Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Awesome tour and guide. The guide was very informative and made the experience wonderful. The catacombs are a must see in Paris and this skip the line private tour made our experience unforgettable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our visit to the Paris Catacombs was amazing. Our guide, Luke, was very informative and provided excellent commentary on the history of this unique underground grave of 6 million souls.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We felt pretty dumb when we got off the metro and realized that even though the catacombs entrance was literally across the street, it was so insignificant looking that we walked in a circle trying to find it! The tour was incredible, and our guide was full of really cool information about the history of the catacombs. She was also absolutely wonderful with the kids who were in our group. While you can go to the catacombs on your own, it is absolutely worth it to take the guided group tour because you will learn so many interesting things, and then can impress your friends when you get home!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our catacombs visit. Victoria was knowledgable and friendly, providing information we could not have known otherwise. She also gave us advice on restaurants and other places to visit. For history buffs, this is a fascinating overview of Paris. Quirky cashier and slow moving line could make you crazy if you don't elect to "Skip the line." Definitely, skip the line and let your guide hold your spot.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Skipping the lines made it so much easier and the travel pass was fantastic. I just wish the collection time was earlier so I could have got more into the first day. Also wish the Eiffel Tower and Catacombs were included in the pass as they were the biggest draw cards for me

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing tour! Our tour guide, Lou, was fantastic (and a huge hit with our young teenage children!). He was a lovely person, extremely knowledgeable about the catacombs and, as far as we were concerned, an essential ingredient to our tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So pleased we decided to have a Viator guided tour through the Catacombs. The advantage of a guide is you are given the history and significance of the Catacombs. Whilst we were being guided through this amazing piece of history we noticed other tourists whilst still seeing the Catacombs did not have the advantage of hearing the significance of certain aspects of this amazing place. I would not hesitate in recommending a Viator tour for this reason. Thank you David for sharing your knowledge with us.
Gary and Andrea Meek, Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My daughter went on this tour I couldn't go, she was well looked after and very safe with our lovely guide Randa the tour was very interesting and informative and maddy learned a lot about the catacombs and the history o Paris. Skip the line was definitely money well spent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative. My only suggestion would be to try and have smaller groups. We had 10 on ours and as the catacombs are quite narrow it was sometimes hard to hear if you were at the back. Still worth the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We found the Catacombs really fascinating with Victoria. She was very thorough .If our grandson hadn't asked about the catacombs in Paris, we would never have known about them. The stairs would be challenging for some.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Even with a paid tour, we waited in line for an hour. Our guide was very kind, and well meaning, but there was a language barrier that made it difficult to understand her--and compared to the group in front of us, it didn't seem that she had the in-depth knowledge or love of the venue the other guide had. The tour description indicated it would be a small group (I believe it said 8-10) but there were more than a dozen people. All of this said, all of the people on our tour were really great, and I am glad I saw the catacombs in person. Photos simply can not do them justice.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The actually tour of the catacombs was good. The voucher said to meet at the tree next to the entrance. It told us to look for someone with a yellow umbrella. It also stated that we needed to be there about 8:45. We did all that we were told to to. There was no person. There was no Yellow umbrella. The guide got there about 9:30. She told us we didn't have to wait on line. Go get a coffee but be back in about ten minutes. She also had us get off the line an move back to where she was. This tour was good. Having the viator company book the tour was a waste of money. The guides were informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome experience! The guide who looked like Matthew McConaughey (sorry didn't get the name) was a deep thinker and a Philosopher. Perfect match at the Catacombs!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great, small tour. Lots of fun anecdotes about the catacombs and skipping the line is HUGE. When our guide went to pay for us all, the credit card machine was broken, so he ran at mach speed to withdraw cash and get us back on track within just a couple minutes.

WITHOUT a guide, the catacombs would have been a bunch of skulls and bones without any particular context after a multi-hour wait in line. WITH a guide, we got a great experience with a lot of historical understanding and a very short wait (we even had time to go to a cafe for a quick breakfast after we initially checked in).

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour guide! We skipped right past the huge line!
Catacombs were very interesting to visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message