Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Château de Fontainebleau

Château de Fontainebleau is a popular destination for those looking for a day trip from Paris. Once here, it can be a full day of fun for the entire family. From touring the massive interior to boating in the lake, riding a Segway around the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kattiekwok

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide shares with me the history during our trip to the Chateau, get the admission ticket and the audio equipment ready for my visit. He is experienced and answered all my questions raised. Yet, the Chateau is quite large. If you are interested to know every displaced items, 4.5-hour tour is not sufficient because the travelling time to and from the Chateau have already taken almost 2.5 hours.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Mary Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyed this tour very much. We were picked up right on time and our driver gave us a wonderful history of the Fontainebleau chateau and French history. He also tied into art movements and explained to us about the painters who first painted open air in the forests surrounding the chateau. It probably would have been nicer if we went in the spring or summer when everything on the grounds would be alive and in bloom, but that was our choice to visit in January. I would not hesitate to book with Viator again.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Tiffnay D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We love going to this chateau. We were lucky that the tour was only for us. Our guide was very informative and this tour is not a full guide but once you are at the chateau, we have the radio set that will give you the history in each room. This is a beautiful chateau and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the bus ride was comfortable, and the chateau's were beautiful

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lila J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour event well worth the time. The tour departed as stated, leading us into a world of history, art, wealth and wonder. You are given enough time to explore, shoot photo's and shop for gifts. I took snacks with me so that I would not waste time grabbing a bite in the cafe.
Chateaux Vaux le Vicomte provided the historical background to the movie version of, All This and Heaven Too. Thirty minutes away, Chateaux de Fontainebleau, is visually expansive in size with room after room of historical beauty. Both buildings are architectural masterpieces that are worth the visit.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Kimberley J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding Chateau deeply connected with France's history.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Bill C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

We enjoyed seeing the Chateauxs but there was no interaction with anyone- m

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour with 2 very interesting Chateaux. Tour Guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

radtechy2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Instead of doing Versailles we chose to see two chateau's. Glad we did the tour from the beginning it was fabulous. The tour bus was new and modern which had a moon roof and seats very comfortable. The Vaux le Vicomte was my favorite as it was stately and in the country. Lunch at Vicomte was terrific but you need to allow time as you can't do all the gardens and include lunch so budget your time. The Chateaux de Fontainebleau is endless and at times boring but you can choose where you want to go. I would split my time and do some of the gardens which we only had a small amount of time as we didn't know better. This is a full day as we left at 9:00 am and arrived home at 6:30 pm. Viator I have used in New York and Chicago and for the price it is quality all the way.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

skclaudi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was one of my favorite places Vaux le Vicomte. It was such a great day of history and exploration. The sheer beauty of the chateaux and gardens were beyond belief. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

William W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting and impressive visits to great monuments to French history, culture and life. What tremendous achievements in art, architecture, landscaping and culture these two palaces represent. The only negative was could not fully enjoy the gardens in Fontainebleau as it was raining.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Augusta M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Both Chateauxs are breathtaking. The bus is a very efficient way to get to both places. My only complaint is that it took such a long time to sign in and get going in the morning. We arrived at 8:45 and the bus did not really get rolling till almost 10pm. They need to streamline their sign in process. If you go it might be smart to bring a drink and a sandwich as there is so much to see and so little time.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Diane N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed being able to tour these two chateaux at our own pace. The audio headsets were informative and outlined the history and artifacts at each site. There may not have been a hall of mirrors as in Versailles but the treasures were no less spectacular and there were far fewer crowds.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Ruth M R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Great driver! Very congenial and well informed! Not enough time to really enjoy Chateau de Fontainebleu When we finished the self guided tour it was time to leave without seeing the gardens or other areas

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

David G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The transportation provided was good, because that is all that is provided on the tour. It was understood that this was not a guided tour, but some more information on the tour plan and lunch would have made it more enjoyable. The time is limited at both locations, b ut still worthwhile. Vaux de Vicomte far outshines the chateaux.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Nancy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The chateaux were superb as expected, but we were not informed as to what to do with paperwork for Fontainebleau consequently, we left a required voucher on the bus and were denied an audio tour, which hampered our full appreciation of this magnificent site--very disappointed.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

sopclk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour I enjoyed both the Chateauxs and could spend enough time at each.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Anthony C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very informative tour. Better than visiting three chateau in the Loire Valley with a much shorter trip and less tourists. Recommended highly

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

anne.new

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If I could give this tour a score of 6 out of 5 I would do it! It was exceptional. There was no time wasting so we had plenty of time to explore each chateau and their gardens as well. Both Vaux le Vicomte and Fountainbleau are places that should not be missed. Highly recommended tour - I would happily do all over again.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

James D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a great day. Vicomte was superb however it was a pity that a lot of Fontainebleau was under renovation. Also the self guides at Fontainebleau were not working correctly. They should be ckecked!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Ronald Ralph B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

On Thursday July 16, 2015 we arrived at the tour center and took the air-conditiioned coach to Vaux le Vicomte. This was our first experience with Viator.
Following the tour of that castle, we went by bus to Fontainebleau. However, the air-conditioner on the bus did not work during that trip. The driver and company representative were told that a new bus should be obtained for the return trip to Paris. There was plenty of time to do that during the time allotted to tour the castle. When we arrived at the bus for the return trip to Paris, we had the same bus and the air conditioning still did not work. This made for a very uncomfortable trip to Paris since the temperature reached 100 degrees. What was irritating was the driver and the company representative did not seem concerned in fact, the representative made light of the passengers discomfort.
The palace tours were great.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

tombosl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent way to see two exciting Chateaux in one day, but don't expect anyone to guide you. One is given written directions when to get back to the bus when boarding, but that is about it. The bus driver drove us to the Chateaux without a word. There was some confusion where to pick up our audios,etc., but with a little common sense it wasn't difficult.
I suggest bringing a snack and eating it between the drive to the second Chateaus as one won't have time to eat if you want to see everything that's in these Chateaux. You will have to decide what is more important to you - eating or viewing everything ...
This is a full day trip, from 9:00 until after 5:00, and do get there early as there are a number of day trips starting at the same place !

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Rose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

These two chateaux are astonishing, and well worth the day trip. A coach takes you there, and then you have free time to visit on your own. Maybe take a picnic lunch to have in the gardens of Vaux le Vicomte. Great day.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Merielen B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed this day! Make sure you hire a buggy , that way you will get to see all of the garden otherwise it's a long walk and the tour probably won't allow you to explore beautifully kept gardens at Fontainebleau if you walk. They aren't expensive, you'll enjoy the gardens more, plus there fun to drive. You will see little brooks and streams, lovely. The woods are beautiful, very peaceful and pretty.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Diana W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Mixed feelings on this one. No commentary at all when starting out, on drive or throughout the day except for the audios at the properties. Vaux lt Vicomte very good.
However did not know at Fontainebleau whether could do the bedchambers or the museum or both.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message