Panama City ATTRACTIONS See all

Miraflores Locks

It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 197 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

chadd b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

AWESOME! Worth every minute! Best way ever to see the city, canals if only in Panama for a short period.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Scott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great experience. The tour was well done. The tour guide commented in both English and Spanish. The air conditioned cabin was wonderful. The fed us breakfast and lunch. Free drinks were always available. We really liked the tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Alain B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very nice trip with a fantastic guide.The must to visit and understand Panama city in a small group of 4 pepole.Highly recommanded...............

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

James N

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Interesting learned a lot but glad I didn't sign up for the Full Transit

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

S A L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was a nice tour. Gonzo was personable and a good tour guide. He was attentive and ensured that we saw all of the interesting aspects of the city. He provided informational tidbits regarding the history of the Panama Canal. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

n6kiv

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

For years we wanted to do a full transit of the Panama Canal without going on a cruise. I was excited to find this cruise! We flew down to Panama City. The Cruise picked us up at the door of our B and B in an air conditioned bus. We drove thru the countryside to the dock where we boarded the boat. Juan Carlos was our narrated, and he was excellent. Thorough with a sense of humor. It was really nice being able to go back and forth from being outdoors either shaded or in the sun, to being in the air conditioning. Being right next to cruise ships and container vessels as we went through the locks was awesome. At the end of the day we were driven back to the front door of our B and B. A very memorable day! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a very good highlights tour of Panama City. The guide was professional and informative.Overall a great tour for everyone. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants an a good overview of Panama City.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and guide

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Jill H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great up close, right in the middle of it all. What a fabulous experience. I think the day trip passage with 2 locks on a small boat was the best. Male tour guide was full of knowledge.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Cameron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our group of fou,r adults really enjoyed the tour. The spokesperson was excellent providing information about the canal as we moved along. Crew members were friendly and helpful. Food was good and the free cold drinks welcome. Recommend to anyone considering doing the Panama Canal.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Couldn't ask for a better tour guide! Kevin hails from Boston, MA, USA and has been living in Panama City for over a decade. Great insights at every stop as you're seeing Panama City through the eyes of a non-native but someone who absolutely loves this city. He really knows the tour guide business and gave us many tips along the way to avoid crowds. For example, he made sure we were at the Miraflores Locks just as soon as the observation building opened to keep us from being swallowed up by the inevitable crowds. Kevin drove our small van and kept us informed and entertained the entire day. It was a great experience!! You won't go wrong if you book with him!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Rodrigo L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience, outstanding guide. Only glitch, food is way too cheap.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Wayne Hopper H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of Panama. His tour of old town was great. There was not enough time at the Miraflores locks only one hour was allocated. The Smithsonian nature event was not worth while. We could have spent more time in old town or the canal.

The biggest negative for this tour was that we went on a tour in a regular sized van with ten adults packed into it. This was uncomfortable for everyone. This company needs to upgrade their transportation.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

sophia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was nice, but we were not able to have a walking tour for a reason of parking issues.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

THOMAS P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The boat was way too crowded for it to be an enjoyable experience. Viator could have two boats available but, of course, it would obviously cut into their profits. Pickup time was more than an hour and a half sooner than we were first told we knew it was approximate, but 1 1/2 hours! Food was good, narration was good except for parts we couldn't hear because of crowd. Wouldn't do again!1

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

sasprobe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed this very much, tour guide was very good with lots of information and great place for lunch..

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

sasprobe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip, long day.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Metod M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Impressed. Great guidance!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day, terrific guide. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Padlock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, great group, great guide. Money well spent.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

jacqueline f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

pick up was confusing no one would answer the phone so i could confirm my pick up. the tour itself was brilliant. we went through miraflores locks. the guide on board told us about every detail of the lock as it happened. the lunch was lovely. until it came to getting off at the other end then chaos reigned. the pick up buses werent there, when they arrived no one seemed to know who should be on which bus. some buses set off with the wrong people on and had to be caught up, but we got there in the end.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message