Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing tour! Our tour guide, Lou, was fantastic (and a huge hit with our young teenage children!). He was a lovely person, extremely knowledgeable about the catacombs and, as far as we were concerned, an essential ingredient to our tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So pleased we decided to have a Viator guided tour through the Catacombs. The advantage of a guide is you are given the history and significance of the Catacombs. Whilst we were being guided through this amazing piece of history we noticed other tourists whilst still seeing the Catacombs did not have the advantage of hearing the significance of certain aspects of this amazing place. I would not hesitate in recommending a Viator tour for this reason. Thank you David for sharing your knowledge with us.
Gary and Andrea Meek, Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My daughter went on this tour I couldn't go, she was well looked after and very safe with our lovely guide Randa the tour was very interesting and informative and maddy learned a lot about the catacombs and the history o Paris. Skip the line was definitely money well spent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative. My only suggestion would be to try and have smaller groups. We had 10 on ours and as the catacombs are quite narrow it was sometimes hard to hear if you were at the back. Still worth the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We found the Catacombs really fascinating with Victoria. She was very thorough .If our grandson hadn't asked about the catacombs in Paris, we would never have known about them. The stairs would be challenging for some.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Even with a paid tour, we waited in line for an hour. Our guide was very kind, and well meaning, but there was a language barrier that made it difficult to understand her--and compared to the group in front of us, it didn't seem that she had the in-depth knowledge or love of the venue the other guide had. The tour description indicated it would be a small group (I believe it said 8-10) but there were more than a dozen people. All of this said, all of the people on our tour were really great, and I am glad I saw the catacombs in person. Photos simply can not do them justice.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The actually tour of the catacombs was good. The voucher said to meet at the tree next to the entrance. It told us to look for someone with a yellow umbrella. It also stated that we needed to be there about 8:45. We did all that we were told to to. There was no person. There was no Yellow umbrella. The guide got there about 9:30. She told us we didn't have to wait on line. Go get a coffee but be back in about ten minutes. She also had us get off the line an move back to where she was. This tour was good. Having the viator company book the tour was a waste of money. The guides were informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome experience! The guide who looked like Matthew McConaughey (sorry didn't get the name) was a deep thinker and a Philosopher. Perfect match at the Catacombs!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great, small tour. Lots of fun anecdotes about the catacombs and skipping the line is HUGE. When our guide went to pay for us all, the credit card machine was broken, so he ran at mach speed to withdraw cash and get us back on track within just a couple minutes.

WITHOUT a guide, the catacombs would have been a bunch of skulls and bones without any particular context after a multi-hour wait in line. WITH a guide, we got a great experience with a lot of historical understanding and a very short wait (we even had time to go to a cafe for a quick breakfast after we initially checked in).

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour guide! We skipped right past the huge line!
Catacombs were very interesting to visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

While the catacombs will always hold a fascination because of the eeryness of the place and its history, our guide, while lovely and personable, described herself as a hypnotherapist first and guide in her spare time. We followed a tour from another company where the guide was much more well informed and we listened to him rather than her whenever we could. Just sayin....

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our guide was informative, but anyone who signs up for this tour needs to know how it works. People start lining up to get in, hours before the Catacombs open. Spaces are limited so they stand in line early. A rep from Viator is one of these people standing in line, very early in the morning. Everyone who signs up for the Viator tour is asked to meet on the corner across the street about a half an hour from opening time. The rep comes over to meet with us while her friend stands in line. Eventually, all 20 or 30 people in the tour then CUT in line with the person who has been standing there all morning. This was very awkward for the five in our family because we thought it was very rude to do to all of those who had been standing in line for several hours. Those people were very mad at us, too, and they let us know. It was very obvious what the person from Viator was doing to get all of us in. That was tough. But once we were in, it was informative. Our guide knew things that we never would have known if we had done the tour by ourselves.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I'm not sure that waiting in line for an hour before the tour really constitutes an "almost skip the line" moniker. The guide was very knowledgeable and her grasp of English was good. The catacombs are worth a visit, but I suggest fore going the tour, arriving an extra half hour earlier, and simply paying for an audio guide as well as your admission.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good! Best part of the trip, which is often under-rated compared to classical tourist attractions like Eiffel tower. The only slight down-side is the tour guide wasn't as knowledgeable in geology as she should have been, given that a large part of the history of the catacombs concern about geological layers.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour, very informative, not just about the Catacombs but the limestone quarry underground tunnels within which they are located. Just amazing what was completed so many hundreds of years ago.

Sophie was our guide and a lovely French lady very passionate and knowledgeable about the topic.

My children (8 and 10) both enjoyed the tour and remained interested for the entire time (which is a big call for their age and the fact we had already been travelling for a couple of weeks and were quite tired by this point).

Excellent tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message