By any estimation among the grandest public works projects in the history of humankind, the Panama Canal is an engineering triumph that forever transformed global trade. Construction began in 1904, lasted 10 years, cost some $350 million to build ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent overview of the city, it's history and surrounding areas. A good basis for knowing what else we wanted to explore. Really enjoyed the day with Elmer. He's a good man wanting to help better his community and students.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour of the Miraflores Locks and Panama City walking tour. Kevin (tour guide) knew so much about the various historical events as well as the architectual structures in both the old and new city.
Recommend doing this tour at the beginning of your Panama stay so that you are able to find bars and restaurants endorsed from a local that you want to go back to! The recommendations were fantastic!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour guide, a lot of inside information, visited great spot's and places in and around Panama City and of course the canal. When you have only 5-6 hours time or if you are on a quick Panama stop-over this is the ideal tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing experience on the boat. Elmer the guide was very informative, helpful and so enthusiastic. Food was good and staff all helpful. Could be better organised for transport before and after the trip. A must.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great experience and as we were on the Isla Maodre, a small boat, we were able to see as the water went up and down while in the locks.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Love this tour. Our tour guy was amazing. My husband and I had a really good time...100% satisfaction guarantee !!!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a great tour and very informative.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This could have been fabulous BUT the earphones on the lower level did not work and the young men accompanying the tour on some legs of the journey were uninformed and more interested in chatting amongst themselves and joking with the driver than helping out the tourists.

Doing what: Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

We waited over 4 hours to be loaded on a bus and driven another hour to load on the boat---after waiting on the boat for over 45 minutes for several other busses to arrive. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

OUTSTANDING, JEFF THE TOUR GUIDE WAS FANTASTIC. HE GAVE US GREAT INFOMATION ON THE CITY AND THE CANAL. HE MADE SURE WE GOT TO THE CANAL AS THEY OPENED SO THAT WE MAY BEAT THE CROWD AND SEE THE SHIPS PASSING.
AND OLD PANAMA....MUST SEE.
JEFF....WELL DONE

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent overview of the city with plenty of time at the Miraflores locks!!. Pickup at the hotel was about 745am, with several stops for picking up other tourists. Make sure you e-mail/call the tour operator to confirm your hotel information and pick up time. Courteous, professional and extremely knowledgable tour guide, everything listed in the itinerary was completed with additional time for browsing through Casco Viejo Artisan market. Lunch was served right outside the Culebra/Smithsonian in a local restaurant. Food and service were great. You;ll be amazed to see sloths in the Culebra isle, we were even fortunate to spot an iguana. If you have extra time in Panama City, go back to Casco Viejo and wander around the quaint alleyways. There's a wonderful ice-cream parlor, Grandclement, in Casco, with home churned gelatos, sorbets and decadent ice-cream in so many flavors.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was terrific, only in part because everyone else had signed up for the full day, so for the half day we had a private guide. And he was the BEST GUIDE EVER -- "Joshua." We have taken tours in cities all over the world, and Joshua was the most informed. He was pleasant, enthusiastic and had a sense of humor. He was very knowledgeable not only about historical sites but about global history and how it impacted Panama; Panamas economic and political history; the relevant US history; current issues and trends in Panama. In 4 short hours, we learned not only a great deal about Panama City and the Canal, but also were given the opportunity to develop a deep appreciation for the Panamanian culture. Well worth the time and money. (Note to Viator: Joshua was not with the subcontractor indicated on our voucher; he was with a tour company; you should get him signed up exclusively - -he is a real asset.) Overall the tour was well structured, hitting the key points of the City and the Canal so we could pick where to spend our extra day in Panama.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and great guide (Jeff). He made a fantastic effort and was genuinely there to help us see as much as we could. I would most recommend.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see Panama City and the Canal

Doing what: Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour - Kevin thoroughly covered the city and offered great options for dining and exploration.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message