Panama City ATTRACTIONS See all

Miraflores Locks

It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MANUEL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viaje muy interesante, que vale la pena realizar.
La compra de los ticket los realicé por internet y fui contactado oportunamente para coordinar el traslado desde mi hotel y la realización del viaje.
Todo bien.-

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Sue D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it, loved it, loved it! It was better than I thought it would be. A great way to transverse through the canal and see the locks working.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Joe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We are so grateful we decided to do this tour. It is a complete day with plenty of food, information, and time in the canal. The full transit would have been too tiring. You go through two locks and the experience is amazing. This cruise does not include time at the Miraflores visitor center FYI

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Donald C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was outstanding with our guide and driver, Gonzo, demonstrating a thorough knowledge of Panama and the Panama Canal. We arrived at the Miraflores Locks just in time to see some shipping passing through the locks. Our guide, Gonzo, engaged us with anecdotal stories and facts about Panama as we toured the old city and during our luncheon at Di Ranchito, a local restaurant on the Armador, which turned out to be one of the best restaurants during our stay in Panama. In all, the tour was a very memorable one with no stone left unturned. It was a pleasure to be guided by the Barefoot Panama tour company they are the best. Don M. Washington, DC

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Holly J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great overview of the city, the history of Panama, and the Canal. Our guide was very knowledgeable, and had a passion for the city and the country. What a really wonderful way to be introduced to Panama! We now want to know and do more!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Lindsey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an absolute highlight!
The entire crew and staff were so nice. They would answer any and all of our questions. We were even invited to drive the boat for a bit through the canal. Truly a once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Susan m S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

knowledgeable, energetic, friendly.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Hilary T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip, quite a long time on the boat waiting for the canal to fill with other boats etc. but very good commentary by an excellent guide.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Angela R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The boat ride was incredible the staff and the captain made it great.The diesel fumes were a bit much but nothing can be done and the food was less than stellar but good. The pick up was shaky. The drop off was reason for only three stars. The driver was bad and UN communicative. Arranfe you and #39;re own.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Charlotte B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Go to Panama was a horrible tour director. They lied about pickup time, they lied about starting time for the boat trip, they were totally disorganized and incompetent getting us to the ship. Cannot say enough about how excellent the tour guide was, however. His English was excellent, his knowledge was deep, there was no question he could not answer. But the tour company, never, ever, ever would I recommend them at all, and for that reason I will never book a tour through Viator again, you do not screen your subcontractors.l

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

chadd b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

AWESOME! Worth every minute! Best way ever to see the city, canals if only in Panama for a short period.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Scott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great experience. The tour was well done. The tour guide commented in both English and Spanish. The air conditioned cabin was wonderful. The fed us breakfast and lunch. Free drinks were always available. We really liked the tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Alain B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very nice trip with a fantastic guide.The must to visit and understand Panama city in a small group of 4 pepole.Highly recommanded...............

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Jeffrey S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent way to see the canal and it's workings. GREAT TOUR!

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

James N

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Interesting learned a lot but glad I didn't sign up for the Full Transit

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

S A L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was a nice tour. Gonzo was personable and a good tour guide. He was attentive and ensured that we saw all of the interesting aspects of the city. He provided informational tidbits regarding the history of the Panama Canal. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

n6kiv

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

For years we wanted to do a full transit of the Panama Canal without going on a cruise. I was excited to find this cruise! We flew down to Panama City. The Cruise picked us up at the door of our B and B in an air conditioned bus. We drove thru the countryside to the dock where we boarded the boat. Juan Carlos was our narrated, and he was excellent. Thorough with a sense of humor. It was really nice being able to go back and forth from being outdoors either shaded or in the sun, to being in the air conditioning. Being right next to cruise ships and container vessels as we went through the locks was awesome. At the end of the day we were driven back to the front door of our B and B. A very memorable day! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a very good highlights tour of Panama City. The guide was professional and informative.Overall a great tour for everyone. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants an a good overview of Panama City.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and guide

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Jill H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great up close, right in the middle of it all. What a fabulous experience. I think the day trip passage with 2 locks on a small boat was the best. Male tour guide was full of knowledge.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Cameron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our group of fou,r adults really enjoyed the tour. The spokesperson was excellent providing information about the canal as we moved along. Crew members were friendly and helpful. Food was good and the free cold drinks welcome. Recommend to anyone considering doing the Panama Canal.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message