• USD ($)
  • English
Giverny is a tiny village west of Paris which has been made famous by the painter Claude Monet calling it home. In 1883 Monet fell in love with the place through a train window. He found a house there, moved in with his lady-friend, his two sons, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a full day and being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was a real plus. Giverny is absolutely beautiful, such a wonderful place. Versailles is interesting to see, wouldn't go back but glad we saw it. Our driver, Fred, was great. Funny, personable, knowledgeable and really made the day fun and special. Lunch was at a lovely restaurant between Giverny and Versailles. Getting out of the city and seeing the beautiful countryside is a great way to spend a day. We were back in Paris early enough to still do some more sightseeing and have a nice evening.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Giverny was the high point of our 7-day trip to Paris! I have been to Paris twelve times, but never to Giverny. I was astounded by its beauty, never having seen so many fabulous, artfully grouped flowers in one place before. Our guide was personable and very well versed, a pleasure. Being in a small group is very pleasant. I recommend this tour very highly. Versailles is very impressive, but don't miss Giverny - with this tour you can do both in the same day!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour, it was a rainy day when we left Paris but the rain stopped by the time we reached Giverny. The overcast sky made for some stunning photographs of the gardens. The Tour leader's knowledge of Monet, the house and gardens was very good, her instructions were clear and she included some interesting information about the town of Vernon. The Viator office was easy to find, but would suggest checking in early as the room was packed closer to departure time.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed the visit to Giverny and Versailles very much. The flowers and gardens at both places were absolutely beautiful. The lunch was in a beautiful setting and very delicious. We would give it five stars and recommend the tour.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Giverny is one of the most beautiful places in the world, and we had a beautiful afternoon exploring house and garden, as well as complimentary tickets to a nearby museum. We were picked up at our hotel, and dropped off afterward, which was WONDERFUL, and our driver acted as something of a tour guide, pointing out places of interest with bits of history in an engagingly cheerful way. All of us thorougly enjoyed the afternoon.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

What an experience. Our driver, Max, was superb, giving a detailed commentary along the way, and making sure we knew what was happening and meeting times, etc, throughout the day. He looked after us very well. Giverny and Monet's garden were delightful, and lunch at the Mill restaurant was fantastic. Then Max took us through small villages, pointing out places of interest before delivering us right to the gate at Versailles. After a couple of hours there, we were delivered back to our hotel. This was a day we will always remember and can happily recommend it to other travellers.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I loved this tour and it was the highlight of my week in Paris! You can visualise Monet's paintings as you walk around the garden and I was lucky enough to have beautiful weather the day we went. Giverny is a great town and I would have loved more time to explore the place further. Don't debate whether or not you should do it - just book it in. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour to Giverny was everything we had hoped for. Our guide was on time and very friendly. His english was very good and easy to understand. During the ride to Giverny he gave us lots of history of Monet, the house and gardens. We arrived early and enjoyed a walk through the gardens before the tour buses arrived. The gardens are wonderful and so enjoyable to walk through at your own pace. The house is very interesting - loved the kitchen! We had lunch at a pretty place overlooking the Seine. The drive back to Paris through the country side was very pretty. It was nice to have a quiet drive out of the busy city. We throughly enjoyed the Musee de l'Orangerie. The river cruise tour guide was hard to understand. She would comment in French then English. The noise from the boat made it hard to hear. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is the BEST way to see Versailles and Giverny! The driver picked me up at my hotel and then picked up two other couples, so it's a small intimate group. We drove to Versailles and toured the Grand Versailles and gardens. Walk down into the orange grove and around the corner is a large stone staircase (excellent for photo opportunities!). It's amazing to see that someone could build a "home" so grand and ornate...you will love the history. Next, on to the most delightful drive through the country to a picturesque little town and lunch....I'll let you experience it for yourself...a lovely and beautiful surprise. Just fantastic! Next on to Giverny, Monet's waterlily pond, gardens and home. If you are a huge Monet fan, of which I am, you will love, love, being among the beautiful flowers and pond and know that he was there painting....breathtaking. I highly recommend going on this small group tour. Absolutely worth the little extra $ to do this. There is something so nice about not being on a big bus with a ton of people on a cattle call. Take lots of pictures at Monet's waterlily pond.....they come out amazing!!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was one of the highlights of the Paris week for us. We were happy to leave the busy crowded city for a little taste of the countyside. Our guide Rick was fantastic! The market at Vernon, gathering our lunch goods, picnic on the river, the pleasant ride to Giverny...couldn't ask for a better way to experience Monet's gardens. The gardens were crowded (as expected in summer) but it was great to enter with a group and not have to wait in the long lines. Really the way to see it! Thank you!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Loved our trip to Giverny. It was our first day in Paris. The bus went through the heart of Paris on the way there giving a great tour of Arc de Triomphe and the Champs-Elysees. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and gave a history lecture on the way there. Once there they suggested we go to the Japanese gardens first because the line into the house was so long. By the time we got back the line to the house was considerably shorter. As we left at the end of the day the line to get in was very long, way down the block. We were so glad to be with a group and go right in. On the way back to the city,, they took a different route along the Seine, going by the Eiffel tower. It was a great way to start our trip.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We loved the tour. Shame it was so rushed. The guide was very helpful, informative and friendly. Giverny and Versailles had highly inadequate toilet facilities although the lunch ones were better. Wasted a lot of time in toilet queues. The place we stopped for lunch and the meal was absolutely lovely. Monets Garden was wonderful and the Versailles Palace spectacular. Thank you.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The trip was wonderful! The garden at Giverny should not be missed, you feel like you are part of Monet's masterpieces. The palace at Versailles defies description! Another definite must see!!!! The tour guide was knowledgable and very nice. She had a wealth of information about the places we drove through as well as the destinations.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Highly recommend the small tour. Pick up was easy, no problem. Only 7 people in the van. Stopped at Versailles first. Driver was able to find his colleague and let us in through the Group entrance, so NO waiting in the long queue up front to get in. Got the audio guide and just walk around at your own pace inside the palace. We had 2 hours total in Versailles. Wish we have a little more time to spend in Versailles as the garden is so big and you can rent golf cart or take their mini train to go around the place, but we didn't have enough time to do those, only have some time to walk around. You can easily spend 1/2 day just to walk in the garden as it's enormous, 2 hours in Versailles is simply not enough. But understand we have another place that we have to visit.

Where we stopped for lunch (Moulin de Fourges) is absolutely adorable. A beautiful watermill house in a beautiful setting. The lunch itself is alright, nothing spectacular but it's included in the tour, so why not. Salmon mousse, dry chicken with mushroom sauce + mashed potatoes and a very nice apple tart. Lunch was relaxing, not rushed.

Arrived in Giverny, driver gave us the tickets to the house and also the museum, told us where to start and where to finish. Also had 2 hours to spend in Giverny. The water lilies garden is absolutely stunning and beautiful. Monet's house and garden up front is also very nice. No pictures allowed inside the house. The museum was small and special collections, not really Monet's stuff. 2 hours seems a bit long. Maybe we could spend 2.5 hours in Versailles and 1.5 hours in Giverny, that would have be nicer. As most people were already to leave after 1.5 hours in Giverny.

It's a nice way to get out of busy Paris and see the beautiful countryside. The tour overall was great. The driver was very pleasant and gave us good information/history of both places on our way, so we could have a better understanding of what we were able to see.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We were transported on a spacious double-decker tour bus to Giverny Gardens first. The English-speaking guide was kind and courteous throughout. After we were treated to a nice lunch at a quaint hotel/restaurant nearby with a picturesque water mill. Lastly we were transported to Chateau Versailles where again our guide took us on a tour of the main attractions of the palace. After we were free to roam the gardens outside for a bit before being collected and taken back to our point of origin at Cityrama offices in London near the Tuileries Gardens. This tour is perfect if you don't want to bother organizing transport outside Paris to see the gardens and the chateau.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message