• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was perhaps the best tour we did in Paris - quite an eye opener ! Very informative . For full understanding Catacombs should be a guided tour. Our guide was Russell and he was amazing .

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The beginning of the trip seemed a bit unorganized but it was great once we got underway. The story of the catacombs is fascinating and we had a great guide that spoke pretty good English. This seems to be a good way to get a guided tour without having to wait in the line that stretches all the way around the block!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing. We were a late due to us taking a wrong train however - we walked to front of catacombs and guides noticed our white paper print outs and within seconds our guide found us! Guide was very knowledgeable and humorous. Our group was us and one other American family so 3 parents and 5 teenagers. The guide kept us moving and interesting for the teens. We loved this. The skip the line is an absolute - the wait before the museum opened was over 5 hours!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed this tour, the tour guide know a lot about the catacombs

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fascinating.
This was my second visit to the Catacombs in Paris. My advice is to do a guided tour to get full understanding of the history of the place.Must see in Paris

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Skipping the line is an awesome perk to this tour!! We arrived for the opening and the line was already around the block. Our guide was easy to find, and as we were early, she recommend an awesome cafe down the street where we could grab some coffee and breakfast. The Catacombs are an interesting part of Paris history and were well worth the time!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The catacombs were excellent and the guide fabulous. Only drawback was inserting our group in front of tourist that had been there for quite some time and were not pleased at our group pushing in.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

koro
New Zealand

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The catacombs may be interesting but the organisation of the so called small group guides was terrible. They obviously don't count or check their groups as we were left outside. When we explained to the staff they didn't seem to care and told us we had to pay again which we did as advised by a rival guide and try and catch up with our group which we did . They were not interested about leaving us outside or join a group so we walked through ourselves and left very disappointed. The biggest rip off 45 euros each .

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our Guide Charlie was amazing. He was highly knowledgable about the catacombs. He made our experience there well worth the money

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We visited the catacombs using our Viator pass in May 2014. We waited outside of the metro station as directed with our printed paperwork and within minutes a representative came to meet us.
We entered the catacombs with the rest of our group who were all English speaking. Our guide, Sophie, was great, very well informed and made the visit very interesting.
The visit lasted about 45 minutes and we really enjoyed it.
We would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

catacombs very interesting, Sophie great tour guide

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Catacombs were fascinating and my marvellous guide made the tour even better. She - Sophie I think her name was - was so informative and interesting. I think the Catacombs were my favorite thing in the week in Paris! (And we got in quickly and easily.)

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Definitely the way to see the catacombs. So many interesting stories from our lovely guide. Our two 13 yr olds even found it very interesting and engaging and they were very against long tours. Would certainly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you plan to do the Catacombs tour, this is the ONLY way to do it!! If we had not purchased the skip the line tickets, we would have had to wait 2-3 hours in line. Very interesting history on how and why the catacombs came to be. Victoria was a fantastic guide! Wear tennis shoes or any other shoes that are non-slippery for the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We didn't know what to expect with this tour and were so wowed with the extent of the catacombs and the information we got from the tour guide. I would go back and do this tour again it was so interesting and different. Really worth the time and the small group was worth the price. Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message