Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 206 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was Lee and he was fantastic. He knew the history of the Paris and Catacombs very well. He was funny and was able to answer all of our questions. This tour is fantastic as you do not have to wait in line for hours to get tickets. You simply skip the ticket line and go into the Catacombs of Paris. I would recommend this tour to anyone. Ask for Lee!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was worth paying extra to skip the very long line, plus have an English-speaking guide. The signs in the Catacombs were all in French, so we would have had no idea what was happening. The guide was great, told important historical information, as well as great stories!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! We all loved it! I was worried about being claustrophobic, but honestly our flight over to Paris was far worse than the Catacombs! Our guide, Tina, was awesome. Loved hearing about the history of the Catacombs. What a neat spot!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth every cent! First of all, the line to access the Catacombs snakes around the block, and waiting would have surely wasted time we could have been using to explore other parts of this magical city. The tour guide meets your group outside the entrance to the catacombs, clearly identifies himself, and signs you into the tour. From there, you gain immediate access to the catacombs, no waiting, no nonsense. Our guide Alberto was humorous, knowledgeable, and courteous. There wasn't a question that he was not willing to answer. We were thoroughly educated and entertained by the yarns Alberto spun. Even my fiancee, who is not a big history buff, enjoyed the tour. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if youre interested in knowing the background stories behind the catacombs otherwise it's a self guided attraction. Again, very very HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. And a final kudos to Alberto.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Without our smart, friendly tour guide, the catacombs would be just a tunnel and bones.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Guide, Lillyah was terrific. She was well prepared with lots of history and photos of Paris during the time the Catacombs were established. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I'm glad we purchased this tour. When we got to the Catacombs the wait was well over 2 hrs. long. We got to skip the lines. Very interesting tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Worth it to avoid standing in line. Guide was great and we certainly learned more about the Catacombs then we would have on our own. Only negative was the group size was way too big, around 20. We were strung out in narrow passages and some had trouble hearing or seeing what the guide was talking about. OK to take your own flashlight - and highly recommend you do.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Interesting, if you want to zee the catacombs, you must book skip the line, as the line can be 5 hours waiting or more.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Amazing fun for the whole family. Our guide was in line bright and early, which allowed us to avoid the line and early entry into the catacomns. He was also extremely knowledgeable! Our kids, ages 13, 11 and 8, thought this was a trip highlight. I was concerned it might be scary, but they thought it was extremely interesting. Our guide even helped us find the metro and a good lunch spot after the tour. The only negative to this tour is that it did not have audio listening devices. People are to speak in hushed tones in the catacombs and it was sometimes difficult to hear our guide.

Doing what: Catacombs in Paris: Small-Group Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

A lot of music, but not much enough about area! Did not feel like I felt with much new information.
One of the driver even changed the route, skipping stop to apparently stay on time. By this change, we arrived 11/2hr later at Catacombs, which line was so long it would have been hours to get inside. Driver were not very friendly.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We only bought this so we could skip the line. We did not skip the line, we waited an hour to enter, and many people from the line entered before us. Our tour guides were late, the Catacombs refused to honor our reservations unless the tour guides arrived. When they finally did, they were unable to provide the Spanish speaking tour three guests had paid for. When we finally got in, a group of about 30 small children were behind us, so we could not hear the tour guide at all. We abandoned the tour and explored on our own. If I would have known we'd have to wait over an hour anyway, I would have saved 80 and just stood in line. Waste of money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We arrived to meet our tour guide only to learn that the tour would be only in French! There was nothing on the confirmation indicating this. We met other English speakers on the tour who showed me their confirmation and it clearly stated that this tour would be in French. They chose to go on it knowing ahead of time that it was in French. We would not have done this. We had our 15-year-old grandson with us and he was completely bored by the long French narrative. I have gone back to review all e-mail correspondence with Viator and nowhere were we notified of the tour being in French. I went to the Web site and put in future date for a tour and nothing was mentioned that the tour could be in French. I signed up for this tour in the US on an English language site and made the assumption the tour would be in English. We also booked a Catacombs tour for the next day and it was in English. So, what is the deal? Nowhere in the Terms and Conditions could I find info that the tour could be in French.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The catacombs were one of our more interesting experiences in Paris. My teenage son loved this tour as an alternative to museums and cathedrals. It was a nice change of pace and a unique part of Paris history in its own right. The tour guides were very sensitive to the needs of the group and offered lots of insights and personal impressions. Skip the line is highly recommended given the summer tourist crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If I hadn't taken the tour the catacombs would have just been stairs, tunnels and bones. Our guide Christina gave a much needed dimension to the experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Everyone in our group enjoyed this tour. Beware of the steps. Going down is fairly easy. Going up will be more difficult for someone out of shape or elderly. I will say that my mother was able to do it and steps are hard for her. There are 84 steps up, I believe. And it is a narrow, winding staircase.

There was a line of people waiting to get in who had not purchased a tour. I heard it was over 3 hours long. We met up with our group and went in within 15 minutes.

Wear sensible shoes because you will be walking on uneven paths with rocks and dirt. The catacombs are a bit chilly, but it felt good with all the walking.

Highly recommend. We went with a family group of 8. Youngest was 11 and oldest 64 and everyone loved it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The catacombs certainly still have the interesting beauty of Paris just in an eerie kind of way. Hearing the story behind the catacombs is definitely needed to appreciate it a bit more. Don't go without a tour guide or you'll be waiting in line for at least 2-3 hours Not kidding

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

If you do not have a fear of being closed in, and can handle walking 152 steps down and 83 steps up a circular stairway, a small-group tour of the catacombs is a must!! I have been on catacomb tours in Italy
nothing compared to the Paris catacombs.
I would highly recommend the Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour, on the first tour of the day. This way,
you avoid waiting in the long lines which can be 4 hours possibly longer. We showed up at 9:00 AM for the 10:00 AM tour. Our tour guides were already waiting in line, such that we were the first group to enter.
We had 10 people in our group, which made it easy to hear the tour guide. Our guide was very informative and personable.
The line to enter the catacombs was the same when we left our catacomb tour, as it was, when we had first arrived in the morning the line was around the block.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fascinating history behind how it came about. Still enjoyed the catacombs in Rome much better but this is as close to it as you get in Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line Paris Catacombs Guided tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Our guide did show up for this tour. Waited with 8 others and left at 6.30pm. Waiting for my money to be returned. Have always wanted to visit the catacombs and now it will not happen. Very disappointed. No apology or explanation and the help no provided went through to an answering machine -French.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Bad guides. Could not finish tour of catacombs. We were rushed out. Tour did not start on time. Contact me for more aggravating details.

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was outstanding, the time flew by. It was about two hours long and seemed much shorter. The guide was very knowledgeable and quite passionate about the subject. The only way to see the Catacombs!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour! It was nice to be some of the first people into the catacombs for the day and our guide told us some very interesting stuff that I never would've know if i went to the catacombs without a tour! One thing to note is that these catacombs are very far underground My ears popped while going down the stairs, and the only way down is stairs. Also, there are some low ceilings and if you're tall you may have to duck and walk for a minute or two, but the low ceilings don't last long. Overall a great unique tour that I'm glad i took!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Brett V
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the best! Yes, we did pass the line. Only way to do the catacombs tour. Our tour guide Lucy or Lucia was awesome!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! We got a lot more out of our catacombs tour than we could have by going through alone. Our tour guide Dimitri was fantastic!

Doing what: Small-Group Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message