Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique du Sacré-Coeur

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart, or Basilique du Sacré-Coeur, perched at the very top of Butte de Montmartre (Montmartre Hill), was built from contributions pledged by Parisian Catholics as an act of contrition after the Franco-Prussian War ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynne
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The view is spectacular and worth seeing both at night and in the daytime. The building oversees the entire City of Paris. It is easy to spot The Eiffel Tower and even the Sacre Coeur along with many attractions. The landscape at night makes Paris look like a jewel box.

Doing what: Montparnasse Tower 56th Floor Observation Deck

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The day started great with a visit to montmartre and the sacre coeur then notre dame then the eiffel tower. Fred our tour guide was quite witty. After having an ok lunch at the tower, the american couple with us decided to stay and explore the higher levels of the tower. We were ushered quickly to the boat cruise then after Fred's demeanour changed he seemed to want to get rid of us, we asked to see the arc de triomph but he said it was not possible as there was an event and cars couldn't pass he quickly dropped us a block from our flat as he said there was too much traffic. We quickly got off and took a taxi, which dropped us right in front of the arc. Go figure.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Seine River Cruise and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great walking tour of the Montmartre area and Sacre Coeur Basilica. First off, our guide was fabulous, his name was Romaine. Very knowledgeable and full of life. He gave us some great off the beaten path information as well as some great history. It was nice that the Skip-the-Line Musee d'Orsay ticket could be used another day. The Montmartre area was so enjoyable that my husband and I stayed and enjoyed lunch and exploring more on our own after the tour and went to the museum on another day. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We postponed this tour when it rained on our tour day and luckily the sun shone two days later. This tour was interesting and Gil, our guide, was informative and friendly and humorous and easy to understand. We learned some interesting tidbits about the area and some of its former residents but we were disappointed that the tour wasn't longer and packed with even more information. We expected more bang for our buck! It would be good if tour guides knew the location of public toilets or restaurants that allow use of their toilets. The tour ended at beautiful Sacre Coeur with a great view of the city spread out in front of us.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I would highly recommend this tour! We chose to renew our vows in the gardens around the Sacre Coeur and the guide and the photographer were wonderful. We had a great time, made some wonderful memories and have the whole thing captured in photos that are much better than our original wedding photos. The guide and the photographer were also very personable and accommodating to our wishes, as well as making some great suggestions of their own as far as photo locations went. Paris during the tourist high season is very crowded, so don't expect to have any of the better known locations to yourself. Just think of the onlookers as part of the Parisian experience and enjoy!

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Only way to see Paris and great for transport options. We used to the max and had two days to see all the sites, as we hopped on and off at each. Covered the areas we needed, however not Montmartre - Sacre Coeur area. Recommend reviewing your transport needs and your accomodation area beforehand. There are other buses available if required. Convenience of having tickets beforehand great.

Doing what: Paris City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

My 3 star rating is not a reflection on the tour or our guide... I was just a little disappointed in the area. Surrounding Moulin Rouge is a long line of seedy live sex shows with guys out front recruiting patrons. As we walked the streets of Montmarte, working our way toward the top, the tour focused more the street art (graffiti) than the history or artists that once lived there. We did see the outside (3rd floor shutters closed) of a building that Van Gogh once lived in. The market, restaurants and spectacular view from Sacre Coeur are definitely worth the trip and the climb. So, Montmarte is "worth doing" but if your on a tight schedule in Paris, don't put this high on the list... or at least just go directly to the top for a quick visit.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Suzanne A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very informative walk. You coild tellmour giide was very passionate about the area and he ensired we had plenty of rest stops as we made our way up the hill to the Sacre Coeur.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Where to start? This tour was excellent and my favorite thing I did while I was in Paris! Who knew that Paris had hills and that I would be climbing a majority of them. Kit, my tour guide, was so informative and passionate about the history of Montmartre. He really made the area come alive with the history and personal stories. I was the only person on our tour, so I was fortunate to have the entire 3 hours to myself. Kit was able to answer all of my questions and even brought along various reference books to show the then and now of the area. We saw Moulin Rough, Montmartre Cemetery, Moulin de la Galette, back ally street art, the apartment building that once housed Van Gogh, Au Lapin Agile, the pink cafe, various monuments, a vineyard, the Sacre Coeur, along with so much more. By far one of the best tours. Thank you!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Marion, our guide, gave us many intersting stories as we trekked through Monmartre by foot. Don't do this unless you are used to walking uphill. Part of the tour included going by Dalida- an Egytian singer's home; St. Denis' statue; an ancient vineyard; and a path bordering a philosopher's home which have nothing to do with Impressionist art. We were shown a street leading to Van Gogh's home but did not go there. We sldo stopped outside the studio where Picasso worked and lived for a time. we ended at the top of the hill at Sacre Coeur. The trickets to the Musee d'Orsay was great but only had 2 hours there by the time we took the Metro there.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took this tour in January and our tour guide and tour stops really helped us with our French practice. Everyone was friendly and we were able to really try lots of yummy treats along the way. We did the afternoon tour in Montmartre - be ready to walk and climb stairs to get to Sacre Coeur! Our tour guide indulged our interest to do the tour in French so we could practice our French and we really felt like we got more of a real French experience. I would highly recommend this to others!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Average tour, a bit dissapointing.I thought it would take us past the Moulin Rouge and the Sacre Coeur, but it stuck to the city centre mainly. I would not book it again or recommend it

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Illuminations Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An great tour of an old area of Paris. Our guide Tim did an excellent job. He provided a great deal of insight to the area and its history. You'll find the Moulin Rouge, areas where the Impressionist painters got their start, as well as Sacre Coeur, the church that overlooks the city. The area is dotted with cafes and shops. If you wanted to get a feel for the real Paris it's a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The only thing I can say is there wasn't enough time to board 2 routes. This is the second time I've been to Paris and do the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus. The first time I did with my daughter we had a 2 day ticket, and this time a 1 day ticket with my husband. And I still haven't seen Sacre Coeur.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

We were quite disappointed with this tour. We expected introductions to wonderful food and wine places, with special access and tastings. Our guide, Cedric, seems to be a nice person not cut out for this work. He merely pointed out some grocery, produce and cheese shops (no tasting of cheese, quel dommage!). We did have a nice visit to the wine shop and a good tasting and explanation of wine, thanks to the proprietor. The area was crazy crowded due to some celebration and we did not get up to Sacre Coeur due to th crowds. At the end, Cedric ran off and bought some pastries and handed them to us. It felt like he had extra money he was supposed to spend -- I would have preferred being able to taste some or at least select my own. Very poorly executed. I do not recommend this tour, so one star only.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message