Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 252 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rglovett United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Not to be missed. The was amazing and creepy. You definitely want to skip the lines because a long line had formed when we got there, and we just went right in. But you also get the benefit of a knowledgeable tour guide. Our guide was great. She gave us lot of insights on both the history of the Catacombs and the current activities in the Catacombs. She might even have participated in a few recent activities!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Roderick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Alberto was our guide and his knowledge of the Catacombs was incredible. I also liked the fact that he mentioned the movie, and #34;As above, so below and #34; which is based on the catacombs of Paris, not necessary a true story but was impressed he knew about it. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Alvaro D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour. Takes you to areas exclusive areas of the catacombs not accesible on regular tours. Very good guide, gave good context and answered all the questions. Length of the tour is optimal.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very cool tour and our tour guide was well informed in its history. Our tour guide spoke very good English and spoke loud and clear. The catacombs itself is a marvel to see in person. The price for this tour was worth the extra perks of skipping the line and getting a private tour of an area of the catacombs that is not part of the standard admission. Tip: prepare yourself for narrow spiral staircase at the start and end of the tour. Comfy shoes are a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line Catacombs Underground Museum Tour and Tales of Gothic Paris

avr186

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was knowledgeable, charming, and funny. I would not have wanted to see the Catacombs without him!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Barbara Jean P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour with tour guide Felix who was most informative and kept our group interested with his extensive knowledge of the Catacombs

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very good guide Felix. Knew the catacombs well and gave great information. Skipping the line and getting right in was a big plus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Jennifer S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I recommend visiting the catacombs, but I didn't find it very effective or useful to have a group or a guide since talking is strongly discouraged in the catacombs themselves. Thankfully, having passed by the catacombs the day before our tour, we knew the lines were crazy-long all day long. We arrived early, thinking that special entrance was part of our small-group tour. It wasn't, but we were close to the front of the line since we arrived early. The guides were hard to find--with no shirts, hats, flags, or other identifiers. It was pure happenstance that we connected to the group. Our guide was fairly new and didn't give us any information before we descended and was then reprimanded several times by the catacombs employees for talking and answering questions along the catacombs route.

It's an interesting visit and an experience I'm glad I've had, but I would recommend simply planning to arrive 30 minutes to an hour before the catacombs open for the day and reading the information yourself rather than a guided tour. We took seven different Viator tours over our two-week trip. This is the only guided experience that I would say was NOT worth the money, although the site itself is worth visiting.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Russell D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide was indispensable. Skipping the line a desire you will feel comfortable fulfilling. Our trip was in March, 2016, and lines are an hour for each venue we attended....Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Catacombs. The majority of a day would have been spent standing. The Catacombs are beyond incredible! We know what they are, but the 2 kilometers of travel descends you far into the past, deep into the heart of Central Europe the times, emotions, and realities.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Tracy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was a highlight of our trip, especially with the extra information provided by our guide Kevin. He was full of enthusiasm when detailing the history of the catacombs and he provided an entertaining dialog throughout the tour. Make sure your book the small group tour to get a glimpse of what the general public does not see!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Carla F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

When I booked this tour, I was expecting to see a few skeletal remains, but it wasn't at all what I had envisioned. I was amazed at how extensive the catacombs are, and thanks to our informative tour guide, I got the history on how they came to be. If you've done all the traditional tourist spots and have time to spare, this is definitely a good one to add to the list! And I recommend the small group tour so you can get a history lesson and have all your questions answered. Wear comfortable shoes - lots of walking!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

andy

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour and is well worth doing if you want to understand the history behind the catacombs. While you can just walk into the catacombs and guide yourself around, this tour really brought it to life... our guide was a fantastically funny and camp gentleman who was a laugh-a-minute - such good fun and he really brought it to life!

The downside of this tour is that it is run by an off-shore American company, so when something is wrong you can't get in touch with them because of the timezone differences. Also, our guide was an hour late with no communication from the tour company see above note - HOWEVER, he did state that he had only been informed about our tour booking by his American-based manager 2 hours before it was due to start, and he was unable to arrive and get ready on time. He also had no way to contact us, as he said he had not been given our contact details by the off-shore tour company.

So, in short... our guide: 5 stars. The tour: 5 stars. The tour company: 3 stars.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Rena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An interesting tour! Learned the history behind the catacombs and got to hear about interesting people that are buried here.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Ross

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice tour of the Catacombs. The guide was friendly and bright!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

David G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good, knowledgeable guide. Although you can visit the Catacombs on your own, I think joining a tour is a good idea you get so much more from your visit. Skip-the-line access a good bonus, although we visited during the off season and it wasn't all that busy anyway.
I'd recommend this tour to anyone...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Tamara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was fantastic! Claire, our guide, was sweet, funny, VERY knowledgeable about not only the history of the Catacombs, but of the history of Paris. Being able to skip the LONG line was worth the difference in cost and getting the background stories made it so much more meaningful. Loved it!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

HauntSlider

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything about this tour was perfect. Directions to meet Carla were easy to follow and she appeared right on schedule. We were right in just after they opened. Her knowledge of the site was great and was able to answer any question we had. Her review of the history, and even linking it to a recently popular video game, was a great thing to have before even entering, so as not to waste a lot of the time during the tour. It was much easier for her to point out something we had already talked about once we got to each area.

If you're going to do the Paris Catacombs, I can't recommend going with this private tour enough. You're not rushed through with a larger group, the workers knew Carla and seemed to just let her and our group be as they pushed a few of the larger groups through faster.

This was a bucket list item of mine since I first heard of the catacombs in grade school and now I can finalyl say I have checked it off and I couldn't imagine it going any better than it did with this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Paris Catacombs

Lorraine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was a nice friendly Parisien girl, and very knowledgable about the Catacombs. Tour was just the right length. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It's well worth the cost. We reserved for a Saturday in November, and the line we avoided would have been a very long wait. Our guide was very amicable, good-homored, and knowledgeable. He outlined the history of the Catacombs and how and why they were constructed, including the reinforcements that were painstakingly undertaken to keep the site from collapsing, and various sites within. He was most willing and able to answer questions. The ossuary itself is fascinating and not disturbing, as I feared it might be, although I don't think it would be appropriate for young children. My teenage granddaughter found it amazing. We walked down very, very many stairs to go deep underground and then through a longish tunnel, and then the space opens up. At the end, there is another walk up a very narrow, circular staircase, which I think was around 86 steps. Educational and very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

Faizan Hassan United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an absolutely amazing tour. The catacombs are truly something to be experienced in person.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Mark

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The three hours at Mont St Michel certainly made up the time spent getting there and back to Paris. We booked through a online travel group which meant we were picked up from the hotel but not drop back as the instruction from them were incorrect. Although the trip to Normandy took 5 hours on the coach the time went reasonably quickly with the commentary from the tour guide being excellent so the understanding of the region helps with the time frame.
Mont St Michel lived up to everything that is said about it. The Abby, catacombs, giant halls and gardens were with out doubt the best we have seen on this trip. If you get the chance or think you might, the disappointment would be that you didn't. A most for every one.
HOWEVER the disappoint came from the tour operator they at no stage on any of our trips with them were able to handle that my wife is vegetarian, the food provided considering the cost was at best pathetic and at worst insulting. So I would book with them for the tour BUT not for any meals, they were expensive and underwhelming.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Dawn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative and well worth the money. The details and background information you get from the tour you won't find that much information on the history of the catacombs anywhere. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We arrived late due to the Metro breaking down or something, they told us nothing in English. Luckily a guide was standing at the entrance and talked the workers to let us in. We were so thankful for that alone. Once we met up with our group, we had the most awesome time. We loved our guide, and the tour was well worth the extra money, if for nothing else to cut the line. But, if we hadn't taken the tour, I'm sure that the Catacombs would not have been nearly as interesting without all of the background information.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Adriana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Catacombs, Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. she answered all of our questions about the Catacombs and even with the History of Paris . Very impressed

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Renae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely loved this tour! Our guide was great and full of stories and facts along the tour that made it very interesting. We definately wouldn't have appreciated the catacombs as m uch as we did with out a tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message