By any estimation among the grandest public works projects in the history of humankind, the Panama Canal is an engineering triumph that forever transformed global trade. Construction began in 1904, lasted 10 years, cost some $350 million to build ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rhonda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great way to see the city and culture overview and highlights.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Trudie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was fantastic. I am so happy I booked this.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

peter k

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Couldn't hear much...but pretty good value for the money.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Teri L L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We were shuttled from our hotel on time, the food and water on board the boat was in plentiful supply and our guide did a good job of explaining the history of the canal. Fascinating engineering feat.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Lynne A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great info on canal tour. Lunch was good. Bus service could have been a little more efficient. Overall a good experience and would recommend!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Thomas S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour was okay but wish there was more information given about Panama City. It was hard to hear the guide while in the vehicle a microphone would have been helpful.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

judy w

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I usually enjoy viator tours but was not impressed with this one at all. We were picked up at 6 am and arrived at the marina at 7:30. The website said there would be a 1 1/2 hour city tour on the way to the marina but the bus driver didn't speak any English! We arrived at the marina and stood in line for half an hour at least to register and there was no one from viator to direct us. The cruise itself was okay but not worth the cost. I would not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Peggy Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

It was okay. A lot to see but needed a better guide. Maybe with a little more knowledge on the city. Lunch that was served had a lot to be desired.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

judy w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

I usually enjoy viator tours but didn't enjoy this one. I couldn't get through to the operator of the tour to find out where to catch the bus. The clerk at our hotel was helpful though. Half of the earphone jacks didn't work so the 4 of us on the tour had to sit separately from each other! Other riders were changing seats to find an operating jack. The city tour was canceled which was the one I wanted to take but had to settle for the canal tour as that was the only one available.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Perfect for getting to know Panama, especially if your time is short. Very knowledgeable guide, who spoke great English.
We had a tour of all the classic sites of Panama: old Canal administration building, Miraflores locks, Casco Viejo and all the sights therein. AND even though Antón was closed, he came up with a backup plan instantly, which more than sufficed.
We had lunch at a great restaurant, Casa Blanca, and he dropped us at our hotel, having to sit through traffic all the way, but not minding.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Marilyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The English speaking guide was the best. He had played football for the Washington Redskins so we could understand him so well. He answered every question and handled the 150 people very well. We felt safe at all times. The schedule was just right for a one day short tour. Two locks were plenty to get the feel of how it all works. I would always prefer this to a cruise line.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

muharem k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

hop on-hop off was amazing, and beautiful experience in Panama City. saw all important touristic spots, including Panama canal which was my main goal. the crew was also helpful and full of interesting and useful information, and i really like the day spent with them. would definitely do that again, and i really recommend Panama sightseeing bus to everyone who wants to discover amazing Panama City. :D

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of very interesting information. The cruise was relaxing and educational -- and there was plenty of food.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Stephen K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The guide, Alan, was outstanding - very informative, but also gave plenty of time to explore, take pictures, etc. Only complaint would be that the Canal is really the central reason to take the tour at least for most of us... and ships do not pass through between 10:30am-1pm. We went to several sites before the Canal, meaning that we missed seeing any ships. This should be the very first stop after meeting at 8am! You get a lot on this tour for the money, though. Recommended.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Vaughn M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful time our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We would recommend this to any first time visitor to Panama.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

gnmia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a very good tour, They were on time and the canal was out standing. Thanks
for the service.
George

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

Shaun M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, would recommend!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Sirin O

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour part was ok, but confirming it was a huge mess. It first listed that there was no pickup at my hotel so i listed one near us. Then a day before i called to confirm. Nobody spoke english and they hung up on me many times. I finally had our front desk call and they said they'd pick us up in the lobby. on the day of the tour someone came and called out a different family, didn't have our name in the system. it was so unorganized.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Sanjiv K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Tour was good but Viator service was extremely poor.

Email said tour starts at 7. am and there is no time given to us for pick up. All of a sudden at at 6.20 AM we get a call that car has arrived for pick up. e were sleeping and this was not a Good start.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

David O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The tour company is just one guy who runs tours in Panama, and he's not even a local Panamanian. At one point in the tour he announced he was taking us into a bad neighborhood, so I thought that was rather poor judgement. The tour was grossly overpriced, The only thing worthwhile was the panama canal tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

TASHA M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

We were told that pick up was at 5:30 a.m. We were downstairs ready and waiting and no one showed up. By 6:30 a.m. we called all the contact numbers listed on our vouchers and was sent to voicemail on all numbers except for one person. He told us that the bus would be there in 15 minutes. By 7:00 a.m. still no bus. The bus finally showed up at 7:30 a.m. Two in our party were elderly and one walked with a cane. We boarded the bus and the bus driver started driving with them still in the aisle. My cousin had to yell at the driver to stop because they almost fell down. The tour guide did not tell us her name or give us an explanation of why they were late. Once we arrived at the dock and the tour guide just tells everyone to get off the bus. She does not say what to do or where to go. Everyone figured out that we had to stand in line for our return ride wrist bands and to check in for the boat. She made everyone do that instead of taking all of our vouchers herself and getting them all at once. Again, she didnt say anythingeveryone figured out that we had to walk to the end of the dock to board our boat. We got another tour guide on the boat and he didnt fare much better. The Panama Canal was a sight to see but it lost its appeal when accompanied with constant chatter of nonsense from the tour guide over the loud speakers. He even had the audacity to say that if you wanted to give him a tip, that you had to give it to him separately, face-to-face because he didnt share tips with the rest of the workers. Once we arrived in Goa, we had more bus problems. It was 20 minutes late and then it was so full that we barely fit. About 20 minutes of driving our bus and another bus pulled off to the side of the road and the tour guide from the boat decided that there were too many people on the bus and that it would take too long to drop everyone off. So they took about 20 people off and put them on the other bus. Panama Canal GREAT, tour company TERRIBLE!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Bob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding experience! We brought our ailing father for a 'bucket list' item. Everyone was so very helpful from the moment we arrived and we had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great tour guide

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

MARCUS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour Jeff was very knowledgeable and gave a Lott of information that we did not know.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great intro to Panama City. We are considering a relocation and Jeff provided a lot of historical knowledge plus his own experiences as a transplant. We will be booking more tours as we return. Thank you to all involved

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message