• USD ($)
  • English
Place de la Bastille is one of the more well-known squares in Paris and occupies an important place in French history. This is where the Bastille Prison stood until 1789, when this 'symbol of royalist tyranny' was stormed on July 14 during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tastings, great conversation, great guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great time with Stephanie. The Marais, has so much history, even if bloody. Great to know more before walking around blind to what is really around you.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great time with Stephanie. The Marais, has so much history, even if bloody. Great to know more before walking around blind to what is really around you.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very knowledgable and made the history of the French Revolution come alive. There was never a dull moment. It was fascinating from beginning until the end.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Extremely knowledgeable and charming guide. He talked and answered questions the entire length of the tour. Felt like I was seeing many landmarks for the first time. Enjoyed by 15 year old and 70 year old.
Lots of walking.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved our guide's, Octavia, enthusiasm and knowledge of the Marais District. It was a great introduction to familiarize ourselves and we even stayed the rest of the day there AND went back another day.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It rained heavily for the duration which was fitting for the sombre subject. My husband was very interested in all the political information given by the guide.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour that lasted well over the expected time. Very knowledgeable and entertaining tour leader. Recommended as part of getting to know an important piece of the history of France.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. The only two suggestions we have are to use audio headsets in order to better hear our guide and to provide a list of all of the places we visited for future reference.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I thought it was very interesting and enjoyed the stories of the shops and market areas we visited but i thought the food tastings were very skimpy and ordinary for the price. Tasting cherries at a market isn't something new. It would have been nice to try things that are unique and had more variety. Also, it would have been nice to sit down in a unique restaurant to the area and have a more substantial taste. i've been on food tours that do that and as a result went back to the restaurants for meals and entertainment.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very informative and entertaining. Gil was fantastic.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For three plus hours we were entertained with the Revolutionary story of France. I recognized many of the areas we visited but I learned so many interesting facts. Our guide made history come alive.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The tour I eventually did was good but the venue and time was changed without giving me prior notice so the complete tour I purchased never happened. It was only that other people with your phone number were at the meeting point that I found out what had happened . Your organisation was very poor and unimpressive and consequently I would not use or recommend Viator tours to my friends.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We did this tour on our first afternoon in Paris and as we were staying in the Marais district it was great to explore this area and learn about the history and landmarks. Our guide Kit gave us lots of information and on later days we were able to find our way easily around the area and return to places Kit had shown us. We did try the falafels Kit and they were delicious.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a great tour that filled-in gaps from many of the other tours we had taken. We went on this walk with our guide - Paul - late in our visit to Paris. We had already been to many of the primary Paris attractions but this tour of the streets and sites that were key during the revolution really provided perspective. Our guide had a deep knowledge of French history and all of the events and factors that led to revolution and it's aftermath. This was fascinating and well worth the time.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message