Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Château de Fontainebleau

Château de Fontainebleau is a popular destination for those looking for a day trip from Paris. Once here, it can be a full day of fun for the entire family. From touring the massive interior to boating in the lake, riding a Segway around the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We nearly didn't make this tour but the company operators made sure we did, many thanks to them. Fontainebleau is staggering on your senses, the Chateau rooms are more overwhelming than any others I have seen. There was so much to see inside that we didn't get a chance to see the gardens. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised. Couldn't have done it without the tour. Fontainebleau was fabulous and Vaux le Viscomte was a wonderful surprise. Just what we needed: transport and guidance. Great tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Day trip was great. There was no audio guide for Fontainebleau. This was a little misleading. The add read like you would get one at both. The line was very long which prevented you from getting an audio guide. Enjoyed the tour at your own pace. Bus driver was very nice and helpful. Amount of time allocated at both was good.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable day out from the madness of Paris. Remember that this is not a full tour per say, but rather transport between Paris and the two chateaux's. Upon check in we were given tickets and vouchers for admission and audio guides at each chateaux, along with a sheet giving us the drop off and pick up times, as the driver speaks very little English. You get about 3 hours at each location. Really enjoyed Vaux le Vicomte, as it was very quiet, but fantastic rooms and grounds. Fontainebleau was also nice, just busier. Driver was about 20 minutes late on the last pick up, but given the traffic and the fact this bus covers two totally different tours (both by drop off and pick up later), it was understandable. Overall it was worth it and the day went smoothly.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a heavy fog to start the day so it was slow getting to the chateau. There was no guide provided.The driver had multiple tours on board so we were dropped off and given entry tickets to progress. He came back for us at the appointed hour and took us to the next chateau. The arrangement worked fairly well. Both chateau were impressive places to visit. Lunch at Vaux le Vicomte was expensive and did not appeal to our taste. Some of the food was obviously prepared well in advance of their lunch time slot and that was to its disadvantage. I had some brie cheese that was not at all nice. You can find something in their menu to eat but it was nothing brilliant. There were no other food venues (or any other buildings, shops etc) near Vaux le Vicomte so you are a captive audience unless you bring your own. There was at least a village immediately outside Fontainebleau chateau and food could be sourced there if you can wait until that late in the day to eat.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Vaux le Vicomte was well worth seeing. The audio tour was excellent.
We would like to have spent more time there so we could wander the spectacular gardens.
Fontainebleau was very different and very beautiful. Unfortunately, by then we were suffering from chateaux overload. I recommend you come up with a 1/2 day tour to Vaux le Vicomte so visitors get more time there.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, we enjoyed Vaux le Vicomte a lot more than Fontainebleau only because we were already tired but both places were beautiful. We also enjoyed exploring on our own with the audio guide instead of being tide to a tour guide. The bus ride wasn't that long but make sure to bring comfortable shoes because you will be doing lots of walking!!!.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the most memorable day on our trip and would well recommend it to anyone. You visit two beautiful Chateaux, have enough time to see everything, can enjoy a good lunch, have nice gifts shops and relax on the bus. It will be part of cherished memories

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The trip was wonderful however the directions as to where to meet were not clear. We thought it was the subway stop as it said louvre and it was the office which is by the louve, do not make this mistake. The bus was great and the time as just right to view both of the chateau.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Both Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte were awesome sites. Very interesting history, both locations with audio guides.

But I guess I didn't read the fine print well enough, there was no actual person guiding, just a bus driver. They give you your tickets when you board the bus and then send you off with the driver. Kind of expensive if we are only talking transportation and entrance fees. Had some difficulty locating the driver for pick up after the first stop, he didn't pick up where he dropped us off. Would have been nice had he told us that he was going to move when we got off the bus in the parking lot.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Loved Vaux Le vicomte. The chateaux was splendid and there where no crowds. I took a walk to the far side of the garden (about 3/4 of a mile) and felt like I was back in the time when the chateaux was fist b

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Visiting Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte was a wonderful trip. I have been using Viator in France for the past three summers and each time I book about three to four trips with them. Always very professional and they pick the best places in and around the Paris area. The tour guides know what they are doing and try to make it very pleasant for all the passengers. The coach bus is very comfortable and it is great at the end of the day to get back on a nice air conditioned bus, let the driver take the wheel and enjoy the trip back into Paris.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very relaxing way to see Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte. I had never heard of Vaux before but I liked it better than Fontainebleau. There was a wonderful cafe at Vaux.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice bus ride. Fantastic chateaus. Fontainebleu was more opulant. Walking around the town was lovely. We had time to have a cafe crême.
There was no guide nor did we get an audio guide.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This is definitely a transport only tour. After telling us where we were going and a timeline sketch not another word was spoken on the bus. Thought they could have at least given us a history of the chateaux and Vaux le Vicomte. The restaurant was expensive and my piece of pork was 75% fat. There is no other option to eat except for a walk up snack bar.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message