Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Lee was a very smart and good tour guide. He knew about the history of the Catacombs and lots of extra facts and stories too! It was worth the money and the time.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I looooved this tour! My 13-yr old daughter loooved this tour! We did it because she wanted to do it (after watching the movie "As Above So Below.") I booked it as part of a series of tours to celebrate my birthday in Paris.

First, our guide CALLOWAY was the bomb-diggity (that is a really good thing, I promise)! He was very engaging, and made the tour not just a walk through a macabre place. His stories at the beginning of the tour and during the walk thru at certain points, helped us imagine the things that happened in Paris many years ago and the circumstances that led to the catacombs existing as they do today.

My advice to anyone thinking of doing this tour.... DO IT WITH A GUIDE (and pray that you get Calloway!!) People who chose to do it in their own, soon realized the folly of their decision and some were trying to walk with us to listen to Calloway's stories along the way.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. Our guide was amazing and very fun and informative. I would recommend not eating before you go because you have lots of time when you check in to go across to darling pastry shops for a bite to eat. The catacombs were not what I expected. They sheer amount of bones was astonishing.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great tour guide with lots of information about the catacombs

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Awesome tour and guide. The guide was very informative and made the experience wonderful. The catacombs are a must see in Paris and this skip the line private tour made our experience unforgettable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our visit to the Paris Catacombs was amazing. Our guide, Luke, was very informative and provided excellent commentary on the history of this unique underground grave of 6 million souls.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We felt pretty dumb when we got off the metro and realized that even though the catacombs entrance was literally across the street, it was so insignificant looking that we walked in a circle trying to find it! The tour was incredible, and our guide was full of really cool information about the history of the catacombs. She was also absolutely wonderful with the kids who were in our group. While you can go to the catacombs on your own, it is absolutely worth it to take the guided group tour because you will learn so many interesting things, and then can impress your friends when you get home!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our catacombs visit. Victoria was knowledgable and friendly, providing information we could not have known otherwise. She also gave us advice on restaurants and other places to visit. For history buffs, this is a fascinating overview of Paris. Quirky cashier and slow moving line could make you crazy if you don't elect to "Skip the line." Definitely, skip the line and let your guide hold your spot.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Skipping the lines made it so much easier and the travel pass was fantastic. I just wish the collection time was earlier so I could have got more into the first day. Also wish the Eiffel Tower and Catacombs were included in the pass as they were the biggest draw cards for me

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing tour! Our tour guide, Lou, was fantastic (and a huge hit with our young teenage children!). He was a lovely person, extremely knowledgeable about the catacombs and, as far as we were concerned, an essential ingredient to our tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So pleased we decided to have a Viator guided tour through the Catacombs. The advantage of a guide is you are given the history and significance of the Catacombs. Whilst we were being guided through this amazing piece of history we noticed other tourists whilst still seeing the Catacombs did not have the advantage of hearing the significance of certain aspects of this amazing place. I would not hesitate in recommending a Viator tour for this reason. Thank you David for sharing your knowledge with us.
Gary and Andrea Meek, Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My daughter went on this tour I couldn't go, she was well looked after and very safe with our lovely guide Randa the tour was very interesting and informative and maddy learned a lot about the catacombs and the history o Paris. Skip the line was definitely money well spent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative. My only suggestion would be to try and have smaller groups. We had 10 on ours and as the catacombs are quite narrow it was sometimes hard to hear if you were at the back. Still worth the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We found the Catacombs really fascinating with Victoria. She was very thorough .If our grandson hadn't asked about the catacombs in Paris, we would never have known about them. The stairs would be challenging for some.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Even with a paid tour, we waited in line for an hour. Our guide was very kind, and well meaning, but there was a language barrier that made it difficult to understand her--and compared to the group in front of us, it didn't seem that she had the in-depth knowledge or love of the venue the other guide had. The tour description indicated it would be a small group (I believe it said 8-10) but there were more than a dozen people. All of this said, all of the people on our tour were really great, and I am glad I saw the catacombs in person. Photos simply can not do them justice.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message