Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow, this tour was very cool! Our tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable about the history of the Catacombs.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide was great, very knowledgeable, very involved in the guidance through the catacombs and the oratory.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour and guide however the cost is a little too much for the cost of just entering the catacombs (which is only €10). To save yourself money, I'd simply get there at say 9 and get in a queue. It's what you almost do with the tour anyhow.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was really amazing and our guide, David was absolutely the best! His knowledge around the history of the catacombs and Paris itself was impressive. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The only reason im giving the tour a star is because the site won't allow me to post without 1. The Catacombs was an amazing and touching place. As for the tour guide HE/SHE never showed,,, I will be contacting Viator ASAP in regards to this. We showed on time and found 3 other couples gathered at the meeting point where no tour guide showed. To say the least we took ourselves on a tour alone!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely , a must do tour if visiting Paris. Not what I was expecting to see. Much love and respect for the dead was shown by the many people who worked these catacombs in the day. It is a short tour, knowledgeable guide, easy access in and out if you can manage winding stairs.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Let me firstly say I have wanted to do a tour of the Catacombs for 30 years and it took this long to get to them when they where open. Was I apprehensive was I going to be claustrophobic? Well as it turns out absolutely not.

This tour was fantastic. Our wonderful tour guide, Dimitri, was a really friendly, he spoke beautifully and eloquently, was already waiting for us with his yellow duck umbrella and we were early, so we went and got a coffee first and he paid for us which was very nice gesture. The line certainly was thick and long by the time we got back before the gates were opened but we just went to the front of the line. Dimitri,made this tour very interesting with loads of information that he shared about the history of Paris and its catacombs. Dimitri also made the tour very enjoyable overall, by keeping things interesting and entertaining with his quirky and great sense of humour and wonderful personality.

This tour is really great, made better by Dimitri, there are a lot of details, nooks and crannies that you'd definitely miss if you did the catacombs tour on your own. The Passages are quite spacious, so it really is quite good to move about and the temperature is quite low so you don't feel hot. Dimitri filled us in on all the facts and made the tour interesting, this was a great experience and a marvelous way to see the catacombes in a small group, front of the line tour.

Dimitri was absolutely fantastic, he is brilliant guide who gave us lots of really interesting facts and information I might not have enjoyed this tour so much if it had not been for Dimitri. He made it a more Amazing place. He gave me a card recommending a Gourmet tour which I mislaid but we would love to do a Gourmet tour next if only I could remember it's name. Maybe in April 2015.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Enjoyed our tour immensely, our tour guide was informative, and gave us many tid bits on the beginnings of the catacombs, how they came into being. If we had just walked through we would not have known any of the rich history that our guide conveyed to us. Would recommend anyone going to the catacombs to take a guided tour, well worth the money!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Lucy our Tour Guide was wonderful and kept us occupied with lots of great facts and information about the history of the Catacombs and under ground Paris. We have 3 older children and it was a really fun thing for them to do, especially our 10 year old son. Something different to do in Paris .

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Lee was a very smart and good tour guide. He knew about the history of the Catacombs and lots of extra facts and stories too! It was worth the money and the time.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I looooved this tour! My 13-yr old daughter loooved this tour! We did it because she wanted to do it (after watching the movie "As Above So Below.") I booked it as part of a series of tours to celebrate my birthday in Paris.

First, our guide CALLOWAY was the bomb-diggity (that is a really good thing, I promise)! He was very engaging, and made the tour not just a walk through a macabre place. His stories at the beginning of the tour and during the walk thru at certain points, helped us imagine the things that happened in Paris many years ago and the circumstances that led to the catacombs existing as they do today.

My advice to anyone thinking of doing this tour.... DO IT WITH A GUIDE (and pray that you get Calloway!!) People who chose to do it in their own, soon realized the folly of their decision and some were trying to walk with us to listen to Calloway's stories along the way.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. Our guide was amazing and very fun and informative. I would recommend not eating before you go because you have lots of time when you check in to go across to darling pastry shops for a bite to eat. The catacombs were not what I expected. They sheer amount of bones was astonishing.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great tour guide with lots of information about the catacombs

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Awesome tour and guide. The guide was very informative and made the experience wonderful. The catacombs are a must see in Paris and this skip the line private tour made our experience unforgettable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our visit to the Paris Catacombs was amazing. Our guide, Luke, was very informative and provided excellent commentary on the history of this unique underground grave of 6 million souls.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message