It's boom time in the bustling capital that some call "Central America's Singapore," where gleaming glass skyscrapers glow like the future beneath the swollen tropical moon. Just minutes from the crowded urban center, however, are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

OUTSTANDING, JEFF THE TOUR GUIDE WAS FANTASTIC. HE GAVE US GREAT INFOMATION ON THE CITY AND THE CANAL. HE MADE SURE WE GOT TO THE CANAL AS THEY OPENED SO THAT WE MAY BEAT THE CROWD AND SEE THE SHIPS PASSING.
AND OLD PANAMA....MUST SEE.
JEFF....WELL DONE

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fun, informative tour of Casco Viejo. We started out at the Bajareque Cafe, sipped on slow pour Boquete coffee beans ( grown locally) at the ATH, chocolate tasting, micro-brew beer tasting, people watching, fresh ceviche at the Seafood Market/Restaurant area overlooking the Pacific and ended the tour at the rooftop bar of Tantalo sipping ginger infused mojitos watching the sunset over the city... it's a really relaxed tour and you're free to have dinner post tour at the many restaurants in the area.

Doing what: Taste of Panama City: Walking Tour with Food and Drinks in Casco Viejo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent overview of the city with plenty of time at the Miraflores locks!!. Pickup at the hotel was about 745am, with several stops for picking up other tourists. Make sure you e-mail/call the tour operator to confirm your hotel information and pick up time. Courteous, professional and extremely knowledgable tour guide, everything listed in the itinerary was completed with additional time for browsing through Casco Viejo Artisan market. Lunch was served right outside the Culebra/Smithsonian in a local restaurant. Food and service were great. You;ll be amazed to see sloths in the Culebra isle, we were even fortunate to spot an iguana. If you have extra time in Panama City, go back to Casco Viejo and wander around the quaint alleyways. There's a wonderful ice-cream parlor, Grandclement, in Casco, with home churned gelatos, sorbets and decadent ice-cream in so many flavors.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience. While the coffee shop wasn't listed on Google Maps, Platea Restaurant was and it was next door. Jeff, the tour guide, was great. He was informative, patient, and helpful with translation. It was a great tour of local chocolate, coffee, beer, ceviche, and rum as well as Panama's old town, Casco Viejo. Taxi into old town worked best as streets are one way, narrow, and there is almost no parking. There was much to see so I would recommend a longer tour that visits the churches, presidential building, and other sites. This was a walking food tour but an old town historical tour would be equally appreciated. Considering the other Panama tours, this one was the best if you want to walk around Panama. I'd do this again next time I'm in Panama.

Doing what: Taste of Panama City: Walking Tour with Food and Drinks in Casco Viejo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was terrific, only in part because everyone else had signed up for the full day, so for the half day we had a private guide. And he was the BEST GUIDE EVER -- "Joshua." We have taken tours in cities all over the world, and Joshua was the most informed. He was pleasant, enthusiastic and had a sense of humor. He was very knowledgeable not only about historical sites but about global history and how it impacted Panama; Panamas economic and political history; the relevant US history; current issues and trends in Panama. In 4 short hours, we learned not only a great deal about Panama City and the Canal, but also were given the opportunity to develop a deep appreciation for the Panamanian culture. Well worth the time and money. (Note to Viator: Joshua was not with the subcontractor indicated on our voucher; he was with a tour company; you should get him signed up exclusively - -he is a real asset.) Overall the tour was well structured, hitting the key points of the City and the Canal so we could pick where to spend our extra day in Panama.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and great guide (Jeff). He made a fantastic effort and was genuinely there to help us see as much as we could. I would most recommend.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour - Kevin thoroughly covered the city and offered great options for dining and exploration.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Informed guide made tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall it was a good tour, the guide picked us up not much conversation about the event and he told us he would pick us up in 3 hours

Doing what: Panama City Folkloric Show and Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour itinerary is Ok and it ends early in the afternoon due to the traffic. The tour guide "Jeff" was a nice and pleasant person. He said he will provide guidance in English, Spanish and French. He started right but at the end he started recruiting local people to provide historical information for the ones who spoke in Spanish. Who knows if the information provided by the locals was correct or not. There was a couple of mentally ill on the back seat of the minivan who were clearly disturbing others, but the guide seemed to ignore them. In general the tour is fine and it can be improved. Good efforts!!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We found Kevin to be very knowledgeable, interesting and helpful. he was prompt, courteous and most importantly flexible. He was able to change the order of the tour so that we arrived at the Miraflores locks when large container ships were going through. He also provided insight into restaurants other things to do without pushing for joining him on a tour. We went on to Boqueteand he gave us the name of an excellent tour guide there as well.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was excellent, Jeff although not a native Panamainan, was very knowledgable about the country. I would recommend this tour to get to see the real Panama.

Doing what: Taste of Panama City: Walking Tour with Food and Drinks in Casco Viejo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. If not for him the tour would had been a total bust. The driver was absolutely horrible. His heavy use of the gas and break pedals got us all sick. He couldn't keep the van at a steady speed even when there was nobody in front of him. The provided lunch was decent and served at a nice restaurant, though the server messed up an order and was reluctant to fix it. Our guide stepped in and got it corrected. Even with lunch, the tour felt expensive for what we got, but I guess that's the price of being guided around rather than finding our own way. I'd say if you have time and don't mind doing a little research on your own, use the public transportation to see the same places and save a ton of cash.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a really good tour and our guide was very informative. It had the right amount of time at the canal and was timed so that we could see the boats go through. We really enjoyed the restaurant selected for lunch which had a great view of Panama City's skyline. We also toured the old city. Overall, it was a very good introduction to Panama.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Would have been "4-star", but bus arrived over 1/2 hour late.

Doing what: Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message