Panama City ATTRACTIONS See all

Miraflores Locks

It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and guide

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Jill H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great up close, right in the middle of it all. What a fabulous experience. I think the day trip passage with 2 locks on a small boat was the best. Male tour guide was full of knowledge.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Cameron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our group of fou,r adults really enjoyed the tour. The spokesperson was excellent providing information about the canal as we moved along. Crew members were friendly and helpful. Food was good and the free cold drinks welcome. Recommend to anyone considering doing the Panama Canal.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Couldn't ask for a better tour guide! Kevin hails from Boston, MA, USA and has been living in Panama City for over a decade. Great insights at every stop as you're seeing Panama City through the eyes of a non-native but someone who absolutely loves this city. He really knows the tour guide business and gave us many tips along the way to avoid crowds. For example, he made sure we were at the Miraflores Locks just as soon as the observation building opened to keep us from being swallowed up by the inevitable crowds. Kevin drove our small van and kept us informed and entertained the entire day. It was a great experience!! You won't go wrong if you book with him!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Rodrigo L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience, outstanding guide. Only glitch, food is way too cheap.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Wayne Hopper H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of Panama. His tour of old town was great. There was not enough time at the Miraflores locks only one hour was allocated. The Smithsonian nature event was not worth while. We could have spent more time in old town or the canal.

The biggest negative for this tour was that we went on a tour in a regular sized van with ten adults packed into it. This was uncomfortable for everyone. This company needs to upgrade their transportation.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

sophia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was nice, but we were not able to have a walking tour for a reason of parking issues.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

THOMAS P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The boat was way too crowded for it to be an enjoyable experience. Viator could have two boats available but, of course, it would obviously cut into their profits. Pickup time was more than an hour and a half sooner than we were first told we knew it was approximate, but 1 1/2 hours! Food was good, narration was good except for parts we couldn't hear because of crowd. Wouldn't do again!1

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

sasprobe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed this very much, tour guide was very good with lots of information and great place for lunch..

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

sasprobe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip, long day.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Metod M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Impressed. Great guidance!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day, terrific guide. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Padlock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, great group, great guide. Money well spent.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

jacqueline f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

pick up was confusing no one would answer the phone so i could confirm my pick up. the tour itself was brilliant. we went through miraflores locks. the guide on board told us about every detail of the lock as it happened. the lunch was lovely. until it came to getting off at the other end then chaos reigned. the pick up buses werent there, when they arrived no one seemed to know who should be on which bus. some buses set off with the wrong people on and had to be caught up, but we got there in the end.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Saw what I wanted. Keith was great.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Pauline. Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

it was great due to tour guide and company in Panama, unfortunately you all forgot to schedule us from here even though we paid you hundreds of dollars , but Barefoot tours in panama made it right , I am most thankful for them . I will not schedule another tour from your web site , had problems before with this but this was final straw.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

HEMASUNDARA T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It was great! Viator was on time.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

James K

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We were very fortunate in that only 80 people were on board the day day we took the tour. So there was lots of room and food for everyone. The guide was very knowledgeable but I had the impression he could use a couple of days off. He sounded a little bored with his spiel. He answered every question thoroughly. It was all very interesting and I would recommend seeing the canal from the MIraflores Locks and Museum before you take the boat trip.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Leslie P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Had to meet the bus 2 hours earlier than advertised and then there were hours of waiting around but the locks were great with a very good boat guide narrating.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Monika W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

They were over an hour late picking us up which was a complete downer to the start of the trip. Everyone was extremely cranky by the time the bus arrived at their hotels. The trip through the locks was great and our host JC was excellent. Again the bus trip back to our hotel left a lot to be desired they need to figure out a better system.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Debra B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

We waited 5 1/2 hours to get on the boat. 9:30 am to 3pm. Had to use a bathroom in a fire station with no toilet paper. At lunch at 4pm. Didn't get to the hotel until 8:30pm.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Corey C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The car never showed up to pick us up, and by the time we got to the destination the cruise had already left!! 300.00 lost!!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message