Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 243 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tracy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was a highlight of our trip, especially with the extra information provided by our guide Kevin. He was full of enthusiasm when detailing the history of the catacombs and he provided an entertaining dialog throughout the tour. Make sure your book the small group tour to get a glimpse of what the general public does not see!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Carla F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

When I booked this tour, I was expecting to see a few skeletal remains, but it wasn't at all what I had envisioned. I was amazed at how extensive the catacombs are, and thanks to our informative tour guide, I got the history on how they came to be. If you've done all the traditional tourist spots and have time to spare, this is definitely a good one to add to the list! And I recommend the small group tour so you can get a history lesson and have all your questions answered. Wear comfortable shoes - lots of walking!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

andy

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour and is well worth doing if you want to understand the history behind the catacombs. While you can just walk into the catacombs and guide yourself around, this tour really brought it to life... our guide was a fantastically funny and camp gentleman who was a laugh-a-minute - such good fun and he really brought it to life!

The downside of this tour is that it is run by an off-shore American company, so when something is wrong you can't get in touch with them because of the timezone differences. Also, our guide was an hour late with no communication from the tour company see above note - HOWEVER, he did state that he had only been informed about our tour booking by his American-based manager 2 hours before it was due to start, and he was unable to arrive and get ready on time. He also had no way to contact us, as he said he had not been given our contact details by the off-shore tour company.

So, in short... our guide: 5 stars. The tour: 5 stars. The tour company: 3 stars.

Doing what: Catacombs in Paris: Small-Group Guided Tour

Rena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An interesting tour! Learned the history behind the catacombs and got to hear about interesting people that are buried here.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Ross

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice tour of the Catacombs. The guide was friendly and bright!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

David G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good, knowledgeable guide. Although you can visit the Catacombs on your own, I think joining a tour is a good idea you get so much more from your visit. Skip-the-line access a good bonus, although we visited during the off season and it wasn't all that busy anyway.
I'd recommend this tour to anyone...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Tamara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was fantastic! Claire, our guide, was sweet, funny, VERY knowledgeable about not only the history of the Catacombs, but of the history of Paris. Being able to skip the LONG line was worth the difference in cost and getting the background stories made it so much more meaningful. Loved it!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

HauntSlider

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything about this tour was perfect. Directions to meet Carla were easy to follow and she appeared right on schedule. We were right in just after they opened. Her knowledge of the site was great and was able to answer any question we had. Her review of the history, and even linking it to a recently popular video game, was a great thing to have before even entering, so as not to waste a lot of the time during the tour. It was much easier for her to point out something we had already talked about once we got to each area.

If you're going to do the Paris Catacombs, I can't recommend going with this private tour enough. You're not rushed through with a larger group, the workers knew Carla and seemed to just let her and our group be as they pushed a few of the larger groups through faster.

This was a bucket list item of mine since I first heard of the catacombs in grade school and now I can finalyl say I have checked it off and I couldn't imagine it going any better than it did with this tour.

Doing what: Paris Private Catacombs Tour

Lorraine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was a nice friendly Parisien girl, and very knowledgable about the Catacombs. Tour was just the right length. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It's well worth the cost. We reserved for a Saturday in November, and the line we avoided would have been a very long wait. Our guide was very amicable, good-homored, and knowledgeable. He outlined the history of the Catacombs and how and why they were constructed, including the reinforcements that were painstakingly undertaken to keep the site from collapsing, and various sites within. He was most willing and able to answer questions. The ossuary itself is fascinating and not disturbing, as I feared it might be, although I don't think it would be appropriate for young children. My teenage granddaughter found it amazing. We walked down very, very many stairs to go deep underground and then through a longish tunnel, and then the space opens up. At the end, there is another walk up a very narrow, circular staircase, which I think was around 86 steps. Educational and very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

Faizan Hassan United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an absolutely amazing tour. The catacombs are truly something to be experienced in person.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Mark

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The three hours at Mont St Michel certainly made up the time spent getting there and back to Paris. We booked through a online travel group which meant we were picked up from the hotel but not drop back as the instruction from them were incorrect. Although the trip to Normandy took 5 hours on the coach the time went reasonably quickly with the commentary from the tour guide being excellent so the understanding of the region helps with the time frame.
Mont St Michel lived up to everything that is said about it. The Abby, catacombs, giant halls and gardens were with out doubt the best we have seen on this trip. If you get the chance or think you might, the disappointment would be that you didn't. A most for every one.
HOWEVER the disappoint came from the tour operator they at no stage on any of our trips with them were able to handle that my wife is vegetarian, the food provided considering the cost was at best pathetic and at worst insulting. So I would book with them for the tour BUT not for any meals, they were expensive and underwhelming.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Dawn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative and well worth the money. The details and background information you get from the tour you won't find that much information on the history of the catacombs anywhere. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We arrived late due to the Metro breaking down or something, they told us nothing in English. Luckily a guide was standing at the entrance and talked the workers to let us in. We were so thankful for that alone. Once we met up with our group, we had the most awesome time. We loved our guide, and the tour was well worth the extra money, if for nothing else to cut the line. But, if we hadn't taken the tour, I'm sure that the Catacombs would not have been nearly as interesting without all of the background information.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Adriana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Catacombs, Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. she answered all of our questions about the Catacombs and even with the History of Paris . Very impressed

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Renae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely loved this tour! Our guide was great and full of stories and facts along the tour that made it very interesting. We definately wouldn't have appreciated the catacombs as m uch as we did with out a tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

cinroadking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful tour guide. This is more than just seeing the catacombs. The history is very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Stacey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Randa was an excellent guide! The line for the catacombs is very long over 1 hour wait so skipping the line is worth it. The small group was nice as the space is pretty tight. Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

David C Leblond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The only way I'd go to see the catacombs!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Sapdlp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was very interesting. Our tour guide Tuc was very good and knowledgable about the catacombs.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Abhyudaya A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really great tour. Our guide was super cheerful and provided us a lot of interesting information about the catacombs. We also got to learn a bit about Marie Antoinette and how she never said let them eat cake - that was definitely a nice bonus.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Lynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour of the Catacombs was amazing! When we arrived, the line to get in was around the corner and down the street. All we need to do was walk in at our appointed time with our guide, no wait at all. The guide was great - a bit cheeky at times - but very knowledgeable about the history and systems of the catacombs. We learned a lot and had an enjoyable time as well. I highly recommend taking this experience. It's a great way to see a different look of Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line Paris Catacombs Guided tour

Sibley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour! One benefit is that you don't have to wait in line. When we arrived the line was about a 3 1/2 hour wait. When we finished it looked the same. That would have been very difficult for my family we had our two children with us 8 and 11yrs. This was fun for us because a few of our children's mystery books have mentioned the Paris Catacombs. My daughter was is 8 yrs never got scared but did say it was a little sad and our son 11 yrs really enjoyed the history of it. Our guide was very good. I'm glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Amerilis USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I was SO looking forward to this part of my trip to Paris, and it did NOT disappoint! The day began at our meeting point entrance to the Catacombs near the Place Denfert-Rochereau. Our guides, Violet and Lillia, were absolutely WONDERFUL.....very friendly, very knowledgeable, and very engaging. The ride was long but I was enthralled by the history lessons and stories from our guides, as well as taking in the views of the countryside. Each castle was stunning in its own way, the stories different from the other, and luckily, the weather behaved so that we could meander through the grounds.

Chateau de Nitray was our stop for lunch and wine tasting. It was much smaller....quaint and homey...and I loved it. Lunch was taken in a huge room next to the gift shop at family-style tables. This gave us a chance to chat with and get to know others on the tour. The lunch was fantastic, hearty...wines, delicious...and there was dessert and coffee at the end, along with time to walk around the grounds.

I could go on and on about Chateaux de Chambord and Chenonceau but that would take up WAY too much space. I'll just say that they appeared to have jumped off the pages of a book....they were beyond beautiful and beyond my expectations. If you get a chance to take this tour while visiting Paris, I would jump at it. Just do it! You will not regret it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was a highlight for us. We could have gone on our own but having a guide was just fantastic and we learnt so much about Paris and the Catacombs. It was amazing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message