By any estimation among the grandest public works projects in the history of humankind, the Panama Canal is an engineering triumph that forever transformed global trade. Construction began in 1904, lasted 10 years, cost some $350 million to build ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

chadd b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

AWESOME! Worth every minute! Best way ever to see the city, canals if only in Panama for a short period.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Claudia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fun. Informative. Great transportation. Stops at all the right places.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Scott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great experience. The tour was well done. The tour guide commented in both English and Spanish. The air conditioned cabin was wonderful. The fed us breakfast and lunch. Free drinks were always available. We really liked the tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Alain B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very nice trip with a fantastic guide.The must to visit and understand Panama city in a small group of 4 pepole.Highly recommanded...............

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

James N

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Interesting learned a lot but glad I didn't sign up for the Full Transit

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

S A L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was a nice tour. Gonzo was personable and a good tour guide. He was attentive and ensured that we saw all of the interesting aspects of the city. He provided informational tidbits regarding the history of the Panama Canal. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a very good highlights tour of Panama City. The guide was professional and informative.Overall a great tour for everyone. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants an a good overview of Panama City.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Jan Henrik G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I saw what I wanted to see including the locks so I am very pleased about the tour. I wonder if the new locks will be included in coming tours.
Regards
JHG.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and guide

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Jill H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great up close, right in the middle of it all. What a fabulous experience. I think the day trip passage with 2 locks on a small boat was the best. Male tour guide was full of knowledge.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Cameron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our group of fou,r adults really enjoyed the tour. The spokesperson was excellent providing information about the canal as we moved along. Crew members were friendly and helpful. Food was good and the free cold drinks welcome. Recommend to anyone considering doing the Panama Canal.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Eloise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guides were very helpful and knowledgeable , very informative. We will recommend to our friends. Thank you

Doing what: Private Half-Day Tour: Panama Canal and City Tour

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nice tour. About 6 stops. Only has 2 buses that run daily. I caught the 10am bus at Metrocentre. Be early so you dont miss the bus or you will have to wait at minimus 1hr considering traffic for the day.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Couldn't ask for a better tour guide! Kevin hails from Boston, MA, USA and has been living in Panama City for over a decade. Great insights at every stop as you're seeing Panama City through the eyes of a non-native but someone who absolutely loves this city. He really knows the tour guide business and gave us many tips along the way to avoid crowds. For example, he made sure we were at the Miraflores Locks just as soon as the observation building opened to keep us from being swallowed up by the inevitable crowds. Kevin drove our small van and kept us informed and entertained the entire day. It was a great experience!! You won't go wrong if you book with him!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Rodrigo L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience, outstanding guide. Only glitch, food is way too cheap.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Francois B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I was looking for half day tour for my family during our recent Panama trip that had an afternoon session to accommodate two members of our party who were arriving in Panama around 9:30 am but there were none available as all started at 7:00 or 8:00 am and then I came across this tour on Viator. It had no reviews and was new to Viator but it had the afternoon tour option which was key for us, it was private and covered the main attractions in Panama City so decided to book it with a 1:00 pm pickup at our hotel. Prior to the tour one of the owners Aaron sent an e-mail within a couple of hours of booking advising the name of the tour guide, the pickup time and the type of vehicle our tour guide would be driving.

Edgardo our tour guide arrived at the time given and once all was settled, started the tour as we drove to the first stop Ancon Hill. Edgardo spoke English fluently, was very knowledgeable and courteous. He gave a lot of history about Panama and answered all the questions we asked him. He even gave us recommendations on places to eat and/or visit outside of the tour and said we could call him should we have any further questions. Vehicle used was spacious and comfortable, there was water and sodas available and most surprising there was WIFI available for use in the vehicle during the whole tour which was a first for us and different. Another benefit of this tour is that there is some allowance for customization of itinerary by guests who may want to spend more time at one stop, stop for a meal, etc.

Overall, we had a good experience, learnt a lot of information in a customized setting that had a personal feel to it with excellent customer service.

Doing what: Private Half-Day Tour: Panama Canal and City Tour

Wayne Hopper H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of Panama. His tour of old town was great. There was not enough time at the Miraflores locks only one hour was allocated. The Smithsonian nature event was not worth while. We could have spent more time in old town or the canal.

The biggest negative for this tour was that we went on a tour in a regular sized van with ten adults packed into it. This was uncomfortable for everyone. This company needs to upgrade their transportation.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

sophia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was nice, but we were not able to have a walking tour for a reason of parking issues.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

THOMAS P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The boat was way too crowded for it to be an enjoyable experience. Viator could have two boats available but, of course, it would obviously cut into their profits. Pickup time was more than an hour and a half sooner than we were first told we knew it was approximate, but 1 1/2 hours! Food was good, narration was good except for parts we couldn't hear because of crowd. Wouldn't do again!1

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

sasprobe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed this very much, tour guide was very good with lots of information and great place for lunch..

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

sasprobe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip, long day.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Metod M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Impressed. Great guidance!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day, terrific guide. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Padlock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, great group, great guide. Money well spent.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message