It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent overview of the city with plenty of time at the Miraflores locks!!. Pickup at the hotel was about 745am, with several stops for picking up other tourists. Make sure you e-mail/call the tour operator to confirm your hotel information and pick up time. Courteous, professional and extremely knowledgable tour guide, everything listed in the itinerary was completed with additional time for browsing through Casco Viejo Artisan market. Lunch was served right outside the Culebra/Smithsonian in a local restaurant. Food and service were great. You;ll be amazed to see sloths in the Culebra isle, we were even fortunate to spot an iguana. If you have extra time in Panama City, go back to Casco Viejo and wander around the quaint alleyways. There's a wonderful ice-cream parlor, Grandclement, in Casco, with home churned gelatos, sorbets and decadent ice-cream in so many flavors.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and great guide (Jeff). He made a fantastic effort and was genuinely there to help us see as much as we could. I would most recommend.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour - Kevin thoroughly covered the city and offered great options for dining and exploration.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Informed guide made tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour itinerary is Ok and it ends early in the afternoon due to the traffic. The tour guide "Jeff" was a nice and pleasant person. He said he will provide guidance in English, Spanish and French. He started right but at the end he started recruiting local people to provide historical information for the ones who spoke in Spanish. Who knows if the information provided by the locals was correct or not. There was a couple of mentally ill on the back seat of the minivan who were clearly disturbing others, but the guide seemed to ignore them. In general the tour is fine and it can be improved. Good efforts!!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We found Kevin to be very knowledgeable, interesting and helpful. he was prompt, courteous and most importantly flexible. He was able to change the order of the tour so that we arrived at the Miraflores locks when large container ships were going through. He also provided insight into restaurants other things to do without pushing for joining him on a tour. We went on to Boqueteand he gave us the name of an excellent tour guide there as well.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I found the cruise to be absolutely awesome . I had seen bring a book . but getting fed the wonderful meals going through the canal was such a wonderful experience I would rate this tour a five star

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a really good tour and our guide was very informative. It had the right amount of time at the canal and was timed so that we could see the boats go through. We really enjoyed the restaurant selected for lunch which had a great view of Panama City's skyline. We also toured the old city. Overall, it was a very good introduction to Panama.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

cruise itself was a fantastic experience!However,the arrangement for hotel pickup was disastrous!We were never informed time to pick us up since we arrived Panema city on the 5th.We try desperately to contact daily with the contact N0; given only to find out from our hotel concierge the time of pickup on 8 Mar. because he made similar booking with other hotel quests.I was pretty sure other people had similar problems As we almost had to wait and locate guests in other hotel pickups!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very well organized trip with a profesional tour guide.Thank you.Super.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

the trip through the Canal was a wunderful experience we would not forget. a pity that the promised pick up was not there (stay in casco viego). and now service after te trip. we had to arrange our own taxi's. we had to wait long before we could go abord our ship. free drinks and snacks/lunch. the information about abord wasvery useful and very good.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Overall very enjoyable;
Write ups do give the impression that you have a guide with your group -
not so- they deliver you to the Boat and disappear
Their is one man doing the commentary via loudspeaker system (does a good job and informative)
but miss the opportunity for individual questions

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Tour Guide was especially good....had a booming voice....very informative.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Going through the Panama Canal is a once in a lifetime experience. It's also kind of boring, so bring a book. This particular tour feeds you well and the guide did explain a lot about the canal and Panama. However, it took much longer than expected. The delays seemed to be related to canal traffic rather than the guide company. So I would recommend going, but bring something to kill time while you're waiting.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour went well The bus was in good condition although the audio earplugs didn't work in some locations The pick up times were on schedule and the people who gave you information at the bus or very pleasant

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message