Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique du Sacré-Coeur

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart, or Basilique du Sacré-Coeur, perched at the very top of Butte de Montmartre (Montmartre Hill), was built from contributions pledged by Parisian Catholics as an act of contrition after the Franco-Prussian War ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took a private 2-day tour of Paris with Marion and could not have asked for a better tour guide or experience for a first-time trip there. Particularly given how much we wanted to see in a short amount of time, Marion allowed us to relax and enjoy the sites as well as to gain a deeper understanding of what we were seeing. We took along our 8 and 9-year old children and Marion was very patient with them explaining things in a way they could understand. They have a particular interest in art and Marion efficiently guided us through the Louvre and Orsay, as well as through the Montmartre neighborhood where many of the artists lived. This neighborhood around Sacre Coeur was a highlight of the tour. Marion kept us on schedule, but did not sacrifice any of the things we really wanted to see. Liz with Viator did a great job lining out our itinerary and listening to what we wanted to see rather than just giving us a standard list of sites to see. With Marion we were able to overcome the language barrier as well as efficiently traverse the city either by walking or by Metro. We got so comfortable with this that were able to handle the third day of our trip on our own with equal efficiency. We would recommend Marion to anyone looking to gain a deeper understanding of Paris, particularly as it relates to the arts. She also introduced us to new French pastries at Maison des Choux, and took to some sites we didn't even know about for great views and photo ops. This tour was a great way to start our stay in Paris.

Doing what: Private 2-Day Tour: Customize Your Perfect Stay in Paris

Ramen J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A good tour, but take too long on SACRE COEUR and gare du nord side , and staff does not even tell you the seine river cruise stops for pickup and drop points.
Buses should have rain protection otherwise on rainy day your trip is wasted.
Three day tour should be full three days as in USA , it means it should start from the time of first boarding.

Doing what: Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Combo: Sightseeing Bus and Seine River Cruise

Claudia G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and another good guide. The only glitch was that we took a train from Sacre Coeur, presumably to the bottom of the hill, but it did not stop and took us back up to the church. The tour had climbed the hill, with stops along the way. We made our way back down on foot and funicular and had a nice lunch at a place recommended by our guide.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Diana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing tour! Very knowledgeable and patient guide and she made this tour fun and informative!! I loved it! We took the best route up to Sacre Coeur theough the enchanting streets of Montmartre, learning quite a bit of history along the way.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Margo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour and exceeded our expectations. The guide was so knowledgeable about the Montmartre area and made the lives of the impressionist painters who lived there come alive. It was just the right pace with completion at beautiful Sacre Coeur. Loved it!
The Vallones, Georgia

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

cnp.drp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Gil took us on a great round about path to the Sacre Coeur. I really liked the length and pace of the tour. Two hours was just enough history and information to spark my curiosity and want to come home and read more but not so long that I got tired or bored. Gil also pointed out some more contemporary art, street art, that was not obvious to me.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

jhirbour82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved it! I learned a lot from our guide, Laura, and the views at Sacre Coeur were stunning. I almost didn't go because I'd hurt my back and I'd read that it was a lot of walking up hills which it was but it was totally worth it!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everyone said this was the seedy part of Paris. We started at the seedy part, was not rushed and as we climbed higher and higher up to Sacre Coeur, it became the best part and loved the artists up there and all the little shops and eateries we saw as part of this tour. Thoroughly enjoyed it, a quick way to see another area of Paris. Thanks Viator.

Doing what: Paris Movie Tour of Montmartre

James S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a wonderful tour. Our guide told us great stories about the district. The visit to Sacre Coeur was impressive. And, the tickets to the Musee D'Orsay led us to a must see experience! That museum was incredible!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Maryann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved it. History of area, anecdotes about painters and background history of Sacre Coeur are all things you can't get without a tour guide.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

BRIAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tooting around Paris in a 2CV may not be for everyone, but we loved it! Our driver was a good sport circling sights so we could get pictures. She also managed the hills and cobblestones on the way to Sacre Coeur like a pro. She even arranged a stop at a quaint tea house that featured amazing macaroons. Our 2CV was bright green and attracted plenty of attention. A celebratory anniversary tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Paris Tour by Citroen 2CV

Kathy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

All routes good except the yellow route. Waited in heat for over an hour with other angry commuters after visiting Sacre Coeur. Bus drivers also need an assistant to speed up entry process at door.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour brought you to many of the top places in Paris and the buses were quite frequent. My only complaint was that it didn't go to Sacre-Coeur, they should add that to the tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dpercic

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide, Veronique, was wonderful. In the Louvre, she took us to all of the main exhibits and saved much time. The tour was very good however, I am sorry that none of the tours included Sacre Coeur.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

wendynunes

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Gil was very cool! He got our kids age 5 and 7 interested in his stories. Wandering the back and side streets with him was entertaining and reassuring I felt safe from pickpockets in a group. Wonderful view of the city from Sacre Coeur.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Jim T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Antone was a great tour guide, very personable and knowledgeable. He highlighted the wonderful things to see in Montmartre. What a beautiful town and the views from Sacre Coeur are spectacular. A Must Do on your trip!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Dan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was fantastic! My favourite part was the end at Sacre Coeur. Wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan and Montmartre

Megan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was good, very informative and willing to answer my questions. In fact, we saw him again the following day when we were with another tour group and he came over to us and said hello, which was very nice of him, so thanks Jean. Being the only couple on the tour we were really happy and had a wonderful experience. The tour through the Louvre was good, being able to see the museum minus the people first thing in the morning was a plus.
The river cruise was incredible, very tasty food, which, being a vegetarian, has been a bit of a challenge in Paris. The only down side to the river cruise was the waitress. She didnt listen very well and when I said I was a vegetarian took that to mean my partner was as well, which was not correct, and also came at the end of the meal with two espresso, when we clearly said only one was needed. But, that was not really that big a deal.
Seeing the Basilica De Sacre Coeur, including the drive up to this and the surrounding township was lovely, and well worth it. We had been into Notre Dame the day before ourselves, but Jean was able to stop around the back of the building to allow me to take some more pictures.
The tour is well worth it and a good way to see a lot of Paris without having the worry of getting there yourself. It also helps you identify what parts you are keen to see again, and for me, I would be going back to the Louvre for a whole day, if only I had the time.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

Cindy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The hop on/off experience itself it good. However, there are multiple buses that perform this service so when asking locals about it, you are misled to one of the other services. the information said to jump on any bus and start your tour but that did not happen for us. one driver shut refused to open his door for us and waved frantically at us when we tried to board. then the next driver kicked us off and I think was telling us we had to start at the visitor center but we don't speak French : Then the next bus FINALLY let us get on and kindly allowed us to ride it to the Visitor's center but said we had to get off and get something different printed which we did. it added about an hour and a half to the start of our day in Paris. Which is unfortunate as Paris is so large and there's so much to see! Thankfully the rest of the time worked better and after we had the maps we loved the 3 different systems that covered the entire city - other services only do the central part and you don't get all the museums and Sacre Coeur like this tour provides : I would recommend listing the main visitor center on the voucher and maybe just having everyone start there with maybe directions in case there are more rude bus drivers :

Doing what: Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Combo: Sightseeing Bus and Seine River Cruise

Lynne Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The view is spectacular and worth seeing both at night and in the daytime. The building oversees the entire City of Paris. It is easy to spot The Eiffel Tower and even the Sacre Coeur along with many attractions. The landscape at night makes Paris look like a jewel box.

Doing what: Montparnasse Tower 56th Floor Observation Deck

carlo3854

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The day started great with a visit to montmartre and the sacre coeur then notre dame then the eiffel tower. Fred our tour guide was quite witty. After having an ok lunch at the tower, the american couple with us decided to stay and explore the higher levels of the tower. We were ushered quickly to the boat cruise then after Fred's demeanour changed he seemed to want to get rid of us, we asked to see the arc de triomph but he said it was not possible as there was an event and cars couldn't pass he quickly dropped us a block from our flat as he said there was too much traffic. We quickly got off and took a taxi, which dropped us right in front of the arc. Go figure.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Seine River Cruise and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Deanna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great walking tour of the Montmartre area and Sacre Coeur Basilica. First off, our guide was fabulous, his name was Romaine. Very knowledgeable and full of life. He gave us some great off the beaten path information as well as some great history. It was nice that the Skip-the-Line Musee d'Orsay ticket could be used another day. The Montmartre area was so enjoyable that my husband and I stayed and enjoyed lunch and exploring more on our own after the tour and went to the museum on another day. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Janis A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We postponed this tour when it rained on our tour day and luckily the sun shone two days later. This tour was interesting and Gil, our guide, was informative and friendly and humorous and easy to understand. We learned some interesting tidbits about the area and some of its former residents but we were disappointed that the tour wasn't longer and packed with even more information. We expected more bang for our buck! It would be good if tour guides knew the location of public toilets or restaurants that allow use of their toilets. The tour ended at beautiful Sacre Coeur with a great view of the city spread out in front of us.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I would highly recommend this tour! We chose to renew our vows in the gardens around the Sacre Coeur and the guide and the photographer were wonderful. We had a great time, made some wonderful memories and have the whole thing captured in photos that are much better than our original wedding photos. The guide and the photographer were also very personable and accommodating to our wishes, as well as making some great suggestions of their own as far as photo locations went. Paris during the tourist high season is very crowded, so don't expect to have any of the better known locations to yourself. Just think of the onlookers as part of the Parisian experience and enjoy!

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

Peter R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Only way to see Paris and great for transport options. We used to the max and had two days to see all the sites, as we hopped on and off at each. Covered the areas we needed, however not Montmartre - Sacre Coeur area. Recommend reviewing your transport needs and your accomodation area beforehand. There are other buses available if required. Convenience of having tickets beforehand great.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message