Place de la Bastille is one of the more well-known squares in Paris and occupies an important place in French history. This is where the Bastille Prison stood until 1789, when this 'symbol of royalist tyranny' was stormed on July 14 during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 311 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jburnstin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Charlottte was excellent. Spoke fluent, easy to understand English. Went at a comfortable pace for us. Allowed us to also interact with the vendors who provided the tastes that were part of our tour. Both had an agenda, and asked for our input as well. Very personable. One of the best activities we did during our 3 day stay.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

plinda4533

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

As suggested in the voucher, we were there well ahead of time. We waited and waited, but unfortunately our Guide never showed. Others also left. Everyone disappointed.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Molly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My daughter and I agree this tour with Gil was our favorite part of our trip! His knowledge of the French Revolution was amazing both from the grand picture to the intimate details of the lives of those who were affected. The history was so interesting and he built a platform for the revolution by informing us of the early history and society which led to the breakdown of the Royal family and Paris itself. Fantastic.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Flaming

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Guide Antoine was prompt and efficient and shared his very comprehensive knowledge of the attractions visited. Many thanks to him for being so informative.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

sweem

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I waited for one and one half hours and no one showed up. When I called the tour operator they said they were not able to contact me. And that the tour guide was unable to lead this morning. i was very disappointed.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

D C B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely brilliant. The lady who led us around gave us a lot of history of the area and showed us many places that we would never have found. The portions were generous and the small group was not overwhelming.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Jacqueline L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a fab tour. Our guide Charlotte? was welcoming knowledgeable funny and helpful. NB no need for lunch afterwards.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Sylvia J. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent tour guide I believe from California, originally who was so knowledgeable and gave us so much information. He had an excellent speaking voice and delivery. He was just wonderful! I would say that The French Revolution tour was my favorite. Thank you!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour and our guide young French woman was such fun and she lead us on a interesting and delicious tour. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Guide was knowledgeable, food was fantastic and atmosphere electric. Great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

james s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

great tour- both for places visited and an exceptional tour guide

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

maria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Charlotte was fabulous, friendly and heaps of fun. It felt like we were visiting the markets etc with a good friend. We had the best croissant we had ever had, sumptuous fruits and berries from the market, delicious wine and the biggest oysters we had ever seen. This was my hubby's favourite tour. less touristy and more authentic. Thanks so much Charlotte we had an awesome time.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Helen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A really great tour, not only terrific food stops but also extremely interesting history of the area. Alexandra is very knowledgable and showed us little tucked away 'courtyards' that, having been alone, we would have walked straight past. Really delicious tastings just the best croissants! and well worth the money. We would take another tour with Alexandra without hesitation.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Sheila O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antoine was amazing. Even kept the 8 year old excited about the French Revolution. Definitely would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Kathryn Y

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The guide was knowledgeable and friendly telling us interesting and fun facts about the neighborhood. Great food and great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Monique B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was a nice tour. Had the best croissant I've ever had. I enjoyed the tastings.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Kirsten M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

we really enjoyed the tour, our guide was excellent, funny and had all the local knowledge. Great to be with a small group of only 10. recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Evon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Terrific our guide was lovely and very knowledgeable

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Fiona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour leader who made the French Revolution come alive. Highly recommended

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Phong P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was simple, easy to walk and informative. Our guide was from the states living in Paris to get his masters degree, so his English and description of the historic evenst were easy to understand. The tour was conducted by a local tour operator. We had another tour with this company, so we highly recommend them.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Guide Christine from Fat Bike Tire Tours was excellent. A lot of walking involved but seen many sites along the way. Very knowledgeable - highly recommend. A great way to get a better understanding of the history of the French Revolution.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A must-do if you are in Paris. The Bastille Market is absolutely fabulous and after the tour
you can wander around on your own for hours. Very interesting !

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

cnp.drp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Gil took us on a great walk of some key locations that he used to tell a story of the 1789 Revolution. I really liked the length and pace of the tour. Two hours was just enough history and information to spark my curiosity and want to come home and read more but not so long that I got tired or bored. At my request, Gill recommended a couple of books to further my understanding of this subject.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Claire Z United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

We spent half the tour visiting furniture shops, then had a croissant, wine and cheese, and a visit to an outdoor market. No information about the areas we walked through. Would not recommend for the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Ahmed A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

The tour was completely below expectation and it was not as mentioned in Viator.
1- It was not 3 hours as mentioned, it ends with only two hours.
2- The guide was not food expert as mentioned, we spend one hour walking in the streets watching the architecture and history of the area. No talk about food at all.
3- The guide at last took us to a normal patisserie shop and bought one croissant for each of us.
4- Then we went to Marche di Aligre, the covered market was closed long time ago deu to fire accident. Only the street open area was open. During walking in the open market, we tasted few samples of fruits nothing special or gourmet
5- Then we went to a bar and tasted wine with two kind of cheeses.
The whole experience was far away from Gourmet tour that was mentioned in Viator.
I was very upset and never book with Viator again, sorry.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message