Place de la Bastille is one of the more well-known squares in Paris and occupies an important place in French history. This is where the Bastille Prison stood until 1789, when this 'symbol of royalist tyranny' was stormed on July 14 during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 323 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dharris132

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Charlotte was fabulous, the food, oysters, strawberries, meats and wine were first class, and plenty of it. We were taken down hidden lane ways which we would never have found, Charlottes knowledge of old Paris was amazing and the small group, 6 in total made it very personal. A must do if you want to explore the food market and learn the history of the Bastille district.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Sangeeta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommended. Guide was very knowledgeable and fun to walk around with.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with Kit! Loved it so much we booked the same company for Versailles the next day. 100 recommend.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

herbie2448 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with our guide Charlotte being knowledgeable and having a good sense of humour. We saw some areas of Paris we would probably never have visited or appreciated fully if we had. Lane ways and eateries and markets etc with all having their significance to Parisians explained. Tastes of croissants best ever, meats, oysters, cheeses and wines. Overall a highlight of our visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Fernando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Fantastic guide took us to fun places and arrange for great food stops.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent walk! Informed on many characteristics and idiosyncrasies of the city as well as an introduction to the gastronomical history and characteristics of the Parisians and French in general. Begin with sampling the ubiquitous croissant and being informed about the Bread Culture of the Parisians we moved to the small market sampling oysters and sausage and discussing various foods often eaten throughout France. Moving to a cheese shop we sampled several varieties of cheese and discussed cheese of France. The best at last we visited a boutique wine shop sampling some reds and whites of France. What made this the best was our tour guide Charlotte Maziere. Very knowledgeable, great English, relaxed, and personable. The pace and interaction was perfect.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

kakigun48 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lots of great information. Would have been even better if the weather was warmer and drier. There was some confusion as to the meeting place to start the tour. We were given a street address, but our guide was waiting as the nearby Metro stop about 1/2 a block away. A phone call got us all in the right place.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Errol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Being a foodie, this was fantastic. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Errol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Being a foodie, this was fantastic. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

sherratt_susan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our young guide Charlotte was very good and made it an enjoyable experience walking around the markets and sampling the fare along the way. A good way to see another side of Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Diane R United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Lots of fun. We were the only ones on the tour so she customized what we saw and tasted to our interest.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Jburnstin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Charlottte was excellent. Spoke fluent, easy to understand English. Went at a comfortable pace for us. Allowed us to also interact with the vendors who provided the tastes that were part of our tour. Both had an agenda, and asked for our input as well. Very personable. One of the best activities we did during our 3 day stay.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

plinda4533

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

As suggested in the voucher, we were there well ahead of time. We waited and waited, but unfortunately our Guide never showed. Others also left. Everyone disappointed.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Molly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My daughter and I agree this tour with Gil was our favorite part of our trip! His knowledge of the French Revolution was amazing both from the grand picture to the intimate details of the lives of those who were affected. The history was so interesting and he built a platform for the revolution by informing us of the early history and society which led to the breakdown of the Royal family and Paris itself. Fantastic.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Flaming

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Guide Antoine was prompt and efficient and shared his very comprehensive knowledge of the attractions visited. Many thanks to him for being so informative.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

sweem

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I waited for one and one half hours and no one showed up. When I called the tour operator they said they were not able to contact me. And that the tour guide was unable to lead this morning. i was very disappointed.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

D C B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely brilliant. The lady who led us around gave us a lot of history of the area and showed us many places that we would never have found. The portions were generous and the small group was not overwhelming.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Jacqueline L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a fab tour. Our guide Charlotte? was welcoming knowledgeable funny and helpful. NB no need for lunch afterwards.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Sylvia J. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent tour guide I believe from California, originally who was so knowledgeable and gave us so much information. He had an excellent speaking voice and delivery. He was just wonderful! I would say that The French Revolution tour was my favorite. Thank you!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour and our guide young French woman was such fun and she lead us on a interesting and delicious tour. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Guide was knowledgeable, food was fantastic and atmosphere electric. Great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

james s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

great tour- both for places visited and an exceptional tour guide

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

maria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Charlotte was fabulous, friendly and heaps of fun. It felt like we were visiting the markets etc with a good friend. We had the best croissant we had ever had, sumptuous fruits and berries from the market, delicious wine and the biggest oysters we had ever seen. This was my hubby's favourite tour. less touristy and more authentic. Thanks so much Charlotte we had an awesome time.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Helen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A really great tour, not only terrific food stops but also extremely interesting history of the area. Alexandra is very knowledgable and showed us little tucked away 'courtyards' that, having been alone, we would have walked straight past. Really delicious tastings just the best croissants! and well worth the money. We would take another tour with Alexandra without hesitation.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message