• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Catacombs was amazing to see. Had a great tour guide, David. he gave lots of details and interesting side stories. A lot of steps. Bring a good flashlight. Also the line gets very long fast. So get there early or book a tour....

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

David was an amazing tour guide! He was extremely knowledgeable about the catacombs and the history. We learned so much! The catacombs are much more enjoyable if you have someone explaining what you are seeing and how/why the bones are there. With us not being big on tours, we genuinely enjoyed this tour. It was the perfect length of time and I feel so much more educated on the catacombs. I would suggest ONLY getting a tour, as you will be very very happy with the outcome!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic. Our tour guide, Adam, was a really friendly and approachable guy, with tons of interesting information to share about the history of Paris and its catacombs. He also made the tour very enjoyable overall, by keeping things interesting and entertaining with his quirky personality. The tour itself was really great, there are a lot of subtle details that you'd definitely miss if you did the catacombs on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Can't stress enough how happy we were to see the Paris Catacombs! Having a guide is definitely recommended. We got to hear the history of the Catacombs from an expert, making the tour very interesting. Plus, since our guide was already waiting in line when we arrive, we got to bypass the HUGE entrance queue, which was saved us tons of time.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Had second thoughts about doing the tour I am so glad that I went ahead. A fascinating tour not just of the section of the catacombs where the bones have been relocated - Not at all scary - Entrance is easy to find right across from the metro. No waiting in line which was getting very long. Guide could answer all of the questions that we had about not only the construction of the catacombs but the way they have been used throughout history eg French underground movement. Fascinating!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had a great time, it was a short tour but very interesting to see a different side of Paris at night. Would recommend doing this tour before you go to the catacombs.

Doing what: Paris Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour was very interesting and guide Adam was very informative. We learned quite a bit about the creepy undergroud catacombs. There are quite a few steps going down into them and about 80 going up out of them, so you should be aware of this if you are not fit for it. Huge line getting into the catacombs so this skip the line tour helped cut that out!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide, Adam was extremely knowledgable and presented his information in an interesting manner. We would not have enjoyed our trip through the catacombs as much, if we had gone on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Really interesting to find out about this history of Paris and walk through the catacombs. Definitely need to pre-book a tour, otherwise there was a long queue for tickets. The tour guide gave us an excellent commentary explaining all about the purpose of the catacombs, and then why all the human remains ere placed there, along with lot more that you wouldn't get on a personal entry ticket.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour length was less than the listed two hours, and we were not alone in the catacombs as it said in the brochure. Several other groups crowded past us and made hearing the commentary difficult. The tour guide, Adam, was knowledgeable and entertaining. I would go again, perhaps by myself, although being able to skip the line was the best benefit of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide was great, but it is difficult to organize unless you REALLY know Paris. We tried to strategically go to the most crowded places with her to avoid skipping the lines, but it didn't really work out for the Catacombs (which we arrived at 9am for). Despite that, the day was very nice (went to Notre Dame, Pantheon and the Louvre) and she was very informative about the places/districts we visited. Also, be prepared to pay for lunch for the guide and they stay with you during the entire excursion. No biggie, but thought I would mention that.

Doing what: Private Tour: Customize Your Perfect Day in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Booking this tour was the best thing we did! Entry was directly across the street from the Metro and very easy to access. When we arrived, the line was around the corner! We met our tour guid, Nadia, and walked right in. It was a small group of about 25 altogether and the catacombs were very easy to navigate. We stopped along the way and Nadia shared the history and other fascinating stories behind the different parts of the catacombs! Our two boys - ages 10 and 12 were in complete awe and loved it! I highly recommend booking this tour when you are in Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We went on a skip the line small group tour of the Paris Catacombs and Tyler was our guide. We found this to be one of the best things we did while in Paris and highly recommend. We also recommend bringing a small flashlight as it’s dark down there and sometimes a little slippery if the ground is wet. This helps you to see where you are going. It’s a long walk! We couldn’t believe how many skeletons were down there. Tyler was an excellent guide! The skip the line was so worth it since the line outside was wrapped around the block! Again, highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour was awesome, The Guide was lovely and gave us a good few titbits of information about the Catacombs and the history around them - would definitely recommend to a friend or family member who wanted to Visit the Catacombs.

Skipping the line really helped as well as the Line went right around the block to where the line started

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was fabulous!! The Catacombs are one of the coolest things I have ever seen but the guide went way to fast through the Catacombs! I and several others felt rushed through the tunnels. If he slowed down it waould have been better. All in all, it was still Awesome!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message