An idyllic stretch of greenery encircling the iconic pinnacle of the Eiffel Tower, the Champs de Mars is one of the most popular of Paris' parks. Named after Rome’s Campus Martius, a tribute to the Roman God of War, Champs de Mars was originally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time in Paris. The bus was right by the train station. We saw everything that we wanted to see... I.e. Eiffel Tower, louvre, champs d'eliyse, Arche d' triumph one etc. I would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a lovely city Paris is. Took the bus from Avenue des Champs Elysees and went around and enjoyed the scenery in comfort and ease. Went to Notre Dame Cathedral, Musee de Louvre, Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, the Opera, River Seine, etc. When I go back to Paris I'll use this tour again. Worth recommending to people planning to go to Paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Booked a two day ticket which is great value. The option to hop-on and hop-off anywhere on the four routes was fantastic. The view from the top of the bus of the Champs-Elysées was eye catching. Without doubt this is the only way to see Paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It was a terrific way to see the whole of Paris. We bought a 2 day pass for 4 people and we used all 4 tours, hopping on and off where we chose. The commentary was very good and despite the heavy traffic on the Champs Elysees, the drivers were very patient. Just one fault though. We had to wait over an hour near the Notre Dame stop to connect with the blue Bastille bus route. It could be better timed. We paid £82 for 4 people for 2 days, si we thought it was good value.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It was the best choice I made after I searched the Internet looking for various options. The drivers were very friendly, except one young woman who did not allow me to board near Champs Elysee, although some 15 people had done so a few seconds before me. But besides this very minor thing, it was the best tour I took in Paris, which is the most beautiful city so far! Although I had the wrong impression that New York could not be surpassed. I recommend this company to everyone who wishes a good deal, especially in an extremely expensive city such as Paris, this was an absolute bargain! Au revoir! A bientot!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We liked this tour and I'm glad that we booked it. However, the number of stops are limited and we did find ourselves stuck in a lot (a lot) of traffic in between stops, particularly on the busy Champs Elysees stretch.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A very good tour enjoyed by all of us. It took us a while to find the first bus stop, though - a hint that it was at the very top of the Champs Elysées would have been useful! But a great day out.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A great way to see Paris without spending a lot of money. The drivers were pleasant, and we did hop on and off over about 6 hours. First trip around gave us a great idea where to get off to eat or shop. The second trip we got off for the activities we wanted. Stayed on to see the Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe/ Champs Élysées at night. Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

There is no better way to see the entire city in one day. The ride was comfortable and multilingual. Plus, while you navigate the busy streets you are entertained by French music, I am still singing Champs-Elysee! The only thing that I missed was an actual guide, the entire guide was pre-recorded.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great way to go around Paris main attractions easily. Best is to plan if you can visit other places while stopping at one of their stops. We spent a day going around shops at the Champs Elyses. For the rest, busses were always on time and a great service.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Zulaiha Z
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It was fantastic as we could hop on hop off to Champs Elysees when we liked for lunch and dinner.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

We booked for two days but only used the bus on the Saturday. The Sunday coincided with the Finish of the Tour de France finish on the Champs Elysees which would have changed the usual bus route. One day is probably enough.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Deborah D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

We loved the tour and commentary. Its great being able to take photos from the upper deck and we go some great shots. We were lucky as we had a sunny day - so make sure you have your sun cream. We found it difficult to find the bus on the first day, at the Opera, but that was due to there being so many roads and you had to walk around them all to find the right one. The bus would stop for a few minutes at each stop to allow people on and off. The second day, however we found was not so good. We hopped on a bus to go to Champs Elysees this stopped at traffic lights where some people got off, then the driver did not stop at the correct stop so we were unable to get off. This happened again at the next stop further down Champs Elysees as the driver let people off before the actual stop. We ended up getting off at The Trocadero and walking back. The only downside, I would say was that there could be more stops - there is a big gap between stops 2&3 and there could be a stop at The Madelaine Square Church. We also had a bit of trouble with the headphones - but they are only cheap ones.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kerrie J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

A good tour of the main Paris sites but very inconsistent stops. First time around we stopped at Opera for 10 minutes, the next day we lost one of our party as he got off then the bus pulled off while we were still on the stairs. Then it didn't stop near the Ritz as it had the previous day and we did not get off until the top of the Champs Elysees. By that time, we were miles apart. He had no mobile phone and very little money. Also we had to swap seats 3 times to find a working headphone socket.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour was slow due to traffic and as a result we had to listen to the "champs elysee" song over and over!! More information on the sights would have been nice and more frequent buses - once we got on we were afraid to get off too often as full buses would go by the stops and the wait was long for next one.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Paris has plenty to offer and heaps to see and experience. The hop-on hop-off L'Open bus is a great way to get around. Except....it was perfect weather in July and everyone else had the same idea. The most popular Paris Grand green tour was always packed and it was a fight to find a seat on the top deck. The traffic was horrendous, especially along the Champs Elysees, which meant it took ages to get around. The other routes were slightly better except that the buses were less frequent and we had to wait standing for long periods of time. A great tour spoilt by too many people. Suggest taking the tour during a quieter time of the year and try to allocate more than 2 days to get around and experience the various venues.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

I think that there could be more stops on this tour. The distance between stops is too far apart, particularly on the Champs Elysess.When comparing it with other hop on off bus tours I do not think this tour covers enough of the Paris sights,

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John B
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

Routes were good but continual stopping and taking on passengers who were making decisions about what they required led to long delays. I think that we would have been better on the red busses with less stops. We joined at the Eifel Tower and were midirected to the pick-up point, leading to walking half the length of the Champs de Mars and back. The headphone problem was repeated several times during the weekend, leading to perpetual moving round from seat seat. Despite all of this complaining, I think the ticket price represented good value. Apart from our initial encounter, the drivers were generally friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Andrew S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

The bus was okay, except that the ear plugs kept falling out and a bus breakdown on Champs Elysees caused a delay. We had to get a taxi to Park de la Villette to get there on time for the cruise. The cruise information was inadequate, as it did not explain exactly where to find the boat. The taxi took us to the canal and we walked about two kilometers to find the boat, which we nearly missed. It was all very stressful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Absolutely horrid. Driver kept picking up more and more passengers when there was no where to accommodate them. Headphones didn't work or only one earpiece would. We DID see some sights (Louvre, L'Opera house, Champs Ulysses, Arc de Triomphe) but we can't honestly say we enjoyed it.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Have done the hop-on hop-off bus in many cities and didn't have the same problems as in Paris. We waited at stops for more than an hour at a time only to have 3 buses come together. The big problem area is the Champs-de-Elysses (sp?). There were times we wanted to go to a stop past it but it took an hour to go up the street and back. We could have just walked across the road and saved the hour. The tour part was good but I would only use this for a tour and not for getting off and on.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

I had hard time to find the exact stop at the first time. We tried to catch it at Champs-Elysees Clemenceau but couldn't find the bus stop. It wasted us nearly one hour and messed up our schedule. We eventually bought another metro tickets to get to Eifel Tower then found a stop there obviously.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message