Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique du Sacré-Coeur

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart, or Basilique du Sacré-Coeur, perched at the very top of Butte de Montmartre (Montmartre Hill), was built from contributions pledged by Parisian Catholics as an act of contrition after the Franco-Prussian War ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved it! I learned a lot from our guide, Laura, and the views at Sacre Coeur were stunning. I almost didn't go because I'd hurt my back and I'd read that it was a lot of walking up hills which it was but it was totally worth it!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Susy C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everyone said this was the seedy part of Paris. We started at the seedy part, was not rushed and as we climbed higher and higher up to Sacre Coeur, it became the best part and loved the artists up there and all the little shops and eateries we saw as part of this tour. Thoroughly enjoyed it, a quick way to see another area of Paris. Thanks Viator.

Doing what: Paris Movie Tour of Montmartre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a wonderful tour. Our guide told us great stories about the district. The visit to Sacre Coeur was impressive. And, the tickets to the Musee D'Orsay led us to a must see experience! That museum was incredible!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved it. History of area, anecdotes about painters and background history of Sacre Coeur are all things you can't get without a tour guide.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tooting around Paris in a 2CV may not be for everyone, but we loved it! Our driver was a good sport circling sights so we could get pictures. She also managed the hills and cobblestones on the way to Sacre Coeur like a pro. She even arranged a stop at a quaint tea house that featured amazing macaroons. Our 2CV was bright green and attracted plenty of attention. A celebratory anniversary tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Paris Tour by Citroen 2CV

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

All routes good except the yellow route. Waited in heat for over an hour with other angry commuters after visiting Sacre Coeur. Bus drivers also need an assistant to speed up entry process at door.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour brought you to many of the top places in Paris and the buses were quite frequent. My only complaint was that it didn't go to Sacre-Coeur, they should add that to the tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide, Veronique, was wonderful. In the Louvre, she took us to all of the main exhibits and saved much time. The tour was very good however, I am sorry that none of the tours included Sacre Coeur.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Gil was very cool! He got our kids age 5 and 7 interested in his stories. Wandering the back and side streets with him was entertaining and reassuring I felt safe from pickpockets in a group. Wonderful view of the city from Sacre Coeur.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Antone was a great tour guide, very personable and knowledgeable. He highlighted the wonderful things to see in Montmartre. What a beautiful town and the views from Sacre Coeur are spectacular. A Must Do on your trip!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was fantastic! My favourite part was the end at Sacre Coeur. Wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan and Montmartre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was good, very informative and willing to answer my questions. In fact, we saw him again the following day when we were with another tour group and he came over to us and said hello, which was very nice of him, so thanks Jean. Being the only couple on the tour we were really happy and had a wonderful experience. The tour through the Louvre was good, being able to see the museum minus the people first thing in the morning was a plus.
The river cruise was incredible, very tasty food, which, being a vegetarian, has been a bit of a challenge in Paris. The only down side to the river cruise was the waitress. She didnt listen very well and when I said I was a vegetarian took that to mean my partner was as well, which was not correct, and also came at the end of the meal with two espresso, when we clearly said only one was needed. But, that was not really that big a deal.
Seeing the Basilica De Sacre Coeur, including the drive up to this and the surrounding township was lovely, and well worth it. We had been into Notre Dame the day before ourselves, but Jean was able to stop around the back of the building to allow me to take some more pictures.
The tour is well worth it and a good way to see a lot of Paris without having the worry of getting there yourself. It also helps you identify what parts you are keen to see again, and for me, I would be going back to the Louvre for a whole day, if only I had the time.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Louvre Museum and Seine River Lunch Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The hop on/off experience itself it good. However, there are multiple buses that perform this service so when asking locals about it, you are misled to one of the other services. the information said to jump on any bus and start your tour but that did not happen for us. one driver shut refused to open his door for us and waved frantically at us when we tried to board. then the next driver kicked us off and I think was telling us we had to start at the visitor center but we don't speak French : Then the next bus FINALLY let us get on and kindly allowed us to ride it to the Visitor's center but said we had to get off and get something different printed which we did. it added about an hour and a half to the start of our day in Paris. Which is unfortunate as Paris is so large and there's so much to see! Thankfully the rest of the time worked better and after we had the maps we loved the 3 different systems that covered the entire city - other services only do the central part and you don't get all the museums and Sacre Coeur like this tour provides : I would recommend listing the main visitor center on the voucher and maybe just having everyone start there with maybe directions in case there are more rude bus drivers :

Doing what: Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Combo: Sightseeing Bus and Seine River Cruise

Lynne
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The view is spectacular and worth seeing both at night and in the daytime. The building oversees the entire City of Paris. It is easy to spot The Eiffel Tower and even the Sacre Coeur along with many attractions. The landscape at night makes Paris look like a jewel box.

Doing what: Montparnasse Tower 56th Floor Observation Deck

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The day started great with a visit to montmartre and the sacre coeur then notre dame then the eiffel tower. Fred our tour guide was quite witty. After having an ok lunch at the tower, the american couple with us decided to stay and explore the higher levels of the tower. We were ushered quickly to the boat cruise then after Fred's demeanour changed he seemed to want to get rid of us, we asked to see the arc de triomph but he said it was not possible as there was an event and cars couldn't pass he quickly dropped us a block from our flat as he said there was too much traffic. We quickly got off and took a taxi, which dropped us right in front of the arc. Go figure.

Doing what: Best Paris City Tour by Minivan, Seine River Cruise and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great walking tour of the Montmartre area and Sacre Coeur Basilica. First off, our guide was fabulous, his name was Romaine. Very knowledgeable and full of life. He gave us some great off the beaten path information as well as some great history. It was nice that the Skip-the-Line Musee d'Orsay ticket could be used another day. The Montmartre area was so enjoyable that my husband and I stayed and enjoyed lunch and exploring more on our own after the tour and went to the museum on another day. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We postponed this tour when it rained on our tour day and luckily the sun shone two days later. This tour was interesting and Gil, our guide, was informative and friendly and humorous and easy to understand. We learned some interesting tidbits about the area and some of its former residents but we were disappointed that the tour wasn't longer and packed with even more information. We expected more bang for our buck! It would be good if tour guides knew the location of public toilets or restaurants that allow use of their toilets. The tour ended at beautiful Sacre Coeur with a great view of the city spread out in front of us.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I would highly recommend this tour! We chose to renew our vows in the gardens around the Sacre Coeur and the guide and the photographer were wonderful. We had a great time, made some wonderful memories and have the whole thing captured in photos that are much better than our original wedding photos. The guide and the photographer were also very personable and accommodating to our wishes, as well as making some great suggestions of their own as far as photo locations went. Paris during the tourist high season is very crowded, so don't expect to have any of the better known locations to yourself. Just think of the onlookers as part of the Parisian experience and enjoy!

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Only way to see Paris and great for transport options. We used to the max and had two days to see all the sites, as we hopped on and off at each. Covered the areas we needed, however not Montmartre - Sacre Coeur area. Recommend reviewing your transport needs and your accomodation area beforehand. There are other buses available if required. Convenience of having tickets beforehand great.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

My 3 star rating is not a reflection on the tour or our guide... I was just a little disappointed in the area. Surrounding Moulin Rouge is a long line of seedy live sex shows with guys out front recruiting patrons. As we walked the streets of Montmarte, working our way toward the top, the tour focused more the street art (graffiti) than the history or artists that once lived there. We did see the outside (3rd floor shutters closed) of a building that Van Gogh once lived in. The market, restaurants and spectacular view from Sacre Coeur are definitely worth the trip and the climb. So, Montmarte is "worth doing" but if your on a tight schedule in Paris, don't put this high on the list... or at least just go directly to the top for a quick visit.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Suzanne A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very informative walk. You coild tellmour giide was very passionate about the area and he ensired we had plenty of rest stops as we made our way up the hill to the Sacre Coeur.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Where to start? This tour was excellent and my favorite thing I did while I was in Paris! Who knew that Paris had hills and that I would be climbing a majority of them. Kit, my tour guide, was so informative and passionate about the history of Montmartre. He really made the area come alive with the history and personal stories. I was the only person on our tour, so I was fortunate to have the entire 3 hours to myself. Kit was able to answer all of my questions and even brought along various reference books to show the then and now of the area. We saw Moulin Rough, Montmartre Cemetery, Moulin de la Galette, back ally street art, the apartment building that once housed Van Gogh, Au Lapin Agile, the pink cafe, various monuments, a vineyard, the Sacre Coeur, along with so much more. By far one of the best tours. Thank you!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Marion, our guide, gave us many intersting stories as we trekked through Monmartre by foot. Don't do this unless you are used to walking uphill. Part of the tour included going by Dalida- an Egytian singer's home; St. Denis' statue; an ancient vineyard; and a path bordering a philosopher's home which have nothing to do with Impressionist art. We were shown a street leading to Van Gogh's home but did not go there. We sldo stopped outside the studio where Picasso worked and lived for a time. we ended at the top of the hill at Sacre Coeur. The trickets to the Musee d'Orsay was great but only had 2 hours there by the time we took the Metro there.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took this tour in January and our tour guide and tour stops really helped us with our French practice. Everyone was friendly and we were able to really try lots of yummy treats along the way. We did the afternoon tour in Montmartre - be ready to walk and climb stairs to get to Sacre Coeur! Our tour guide indulged our interest to do the tour in French so we could practice our French and we really felt like we got more of a real French experience. I would highly recommend this to others!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Average tour, a bit dissapointing.I thought it would take us past the Moulin Rouge and the Sacre Coeur, but it stuck to the city centre mainly. I would not book it again or recommend it

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Illuminations Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message