The glistening, artificial heart of the Panama Canal, Lago Gatún covers what was once the fertile Chagres River Valley, until 1907 home to scores of small villages and wondrous rainforested tracts. When it finally filled, by 1913, it was the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Tour description and what happened are quite different. The boat ride was very short,less than an hour. There was no disembarking the boat, no kayaking, nothing but a very short boat ride. We then went to a nature preserve which was a poor excuse for a zoo. We were given a stale sandwich and a drink to picnic with. The most expensive tour that we took and most disappointing.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Leslie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a good guide for the two of us. Good experience all around: three types of monkeys and a young crocodile were special to see.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Marsha P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

trip around gatun lake fantastic. Saw capuchino and howler monkies, alligator, iguana and turtle.
kayak ride OK. lUNCH ok

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Bernardo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

George was a great guide. Had a fantastic time and definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Ralph E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great trip! Great Guide! This tour met all our expectation.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our guide was very professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. And that he went out of his way to make us feel welcome in his country.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Highlight of our trip!! Everything was perfect!

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Jonathan E USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

The tour guide on this was wonderful a young man whom wanted to share his vast knowledge with us on the lakes and canal. Unfortunately when we got to the Island we were going to kayak but the equipment was locked away and no key! My son was eagerly awaiting the secret WW2 US communications center on one of the islands but this has been taken off the tour due to the widening of the canal.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Allan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our Monkey Island Cruise was spectacular. We saw monkeys, lizards, baby crocodiles, and a variety of birds. So glad we did this cruise.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Matt G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Excellent family tour. Tour leader was terrific as was the boat captain. Highlight was definitely getting to feed the monkeys on Monkey Island.
If you're in Panama City this should be #1 on your list.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message