Giverny is a tiny village west of Paris which has been made famous by the painter Claude Monet calling it home. In 1883 Monet fell in love with the place through a train window. He found a house there, moved in with his lady-friend, his two sons, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Christophe was an excellent guide. He was prompt in collecting us at our hotel. His driving was appropriate for the area; I felt quite comfortable with him. The line for Versailles was at least two city blocks long. What a joy to walk to the front and get in within two minutes from arrival. We were given the meeting time, a few tips for touring, and we were off. Versailles is amazing! We walked for miles (according to my pedometer) and still didn't comb the entire property in two hours. FYI, there are golf cart rentals in 30-minute increments available to drive the gardens. Next, Christophe drove us through the countryside, gave us a little history of the area, and then we arrived at the windmill restaurant. Nice atmosphere, quick service and delicious food. I'm not a dark meat chicken eater, but none of the thigh was left on my plate. Last on the list, Giverny...breathtaking. The opportunity to walk the Japanese gardens and enter the home, ahead of the crowds once again, was worth it. I can't imagine spending hours of my vacation waiting to gain entry. Very few spaces were off limits. I could see and feel where Monet's inspiration came from. Absolutely stunning!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were very pleased with the whole experience from start to finish. Our tour director was very pleasant, informed, and very prompt. The trip to Giverny took us through a lot of small towns which we wouldn't have seen on a large tour. The Monet gardens are beautiful especially in mid- summer. Our lunch at a very quaint restaurant was most enjoyable and delicious. We had no trouble entering Versailles as our guide had our tickets and we were able to go to the front of the cue. It will always be for us a day to remember.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is fantastic. Our guide was fun to be with, and was able to talk about all aspects of the towns of Vernon and Giverny, and of course the life and times of Claude Monet. The picnic was very enjoyable, especially selecting foods from the many small specialty shops in Vernon. The picnic site is beautiful, right on the bank of the river with great views. The bikes were in good shape and easy to maneuver, the bike ride was easy and fun.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our trip to Giverny and Monet's guardian could not have been nicer. Our driver was friendly and punctual. He was also most helpful when we got to Giverny, giving very clear information about what there was to see as well as the time and place we should meet him for the return trip to Paris. We very much enjoyed the experience!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time on this tour. It was a very busy day, but it gave us an opportunity to see two venues we wanted to visit very much and still have a maximum time in the city of Paris. Ideally, it would have been nice to spend more time at Giverny and Versailles, but it was a good compromise.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was great! The bus ride was very comfortable and the tour guide was very knowledgable. It was our first time to Giverny and it was as beautiful as I expected it to be. The only negative is that there are many other people there. I wish I could have enjoyed the picturesque scenery without a crowd, but it's to be expected in a place that so many want to see. It's almost impossible to get photos of the pond and bridge, without getting other tourists in the picture. Also, the allotted visit time was short so if you want to savor it, go on your own. All in all though, if you don't know what you are doing - or where to go, this is a great way to do it!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful Day! Our tour guide, Johnny, was very knowledgeable of the city of Giverny and history of Monet. He gave us an informative talk on the train on the way to Giverny, and was always eager to answer questions. Despite a train strike that delayed us almost an hour, we had plenty of time to shop for our lunch at the local farmer's market, eat lunch along the Seine, and explore Monet's house and garden. We were given great suggestions on where to purchase the ingredients for our lunch and the bikes had baskets to carry the lunch to the picnic spot.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very Well Done! This is a perfect example of “You get what you pay for”. Although the double tour was pricey, it was well worth it. The tour was very well organized with courteous and knowledgeable guides. The buses were clean, new and roomy.
Versailles: Although I feel this is an attraction that shouldn’t be missed, I think there could definitely be improvements within the palace itself (not the tour). It was what I’d consider dangerously crowded and very hot inside and I've been to some crowded places! Bathrooms, were in trailers and not adequate to handle the crowd, especially women. Lunch: Lovely, beautiful setting.
Giverny: Magical!!! I loved everything about this place from the house to the gardens and literally felt like I was walking in a Monet painting. An absolute treasure!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Definately recommend this tour! My mom and I loved it so much we would do it again! It is unlike the other tours to Giverny in that this tour takes you to the quaint town of Vernon to get supplies for the picnic. Awesome market there! This tour was well worth the money. Dan is a great tour guide!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were a group of 6 (family of four with two grandmas) and it was super convenient to have our tour guide pick us up and drop us off from our apartment. He was very friendly and handled everything for us. We just had to sit back and enjoy. The Giverny gardens are a must see. The ride out to Giverny and through the town was enjoyable and picturesque as well. Access to the museum was a nice bonus but seeing the gardens was an absolute delight. Lunch was also very good and at cute restaurant along the river. The tour of Versailles was good too, our guide gave us tips on what to skip so we would have enough time seeing the more interesting items. Definitely save time to walk the grounds.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I guess everyone needs to experience Versailles if you want to really understand French history... particularly the excesses and extravagances that led to the French Revolution. It truly is an amazing place and a work of art in itself. However, I never thought I would see a site more crowded than the Vatican Museums in Rome but Versailles might have done that. Our guide was excellent and we were actually lucky to visit in early May. We can't imagine what it's like in mid-summer. Giverny was wonderful and we were amazed at how the gardens, the pond, the water lilies and the house looked just like so many of Monet's famous paintings. The lunch at an old mill was also very good. Great tour and guide!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a full day and being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was a real plus. Giverny is absolutely beautiful, such a wonderful place. Versailles is interesting to see, wouldn't go back but glad we saw it. Our driver, Fred, was great. Funny, personable, knowledgeable and really made the day fun and special. Lunch was at a lovely restaurant between Giverny and Versailles. Getting out of the city and seeing the beautiful countryside is a great way to spend a day. We were back in Paris early enough to still do some more sightseeing and have a nice evening.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Giverny was the high point of our 7-day trip to Paris! I have been to Paris twelve times, but never to Giverny. I was astounded by its beauty, never having seen so many fabulous, artfully grouped flowers in one place before. Our guide was personable and very well versed, a pleasure. Being in a small group is very pleasant. I recommend this tour very highly. Versailles is very impressive, but don't miss Giverny - with this tour you can do both in the same day!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour, it was a rainy day when we left Paris but the rain stopped by the time we reached Giverny. The overcast sky made for some stunning photographs of the gardens. The Tour leader's knowledge of Monet, the house and gardens was very good, her instructions were clear and she included some interesting information about the town of Vernon. The Viator office was easy to find, but would suggest checking in early as the room was packed closer to departure time.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed the visit to Giverny and Versailles very much. The flowers and gardens at both places were absolutely beautiful. The lunch was in a beautiful setting and very delicious. We would give it five stars and recommend the tour.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message