It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour of the Miraflores Locks and Panama City walking tour. Kevin (tour guide) knew so much about the various historical events as well as the architectual structures in both the old and new city.
Recommend doing this tour at the beginning of your Panama stay so that you are able to find bars and restaurants endorsed from a local that you want to go back to! The recommendations were fantastic!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour guide, a lot of inside information, visited great spot's and places in and around Panama City and of course the canal. When you have only 5-6 hours time or if you are on a quick Panama stop-over this is the ideal tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing experience on the boat. Elmer the guide was very informative, helpful and so enthusiastic. Food was good and staff all helpful. Could be better organised for transport before and after the trip. A must.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great experience and as we were on the Isla Maodre, a small boat, we were able to see as the water went up and down while in the locks.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Love this tour. Our tour guy was amazing. My husband and I had a really good time...100% satisfaction guarantee !!!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a great tour and very informative.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

We waited over 4 hours to be loaded on a bus and driven another hour to load on the boat---after waiting on the boat for over 45 minutes for several other busses to arrive. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

OUTSTANDING, JEFF THE TOUR GUIDE WAS FANTASTIC. HE GAVE US GREAT INFOMATION ON THE CITY AND THE CANAL. HE MADE SURE WE GOT TO THE CANAL AS THEY OPENED SO THAT WE MAY BEAT THE CROWD AND SEE THE SHIPS PASSING.
AND OLD PANAMA....MUST SEE.
JEFF....WELL DONE

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent overview of the city with plenty of time at the Miraflores locks!!. Pickup at the hotel was about 745am, with several stops for picking up other tourists. Make sure you e-mail/call the tour operator to confirm your hotel information and pick up time. Courteous, professional and extremely knowledgable tour guide, everything listed in the itinerary was completed with additional time for browsing through Casco Viejo Artisan market. Lunch was served right outside the Culebra/Smithsonian in a local restaurant. Food and service were great. You;ll be amazed to see sloths in the Culebra isle, we were even fortunate to spot an iguana. If you have extra time in Panama City, go back to Casco Viejo and wander around the quaint alleyways. There's a wonderful ice-cream parlor, Grandclement, in Casco, with home churned gelatos, sorbets and decadent ice-cream in so many flavors.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and great guide (Jeff). He made a fantastic effort and was genuinely there to help us see as much as we could. I would most recommend.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour - Kevin thoroughly covered the city and offered great options for dining and exploration.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Informed guide made tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour itinerary is Ok and it ends early in the afternoon due to the traffic. The tour guide "Jeff" was a nice and pleasant person. He said he will provide guidance in English, Spanish and French. He started right but at the end he started recruiting local people to provide historical information for the ones who spoke in Spanish. Who knows if the information provided by the locals was correct or not. There was a couple of mentally ill on the back seat of the minivan who were clearly disturbing others, but the guide seemed to ignore them. In general the tour is fine and it can be improved. Good efforts!!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We found Kevin to be very knowledgeable, interesting and helpful. he was prompt, courteous and most importantly flexible. He was able to change the order of the tour so that we arrived at the Miraflores locks when large container ships were going through. He also provided insight into restaurants other things to do without pushing for joining him on a tour. We went on to Boqueteand he gave us the name of an excellent tour guide there as well.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I found the cruise to be absolutely awesome . I had seen bring a book . but getting fed the wonderful meals going through the canal was such a wonderful experience I would rate this tour a five star

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message