Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was outstanding, the time flew by. It was about two hours long and seemed much shorter. The guide was very knowledgeable and quite passionate about the subject. The only way to see the Catacombs!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour! It was nice to be some of the first people into the catacombs for the day and our guide told us some very interesting stuff that I never would've know if i went to the catacombs without a tour! One thing to note is that these catacombs are very far underground My ears popped while going down the stairs, and the only way down is stairs. Also, there are some low ceilings and if you're tall you may have to duck and walk for a minute or two, but the low ceilings don't last long. Overall a great unique tour that I'm glad i took!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Brett V
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the best! Yes, we did pass the line. Only way to do the catacombs tour. Our tour guide Lucy or Lucia was awesome!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! We got a lot more out of our catacombs tour than we could have by going through alone. Our tour guide Dimitri was fantastic!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Jan M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Worth every minute. We learned a lot about why the Catacombs are there and seeing the bones was very meaningful. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was excellent. You can walk through by yourself, but it is so much more interesting to hear details about the catacombs. It's a neat place to see.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

our guide was great and the catacombs are very interesting. so glad we took the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So glad we booked this tour! The Catacombs are an incredible piece of France's history. Our tour guide, Demetri, was extremely knowledgeable. His expertise and thorough explanations of what we were seeing provided for a truly memorable experience. If you plan to visit The Catacombs-book this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Interesting as well as informative, this tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Paris. The catacombs are a fascinating place and finding out more about the history made it more vibrant. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. I have recommended this tour to several people since I took it. I am really glad that I discovered it. The catacombs were amazing. Thanks

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. We really enjoyed it. There needed to be headphones or something however because the group was too large and being that the catacombs are so narrow, if you weren't standing right next to her you couldn't hear her. Good tour however.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were told to be at the catacombs at 8:45 when they did not even open until 10. The guide, David, was VERY knowledgable and really gave us a great deal of information.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good history of the catacombs and history of the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was great! Going in I was only doing this tour for a friend, but by the end I was thoroughly enjoying it myself. I walked away with a lot of information and knowledge that prior to this tour I knew nothing of! Our tour guide was entertaining and very considerate. I would recommend any tourist that doesn't mind semi claustrophobic quarters to give the catacombs a try!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was wonderful and brought the catacombs to life!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our second trip to Paris. Our first time we went in Sept. 2004, nice weather, warm during the day cool at night. Went again 3 Mos. ago in March. It was cold, windy, rainy, best days about mid fifties most days mid 30's to mid 40's. We still went to all the sites and enjoyed our trip. I suggest taking the Bato Boat down the Siene for a relaxing boat ride, you see a lot of Paris famous sites. A little pricey, purchase the all day pass, you can get off at any stop and re-board again later. Must see: the Pantheon, Catacombs, all the Catholic Cathedrals, Palace of Versailles, Paris Galleries, as well as all the sites you already know about. Behind the Pantheon is St. Etienne part of Midnight in Paris was filmed here this church has awe some statues, a grand pipe organ. We stayed Hotel France Louvre in Marais, close to the Louvre, Hotel De Ville Paris city Hall the Latin Quarter, Notre Dame , all walking distance. We found most restaurants had reasonable prices, not real fancy, but good food. Taking the Metro is tricky, simply because we didn't know which train was heading North-South , East - West most locals would help us with directions. All the young people speak English, older people spoke Spanish. Be ready to do lots of walking, lots of stairs to climb.

Doing what: Paris Shuttle Arrival Transfer: Charles de Gaulle Airport (CDG)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Unfortunately our tour guide was late and we had to queue for over an hour get into catacombs. There were no special privilages for doing the tour. However our guide - Lucy was very knowledgeable and friendly. We also had other people join our tour and felt that they should have been moved on.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Such an amazing experience and made more so by the tour. The catacombs are pretty spectacular but having someone knowledgeable about the history and details throughout the tunnels is the only way to do it. If we were to buy tickets and walk through a lot of subtleties would be missed. And the line to get tickets was around the block by 10 am. Our tour guide Demetry sp? was waiting at the front of the line when we got there and was enthusiastic throughout the tour. He answered questions and made sure everyone was ok. My opinion, this is the only way to tour the catacombs, it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing, the best thing we did while we were in Paris. Our tour guide was Lucy, she was a lovely girl and was very knowledgable, deff worth the money. I know people are saying that it's basically just someone getting in line for you and fair enough that's how it starts, there is no true way to 'skip the line' for the catacombs because it is so popular, but it is well worth the money for the guide and to hear about the history and the stories behind it, otherwise after about 10 minutes the novelty has worn off and you're just looking at bones.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

There were two key points that made the tour well worth the money. 1. We saved hours queuing in the rain that may have dampened the mood once we finally got into the catacombs. 2. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and offered a great deal of information about every feature and the history of the catacombs. A very worthwhile experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was amazing our guide Demetri was so interesting and told us all the history and purpose of the catacombs without overwhelming us with too much info and being most respectful to the 6 million buried.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great for the information that was given regarding the history of the catacombs. A little long because of it but I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much just walking through myself without some pretty cool history of Paris and how the catacombs came to be.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

AMAZING TOUR.

First of all, YOU SKIP THE LINE. That alone makes the whole thing worth it. Trust me, on really nice days, the line goes around the block TWICE.

Second, its great to hear facts and anecdotes about the Catacombs. Our guide was very nice, informative, and engaging.

Third, its a small group! So youre not straining to hear what the guide is saying.

BOOK IT! BOOK IT! BOOK IT!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Super interesting! A little bit creepy, but overall a great experience that provided lots of French history.
My two teenage kids really enjoyed the Catacombs. There is quite a bit of walking so wear comfortable shoes. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Catacombs is something you have to experience to believe - I found our guide knowledgeable and tour fascinating. While anyone can access to the Catacombs by waiting in line, unless you are there at the crack of dawn the admission can take several hours. Our guides had positioned themselves at the front of the line so on arrival we were the first individuals to gain access. Well worth the investment.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message