By any estimation among the grandest public works projects in the history of humankind, the Panama Canal is an engineering triumph that forever transformed global trade. Construction began in 1904, lasted 10 years, cost some $350 million to build ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rhonda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great way to see the city and culture overview and highlights.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

peter k

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Couldn't hear much...but pretty good value for the money.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Perfect for getting to know Panama, especially if your time is short. Very knowledgeable guide, who spoke great English.
We had a tour of all the classic sites of Panama: old Canal administration building, Miraflores locks, Casco Viejo and all the sights therein. AND even though Antón was closed, he came up with a backup plan instantly, which more than sufficed.
We had lunch at a great restaurant, Casa Blanca, and he dropped us at our hotel, having to sit through traffic all the way, but not minding.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Marilyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The English speaking guide was the best. He had played football for the Washington Redskins so we could understand him so well. He answered every question and handled the 150 people very well. We felt safe at all times. The schedule was just right for a one day short tour. Two locks were plenty to get the feel of how it all works. I would always prefer this to a cruise line.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

muharem k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

hop on-hop off was amazing, and beautiful experience in Panama City. saw all important touristic spots, including Panama canal which was my main goal. the crew was also helpful and full of interesting and useful information, and i really like the day spent with them. would definitely do that again, and i really recommend Panama sightseeing bus to everyone who wants to discover amazing Panama City. :D

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of very interesting information. The cruise was relaxing and educational -- and there was plenty of food.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Stephen K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The guide, Alan, was outstanding - very informative, but also gave plenty of time to explore, take pictures, etc. Only complaint would be that the Canal is really the central reason to take the tour at least for most of us... and ships do not pass through between 10:30am-1pm. We went to several sites before the Canal, meaning that we missed seeing any ships. This should be the very first stop after meeting at 8am! You get a lot on this tour for the money, though. Recommended.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Vaughn M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful time our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We would recommend this to any first time visitor to Panama.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

gnmia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a very good tour, They were on time and the canal was out standing. Thanks
for the service.
George

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

Shaun M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, would recommend!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Sirin O

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour part was ok, but confirming it was a huge mess. It first listed that there was no pickup at my hotel so i listed one near us. Then a day before i called to confirm. Nobody spoke english and they hung up on me many times. I finally had our front desk call and they said they'd pick us up in the lobby. on the day of the tour someone came and called out a different family, didn't have our name in the system. it was so unorganized.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Sanjiv K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Tour was good but Viator service was extremely poor.

Email said tour starts at 7. am and there is no time given to us for pick up. All of a sudden at at 6.20 AM we get a call that car has arrived for pick up. e were sleeping and this was not a Good start.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

David O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The tour company is just one guy who runs tours in Panama, and he's not even a local Panamanian. At one point in the tour he announced he was taking us into a bad neighborhood, so I thought that was rather poor judgement. The tour was grossly overpriced, The only thing worthwhile was the panama canal tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

TASHA M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

We were told that pick up was at 5:30 a.m. We were downstairs ready and waiting and no one showed up. By 6:30 a.m. we called all the contact numbers listed on our vouchers and was sent to voicemail on all numbers except for one person. He told us that the bus would be there in 15 minutes. By 7:00 a.m. still no bus. The bus finally showed up at 7:30 a.m. Two in our party were elderly and one walked with a cane. We boarded the bus and the bus driver started driving with them still in the aisle. My cousin had to yell at the driver to stop because they almost fell down. The tour guide did not tell us her name or give us an explanation of why they were late. Once we arrived at the dock and the tour guide just tells everyone to get off the bus. She does not say what to do or where to go. Everyone figured out that we had to stand in line for our return ride wrist bands and to check in for the boat. She made everyone do that instead of taking all of our vouchers herself and getting them all at once. Again, she didnt say anythingeveryone figured out that we had to walk to the end of the dock to board our boat. We got another tour guide on the boat and he didnt fare much better. The Panama Canal was a sight to see but it lost its appeal when accompanied with constant chatter of nonsense from the tour guide over the loud speakers. He even had the audacity to say that if you wanted to give him a tip, that you had to give it to him separately, face-to-face because he didnt share tips with the rest of the workers. Once we arrived in Goa, we had more bus problems. It was 20 minutes late and then it was so full that we barely fit. About 20 minutes of driving our bus and another bus pulled off to the side of the road and the tour guide from the boat decided that there were too many people on the bus and that it would take too long to drop everyone off. So they took about 20 people off and put them on the other bus. Panama Canal GREAT, tour company TERRIBLE!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Bob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding experience! We brought our ailing father for a 'bucket list' item. Everyone was so very helpful from the moment we arrived and we had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great tour guide

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

MARCUS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour Jeff was very knowledgeable and gave a Lott of information that we did not know.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great intro to Panama City. We are considering a relocation and Jeff provided a lot of historical knowledge plus his own experiences as a transplant. We will be booking more tours as we return. Thank you to all involved

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An excellent day out with an extremely knowlegable and entertaining guide. Kevin was able to give us an insider's perspective on life in Panama and get us around to all the key locations in great time. His familiarity with the people and processes meant we got the best opportunities and were always at the front of the queue. I had so much fun and learned a lot at the same time. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Robert D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

the ride to the ship was informative the ship was clean the crew friendly the buffet lunch was very good the canal was amazing and our guide j.c was very knowledgable and had no problem answering any questions and he new a lot would recommend this to any one and would go again if we go back there

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Jan S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Ross was a great guide, Only thing I would have like to have was cold water provided during the day.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Soraya G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The tour itself was worth it for the knowledge and experience, although very long over six hours due to canal regulations that could not be controlled. However, there seems to be a lot of room for improvement. We were picked up at the hotel and taken to one extreme of the city just to get the boarding pass, waited for about an hour to then get back on the bus to go to the other extreme to get on the ship...not sure why we could not be given the boarding passes at the second location. We were served snacks and lunch but the food was pretty bad. The guide and crew spent a lot of time pushing the souvenirs. I feel they should come up with something else to do during the wait ....show a documentary, play music..... We were falling asleep...

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Richard C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Pick up at multiple hotels with no passengers at at least four hotels added an hour that we thought unnecessary. Not given wrist bands by our bus escort although everyone else was. Partial passage was as expected. Guide on boat was good.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Diego M V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Para ser la primera vez que usamos Viator para nuestros viajes, no fue la mejor experiencia:
Cambio de Rutas,
Cambio de Horarios,
Paradas descritas en el itinerario no se realizaron,
...

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

geneva s

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Tour date: 11/14/15. This tour was totally disorganized and there was no communication! I was given a pick-up time of between 5:30 to 6:30am by Melva of Aventuras 2000. At 6:30am I made over 20 calls to all five emergency phone numbers listed in my paperwork and finally one man answered. This man said the bus would be there in 15 minutes. The bus showed up 45 minutes later at 7:30am. The driver took off before the four of us could sit. One person in my party walks with a cane and she almost fell. We had to yell for the bus driver to stop. At the port, the tour guide collected all vouchers and sent us to an office to collect our boat and bus tickets. Thats the last time we saw this guide. I found Melva in the dining area of the ship and she explained that the buses were late due to extremely bad traffic. When I asked why no one answered the emergency numbers, she looked puzzled and then showed me her cell phone with all the calls she had answered that morning. She said that I may have called from a private number and she does not answer calls from private numbers! At the end of the trip we had to wait 15 minutes for bus to arrive. I spoke to other passengers and found that they were all given the same pick up time of 5:30am. Some were told that there was a problem with the buses and others that there was an accident. Others mentioned that the tour guide and the bus driver were arguing. Im going back to Panama in December and I will not use this company.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message