Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Ile de la Cité

Ile de la Cité shares the Seine River with its upstream neighbor, Ile Saint-Louis, right in the middle of Paris's city center. The westernmost end of the island is mostly residential with a small park at the tip, while the eastern end gives ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2619 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dalene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is by far the best way to see Paris, or any other city in the world for what it is worth. We've tried L'Open after always using Big Bus company and this was just as great - if not perhaps better. 3 days on the bus and I now consider myself a Paresian...

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Cornelius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are a sightseeing person, you might want to have this!!
4 routes, 1 ticket..

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

dham225

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were very pleased with the entire experience.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Jonathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and spoke fantastic English. Wear comfortable shoes :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

anibal v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Paris is a beautiful city. Lots of sights to see. The food is great. The hop on hop off bus service is great.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We LOVED this!!! My husband has mobility issues and it really made it easy to see everything we wanted and more. The buses were clean the sound system worked very well and the drivers were very friendly.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Lanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Charlie was an outstanding tour guide. His great sense of humor and knowledge of the history of Paris was amazing. Our tour of the Notre Dame included the climb to the top of the bell tower which I highly recommend. The 420 steps up a tight spiral staircase are well worth the view from the top. You can see the Eiffel tower 3 miles away! Keep up the great work Charlie!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Terry J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Terrific tour! The guide was great and we zipped past the long line easily. Totally worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Dayna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was well worth the money! All we had to do was hand the voucher to the driver and he provided us with ear buds, our tickets and two coupon books. This is a good way to see Paris in a short amount of time. Views from the top are much better if you are able to sit there.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide. Very informative and nice

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Angelina N C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Using hop on hop off buses is super convenient and easy. I also used hop on hop off for London and I just find them so easy and convenient and saves money

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

brendaannolele United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Take the Green Route, has the Louvre, Eiffel Tower and Norte Dame, this was a great tour. You can see and drink in all the history. Explore what you like in more detail. There are 4 routes we tried 3 of them and were not disappointed.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

simonespurling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good tour. Our guide Shannon was most informative. As the voucher says you do not meet at Notre Dame, you meet at the Cité metro stop, which is beside the flower market at Ile de la Cité. A few tour groups meet here so it is just a matter of finding the right one. You are given a headset, so you can hear everything. You are then given a tour of the area. It is then on to Notre Dame, where you have to queue for the security check point. This queue is unavoidable and took around 10minutes.Entry to the Cathedral is free so if you have no interest in the towers, I wouldn't book a tour of the Cathedral, but that is my preference. You then leave the Cathedral and go to the side entrance for the towers. You can queue for hours to gain entry but the tour just skips the queue. The guide leaves you at the gift shop in the towers and you make the assent on your own. There are a lot of steps. I wouldn't be the fittest and I made it, but I did feel it the next day. The steps are in two sections. The first set aren't too bad and it leads to a bell tower and walkway with fantastic views of Paris. You then have the option to leave or go to the top. If you want to exit, go to the ropes and let the staff know, otherwise you have to queue for the top. We queued for around 10minutes. The steps to the top are quite steep but the view is fabulous. Don't forget that you have to travel back down. I wouldn't recommend the towers for anyone with mobility issues or fear of heights. Overall I thought the tour was excellent and was worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were in Paris for 6 days, 5 1/2 of them it rained............and rained and rained. Without the L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off tour tickets, we would have been miserable. It was perfect. We had a 3-day pass which I purchased prior to arriving in Paris and then we purchased an additional day when it ran out. We saw each section, were able to switch from one bus to another easily to go to a different section on the map and had no problems. Drivers were courteous and helpful the few times we had questions. The only thing that would have made it better was to be able to sit on the top and see everything in warm sunshine. Next time.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Tamara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our first tour we booked after arriving in Paris the night before. Avi was our guide, and he was exceptional. He came to Paris more than a decade ago to study at the Sorbonne, and never left. He obviously loves his history, and was really well informed about the history of the Ile de la Cite, which is the history of Paris itself, so this was a great tour to take first. After meeting at the Cite Metro Stop, we strolled around the island, while he explained the beginnings of Paris and the colorful history of the important government buildings there. Then we waited briefly in the security line for Notre Dame and viewed the cathedral, while he pointed out fascinating details. When you are with a guide who loves to tell other people about things that fascinate them, it is so much better than someone who just read Wikipedia and spouts out some facts. Avi had the in-depth answers for all of our questions. After touring the downstairs of the cathedral, we were able to skip-the-line for the towers. And this was a really long line that has to keep waiting for tour groups to go ahead of them. I am sure that the regular line was at least an hour or more of a wait for the towers. They only let a certain number of people up the stairs at a time, and then let a group come down the stairs before letting another group of people up. It's a long spiral stone staircase, and a good workout. The view from the top is fantastic. You can see all of Paris as you walk 360 degrees around the top. You can see some of the heavy bells inside the tower. We happened to be up there exactly at noon, while the bells were chiming. It was amazing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Cassie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I originally booked this tour only for the chance to go up the Notre Dame Tower but it was more than that. I learned so much more than I was expecting in the lle de la Cite tour. It was a good way to start off our Paris visit, learning of the history of the city and the many kings. Everything was much more meaningful when you learned the background. Our guide was very nice and personable and actually from the US so there was not a problem understanding her. The view from the towers cannot be beat. For those who can do the steps the reward is great! I did wish that our guide had accompanied us up the tower to tell us more about Notre Dame and what we could see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Would highly recommend especially to those making first trip to Paris

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Darren V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with good prerecorded information available at every seat. There is no live narration by the driver not even in French. A set of earbuds is provided along with your ticket. The many different routes allow you to get to all the most popular sites. There are also stops shared by the different routes so you can easily change buses to use all four tours.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

nobby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best Hop on Hop Off tours we have done. Good routes with excellent commentary and great convenient stop locations that are clearly marked.
Drivers were helpful and seats were comfortable.
Worth doing to not only get a historical view of Paris but get a clear understanding of distances between sites

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Rocky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fabulous tour guide Charlie. His knowledge was remarkable. He should be narrating documentaries. His passion and enthusiasm for French history was contagious. Our family thoroughly enjoyed it - a highlight of our trip. Worth every cent - the views from the bell tower are pretty amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to tour the city, esp. since the flooding in Paris caused so many traffic problems. Very simple to get on and off the bus where you want and the audio information is also great.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Angie W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

John was our tour guide and he was fantastic. He has such a passion for history, and it shows! Don't mistake his love of history for boredom though - John was anything but boring! The tour was insightful, humorous and extremely informative. Our views from the towers in Notre Dame were breathtaking, and to be up close and personal with centuries-old gargoyles is a life-time memory to treasure. Do this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

KALEY W New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic Bus Tour company! This tour took us to all the main attractions, and the buses were regular with very little waiting time at all. Highly recommend L'Open Bus Tours!!

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message