• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique du Sacré-Coeur

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart, or Basilique du Sacré-Coeur, perched at the very top of Butte de Montmartre (Montmartre Hill), was built from contributions pledged by Parisian Catholics as an act of contrition after the Franco-Prussian War ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Where to start? This tour was excellent and my favorite thing I did while I was in Paris! Who knew that Paris had hills and that I would be climbing a majority of them. Kit, my tour guide, was so informative and passionate about the history of Montmartre. He really made the area come alive with the history and personal stories. I was the only person on our tour, so I was fortunate to have the entire 3 hours to myself. Kit was able to answer all of my questions and even brought along various reference books to show the then and now of the area. We saw Moulin Rough, Montmartre Cemetery, Moulin de la Galette, back ally street art, the apartment building that once housed Van Gogh, Au Lapin Agile, the pink cafe, various monuments, a vineyard, the Sacre Coeur, along with so much more. By far one of the best tours. Thank you!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Marion, our guide, gave us many intersting stories as we trekked through Monmartre by foot. Don't do this unless you are used to walking uphill. Part of the tour included going by Dalida- an Egytian singer's home; St. Denis' statue; an ancient vineyard; and a path bordering a philosopher's home which have nothing to do with Impressionist art. We were shown a street leading to Van Gogh's home but did not go there. We sldo stopped outside the studio where Picasso worked and lived for a time. we ended at the top of the hill at Sacre Coeur. The trickets to the Musee d'Orsay was great but only had 2 hours there by the time we took the Metro there.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took this tour in January and our tour guide and tour stops really helped us with our French practice. Everyone was friendly and we were able to really try lots of yummy treats along the way. We did the afternoon tour in Montmartre - be ready to walk and climb stairs to get to Sacre Coeur! Our tour guide indulged our interest to do the tour in French so we could practice our French and we really felt like we got more of a real French experience. I would highly recommend this to others!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Average tour, a bit dissapointing.I thought it would take us past the Moulin Rouge and the Sacre Coeur, but it stuck to the city centre mainly. I would not book it again or recommend it

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Illuminations Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An great tour of an old area of Paris. Our guide Tim did an excellent job. He provided a great deal of insight to the area and its history. You'll find the Moulin Rouge, areas where the Impressionist painters got their start, as well as Sacre Coeur, the church that overlooks the city. The area is dotted with cafes and shops. If you wanted to get a feel for the real Paris it's a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The only thing I can say is there wasn't enough time to board 2 routes. This is the second time I've been to Paris and do the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus. The first time I did with my daughter we had a 2 day ticket, and this time a 1 day ticket with my husband. And I still haven't seen Sacre Coeur.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

We were quite disappointed with this tour. We expected introductions to wonderful food and wine places, with special access and tastings. Our guide, Cedric, seems to be a nice person not cut out for this work. He merely pointed out some grocery, produce and cheese shops (no tasting of cheese, quel dommage!). We did have a nice visit to the wine shop and a good tasting and explanation of wine, thanks to the proprietor. The area was crazy crowded due to some celebration and we did not get up to Sacre Coeur due to th crowds. At the end, Cedric ran off and bought some pastries and handed them to us. It felt like he had extra money he was supposed to spend -- I would have preferred being able to taste some or at least select my own. Very poorly executed. I do not recommend this tour, so one star only.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

An excellent, comfortable overview of the city. Only thing I would omit is Sacre Coeur, which is a tourist trap.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan and Montmartre

Julius H
Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

For 2 consecutive days, we saw many attractions in Paris by taking this hop on hop off tour. It is really recommended for those who first time visiting Paris. We may also save cost for other transportations while taking this sightseeing bus since most interesting attractions have been covered. The room for improvement, it is better if this hop on hop off tour also pass Sacre Coeur church, cause it is also the landmark of Paris and we regret did not visit the church during our visit.

Doing what: Paris City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Julius H
Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

It is the nice way to see Paris as this tour passes almost all best attractions in Paris. We may also save the transportation cost by taking this sightseeing bus since the bus stops at the places that we would like to visit. The room for improvement, the bus does not pass Sacre Coeur church which is also the landmark of Paris. We regret did not visit that church during our visit.

Doing what: Paris City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Very colorful experience on the mont. Our tour guide was the same as we had for Eiffel tower. She was certainly better here, and knowledgable. The climb was not too bad, and she kept the content as kid friendly as possible, given the surroundings. She also carried a number of nice descriptive books and pictures to illustrate the history. Ended at the base of Sacre Coeur afterwhich we climbed to the top - highly recommend for the view.

Of note, our tour guide asked for a tip, which I never give if asked for. Bad taste. Knocked this down 1 star as a result.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour was terrific. After all my trips to Paris, I had missed Montmartre. The guide was by knowledgeable and spoke terrific English. She showed us all the great spots, walked us up and down the hills with great commenary and left us at the spectacular Sacre Coeur. We had a great time. And the "skip the line" tickets the following day were VERY helpful. I would definitely use Viatours again. Thanks for a great experience!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

As we only had 36 hours in Paris the Bus tour was the only sightseeing we had time for. The bus tour was good except I was shocked that we did not go past Notre-Dame, Moulin Rouge or Sacre Coeur. It started to rain as soon as we got to the Eiffel Tower and was very cold. We were all left standing in the rain and cold while the guide rattled instructions in several languages...could we not have done this under cover?? We abandoned the boat cruise due to the weather. I think on a sunny day it would have been a lot better, and had I known exactly where the bus was going, I would have made sure we saw the iconic sights we missed out on.Also there is no way this tour was going to last 5 hours..As the cruise is valid for 1 year, I will give it to my son and his girlfriend to do soon.For the price it was ok I guess, but I have done the Dinner on the Eiffel Tower, Seine Cruise and Moulin Rouge package in the past and it was amazing.

Doing what: Paris City Tour, Seine River Cruise and Eiffel Tower

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This is a good tour if Art history is your thing- there was far too much history on local painters, where they lived, where they painted, where they drank and ate etc. I was only interested in seeing the landmarks in the Montmarte area, and of course the Sacre-Coeur, however this was only shown right at the end of the tour to which by the time we got there, we were too tired to enjoy the magnificence of the building. Please wear comfortable shoes and you must enjoy walking (or in some cases hiking) if you want to take this tour.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Edward I
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

It was quite interesting to walk around this area where artist used to stay. My kids just found it weird to walk around the cemetery to see Dalida's tomb stone but it was very unique really. We love the Sacre Coeur !

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message