Place de la Bastille is one of the more well-known squares in Paris and occupies an important place in French history. This is where the Bastille Prison stood until 1789, when this 'symbol of royalist tyranny' was stormed on July 14 during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 286 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an excellent guide, who was very knowledgeable and friendly. She was willing to answer all our questions with enthusiasm, even those which were not related to the French Revolution. This is an excellent tour for someone who wants to understand better why the Revolution took place, and what happened during the revolution.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I booked this trip for some US friends who are all big foodies. There were just the four of us in the end so a private tour, led by guide Alex who was both friendly and knowledgeable. We learned lots of history and saw many hidden city spots, as well as the foodie stuff. Visited several shops and the outdoor markets and got to sample more goodies than we expected. Coffee, croissants and bread, market cherries, tarte flambé French style pizza with cheese, onions and bacon, a fantastic plate of cheeses and a massive glass of wine mid morning. Plenty of opportunity to shop for foodstuffs if required. A good pace and distance and a really good experience. One of the highlights of our Paris trip. Would definitely recommend :

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Missed this one due to luring rain.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took the food and market tour last week and it was one of the best experiences we had in Paris. In addition to the food market, our guide showed us a little bit of history between the meeting point and the market. In addition to the samples provided as part of the tour, we also had a wide assortment of fresh fruits as we walked though the market. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

fantastic we loved this tour and was our favorite loved our guide alexandra!

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Our guide was so knowledgable with Paris history that we wished we would have taken the tour on the first day we arrived instead of on the last. It was also nice that even though there were certain locations that were set up to stop at we didn't feel rushed at all !!! I highly recommend this tour !!! Well worth the cost !

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Gil's knowledge was thorough and his style of delivery was clear and entertaining. We were absorbed in his stories from the start. An easy walk and beautiful weather made for a very interesting and enjoyable afternoon. Thank you Gil and Viator.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Only 2 of us in the group so this like a leisurely stroll with an old friend. Our guide Alexandra was very pleasant and informative and we had such a good morning. Lots of beautiful food to taste and buy. Don't have breakfast before you go you won't need it. Also a good insight into the history of the Bastille area. Well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Antwan was an excellent guide - welcoming, knowledgable and entertaining. Very good tour for anyone interested in Parisian history.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Gil was a super, accommodating guide. Had great knowledge and was open to questions and requests. Very interesting tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would 100 recommend this tour to anyone. Antoin the guide was great and made learning fun!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was clearly knowledgable and he enjoying sharing his insights! Totally worth it

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous! Our guide was awesome - even our teens ages 14 and 16 thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a must. We were able to see working Paris from a foodie point of view. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alexandra our tour guide was delightful. I had never visited the Bastille and her history of the area was fantastic. There were plenty of tastings, defiantly don't have breakfast before hand. The markets were colourful. I really enjoyed the morning. I'd highly recommend it to any foody.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Mandi
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great! Our guide was very knowledgeable and funny. It was awesome to walk through Paris and see the sites where major events of the French Revolution took place. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide showed parts of Bastille you would not find on your own.Market and food tasting excellent,recomment

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour included an extremely knowledgeable guide who did an excellent job telling us stories from the French Revolution, but we did not get to see many sights at all. All of the places on this tour were extremely popular and easy to find on your own.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area, the market and the food we tasted. We had a good time, but the tour was much shorter than advertised. Maybe due to only 6 people attending? Overall, we felt that the tour was overpriced for the experience we had.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Just the 2 of us! Brilliant and I teresti g tour. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting food tour with some history thrown in.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Can't really give this a rating. I didn't go on the trip. I arrived at what I thought was the correct location. Not sure if I was at the wrong location or the guide never showed.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We had a great time seeing the unseen side of Paris, at least from a tourist's point of view. Our guide was smart and friendly and she showed us a really good time. Highly recommended if you want something more authentic.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message