience could have been better if the group size was smaller than the 138 people we joined.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyable with a train ride up to Kuranda. The gold class service on the train was well worth it. Kuranda is a small touristy town to walk around. The ride down the mountain on the cableway was fantastic. 7km ride lasted 45 min and over the top of rainforests and gullys all the way down the hill.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

kim b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Go gold all the way. So enjoyable to sit back and enjoy the view. The wine and food were excellent. Private washrooms. Staff there to serve you. The skyrail was nice way to end the day. Well worth the money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Rodney P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great!!! Guides were wonderful. Weather cooperated. Food was good. We had a wonderful time. My wife and I are in our 70's yet felt very safe and had a great time at the reef.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

james c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was a success the train was a historic trip up an incredible railway and the town of Kuranda is a cute little place but the highlight for us was the skyrail which gave you an incredible view into the rainforest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Eileen M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Having the gold class was a wonderful experience. The railway tour is beautiful and very scenic. The sky rail on the way back down has beautiful views

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Fuzz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

a wonderful day - well worth the extra to go gold class

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Worth it! We loved the package - we were well taken care of and exceeded our expectations. The heli ride back from the GBR was the highlight - definitely don't skip that.
If anything, I could have skipped the Rain Forestation - was very crowded and felt rushed and herded through a tourist trap. I read about more adventures through the tableland, and think we might have enjoyed that more.
Overall, I was pleased with the 2-day package and thought it was an excellent value for the cost looking at individual prices. It was nice to not have to spend time while in Cairns sitting at travel agents office and compare prices while there. Having it set up and taken care of ahead of time was the way to go!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Girish V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was quite an experience. Thanks.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Nga Yee Vivian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had a great time. The crews are very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Tours run down are well-planned and smooth. Coach has been arranged and stand by at the pick-up beforehand, so customers don't have to wait long. A itinerary together with the tickets of the train and cable car is provided, customers could manage their trip without a problem. Really appreciated the attentive arrangement, will definitely join the local tour operator in the future!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Sheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day was beautiful. Took the cable up and the train back. Loved the little town.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

mike United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Starts with an hotel pickup straight to the train station. A great train journey up the mountains with a good live commentary and opportunities for some good photo opportunities. The old fashioned train, coaches and stations really added to the atmosphere.
The cableway return journey was also very good, with a couple of stopping points where you can get off to explore and take more photos.
The only downside is the village of Kuranda which was a bit touristy for our liking but might well suit others more.
Worth checking with your tour on return times - we were told one time - came down a bit early and found we had just missed an earlier bus that we did not know about.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Junaid S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

It was a good tour, a bit haphazardly organised so that we ended up missing the indigenous dance on day 1 and the last part of the day 1 tour ended up being really rushed so we couldn't enjoy the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway fully and were late by the end of it. But we loved everything we did get to do and see. I wish the helicopter ride went over more reefs, they just showed us 2 which were beautiful but we would've enjoyed seeing more within that time.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Franklin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gold Class Railway trip up to the Kuranda was great! Comfortable seating, good food and drinks with first-class service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Milts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Diving in the reef was a great experience and seeing the aerial view of the reef thru the helicopter back to Cairns was really just jaw-dropping! Will definitely come back and dive in the Great Barrier Reef!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message