Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome experience! The guide who looked like Matthew McConaughey (sorry didn't get the name) was a deep thinker and a Philosopher. Perfect match at the Catacombs!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

While the catacombs will always hold a fascination because of the eeryness of the place and its history, our guide, while lovely and personable, described herself as a hypnotherapist first and guide in her spare time. We followed a tour from another company where the guide was much more well informed and we listened to him rather than her whenever we could. Just sayin....

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our guide was informative, but anyone who signs up for this tour needs to know how it works. People start lining up to get in, hours before the Catacombs open. Spaces are limited so they stand in line early. A rep from Viator is one of these people standing in line, very early in the morning. Everyone who signs up for the Viator tour is asked to meet on the corner across the street about a half an hour from opening time. The rep comes over to meet with us while her friend stands in line. Eventually, all 20 or 30 people in the tour then CUT in line with the person who has been standing there all morning. This was very awkward for the five in our family because we thought it was very rude to do to all of those who had been standing in line for several hours. Those people were very mad at us, too, and they let us know. It was very obvious what the person from Viator was doing to get all of us in. That was tough. But once we were in, it was informative. Our guide knew things that we never would have known if we had done the tour by ourselves.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good! Best part of the trip, which is often under-rated compared to classical tourist attractions like Eiffel tower. The only slight down-side is the tour guide wasn't as knowledgeable in geology as she should have been, given that a large part of the history of the catacombs concern about geological layers.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour, very informative, not just about the Catacombs but the limestone quarry underground tunnels within which they are located. Just amazing what was completed so many hundreds of years ago.

Sophie was our guide and a lovely French lady very passionate and knowledgeable about the topic.

My children (8 and 10) both enjoyed the tour and remained interested for the entire time (which is a big call for their age and the fact we had already been travelling for a couple of weeks and were quite tired by this point).

Excellent tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great experience, the girl who guided us had very good knowledge of the Catacombs and explained every little detail to us!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We followed the directions to meet with our guide to the letter but confusion on the part of our guide meant that it was sheer good luck that we eventually met up. That aside this was a great tour and fantastic value for money. We ended up with a different guide than the one we initially met and Charlie, who led us around underground for 2 and a half hours, was excellent. Professional, informative and with a wry sense of humour, Charlie enthralled us with the history, rumours, mysteries and anecdotes of the Catacombs. It is a relatively long time to be underground and visitors should be aware that there are no access to facilities during the tour. You can visit on a self-guided basis - and apparently it would take about 45 minutes to get around - but I would highly recommend doing this guided tour. There were numerous attempts from non-group members to 'join' us - all diplomatically dealt with by Charlie and his colleague - as they clearly were fascinated by the narrative we were enjoying. There was a long (hour and a half) wait in the queue to get in and a few very short parts of the walk are sloping and/or slippy but these are very minor negatives on what was a superb tour. Slightly macabre, but an opportunity to see a very different side to Paris - particularly if you have exhausted the more traditional tourist sights above-ground.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour gives you the dark side of the city with a little walking. We did this tour on the same day that we went to the Catacombs; I would recommend doing the Catacombs first. It was definately a worth-while tour.

Doing what: Ghosts, Mysteries and Legends Night Walking Tour of Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was perhaps the best tour we did in Paris - quite an eye opener ! Very informative . For full understanding Catacombs should be a guided tour. Our guide was Russell and he was amazing .

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The beginning of the trip seemed a bit unorganized but it was great once we got underway. The story of the catacombs is fascinating and we had a great guide that spoke pretty good English. This seems to be a good way to get a guided tour without having to wait in the line that stretches all the way around the block!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing. We were a late due to us taking a wrong train however - we walked to front of catacombs and guides noticed our white paper print outs and within seconds our guide found us! Guide was very knowledgeable and humorous. Our group was us and one other American family so 3 parents and 5 teenagers. The guide kept us moving and interesting for the teens. We loved this. The skip the line is an absolute - the wait before the museum opened was over 5 hours!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed this tour, the tour guide know a lot about the catacombs

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fascinating.
This was my second visit to the Catacombs in Paris. My advice is to do a guided tour to get full understanding of the history of the place.Must see in Paris

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Skipping the line is an awesome perk to this tour!! We arrived for the opening and the line was already around the block. Our guide was easy to find, and as we were early, she recommend an awesome cafe down the street where we could grab some coffee and breakfast. The Catacombs are an interesting part of Paris history and were well worth the time!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The catacombs were excellent and the guide fabulous. Only drawback was inserting our group in front of tourist that had been there for quite some time and were not pleased at our group pushing in.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message