Giverny is a tiny village west of Paris which has been made famous by the painter Claude Monet calling it home. In 1883 Monet fell in love with the place through a train window. He found a house there, moved in with his lady-friend, his two sons, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Guide was excellent. She knew the history of both places and knew how to navigate us through Versailles despite the crazy crowds. While we enjoyed seeing Versailles the hit for us was seeing Giverny and Monet's home and gardens. Just beautiful. Wished we had even more time to explore the little village a bit. The lunch between the two stops was excellent in taste and presentation and they did not skimp on the wine either. We met people from all over. It was an excellent value an done of our favorite days.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The day trip was awesome. Giverny was beautiful and tranquil. The drive was nice as well leaving the city. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. We had time to do the gardens on our own which I liked. I was expecting a boxed lunch on a picnic table but instead we received a three course sit down meal. The food was great but it was also nice to meet the others on the tour. Versailles was breathtaking. It was a little too crowded as the tour progressed and hard to keep up with our group but overall I would recommend it. There wasn't much time at the end for the gardens but the fountains were not on and there were few flowers. All in all, a great day.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a phenomenal day trip. We thought the visit to Giverny was just a small town we would visit. We didn't even realize that this was a trip to Monet's house and garden. Our guide Laura was tremendous. She led us around and knew her history, and her English was perfect. Some things didn't go quite right in Versailles and she straightened it out immediately. I would recommend this day trip to anyone.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a must do tour if you are visiting Paris! Giverny is such a beautiful and peaceful little town and the Monet house and property is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Standing and looking at the place where Monet painted Water Lillies will just give you chills and the understanding of why he wanted to paint there. It is breath taking! Very nice lunch afterwards at the restaurant with the waterwheel.
Versailles was beautiful as well. Wish we would have had more time to spend there. An excellent day trip.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip in a nice van with an interesting, knowledgeable guide. Monet's Giverny gardens were a dream come true. Visited gardens in the morning when the light and colors were pretty to photograph the flowers. Luckily got in when crowds were starting to grow from buses of visitors. But go if you want to see the flowers and Monet's home. Lunch on Epp River was delicious and setting was lovely. Afternoon at town Auvers was solemn considering VanGogh's death and grave but felt privledged to go to church he painted and walk around the town. Those who appreciate VanGogh's work should go.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Saw so much more than I had hoped, thanks to our guide/driver Manuel. His steady stream of information about the trip from Paris to Giverny and Versailles was not only informative, but funny and insightful. The trip from Giverny to the palace through back roads and quaint towns was beautiful and my travel mates from Australia and Brazil gave the trip a wonderful friendly touch. With apologies to Paris, this was my favorite part of my trip to France. If you want to pack a lot into one day, this is the way to do it!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable tour to a special place. Unfortunately at this time of year the crowds were somewhat overwhelming! Hotel pick up was appreciated as were interesting comments by the driver as we drove through Paris and countryside en route to Giverny.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My good friend and I had an amazing day with the Viator tour to Versailles and Giverny. I have to say that the highlight of my entire vacation was the tour of Monet's home and garden at Giverny. The most amazing place and the first moment I get to come back and particularly with the Viator tour, I will do so. Another highlight of the trip was the amazing stop at Fourges for lunch. Not only was it so picturesque, but the lunch was one of the best I had during our visit to Paris. Versailles was amazing. The tour guide was excellent and did an amazing job of explaining. I would highly recommend Viator to anyone who would ask. I will ensure that I always look at Viator tours prior to any other tour company.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very convenient way to see Giverny and Versaille. Pick up and drop off in van at hotel. Congenenial driver- guide, Magnus, who told us about the sites and there history while in transport, but did not actually take us through the sites, but made sure we were admitted and knew what to see. Giverny was a place you need to see, but a bit of a let down. had a nice lunch en route from Giverny to Versaille. Versaille was terrific. We enjoyed the gardens, more than the interiors however. A fellow tour member told us to watch Coppola's "Marie Antoinette" movie, which was filmed at Versaille, which we did that night. It helped put everything in context.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour. Gregory our guide was wonderful. Leaned so much about impressionism. Had a great lunch at a lovely place. Van Gogh's grave and getting to sit where he painted the church was amazing. Giverny is so picturesque.I know this is expensive but it was worth it. We had a great group of 8 folks... wonderful day

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Christophe was an excellent guide. He was prompt in collecting us at our hotel. His driving was appropriate for the area; I felt quite comfortable with him. The line for Versailles was at least two city blocks long. What a joy to walk to the front and get in within two minutes from arrival. We were given the meeting time, a few tips for touring, and we were off. Versailles is amazing! We walked for miles (according to my pedometer) and still didn't comb the entire property in two hours. FYI, there are golf cart rentals in 30-minute increments available to drive the gardens. Next, Christophe drove us through the countryside, gave us a little history of the area, and then we arrived at the windmill restaurant. Nice atmosphere, quick service and delicious food. I'm not a dark meat chicken eater, but none of the thigh was left on my plate. Last on the list, Giverny...breathtaking. The opportunity to walk the Japanese gardens and enter the home, ahead of the crowds once again, was worth it. I can't imagine spending hours of my vacation waiting to gain entry. Very few spaces were off limits. I could see and feel where Monet's inspiration came from. Absolutely stunning!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were very pleased with the whole experience from start to finish. Our tour director was very pleasant, informed, and very prompt. The trip to Giverny took us through a lot of small towns which we wouldn't have seen on a large tour. The Monet gardens are beautiful especially in mid- summer. Our lunch at a very quaint restaurant was most enjoyable and delicious. We had no trouble entering Versailles as our guide had our tickets and we were able to go to the front of the cue. It will always be for us a day to remember.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is fantastic. Our guide was fun to be with, and was able to talk about all aspects of the towns of Vernon and Giverny, and of course the life and times of Claude Monet. The picnic was very enjoyable, especially selecting foods from the many small specialty shops in Vernon. The picnic site is beautiful, right on the bank of the river with great views. The bikes were in good shape and easy to maneuver, the bike ride was easy and fun.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our trip to Giverny and Monet's guardian could not have been nicer. Our driver was friendly and punctual. He was also most helpful when we got to Giverny, giving very clear information about what there was to see as well as the time and place we should meet him for the return trip to Paris. We very much enjoyed the experience!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time on this tour. It was a very busy day, but it gave us an opportunity to see two venues we wanted to visit very much and still have a maximum time in the city of Paris. Ideally, it would have been nice to spend more time at Giverny and Versailles, but it was a good compromise.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was great! The bus ride was very comfortable and the tour guide was very knowledgable. It was our first time to Giverny and it was as beautiful as I expected it to be. The only negative is that there are many other people there. I wish I could have enjoyed the picturesque scenery without a crowd, but it's to be expected in a place that so many want to see. It's almost impossible to get photos of the pond and bridge, without getting other tourists in the picture. Also, the allotted visit time was short so if you want to savor it, go on your own. All in all though, if you don't know what you are doing - or where to go, this is a great way to do it!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful Day! Our tour guide, Johnny, was very knowledgeable of the city of Giverny and history of Monet. He gave us an informative talk on the train on the way to Giverny, and was always eager to answer questions. Despite a train strike that delayed us almost an hour, we had plenty of time to shop for our lunch at the local farmer's market, eat lunch along the Seine, and explore Monet's house and garden. We were given great suggestions on where to purchase the ingredients for our lunch and the bikes had baskets to carry the lunch to the picnic spot.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very Well Done! This is a perfect example of “You get what you pay for”. Although the double tour was pricey, it was well worth it. The tour was very well organized with courteous and knowledgeable guides. The buses were clean, new and roomy.
Versailles: Although I feel this is an attraction that shouldn’t be missed, I think there could definitely be improvements within the palace itself (not the tour). It was what I’d consider dangerously crowded and very hot inside and I've been to some crowded places! Bathrooms, were in trailers and not adequate to handle the crowd, especially women. Lunch: Lovely, beautiful setting.
Giverny: Magical!!! I loved everything about this place from the house to the gardens and literally felt like I was walking in a Monet painting. An absolute treasure!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Definately recommend this tour! My mom and I loved it so much we would do it again! It is unlike the other tours to Giverny in that this tour takes you to the quaint town of Vernon to get supplies for the picnic. Awesome market there! This tour was well worth the money. Dan is a great tour guide!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were a group of 6 (family of four with two grandmas) and it was super convenient to have our tour guide pick us up and drop us off from our apartment. He was very friendly and handled everything for us. We just had to sit back and enjoy. The Giverny gardens are a must see. The ride out to Giverny and through the town was enjoyable and picturesque as well. Access to the museum was a nice bonus but seeing the gardens was an absolute delight. Lunch was also very good and at cute restaurant along the river. The tour of Versailles was good too, our guide gave us tips on what to skip so we would have enough time seeing the more interesting items. Definitely save time to walk the grounds.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I guess everyone needs to experience Versailles if you want to really understand French history... particularly the excesses and extravagances that led to the French Revolution. It truly is an amazing place and a work of art in itself. However, I never thought I would see a site more crowded than the Vatican Museums in Rome but Versailles might have done that. Our guide was excellent and we were actually lucky to visit in early May. We can't imagine what it's like in mid-summer. Giverny was wonderful and we were amazed at how the gardens, the pond, the water lilies and the house looked just like so many of Monet's famous paintings. The lunch at an old mill was also very good. Great tour and guide!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a full day and being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was a real plus. Giverny is absolutely beautiful, such a wonderful place. Versailles is interesting to see, wouldn't go back but glad we saw it. Our driver, Fred, was great. Funny, personable, knowledgeable and really made the day fun and special. Lunch was at a lovely restaurant between Giverny and Versailles. Getting out of the city and seeing the beautiful countryside is a great way to spend a day. We were back in Paris early enough to still do some more sightseeing and have a nice evening.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Giverny was the high point of our 7-day trip to Paris! I have been to Paris twelve times, but never to Giverny. I was astounded by its beauty, never having seen so many fabulous, artfully grouped flowers in one place before. Our guide was personable and very well versed, a pleasure. Being in a small group is very pleasant. I recommend this tour very highly. Versailles is very impressive, but don't miss Giverny - with this tour you can do both in the same day!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour, it was a rainy day when we left Paris but the rain stopped by the time we reached Giverny. The overcast sky made for some stunning photographs of the gardens. The Tour leader's knowledge of Monet, the house and gardens was very good, her instructions were clear and she included some interesting information about the town of Vernon. The Viator office was easy to find, but would suggest checking in early as the room was packed closer to departure time.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed the visit to Giverny and Versailles very much. The flowers and gardens at both places were absolutely beautiful. The lunch was in a beautiful setting and very delicious. We would give it five stars and recommend the tour.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message