Place de la Bastille is one of the more well-known squares in Paris and occupies an important place in French history. This is where the Bastille Prison stood until 1789, when this 'symbol of royalist tyranny' was stormed on July 14 during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 244 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Fun and interesting tour

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was a good tour. at times we had a tough time following the sequence of events because our guide would jump from one historical point to another .

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative, and refreshing.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very personable and because only the three of us she went the extra kilometer. It was fascinating to learn about this district of Paris. We sense that the younger indigenous French generation are ashamed of what happened to the Jews during the Nazi occupation. This is a great way to utilize your time when making a short visit.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour with a local guide who had a wonderful knowledge of the suppliers in the markets. Along the way to our stops she provided additional information about the city and how it's residents have lived throughout the years which was an unexpected bonus!

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We loved this tour, full of history great food treats and delicious wine. Alexandra was wonderful and we were extra lucky because there were only the two of us . Because it was summer some shops were on vacation but it didn't take away from the experience

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

While this tour was generally pleasant, it didn't match my expectations. From the description of the tour, I got the impression that we would be learning how to order the food items ourselves -- I guess I was reading too much into the phrases "browse the market independently" and "finish your tour feeling like you know the captivating Bastille district just like a food-loving local". This was very much NOT independence-building.

Our guide ordered the food rapidly in French and brought us back the food items. Usually (but not always) she explained what we were eating. She didn't know the names of the cheeses we had, and when I asked her she gave me vague descriptions, e.g. "This one is goat, that one is hard, that one is sweet." I didn't come away feeling like I had gained any special insights beyond visiting a few shops that I hadn't yet visited myself.

I think the part that was the most frustrating was that our guide never bothered to inquire whether any of us spoke French (I do), and chatted with her friends at the shops in French assuming we couldn't understand. Nothing horrible was said, but there was a general sense of "Can you believe these people are *paying* me to do this? What a great job!" at three of the stops. Not very professional.

The guide was not very well informed on American eating habits beyond Hollywood portrayals, and was slightly rude about it. She assumed (among other things) that we all drink beer with every meal and eat nothing but fried food, and went out of her way to tell us why the French way is better. I'm all for appreciation of French gastronomy, but that doesn't mean you need to insult other cultures to do so. Different doesn't have to be inferior. The irony to me is that the stereotypes she criticized were things that no one in the group actually does, we all eat pretty healthy.

In summary, the tour was okay. It was pleasant, even if I didn't get what I had hoped to get out of it. It certainly wasn't worth what I paid, though.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

It was just okay. Streets smelt like urine.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tastings, great conversation, great guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great time with Stephanie. The Marais, has so much history, even if bloody. Great to know more before walking around blind to what is really around you.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great time with Stephanie. The Marais, has so much history, even if bloody. Great to know more before walking around blind to what is really around you.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very knowledgable and made the history of the French Revolution come alive. There was never a dull moment. It was fascinating from beginning until the end.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Extremely knowledgeable and charming guide. He talked and answered questions the entire length of the tour. Felt like I was seeing many landmarks for the first time. Enjoyed by 15 year old and 70 year old.
Lots of walking.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved our guide's, Octavia, enthusiasm and knowledge of the Marais District. It was a great introduction to familiarize ourselves and we even stayed the rest of the day there AND went back another day.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgable about French history, and being able to visit the sites where these historical events took place was an invaluable learning experience!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message