• USD ($)
  • English
Travel 55km southeast of Paris and you'll find, Fontainebleau, best known for its sizeable forest and historic Château, making it a popular weekend destination for Parisians looking to escape the city sprawl. The forest forms part of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Colin S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip, but a lot for one day. Plenty of time at both locations. My only complaint is that I was refused the audio-visual guide at Fontainebleau even though it was supposedly included.

No commentary at all during the trip. Something, even if bare bones, would be nice.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An extraordinary palace and grounds. We traveled there via a clean and modern bus; the countryside was beautiful.
The lawns and water features of this fabulous place are awe-inspiring. We rented a golf cart to see it all, saving our legs for the huge chateau itself. We bought a nice lunch at the cafe next to the coach house, which contained many restored carriages from centuries gone by. A wonderful day trip.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Made seeing these two chateau so easy! The audio guides were very helpful!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Bus ride to the chateaux was comfortable..on time...well-organized
I really enjoyed it

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Viator tour to see Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte was a great way to visit these magnificent palaces. You are dropped off at each palace and given a generous amount of time to stroll about before the bus returns. We enjoyed the freedom to wander on our own. For our return to Paris, we were disappointed that the bus was 25 minutes late, but otherwise it was a perfect tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Michael, a polished and outgoing Frenchman, escorted 7 of us, a mx of US, Canadian and Aussie travelers, to these two wonderful chateaus. Each are very stylish and have historical significance yet are different enough in both their histories and styles that you are not bored. While our guide did not actually tour through the chateaus, he took great links to prepare us for what we were about to visit and allowed the audios to fill in the rest.

This represented a wonderful sunny Saturday break from hectic Paris, quite relaxing and yet truly informative. We had a wonderful full lunch at an inn that must have had its origins in the medieval period; the meal was very adequate and served with red and white vins.

I would recommend this tour to any one who wants a pleasant getaway hiatus from Parie.

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The only negative about this tour was getting out of Paris. It took at least an hour to pick up everyone at that time of the morning. As soon as we left Paris it was most enjoyable. Our guide was informative and stopped at Barbizon to explain it's influence on French art and then we went to Fountainbleau. We had individual audio guides so we could spend as much time inside of the chateaux as we liked. Lunch was fantastic in a very nice room at Vaux le Vicomte. I was most surprised that it was so good. We loved the history lesson given by our guide before entering Vaux le Vicomte which we loved. Do not miss it! Returning to Paris was a little easier than leaving. However, this type of tour takes away all of the stress and so I would highly recommend this tour to anyone and I plan on using Viator when we visit Paris again.

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful day: perfect weather, not too many people at the chateaus, met some delightful people on the bus and lunched with them at Vaux. I took this tour because I had never been to Fontainebleau, but the bonus was Vaux le Vicomte, which to my taste was even better than Fontainebleau, which with its many, many rooms and huge gardens can be a pretty exhausting experience. Vaux is smaller but exquisite - superb chateau, grand but not too grand, and the fantastic Le Notre gardens. What a combination! The guided tours were in French, so if you don't speak French, some prior research on the chateaus is recommended. Very pleased that ample time was allowed at each place.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Totally enjoyed this tour and how it was arranged.
We met the bus at a location two blocks from the Louvre so it was very easy to find. The office staff was very organized and handed us our ticket packets and times to meet back at the bus. Tour left on time.
We have always done group tours in the past, but decided to do this "se it yourself version" with an audio guide because we love spending time in the gardens - which you dont usually get on arranged tours.

The audio guides at both chateauxs were VERY GOOD and very easy to use with excellent narration.

Three recommendations:
1. At Vaux le Vicomte, when you get there they offer (for an additional price) the opportunity to climb to the top of the dome. We highly recommend this. You get amazing panoramic views. Fee was nominal.
2. Eat at Vaux le Vicomte or bring a picnic lunch. They have a beautiful eating area and the better of the two gift shops. Food at Fontainebleau was basic and more expensive.
3. At Fontainebleau they rush you into the rooms. TAKE YOUR TIME. If you move right along you wind up with over an hour at the end and while the garden are vast, they are not as nice to stroll through. The Chateaux is HUGE but only a small part is open to visitors.

Wish we would have had more time at Vaux and less time at Chateaux.

All in all, a great time. Well worth it!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Chateaux de Fontainebleau is very big. More time is needed.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I thought that the tour was done very well. We got off a little late and then we ran into a situation on the highway when there was a bad traffic accident. They did a good job with extending the trip since we had a 30 minute delay. Since this was not a guided tour we had to use the audio guides which were very good. The Vaux tour was better then the one at Fontainebleau but both were interesting. Overall it was everything that we expected.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A good way to see a very historic chateau! Our driver picked us up from our apartment and provided interesting facts about Paris and the history of France, the drive to Fontainebleau was plesent and the van was very comfortable. The self guided tour was imformative and the chateau itself was amazing, after a quick walk around the gardens we were driven back to Paris. A really good afternoon.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Very well organized and professional. We left on time. Was a good combination to see together! My only wish was that we could have see some of the other parts of Fontainebleau rather than just the Grand Apartments.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

We enjoyed our day .Fontainebleau is not to be missed. It was really impressive..Vaux le Vicomte was nice but I wouldn't go back and visit. It gave us more insight into the inner workings of a chateau(the kitchen, the stables etc.)

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour was very good; a very nice, knowledgeable and courteous tour leader/driver. The tour bus was clean, comfortable and spacious; the 2 chateaus/palaces were really well worth visiting and the lunch included in the price was really fine [3 good-sized courses, plus wine, water and coffee].
Perhaps more time could be provided for the Fontainbleau visit to enable some time to visit the gardens as well as complete the entire tour of the palace interior provided. On our viist, there was not a large crowd and not all of the palace rooms were open - yet we were only able to complete the audio guide tour of the palace rooms in the time provided

Doing what: Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message