Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

A lot of music, but not much enough about area! Did not feel like I felt with much new information.
One of the driver even changed the route, skipping stop to apparently stay on time. By this change, we arrived 11/2hr later at Catacombs, which line was so long it would have been hours to get inside. Driver were not very friendly.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The catacombs were one of our more interesting experiences in Paris. My teenage son loved this tour as an alternative to museums and cathedrals. It was a nice change of pace and a unique part of Paris history in its own right. The tour guides were very sensitive to the needs of the group and offered lots of insights and personal impressions. Skip the line is highly recommended given the summer tourist crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If I hadn't taken the tour the catacombs would have just been stairs, tunnels and bones. Our guide Christina gave a much needed dimension to the experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Everyone in our group enjoyed this tour. Beware of the steps. Going down is fairly easy. Going up will be more difficult for someone out of shape or elderly. I will say that my mother was able to do it and steps are hard for her. There are 84 steps up, I believe. And it is a narrow, winding staircase.

There was a line of people waiting to get in who had not purchased a tour. I heard it was over 3 hours long. We met up with our group and went in within 15 minutes.

Wear sensible shoes because you will be walking on uneven paths with rocks and dirt. The catacombs are a bit chilly, but it felt good with all the walking.

Highly recommend. We went with a family group of 8. Youngest was 11 and oldest 64 and everyone loved it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The catacombs certainly still have the interesting beauty of Paris just in an eerie kind of way. Hearing the story behind the catacombs is definitely needed to appreciate it a bit more. Don't go without a tour guide or you'll be waiting in line for at least 2-3 hours Not kidding

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

If you do not have a fear of being closed in, and can handle walking 152 steps down and 83 steps up a circular stairway, a small-group tour of the catacombs is a must!! I have been on catacomb tours in Italy
nothing compared to the Paris catacombs.
I would highly recommend the Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour, on the first tour of the day. This way,
you avoid waiting in the long lines which can be 4 hours possibly longer. We showed up at 9:00 AM for the 10:00 AM tour. Our tour guides were already waiting in line, such that we were the first group to enter.
We had 10 people in our group, which made it easy to hear the tour guide. Our guide was very informative and personable.
The line to enter the catacombs was the same when we left our catacomb tour, as it was, when we had first arrived in the morning the line was around the block.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fascinating history behind how it came about. Still enjoyed the catacombs in Rome much better but this is as close to it as you get in Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line Paris Catacombs Guided tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Our guide did show up for this tour. Waited with 8 others and left at 6.30pm. Waiting for my money to be returned. Have always wanted to visit the catacombs and now it will not happen. Very disappointed. No apology or explanation and the help no provided went through to an answering machine -French.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Bad guides. Could not finish tour of catacombs. We were rushed out. Tour did not start on time. Contact me for more aggravating details.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was outstanding, the time flew by. It was about two hours long and seemed much shorter. The guide was very knowledgeable and quite passionate about the subject. The only way to see the Catacombs!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour! It was nice to be some of the first people into the catacombs for the day and our guide told us some very interesting stuff that I never would've know if i went to the catacombs without a tour! One thing to note is that these catacombs are very far underground My ears popped while going down the stairs, and the only way down is stairs. Also, there are some low ceilings and if you're tall you may have to duck and walk for a minute or two, but the low ceilings don't last long. Overall a great unique tour that I'm glad i took!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Brett V
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the best! Yes, we did pass the line. Only way to do the catacombs tour. Our tour guide Lucy or Lucia was awesome!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! We got a lot more out of our catacombs tour than we could have by going through alone. Our tour guide Dimitri was fantastic!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Jan M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Worth every minute. We learned a lot about why the Catacombs are there and seeing the bones was very meaningful. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was excellent. You can walk through by yourself, but it is so much more interesting to hear details about the catacombs. It's a neat place to see.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

our guide was great and the catacombs are very interesting. so glad we took the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So glad we booked this tour! The Catacombs are an incredible piece of France's history. Our tour guide, Demetri, was extremely knowledgeable. His expertise and thorough explanations of what we were seeing provided for a truly memorable experience. If you plan to visit The Catacombs-book this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Interesting as well as informative, this tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Paris. The catacombs are a fascinating place and finding out more about the history made it more vibrant. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. I have recommended this tour to several people since I took it. I am really glad that I discovered it. The catacombs were amazing. Thanks

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. We really enjoyed it. There needed to be headphones or something however because the group was too large and being that the catacombs are so narrow, if you weren't standing right next to her you couldn't hear her. Good tour however.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were told to be at the catacombs at 8:45 when they did not even open until 10. The guide, David, was VERY knowledgable and really gave us a great deal of information.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good history of the catacombs and history of the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was great! Going in I was only doing this tour for a friend, but by the end I was thoroughly enjoying it myself. I walked away with a lot of information and knowledge that prior to this tour I knew nothing of! Our tour guide was entertaining and very considerate. I would recommend any tourist that doesn't mind semi claustrophobic quarters to give the catacombs a try!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was wonderful and brought the catacombs to life!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our second trip to Paris. Our first time we went in Sept. 2004, nice weather, warm during the day cool at night. Went again 3 Mos. ago in March. It was cold, windy, rainy, best days about mid fifties most days mid 30's to mid 40's. We still went to all the sites and enjoyed our trip. I suggest taking the Bato Boat down the Siene for a relaxing boat ride, you see a lot of Paris famous sites. A little pricey, purchase the all day pass, you can get off at any stop and re-board again later. Must see: the Pantheon, Catacombs, all the Catholic Cathedrals, Palace of Versailles, Paris Galleries, as well as all the sites you already know about. Behind the Pantheon is St. Etienne part of Midnight in Paris was filmed here this church has awe some statues, a grand pipe organ. We stayed Hotel France Louvre in Marais, close to the Louvre, Hotel De Ville Paris city Hall the Latin Quarter, Notre Dame , all walking distance. We found most restaurants had reasonable prices, not real fancy, but good food. Taking the Metro is tricky, simply because we didn't know which train was heading North-South , East - West most locals would help us with directions. All the young people speak English, older people spoke Spanish. Be ready to do lots of walking, lots of stairs to climb.

Doing what: Paris Shuttle Arrival Transfer: Charles de Gaulle Airport (CDG)

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message