Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bonnie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My daughter and I spent a week in Paris and this was one of the most interesting things we saw. The scope of the catacombs is awe inspiring and the guide was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Mike B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a really great tour, very personal and the tour guide was great. She was amazingly well informed on history of catacombs and was clearly genuinely interested in them. I would happily recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Shelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awesome--one of the highlights of our trip! Our tour guide was Randa and she was the best! Very knowledgeable and VERY entertaining. Skip-the-line was the way to go. There were people in line waiting for three hours. The ticket through Viator was a Godsend--we walked right up and into the catacombs. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Tyler W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone should go. The guide was excellent, knew a lot about the catacombs and very approachable. Only had roughly 10 ppl in the tour, which made it even better. You cannot go to Paris without coming here!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

Diana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great, not only did we get to skip the huge line, but our guide Pierre was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and entertaining. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to the catacombs

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fascinating... going on a tour of the catacombs is well worth it and gives an even deeper understanding of the history of Paris. Our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Laura H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thought our guide was excellent! He gave lots of history, background and details on the tour. My kids age 9 and 12 loved it also! I would not visit the catacombs without a guide, since he had so much info to share it really enhanced the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

ryan j

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable about Paris, Paris history, and the catacombs which was very nice. Great intro talk before going in. Unfortunately, the catacombs don't open until 10am so even though you need to get there before 9 the tour will last until 11:30. I'd recommend the tour if history or a guide is important to you but if you just want to experience the catacombs just get there at the same time and wait in line to get in at 10 and save yourself the money. FYI the cost does NOT cover the entrance fee either

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Rgoodrich8

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed this tour very much. Met guide at 8:45 but Catacombs does not open until 10:00 AM so a long wait but worth it as we were at the front of the line which was extremely long by the time we entered. Guide did a good job in explaining the history behind the Catacombs.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Yevgeniya M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It's worth doing,but I do not think that a guided tour is very necessary - I did not really understand much from our tour guide. The catacombs are fascinating, but the tour was not necessary.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

pjb64

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The catacombs themselves were great. The guide was a trainwreck. Ditched the group to get a away from the guide and had a much better time. Also with the poor lighting down there it's almost impossible to get good pictures with a group as there are too many shadows in the tight quarters. Use Viator tour to skip the line then ditch the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Anish S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

let me tell you Catacombs are worth visiting.
but the price you pay for skip the line tour is too much.
you get guide services and entry to certain restricted area but according to me the amount of difference between normal ticket and this price is not at all worth it.
normal ticket is i think 17 euros and if you take audio guides i think it is great . no need for spending so much money.
do visit Catacombs , it is great , but take normal tickets with audio guide. believe me lines are not that long.you will save lot of money and enjoy too at your own pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Leslie W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This tour does not skip the line!!! You simply meet the guides who were late across the street and get in the line one hour before it opens. You wait in line for an hour or longer and then pay to get in. The guides give a history of the catacombs which was interesting and they were all charming. It is also not limited to 15 people. There were three guides so all together our group was forty people. It made for a huge log jam. After getting in I had to leave the group to see anything. The catacombs have such a long line because they do not let many people in, so you do not need a small group tour. Just get there an hour before they open and wait in line on your own. I was not the only person in the group who thought this tour skipped the line, which is the only thing worth paying 50 each for.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Duc was a great guide, full of interesting history and rumors about the Catacombs. Doing the tour allows you to see parts of the Catacombs that are off-limits to the regular tourists and made the experience extra special.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

WorldTraveler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The skip-the-line part of this tour is VERY well worth it. Even in the tourist off-season, the line looked to be around 2 hours long. And Paris is not warm in late March/early April. The small group met at the entrance, went right on in, and the tour guide was super informative throughout the tour. We got access to portions of the catacombs the general public cannot access, and there are no informative guides/plaques throughout so we are so glad we had the guide to tell us all about it.

Doing what: Skip the Line Paris Catacombs Guided tour

Tam United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was worth having a guide for and I recommend you wear suitable foot wear for the walk ahead of you! We met opposite the Catacombs in the early morning around 8:45am by the metro station and a young girl Raffaele? approached us and double checked our names from her list, she then told us to meet outside the Catacombs around 9:30am, so we decided to grab a coffee and made our way back shortly after that. As we stood outside the Catacombs from 9:30am to the time they opened 10am I think, you could see the queue building up behind us and by the time it had opened the queue pretty much was half way around the building. During this time Raffaele explained to us the history behind the Catacombs and how the bones ended up here I found this very interesting as I didnt know any of the history behind it. Though we had booked this in advance, we had to pay entry to get in it does state this before you book it though I think, anyway kids under 16 or 18 not sure which one get in free and people under 26 get a discount which was a nice surprise for us. As we entered we had to go down spiral stairs and it actually made me a little dizzy so take it easy when you go down. When we got down to the bottom, Raffaele explained the time lines and stuff to us and how the black line in the ceiling got there and what the numbers on the walls meant. She translated the plaques above the entrance into the Catacombs and the ones inside also. It was so eye opening and actually quite sad to think what the people back then must have gone through. When we got the end we had to get up some spiral stairs again and on the opposite site of the exit is an unofficial souvenir store. All in all I really enjoyed the tour, it was probably around two hours long and I would definitely recommend it to people but like I said good shoes and take some water with you.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Sarah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Visiting the Catacombs is a must when you are in Paris and our guide Alberto was fantastic. Glad we booked this tour... not only did we skip the 1hour line to get in but it was a great way to learn about some of the history of Paris and of course explore some additional tunnels of the Catacombs which we otherwise would not have had access to.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

karanngoroo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Victoria is awesome! Very knowledgable about all things catacombs. Most definitely worth the purchase.

KG

Doing what: Skip the Line Catacombs Underground Museum Tour and Tales of Gothic Paris

Dana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We met with the city wonders rep outside the entrance. When our group had all arrived we met our tour guide, Alberto. He was funny, charming, and charismatic. The history/ stories were great. It was fun to be allowed behind locked doors that the public does not have access to...this was my first trip to Paris/Catacombs and it was incredible. We thoroughly enjoyed this experience. This was our second tour through viator and I would 100 recommend this guide/tour. Also, for those worried about the physicality of the tour- it was not that bad. The stairs were manageable and the halls were tall/wide enough for regular people to navigate. Also, at the end of the tour you can go into the gift shop and they recommend a local bar to go to. We went to the bar and enjoyed some good drinks-I recommend that place too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Lou Lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a fantastic tour. I have done this twice now and I love it each time. Our tour guide this time was Victoria and even though she said she hasn't been doing tours for very long she is wonderfully informative and passionate about the Catacombs. Ask for her tour - she was great.
There are quite a few steps so be aware and wear flat comfortable shoes. You could get wet feet.
These Catacombs are very special and are not a goulish tourist attraction but a very moving historical treasure. I recommend this tour to everyone who is thinking about visiting Paris..... I love it.

Doing what: Skip the Line Catacombs Underground Museum Tour and Tales of Gothic Paris

Reid B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour! For whatever reason, we never saw many lines during our trip except for the catacombs. The line wrapped around the building and kept going. Fortunately, we were able to skip that. Or guide , Kevin I think, was very knowledgeable and certainly seemed to enjoy his job. The information presented really added a lot to the experience.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Duygu O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tina was our guide, and she was wonderful. We enjoyed all the historical information. Pick-up and drop off location Catacombs entrance in Denfert Rochereau is very conveniently near RER B line. There was plenty of seats available on the bus, and it was quite comfy. Lunch was not mind-blowing but seemed like it was kept simple no crazy ingredients so everybody could be happy oven roasted chicken -super soft-, oven roasted potatoes and tomatoes, green salad -just lettuce-, coffee and fruit tart, and of course the wine from the chateau. The owner was adorable. Charming chateaus. The cookies at one of the shops by Cheteau Chambord are absolutely yummy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Don P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organized tour into semi-private areas of the Catacombs. Very knowledgeable and enjoyable guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Sally W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unbelievable to see and know that someone was once employed as a decorative bone stacker underground. Felix was our informative and helpful guide. Please be aware this is a walking tour and a degree of fitness is required. Not for those who dislike small spaces or narrow stairs which there are many coming back out of the catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Gary C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Rafaelle was very well informed about the catacombs and made the tour a delight.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message