Panama City ATTRACTIONS See all

Miraflores Locks

It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Perfect for getting to know Panama, especially if your time is short. Very knowledgeable guide, who spoke great English.
We had a tour of all the classic sites of Panama: old Canal administration building, Miraflores locks, Casco Viejo and all the sights therein. AND even though Antón was closed, he came up with a backup plan instantly, which more than sufficed.
We had lunch at a great restaurant, Casa Blanca, and he dropped us at our hotel, having to sit through traffic all the way, but not minding.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Marilyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The English speaking guide was the best. He had played football for the Washington Redskins so we could understand him so well. He answered every question and handled the 150 people very well. We felt safe at all times. The schedule was just right for a one day short tour. Two locks were plenty to get the feel of how it all works. I would always prefer this to a cruise line.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of very interesting information. The cruise was relaxing and educational -- and there was plenty of food.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Stephen K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The guide, Alan, was outstanding - very informative, but also gave plenty of time to explore, take pictures, etc. Only complaint would be that the Canal is really the central reason to take the tour at least for most of us... and ships do not pass through between 10:30am-1pm. We went to several sites before the Canal, meaning that we missed seeing any ships. This should be the very first stop after meeting at 8am! You get a lot on this tour for the money, though. Recommended.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Shaun M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, would recommend!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Sirin O

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour part was ok, but confirming it was a huge mess. It first listed that there was no pickup at my hotel so i listed one near us. Then a day before i called to confirm. Nobody spoke english and they hung up on me many times. I finally had our front desk call and they said they'd pick us up in the lobby. on the day of the tour someone came and called out a different family, didn't have our name in the system. it was so unorganized.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Sanjiv K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Tour was good but Viator service was extremely poor.

Email said tour starts at 7. am and there is no time given to us for pick up. All of a sudden at at 6.20 AM we get a call that car has arrived for pick up. e were sleeping and this was not a Good start.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

David O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The tour company is just one guy who runs tours in Panama, and he's not even a local Panamanian. At one point in the tour he announced he was taking us into a bad neighborhood, so I thought that was rather poor judgement. The tour was grossly overpriced, The only thing worthwhile was the panama canal tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

TASHA M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

We were told that pick up was at 5:30 a.m. We were downstairs ready and waiting and no one showed up. By 6:30 a.m. we called all the contact numbers listed on our vouchers and was sent to voicemail on all numbers except for one person. He told us that the bus would be there in 15 minutes. By 7:00 a.m. still no bus. The bus finally showed up at 7:30 a.m. Two in our party were elderly and one walked with a cane. We boarded the bus and the bus driver started driving with them still in the aisle. My cousin had to yell at the driver to stop because they almost fell down. The tour guide did not tell us her name or give us an explanation of why they were late. Once we arrived at the dock and the tour guide just tells everyone to get off the bus. She does not say what to do or where to go. Everyone figured out that we had to stand in line for our return ride wrist bands and to check in for the boat. She made everyone do that instead of taking all of our vouchers herself and getting them all at once. Again, she didnt say anythingeveryone figured out that we had to walk to the end of the dock to board our boat. We got another tour guide on the boat and he didnt fare much better. The Panama Canal was a sight to see but it lost its appeal when accompanied with constant chatter of nonsense from the tour guide over the loud speakers. He even had the audacity to say that if you wanted to give him a tip, that you had to give it to him separately, face-to-face because he didnt share tips with the rest of the workers. Once we arrived in Goa, we had more bus problems. It was 20 minutes late and then it was so full that we barely fit. About 20 minutes of driving our bus and another bus pulled off to the side of the road and the tour guide from the boat decided that there were too many people on the bus and that it would take too long to drop everyone off. So they took about 20 people off and put them on the other bus. Panama Canal GREAT, tour company TERRIBLE!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Bob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding experience! We brought our ailing father for a 'bucket list' item. Everyone was so very helpful from the moment we arrived and we had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

MARCUS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour Jeff was very knowledgeable and gave a Lott of information that we did not know.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great intro to Panama City. We are considering a relocation and Jeff provided a lot of historical knowledge plus his own experiences as a transplant. We will be booking more tours as we return. Thank you to all involved

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An excellent day out with an extremely knowlegable and entertaining guide. Kevin was able to give us an insider's perspective on life in Panama and get us around to all the key locations in great time. His familiarity with the people and processes meant we got the best opportunities and were always at the front of the queue. I had so much fun and learned a lot at the same time. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Robert D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

the ride to the ship was informative the ship was clean the crew friendly the buffet lunch was very good the canal was amazing and our guide j.c was very knowledgable and had no problem answering any questions and he new a lot would recommend this to any one and would go again if we go back there

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Jan S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Ross was a great guide, Only thing I would have like to have was cold water provided during the day.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Soraya G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The tour itself was worth it for the knowledge and experience, although very long over six hours due to canal regulations that could not be controlled. However, there seems to be a lot of room for improvement. We were picked up at the hotel and taken to one extreme of the city just to get the boarding pass, waited for about an hour to then get back on the bus to go to the other extreme to get on the ship...not sure why we could not be given the boarding passes at the second location. We were served snacks and lunch but the food was pretty bad. The guide and crew spent a lot of time pushing the souvenirs. I feel they should come up with something else to do during the wait ....show a documentary, play music..... We were falling asleep...

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Richard C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Pick up at multiple hotels with no passengers at at least four hotels added an hour that we thought unnecessary. Not given wrist bands by our bus escort although everyone else was. Partial passage was as expected. Guide on boat was good.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

geneva s

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Tour date: 11/14/15. This tour was totally disorganized and there was no communication! I was given a pick-up time of between 5:30 to 6:30am by Melva of Aventuras 2000. At 6:30am I made over 20 calls to all five emergency phone numbers listed in my paperwork and finally one man answered. This man said the bus would be there in 15 minutes. The bus showed up 45 minutes later at 7:30am. The driver took off before the four of us could sit. One person in my party walks with a cane and she almost fell. We had to yell for the bus driver to stop. At the port, the tour guide collected all vouchers and sent us to an office to collect our boat and bus tickets. Thats the last time we saw this guide. I found Melva in the dining area of the ship and she explained that the buses were late due to extremely bad traffic. When I asked why no one answered the emergency numbers, she looked puzzled and then showed me her cell phone with all the calls she had answered that morning. She said that I may have called from a private number and she does not answer calls from private numbers! At the end of the trip we had to wait 15 minutes for bus to arrive. I spoke to other passengers and found that they were all given the same pick up time of 5:30am. Some were told that there was a problem with the buses and others that there was an accident. Others mentioned that the tour guide and the bus driver were arguing. Im going back to Panama in December and I will not use this company.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Chihcheng L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nice trip around the city to know Panama.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Kurt V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Kevin was fun, knowledgeable, and kept the tour moving. We felt it was a great overview of the city. Well done. We highly recommend this tour and company.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Debra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

small group and Kevin was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

aimee.alleman1983

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour guide was fantastic. Kevin got us to the locks early so that we could get a great spot on the 4th floor to see the ships go through the locks. Great spot for lunch. Very informative. Couldn't have asked for the tour to be any better.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Chihcheng L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Schedule was unknown until last minute. Still a good experience.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

sandra d

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Operators on the bus were rude,unfriendly and not helpful.On the boat they were much nicer.Pick up from hotel was not on time.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Ramesh A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The actual cruise through the canal was awesome but the pre-tour portion of the day was HORRIBLE!! We were told that it was to begin at 7.45 AM on the canal with a hotel pick up in town. After repeated calling the day before, we were told the pick up was moved to 10.45 AM, then to 11.30 AM and then finally we were picked up at noon! After a prolonged bus ride to a central spot, we hung around till we got to board the boat at 3 PM. The cruise price - steep - included lunch and you can imagine how that now became supper at 6 PM! Btw, the food quality was worse than cafetaria food. Eventually, the canal crossing and cruise ended at 10 PM and we got back to our hotel at 11 PM. We weren't the only ones who had this terror inficted on us. You'd think after so many of these trips, Viator and the local provider peopel would know that the highight of Panama City tour should be managed tightly. We thought we were going to cruise in the morning to late afternoon, instead it was late in the day. There was no such indication either on the website or even by the tour company contacting us. Our hotel told us that we had been ripped off!! So watch out!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message