Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Château de Fontainebleau

Château de Fontainebleau is a popular destination for those looking for a day trip from Paris. Once here, it can be a full day of fun for the entire family. From touring the massive interior to boating in the lake, riding a Segway around the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour I enjoyed both the Chateauxs and could spend enough time at each.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent way to see two exciting Chateaux in one day, but don't expect anyone to guide you. One is given written directions when to get back to the bus when boarding, but that is about it. The bus driver drove us to the Chateaux without a word. There was some confusion where to pick up our audios,etc., but with a little common sense it wasn't difficult.
I suggest bringing a snack and eating it between the drive to the second Chateaus as one won't have time to eat if you want to see everything that's in these Chateaux. You will have to decide what is more important to you - eating or viewing everything ...
This is a full day trip, from 9:00 until after 5:00, and do get there early as there are a number of day trips starting at the same place !

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

These two chateaux are astonishing, and well worth the day trip. A coach takes you there, and then you have free time to visit on your own. Maybe take a picnic lunch to have in the gardens of Vaux le Vicomte. Great day.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed this day! Make sure you hire a buggy , that way you will get to see all of the garden otherwise it's a long walk and the tour probably won't allow you to explore beautifully kept gardens at Fontainebleau if you walk. They aren't expensive, you'll enjoy the gardens more, plus there fun to drive. You will see little brooks and streams, lovely. The woods are beautiful, very peaceful and pretty.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Mixed feelings on this one. No commentary at all when starting out, on drive or throughout the day except for the audios at the properties. Vaux lt Vicomte very good.
However did not know at Fontainebleau whether could do the bedchambers or the museum or both.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both chateaus were very interesting. Jean Louis was an excellent guide, keeping us informed about times and locations to meet. It made our trip very manageable.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour sounded great on paper, but was too much to cover in the time allotment. I would recommend taking a tour of the chauteaux that has the most interest, as it is hard to cover both in one day.
The instructions for the audio that covered the first chateaux, was easy to use, when walking through the chateaux. It was nice to be able to return to a specific room and replay the audio for that particular room, if one missed some information from the audio the first time around. The instructions for the audio of the second chateaux, however, was not as clear. It was a bit more confusing.
The garden areas for both chateaux were breath-taking at a glance. One did not really have enough time
to really go out and wander around the gardens.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as advertised, very efficient and friendly service. Highly recommend Vaux le Vicomte - an under-advertised gem of a Chateau. Fontainebleau is bigger and more famous, but Vaux le Vicomte gives you a better idea of the elegant lifestyle.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I were very pleased with the service. It was an amazing experience, it may not the most economical way to visit two beatiful chateaux in one day it was well worth money experience. Transportation was comfortable, on-time and service was very proffessional. I would highly recommend this tour again.
thank you,

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I would not recommend this tour to anyone as there was no tour. It was just transportation to the Chateaus and back to Paris.

I guess it was fine since I hate listening to useless trivial information from tour guides.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A DELLIGHTFUL DAY...VAUX LE VICOMTE EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS...HOUSE AND GARDENS TRULY MAGNIFICENT...AND A LOVELY DRIVE OUT IN THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE AS WELL.
CHATEAUX FONTAINEBLEAU SOMETHING OF A DISAPPOINTMENT...IT ISN'T BEING KEPT UP VERY WELL...CHANDELIERS ARE DUSTY AND LOTS OF STUFF NEEDS A COAT OF PAINT...A DISAPPOINTMENT BUT LOVED ROAMING THE LITTLE TOWN OF FONTAINEBLEAU AND MIXING WITH THE NATIVES...

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Enjoyed the flexibility to walk around on our own instead of being guided every step of the way. The tour guide was full of information on the bus ride out of and back into Paris, she also knew a lot about where we were going. Beautiful chateau's.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour! We had all day between the two chateaux but they were so beautiful we could have stayed even longer. The guide was helpful and there was a restaurant to eat lunch at that was quite good. The bus was comfortable and the ride was a lovely little voyage outside Paris. The Vaux le Vicomte was a wonderful surprise and so outstanding to see for the first time! I would highly recommend this all day independent tour with audio go at your own pace devices to anyone wanting to see something new and different from the Paris tourist attractions.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Loved seeing both chateaus, they were great. My only complaint is that the description said we would have an audio guide at Fontainebleau, but we did NOT. We would have had to get in line with the other tourists, which would have made is not skip the line, and pay 3 euros to get the audio guide. The line was long enough that our foursome decided to not do that, so we missed out on hearing what each room had to offer and the history. There were descriptions posted in each room, but again, with the number of tourists there and with the darkness in some rooms, sometimes it was impossible to read them. We did get the audio guides at Vaux le Vicomte, so that part was great.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We nearly didn't make this tour but the company operators made sure we did, many thanks to them. Fontainebleau is staggering on your senses, the Chateau rooms are more overwhelming than any others I have seen. There was so much to see inside that we didn't get a chance to see the gardens. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised. Couldn't have done it without the tour. Fontainebleau was fabulous and Vaux le Viscomte was a wonderful surprise. Just what we needed: transport and guidance. Great tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Day trip was great. There was no audio guide for Fontainebleau. This was a little misleading. The add read like you would get one at both. The line was very long which prevented you from getting an audio guide. Enjoyed the tour at your own pace. Bus driver was very nice and helpful. Amount of time allocated at both was good.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable day out from the madness of Paris. Remember that this is not a full tour per say, but rather transport between Paris and the two chateaux's. Upon check in we were given tickets and vouchers for admission and audio guides at each chateaux, along with a sheet giving us the drop off and pick up times, as the driver speaks very little English. You get about 3 hours at each location. Really enjoyed Vaux le Vicomte, as it was very quiet, but fantastic rooms and grounds. Fontainebleau was also nice, just busier. Driver was about 20 minutes late on the last pick up, but given the traffic and the fact this bus covers two totally different tours (both by drop off and pick up later), it was understandable. Overall it was worth it and the day went smoothly.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a heavy fog to start the day so it was slow getting to the chateau. There was no guide provided.The driver had multiple tours on board so we were dropped off and given entry tickets to progress. He came back for us at the appointed hour and took us to the next chateau. The arrangement worked fairly well. Both chateau were impressive places to visit. Lunch at Vaux le Vicomte was expensive and did not appeal to our taste. Some of the food was obviously prepared well in advance of their lunch time slot and that was to its disadvantage. I had some brie cheese that was not at all nice. You can find something in their menu to eat but it was nothing brilliant. There were no other food venues (or any other buildings, shops etc) near Vaux le Vicomte so you are a captive audience unless you bring your own. There was at least a village immediately outside Fontainebleau chateau and food could be sourced there if you can wait until that late in the day to eat.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Vaux le Vicomte was well worth seeing. The audio tour was excellent.
We would like to have spent more time there so we could wander the spectacular gardens.
Fontainebleau was very different and very beautiful. Unfortunately, by then we were suffering from chateaux overload. I recommend you come up with a 1/2 day tour to Vaux le Vicomte so visitors get more time there.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, we enjoyed Vaux le Vicomte a lot more than Fontainebleau only because we were already tired but both places were beautiful. We also enjoyed exploring on our own with the audio guide instead of being tide to a tour guide. The bus ride wasn't that long but make sure to bring comfortable shoes because you will be doing lots of walking!!!.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the most memorable day on our trip and would well recommend it to anyone. You visit two beautiful Chateaux, have enough time to see everything, can enjoy a good lunch, have nice gifts shops and relax on the bus. It will be part of cherished memories

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The trip was wonderful however the directions as to where to meet were not clear. We thought it was the subway stop as it said louvre and it was the office which is by the louve, do not make this mistake. The bus was great and the time as just right to view both of the chateau.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Both Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte were awesome sites. Very interesting history, both locations with audio guides.

But I guess I didn't read the fine print well enough, there was no actual person guiding, just a bus driver. They give you your tickets when you board the bus and then send you off with the driver. Kind of expensive if we are only talking transportation and entrance fees. Had some difficulty locating the driver for pick up after the first stop, he didn't pick up where he dropped us off. Would have been nice had he told us that he was going to move when we got off the bus in the parking lot.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Loved Vaux Le vicomte. The chateaux was splendid and there where no crowds. I took a walk to the far side of the garden (about 3/4 of a mile) and felt like I was back in the time when the chateaux was fist b

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message