• USD ($)
  • English
Place de la Bastille is one of the more well-known squares in Paris and occupies an important place in French history. This is where the Bastille Prison stood until 1789, when this 'symbol of royalist tyranny' was stormed on July 14 during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent guide, full of anecdotes and historical information

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Our tour guide was very lovely and informative. The first part of the tour was about history. Unfortunately, I did not want history. I could've done a free walking tour for that. The first place we went, which was about 30-45 min into the tour, was a bakery. There were only 4 of us on the tour, and we knew each other. We were given 4 pastries to share and given nothing to drink! She encouraged us to bite the pastries, which was ok for us, but weird to do if in a tour with strangers. The next place we went to was the market. We tried 2 terrines and a pate (shared one piece), a raw oyster, and samples of 5 cheeses. I typically love cheese. This tour made me reluctant to have cheese ever again. We were given 5 types, which she said are very strong and typically not liked by Americans. The blue cheese was the mildest cheese. The tour guide knew we were American. It seemed like she knew we wouldn't like it. I don't understand why we weren't given some mild and some strong cheeses. We then went to the market outside and ate samples (something anyone can do for free). The tour guide told us to throw the peel from an orange in a box the vendor had under his table. We were then all yelled at by the vendor...thanks! After that we went to a wine shop and had one glass of wine and another pate. I've been to multiple food tours in Spain and Italy. This is the most expensive one I have done, and worst experience. We all had stomach aches from the peculiar combination of food (oysters, terrine, brioche pastry, blue cheese). Total waste of time and money!

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved it! I had been to the Marais in the past, but the history provided by the guide was really good. Based on what he had told us, I returned a few days later and took the English-speaking tour of the Memorial de Shoah (the English version is given the second Sunday of each month), which was very well done. All in all, I strongly recommend this walk.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide, Alexandra, was excellent! She knew where to take us and shared many anecdotes and tips about how seriously the French take their produce. The pace was just right and anyone- you don't have to be a foodie- would have enjoyed this tour. We sampled as we went along and she was so knowledeable about the area and made delicious choices for us. We liked the indoor and outdoor markets so much we went back on our own later in the week to make purchases.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Gil was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Thought the walking tour was very good

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our guide was very pleasant, and spoke very good English. Unfortunately, on the day of our tour, the weather was dreadful, but that was no fault of hers. We started off at a boulangerie, and had croissant, and she explained a lot about the boulangeries in Paris, and their baking etc was we did find interesting. We were also taken to a market, which was good, as was the wine shop. I feel a lot of the rest of the tour, was not specifically about French food. We were given a box of raspberries, from Spain, Jaffa oranges, etc. We have done other food tours in cities before, and they have been much more about the LOCAL produce, and local food production. On the plus side, there was only the two of us in the group.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Stephanie is VERY knowledsgeable and kept it interesting! knew the places to go and where to stop for a moments rest Knows the history! GREAT GUIDE!!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was very good and it was very helpful to learn about the different communities that live in the bustling Marais.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the most memorable little tour of our entire Paris trip. In spite of dreary weather, we enjoyed the walk. The little shops were places we never would have found on our own. Food sampling was fun and educational. Tour guide was top notch. Highly recommend this tour if you do nothing else....

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Steph absolutely brilliant. Unfortunately, I couldn't complete tour (I deserted at the Tuileries) due to a sprained ankle. Would definitely go on other walking tours next time, especially if Steph doing them
Mai,London

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a most enjoyable tour with our very knowledgable tour guide Stephanie. She explained the events leading up to the revolution, and then took us on a tour of the significant locations where she provided us with a comprehensive but light-hearted commentary. We would highly recommend this tour for people interested in French history.
Peter and Debbie M

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

There was only two couples, which actually made it more pleasurable. Gil was a great leader, and very knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Stephanie did an excellant job, sharing all her knowledge of the Marais. In the future would like to see her holding a placard for easier recognition.
merci beaucoup.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I liked this trip a lot. It was nice and fun to see local market. We tried different kind of cheeses, wines and the best croissant. It wasn't too long of a tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message