Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 266 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Duc was a great guide, full of interesting history and rumors about the Catacombs. Doing the tour allows you to see parts of the Catacombs that are off-limits to the regular tourists and made the experience extra special.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

WorldTraveler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The skip-the-line part of this tour is VERY well worth it. Even in the tourist off-season, the line looked to be around 2 hours long. And Paris is not warm in late March/early April. The small group met at the entrance, went right on in, and the tour guide was super informative throughout the tour. We got access to portions of the catacombs the general public cannot access, and there are no informative guides/plaques throughout so we are so glad we had the guide to tell us all about it.

Doing what: Skip the Line Paris Catacombs Guided tour

Tam United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was worth having a guide for and I recommend you wear suitable foot wear for the walk ahead of you! We met opposite the Catacombs in the early morning around 8:45am by the metro station and a young girl Raffaele? approached us and double checked our names from her list, she then told us to meet outside the Catacombs around 9:30am, so we decided to grab a coffee and made our way back shortly after that. As we stood outside the Catacombs from 9:30am to the time they opened 10am I think, you could see the queue building up behind us and by the time it had opened the queue pretty much was half way around the building. During this time Raffaele explained to us the history behind the Catacombs and how the bones ended up here I found this very interesting as I didnt know any of the history behind it. Though we had booked this in advance, we had to pay entry to get in it does state this before you book it though I think, anyway kids under 16 or 18 not sure which one get in free and people under 26 get a discount which was a nice surprise for us. As we entered we had to go down spiral stairs and it actually made me a little dizzy so take it easy when you go down. When we got down to the bottom, Raffaele explained the time lines and stuff to us and how the black line in the ceiling got there and what the numbers on the walls meant. She translated the plaques above the entrance into the Catacombs and the ones inside also. It was so eye opening and actually quite sad to think what the people back then must have gone through. When we got the end we had to get up some spiral stairs again and on the opposite site of the exit is an unofficial souvenir store. All in all I really enjoyed the tour, it was probably around two hours long and I would definitely recommend it to people but like I said good shoes and take some water with you.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Sarah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Visiting the Catacombs is a must when you are in Paris and our guide Alberto was fantastic. Glad we booked this tour... not only did we skip the 1hour line to get in but it was a great way to learn about some of the history of Paris and of course explore some additional tunnels of the Catacombs which we otherwise would not have had access to.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

karanngoroo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Victoria is awesome! Very knowledgable about all things catacombs. Most definitely worth the purchase.

KG

Doing what: Skip the Line Catacombs Underground Museum Tour and Tales of Gothic Paris

Dana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We met with the city wonders rep outside the entrance. When our group had all arrived we met our tour guide, Alberto. He was funny, charming, and charismatic. The history/ stories were great. It was fun to be allowed behind locked doors that the public does not have access to...this was my first trip to Paris/Catacombs and it was incredible. We thoroughly enjoyed this experience. This was our second tour through viator and I would 100 recommend this guide/tour. Also, for those worried about the physicality of the tour- it was not that bad. The stairs were manageable and the halls were tall/wide enough for regular people to navigate. Also, at the end of the tour you can go into the gift shop and they recommend a local bar to go to. We went to the bar and enjoyed some good drinks-I recommend that place too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Lou Lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a fantastic tour. I have done this twice now and I love it each time. Our tour guide this time was Victoria and even though she said she hasn't been doing tours for very long she is wonderfully informative and passionate about the Catacombs. Ask for her tour - she was great.
There are quite a few steps so be aware and wear flat comfortable shoes. You could get wet feet.
These Catacombs are very special and are not a goulish tourist attraction but a very moving historical treasure. I recommend this tour to everyone who is thinking about visiting Paris..... I love it.

Doing what: Skip the Line Catacombs Underground Museum Tour and Tales of Gothic Paris

Reid B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour! For whatever reason, we never saw many lines during our trip except for the catacombs. The line wrapped around the building and kept going. Fortunately, we were able to skip that. Or guide , Kevin I think, was very knowledgeable and certainly seemed to enjoy his job. The information presented really added a lot to the experience.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Duygu O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tina was our guide, and she was wonderful. We enjoyed all the historical information. Pick-up and drop off location Catacombs entrance in Denfert Rochereau is very conveniently near RER B line. There was plenty of seats available on the bus, and it was quite comfy. Lunch was not mind-blowing but seemed like it was kept simple no crazy ingredients so everybody could be happy oven roasted chicken -super soft-, oven roasted potatoes and tomatoes, green salad -just lettuce-, coffee and fruit tart, and of course the wine from the chateau. The owner was adorable. Charming chateaus. The cookies at one of the shops by Cheteau Chambord are absolutely yummy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Don P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organized tour into semi-private areas of the Catacombs. Very knowledgeable and enjoyable guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Sally W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unbelievable to see and know that someone was once employed as a decorative bone stacker underground. Felix was our informative and helpful guide. Please be aware this is a walking tour and a degree of fitness is required. Not for those who dislike small spaces or narrow stairs which there are many coming back out of the catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Gary C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Rafaelle was very well informed about the catacombs and made the tour a delight.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Felicity D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Was great to be able to skip the queue, although it wasn't as bad as I have heard it can get. The catacombs weren't quite what I expected after having seen some amazing ones in Rome. However that had nothing to do with this particular tour, more my expectations for how good it would be. Our tour guide Claire was great, very knowledgable and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Alison F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

We arrived as requested at 8.45am. It was pouring rain and cold. Our tour guide was late, unprofessional and promptly told us the museum didn't open until 10am. He left some tourists to keep our position in line and promptly went to get coffee. Arriving so early was unnecessary. Our vouchers from Viator stated we were required to pay an entrance fee of 10 euro. When paying at the ticket office we were required to pay full price of 12 euro. Our guide gave no assistance when questioned about our voucher and stated it was not his concern. Very poor for form!!!! I would recommend other travellers to see the catacombs without a guide, it's cheaper and not required if you have someone so unprofessional.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

rglovett United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Not to be missed. The was amazing and creepy. You definitely want to skip the lines because a long line had formed when we got there, and we just went right in. But you also get the benefit of a knowledgeable tour guide. Our guide was great. She gave us lot of insights on both the history of the Catacombs and the current activities in the Catacombs. She might even have participated in a few recent activities!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Roderick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Alberto was our guide and his knowledge of the Catacombs was incredible. I also liked the fact that he mentioned the movie, and #34;As above, so below and #34; which is based on the catacombs of Paris, not necessary a true story but was impressed he knew about it. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Alvaro D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour. Takes you to areas exclusive areas of the catacombs not accesible on regular tours. Very good guide, gave good context and answered all the questions. Length of the tour is optimal.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very cool tour and our tour guide was well informed in its history. Our tour guide spoke very good English and spoke loud and clear. The catacombs itself is a marvel to see in person. The price for this tour was worth the extra perks of skipping the line and getting a private tour of an area of the catacombs that is not part of the standard admission. Tip: prepare yourself for narrow spiral staircase at the start and end of the tour. Comfy shoes are a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line Catacombs Underground Museum Tour and Tales of Gothic Paris

avr186

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was knowledgeable, charming, and funny. I would not have wanted to see the Catacombs without him!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Barbara Jean P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour with tour guide Felix who was most informative and kept our group interested with his extensive knowledge of the Catacombs

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very good guide Felix. Knew the catacombs well and gave great information. Skipping the line and getting right in was a big plus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Jennifer S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I recommend visiting the catacombs, but I didn't find it very effective or useful to have a group or a guide since talking is strongly discouraged in the catacombs themselves. Thankfully, having passed by the catacombs the day before our tour, we knew the lines were crazy-long all day long. We arrived early, thinking that special entrance was part of our small-group tour. It wasn't, but we were close to the front of the line since we arrived early. The guides were hard to find--with no shirts, hats, flags, or other identifiers. It was pure happenstance that we connected to the group. Our guide was fairly new and didn't give us any information before we descended and was then reprimanded several times by the catacombs employees for talking and answering questions along the catacombs route.

It's an interesting visit and an experience I'm glad I've had, but I would recommend simply planning to arrive 30 minutes to an hour before the catacombs open for the day and reading the information yourself rather than a guided tour. We took seven different Viator tours over our two-week trip. This is the only guided experience that I would say was NOT worth the money, although the site itself is worth visiting.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Russell D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide was indispensable. Skipping the line a desire you will feel comfortable fulfilling. Our trip was in March, 2016, and lines are an hour for each venue we attended....Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Catacombs. The majority of a day would have been spent standing. The Catacombs are beyond incredible! We know what they are, but the 2 kilometers of travel descends you far into the past, deep into the heart of Central Europe the times, emotions, and realities.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Tracy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was a highlight of our trip, especially with the extra information provided by our guide Kevin. He was full of enthusiasm when detailing the history of the catacombs and he provided an entertaining dialog throughout the tour. Make sure your book the small group tour to get a glimpse of what the general public does not see!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Carla F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

When I booked this tour, I was expecting to see a few skeletal remains, but it wasn't at all what I had envisioned. I was amazed at how extensive the catacombs are, and thanks to our informative tour guide, I got the history on how they came to be. If you've done all the traditional tourist spots and have time to spare, this is definitely a good one to add to the list! And I recommend the small group tour so you can get a history lesson and have all your questions answered. Wear comfortable shoes - lots of walking!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message