Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

AMAZING TOUR.

First of all, YOU SKIP THE LINE. That alone makes the whole thing worth it. Trust me, on really nice days, the line goes around the block TWICE.

Second, its great to hear facts and anecdotes about the Catacombs. Our guide was very nice, informative, and engaging.

Third, its a small group! So youre not straining to hear what the guide is saying.

BOOK IT! BOOK IT! BOOK IT!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Super interesting! A little bit creepy, but overall a great experience that provided lots of French history.
My two teenage kids really enjoyed the Catacombs. There is quite a bit of walking so wear comfortable shoes. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Catacombs is something you have to experience to believe - I found our guide knowledgeable and tour fascinating. While anyone can access to the Catacombs by waiting in line, unless you are there at the crack of dawn the admission can take several hours. Our guides had positioned themselves at the front of the line so on arrival we were the first individuals to gain access. Well worth the investment.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Going to the catacombs was a major must do on my trip to Paris. I've missed it several times before and I was really eager to explore the place this time. We've met an hour before at the entrance of the catacombs. The guide told us that he will get the tickets and we can have breakfast at the nearby Brasserie. Right before 10 o'clock I went back to the entrance of the catacombs and the queue was already huge. Lucky for us, our guide was almost in the front line. Our group was split in small groups of approx. 8 people. Immediately after a few steps I was happy to booked the tour with a guide. He gave us so many additional information and show us hidden stuff I would have missed by exploring by myself. The guide had a broad history knowledge and knew how to wrap it up in an interesting way. The whole trip took around 90min I guess and I've never had the feeling that the guys are rushing. So they really took time for our questions. Would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

the Catacombs were great and having a guided tour just made it a great time, well worth doing and would do it again,

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is another attraction that if you want to see it and didn't travel all the way to Paris to stand in line all day a pre booked skip the line tour is the best option.
We arrived for our 10:30am tour time, during the so called slow period the middle of winter and the line was 1 1/2 times around the block we went straight to the front of the line. After finishing our tour people were stating they were waiting 6 hours to get in.
The tour it self was great also, the guide was friendly, very informative, easy to understand, he answered any questions and it moved along at a good pace. He even took group photos for us. Once on the tour its one of the attractions that is not over crowded at least with the living.
I kind of liked at one point he politely moved some people along that tried to join our group letting them know we paid extra to hear him explain the story of the Catacombs.
Well worth the cost and can not imagine trying to see the Catacombs without a guided tour.
Would definitely do again!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour of the Catacombs! I went a few years ago without a guide and, while it was a fun experience, I always wished I had learned more about it. I was talk that it was something to do with the Black Plague, which is completely wrong. The guide first explained what was going on, and then escorted us around at a leisurely pace giving us pieces of history and showing interesting bits. If this is something you plan to do while in Paris, this tour is well worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

sboutcherslp
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the catacombs :

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow, this tour was very cool! Our tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable about the history of the Catacombs.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide was great, very knowledgeable, very involved in the guidance through the catacombs and the oratory.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour and guide however the cost is a little too much for the cost of just entering the catacombs (which is only €10). To save yourself money, I'd simply get there at say 9 and get in a queue. It's what you almost do with the tour anyhow.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was really amazing and our guide, David was absolutely the best! His knowledge around the history of the catacombs and Paris itself was impressive. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The only reason im giving the tour a star is because the site won't allow me to post without 1. The Catacombs was an amazing and touching place. As for the tour guide HE/SHE never showed,,, I will be contacting Viator ASAP in regards to this. We showed on time and found 3 other couples gathered at the meeting point where no tour guide showed. To say the least we took ourselves on a tour alone!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely , a must do tour if visiting Paris. Not what I was expecting to see. Much love and respect for the dead was shown by the many people who worked these catacombs in the day. It is a short tour, knowledgeable guide, easy access in and out if you can manage winding stairs.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Let me firstly say I have wanted to do a tour of the Catacombs for 30 years and it took this long to get to them when they where open. Was I apprehensive was I going to be claustrophobic? Well as it turns out absolutely not.

This tour was fantastic. Our wonderful tour guide, Dimitri, was a really friendly, he spoke beautifully and eloquently, was already waiting for us with his yellow duck umbrella and we were early, so we went and got a coffee first and he paid for us which was very nice gesture. The line certainly was thick and long by the time we got back before the gates were opened but we just went to the front of the line. Dimitri,made this tour very interesting with loads of information that he shared about the history of Paris and its catacombs. Dimitri also made the tour very enjoyable overall, by keeping things interesting and entertaining with his quirky and great sense of humour and wonderful personality.

This tour is really great, made better by Dimitri, there are a lot of details, nooks and crannies that you'd definitely miss if you did the catacombs tour on your own. The Passages are quite spacious, so it really is quite good to move about and the temperature is quite low so you don't feel hot. Dimitri filled us in on all the facts and made the tour interesting, this was a great experience and a marvelous way to see the catacombes in a small group, front of the line tour.

Dimitri was absolutely fantastic, he is brilliant guide who gave us lots of really interesting facts and information I might not have enjoyed this tour so much if it had not been for Dimitri. He made it a more Amazing place. He gave me a card recommending a Gourmet tour which I mislaid but we would love to do a Gourmet tour next if only I could remember it's name. Maybe in April 2015.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message