• USD ($)
  • English
The rainforests of far north Queensland boast unparalled biodiversity, abounding with many unique plant species as well as possums, tree kangaroos, bats and a huge range of birdlife. But you needn’t necessarily rough it to get a taste of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We were picked up on time from our hotel and taken first to drop off people at the Tjabukai Centre, then more people at Skyrail which seemed to be absolutely chaotic where we had to wait for some time while drivers swapped passengers between coaches and were finally taken to the Kuranda Scenic Rail station. We had booked Gold Class and our boarding pass said we would have time to explore Freshwater station and enjoy a Mocktail in the Pavilion area. When we finally found our way to the Paviliion, we were told that our driver should have given us stickers with our Boarding Pass identifying us as Gold Class passengers which he hadn't done. All other passengers had identifying badges and we felt like intruders in their carriage!
The journey up to Kuranda on the train was enjoyable and it was not Viator's fault that the weather was atrocious! Can thoroughly recommend going in a Gold Class carriage where they serve nibbles and drinks throughout the journey and the hostess was excellent. There was ample leisure time to explore Kuranda in the rain. Our journey down on Skyrail was marred only by the extremely long queues to get into a gondola and the fact that the cloud was so dense that we couldn't see more than a few metres - none of the spectacular views which I have previously seen from Skyrail. Again, the weather was not Viator's fault. I wasn't expecting to be standing in a queue with my 88 year old father for over 25 minutes to get into a gondola - this tour was called "Skip the Line" and we certainly weren't able to do that.
Good points - not having to find our own transport to the Train Station or home from Skyrail at the end of the afternoon.
Bad points - not being given Gold Class identification and thus feeling like gatecrashers, and having to stand in a looooong queue to get back down from Kuranda.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome two day trip. Both sets of guides were awesome. Only downside was the arrival back on the sky rail was late which caused the driver picking us up to chastise us as if it was our fault. He was absolutely the only negative we had either day.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

These two days present very different sides of Cairns and were excellent. The train trip up was very interesting and relaxing. I saw the rain forest in the rain plus all the animals including roos, crocs and koalas. I would have liked to had more time to browse the shops in Kurunda but I know everything cannot be done in a day. The wait for the trip down was a bit long but that was because the Skyrail had been shut down due to thunder storms. The driver was patiently waiting when I finally arrived to go back to my hotel. The reef trip the next day was very well organized. The highlight was the helicopter trip back to the airport. Absolutely fantastic!!! I also enjoyed the glass bottom boat trip and the lunch. If you only have two days in Cairns, this is how to spend the two days.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour is even 10/5 but because off the agency but NOT VIATOR!!!!! Because of viator we almost missed a part of our trip!!! So Cairns is awesome but I won't recommend Viator to my friends!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Both the train trip and the gondola through the tropical forest were great. We also really enjoyed snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef. The crew of our boat was first class and a lot of fun. Thanks for the perfect weather!!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The 2 day was wonderful. We enjoyed the rainforest and especially liked the build of excitement. Starting with the train ride in and ending with the sky rail back was perfect. We enjoyed the whole time in the market, especially getting to hold and take photos with Hogan. The staff was so nice and we were not rushed. They even took photos for us with our cameras, including a group shot.
We also enjoyed the Great Barrier Reef. I wish the weather would have been better, but that is not anyone's fault. I felt that the crew tried to make extra money by strongly suggesting over and over that you would need to rent a suit so that the jellyfish don't bite you. Being highly allergic to most insects and animals, I was afraid I would not be able to snorkel the reef which was the whole reason for coming. It would have been nice to know that in advance; however, we didn't see a jellyfish the whole time we were there. Other than pushing the suits, which could have been in our best interest, they were really nice. They were fun, helpful, informative, and entertaining. Elvis is the best!!! The food was good, but the snorkel was the best. Everyone was so jealous about the helicopter ride and especially that we got to fly all the way back and not return on the ferry; however, due to weather, it was cancelled. We are still currently waiting for a refund on that portion.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Bad weather but a beautiful 2 days
Good organisation good value

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Maria
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Good trip which gave us a good few hours on the reef and the staff were fantastic. We took the 30 minute helicopter trip back which I would definitely recommend to see the reef from an ariel view was amazing. My only reservation was the amount of guests on board but this wouldn't prevent us from recommending this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Had an amazing two days. Visiting the reef with the guys at down under was the highlight and the helicopter flight out was just amazing. Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a wonderful 2 day tour. We were able to visit the highlights of Cairns plus we spent one day on the Barrier Reef with a helicopter return from the Barrier Reef to Cairns. The helicopter ride allowed us to see a bird's eye view of a larger area of the Barrier Reef. We snorkeled 2 different locations. It was just as beautiful as expected. The tour offered persons without much snorkeling experience the opportunity to have a tour person guide them while holding onto a safety ring. The second day was a trip up to Kuranda - a charming small town in a rain forest, then a visit to an aboriginal cultural center plus a ride over the top of the rainforest. This tour is a perfect 2 day tour when visiting Cairns. It was very well organized and the staff did a great job.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The rainforestration was wonderful. Add this addition to the rainforest day trip. The snorkeling trip did not seem well organized while everyone was in the water. Safety procedures on board were in place. The snorkeling day trip was not what I expected to see in the Great Barrier Reef.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great experience in Cairns. Karunda park was absolutely wonderful as well as thre great barrier reef.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Loved the Great Barrier Reef and the helicopter ride. Great Day!!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Неплохой тур, на рифе была маленькая лодка, было тесновато, за то на вертолете было очень здорово.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

Did what it said i.e. barrier reef and Kuranda rail and cableway, however, was very busy, rushed and chaotic. Maybe the only way to experience these trips but I would choose to pay more and avoid the crowds

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message