It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour itself was good. It was great to see the high points of Panama City area. And the restaurant for lunch was yummy. My only frustration stems from the fact that though I was supposed to be met at 8 am at my hotel, the ride did not arrive until about 9:15. I was outside my hotel about 7:45. Therefore I was waiting 1.5 hours before the arrival. The driver said he was in an accident. But after the pickup the tour went well and no issues with the ride/vehicle. I’ve traveled plenty and been on numerous tours. The $100 for a single person seems a bit overpriced for this tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour of the Miraflores Locks and Panama City walking tour. Kevin (tour guide) knew so much about the various historical events as well as the architectual structures in both the old and new city.
Recommend doing this tour at the beginning of your Panama stay so that you are able to find bars and restaurants endorsed from a local that you want to go back to! The recommendations were fantastic!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour guide, a lot of inside information, visited great spot's and places in and around Panama City and of course the canal. When you have only 5-6 hours time or if you are on a quick Panama stop-over this is the ideal tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing experience on the boat. Elmer the guide was very informative, helpful and so enthusiastic. Food was good and staff all helpful. Could be better organised for transport before and after the trip. A must.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great experience and as we were on the Isla Maodre, a small boat, we were able to see as the water went up and down while in the locks.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Love this tour. Our tour guy was amazing. My husband and I had a really good time...100% satisfaction guarantee !!!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The owner/ tour guide was super great! We were picked up at our hotel, saw the locks, went to lots of places. He is very knowledgable about the history and current happenings of Panama. Just enough walking and riding and lunch and ice cream stops. We saw way more than if we had rented a car. Best!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well arranged and planned. The guide, Kevin, was very knowledgeable. This tour gives a quick look into Panama's history, places of interest and its current flavor. The time at the Miraflores Locks is just enough but would have appreciated another 30 minutes. Take this tour. It is a solid value for money.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guides were great! If I am ever back in Panama City, I hope to book those same tour guides. Oh, and the City of Panama City and the Panama Canal were interesting.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Keisha
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a great time. Ross was a great tour guide and a nice guy (very helpful). I have plans to visit Panama again and will work with this tour group. -Keisha

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a great tour and very informative.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

We waited over 4 hours to be loaded on a bus and driven another hour to load on the boat---after waiting on the boat for over 45 minutes for several other busses to arrive. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The tour did not include the walking through the jungle, we paid too much"

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

OUTSTANDING, JEFF THE TOUR GUIDE WAS FANTASTIC. HE GAVE US GREAT INFOMATION ON THE CITY AND THE CANAL. HE MADE SURE WE GOT TO THE CANAL AS THEY OPENED SO THAT WE MAY BEAT THE CROWD AND SEE THE SHIPS PASSING.
AND OLD PANAMA....MUST SEE.
JEFF....WELL DONE

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent overview of the city with plenty of time at the Miraflores locks!!. Pickup at the hotel was about 745am, with several stops for picking up other tourists. Make sure you e-mail/call the tour operator to confirm your hotel information and pick up time. Courteous, professional and extremely knowledgable tour guide, everything listed in the itinerary was completed with additional time for browsing through Casco Viejo Artisan market. Lunch was served right outside the Culebra/Smithsonian in a local restaurant. Food and service were great. You;ll be amazed to see sloths in the Culebra isle, we were even fortunate to spot an iguana. If you have extra time in Panama City, go back to Casco Viejo and wander around the quaint alleyways. There's a wonderful ice-cream parlor, Grandclement, in Casco, with home churned gelatos, sorbets and decadent ice-cream in so many flavors.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message