By any estimation among the grandest public works projects in the history of humankind, the Panama Canal is an engineering triumph that forever transformed global trade. Construction began in 1904, lasted 10 years, cost some $350 million to build ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 269 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and guide

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Jill H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great up close, right in the middle of it all. What a fabulous experience. I think the day trip passage with 2 locks on a small boat was the best. Male tour guide was full of knowledge.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Cameron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our group of fou,r adults really enjoyed the tour. The spokesperson was excellent providing information about the canal as we moved along. Crew members were friendly and helpful. Food was good and the free cold drinks welcome. Recommend to anyone considering doing the Panama Canal.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Eloise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guides were very helpful and knowledgeable , very informative. We will recommend to our friends. Thank you

Doing what: Private Half-Day Tour: Panama Canal and City Tour

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nice tour. About 6 stops. Only has 2 buses that run daily. I caught the 10am bus at Metrocentre. Be early so you dont miss the bus or you will have to wait at minimus 1hr considering traffic for the day.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Couldn't ask for a better tour guide! Kevin hails from Boston, MA, USA and has been living in Panama City for over a decade. Great insights at every stop as you're seeing Panama City through the eyes of a non-native but someone who absolutely loves this city. He really knows the tour guide business and gave us many tips along the way to avoid crowds. For example, he made sure we were at the Miraflores Locks just as soon as the observation building opened to keep us from being swallowed up by the inevitable crowds. Kevin drove our small van and kept us informed and entertained the entire day. It was a great experience!! You won't go wrong if you book with him!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Rodrigo L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience, outstanding guide. Only glitch, food is way too cheap.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Francois B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I was looking for half day tour for my family during our recent Panama trip that had an afternoon session to accommodate two members of our party who were arriving in Panama around 9:30 am but there were none available as all started at 7:00 or 8:00 am and then I came across this tour on Viator. It had no reviews and was new to Viator but it had the afternoon tour option which was key for us, it was private and covered the main attractions in Panama City so decided to book it with a 1:00 pm pickup at our hotel. Prior to the tour one of the owners Aaron sent an e-mail within a couple of hours of booking advising the name of the tour guide, the pickup time and the type of vehicle our tour guide would be driving.

Edgardo our tour guide arrived at the time given and once all was settled, started the tour as we drove to the first stop Ancon Hill. Edgardo spoke English fluently, was very knowledgeable and courteous. He gave a lot of history about Panama and answered all the questions we asked him. He even gave us recommendations on places to eat and/or visit outside of the tour and said we could call him should we have any further questions. Vehicle used was spacious and comfortable, there was water and sodas available and most surprising there was WIFI available for use in the vehicle during the whole tour which was a first for us and different. Another benefit of this tour is that there is some allowance for customization of itinerary by guests who may want to spend more time at one stop, stop for a meal, etc.

Overall, we had a good experience, learnt a lot of information in a customized setting that had a personal feel to it with excellent customer service.

Doing what: Private Half-Day Tour: Panama Canal and City Tour

Wayne Hopper H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of Panama. His tour of old town was great. There was not enough time at the Miraflores locks only one hour was allocated. The Smithsonian nature event was not worth while. We could have spent more time in old town or the canal.

The biggest negative for this tour was that we went on a tour in a regular sized van with ten adults packed into it. This was uncomfortable for everyone. This company needs to upgrade their transportation.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

sophia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was nice, but we were not able to have a walking tour for a reason of parking issues.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

THOMAS P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The boat was way too crowded for it to be an enjoyable experience. Viator could have two boats available but, of course, it would obviously cut into their profits. Pickup time was more than an hour and a half sooner than we were first told we knew it was approximate, but 1 1/2 hours! Food was good, narration was good except for parts we couldn't hear because of crowd. Wouldn't do again!1

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

sasprobe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed this very much, tour guide was very good with lots of information and great place for lunch..

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

sasprobe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip, long day.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Metod M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Impressed. Great guidance!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day, terrific guide. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Padlock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, great group, great guide. Money well spent.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

jacqueline f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

the tour was brilliant, it covered such a wide area. the bus kept pretty much to time table and the staff were very helpful

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jerold V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was just awesome! Very informative! Our guide, Danae, was a sweetheart and she was the best guide possible for this trip. She was very knowledgeable about the whole city and helpful with tips for things to do places to eat other than during the trip. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

jacqueline f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

pick up was confusing no one would answer the phone so i could confirm my pick up. the tour itself was brilliant. we went through miraflores locks. the guide on board told us about every detail of the lock as it happened. the lunch was lovely. until it came to getting off at the other end then chaos reigned. the pick up buses werent there, when they arrived no one seemed to know who should be on which bus. some buses set off with the wrong people on and had to be caught up, but we got there in the end.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Saw what I wanted. Keith was great.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Pauline. Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

it was great due to tour guide and company in Panama, unfortunately you all forgot to schedule us from here even though we paid you hundreds of dollars , but Barefoot tours in panama made it right , I am most thankful for them . I will not schedule another tour from your web site , had problems before with this but this was final straw.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Eileen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Juan was very knowledgeable and personable. He put together an efficient tour of the Canal, Casco Viejo and other sights. We spent about 4 hours with him and enjoyed it. Good way to see the city highlights.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message