Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Left Bank (Rive Gauche)

Set on the southern bank of the Seine River, the historic area known as the 'Left Bank,' or 'Rive Gauche,' was once the stomping ground of Parisian artists, writers and philosophers, encompassing six arrondissements of Paris including the popular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 237 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Friendly driver was very welcoming when we hopped aboard. Great way to see the sights of Paris

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would not bother with using Paris L'Open Hop-On-Ho-Off bus again. Would use the Metro instead. At one point we waited half an hour for a bus and then when we hopped onto the bus we had to wait another 10 minutes for it to leave while the driver issued tickets to people who had not booked their tickets on line. We wasted so much time getting to places and waiting for a bus to arrive. At one stop we counted 5 Big Bus company Hop-On-Hop-Off buses go by while we waited for our bus. Seems like Big Bus company would have been a better option.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great way to see a lot of the city if you only have one day in Paris. We boarded at Gare de Lyon and the driver was very friendly and helpful. We took 3 of the 4 possible routes and got a great overview. I was REALLY glad we left the driving to others!

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much. Drivers were patient and very helpful. Very windy on top deck but enjoyed every minute. Thanks !!! Pat and Dave Betts

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the bus. Easy way to get around and see and learn and kept us dry during showers. Driver most helpful. Recommend

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good value, the recorded guide is informative and the supplemental music is charming. Drivers were friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent - very nice driver and very informative. Would recommend to anyone wishing to get the most from their visit to Paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

the only way to familiarize yourself with the city and where things are. drivers and guides were all very helpful

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The only complaint was the fact that we got caught in a traffic jam which was no fault of the bus driver but completely threw our schedule off.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We absolutely loved the experience of being on top of the bus having Paris unfold in front of us. What could be more impossibly French than cruising smoothly along all over the city with Edith Piaf crooning in your ear? Occasionally, the commentary didn't match the visual, but that was the exception. The bus drivers were very helpful, and very patient, despite being plagued with the same questions all day and being amazingly skillful in dealing with the phenomenal traffic at the same time. (We couldn't believe that we weren't dragging some tiny SmartCar underneath us the whole time!) Note: It is really important to become familiar with the map and to know the colors of the routes (rather than the descriptions) which are posted prominently on the front of the bus. Great experience to use the bus over several days; first to become acquainted with the city layout, and then to get to selected sites. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Clean busses...experienced drivers...regular schedules
Enhanced our Paris trip

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting and relaxing tour .Buses are so many ,no long waiting for the next bus
driversw are very helpful

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Dave
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I recommend this to anyone visiting Paris for the first time. The tour takes in all the major tourist spots providing valuable audio commentary which informs of the history of the sites you visit. There was a choice of languages for the commentary (I can't remember exactly how many but at least six). When you first get on the bus at any of the many stops the driver gives you your tickets to allow you to hop on or off as many times as you want. You also receive a map and earphones to keep. There are three routes to choose each taking in the famous sites you would wish. We booked a two day ticket using the first day to complete a full curcuit and the second to actually get off and visit the sites.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great way to see the city! I don't feel like weirded a thing. All the drivers were pleasant and helpful. A fantastic way to get around and enjoy Paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

After reading page after page of negative reviews I still decided to take the plunge and reserve a two-day bus tour for our family of five. The reason: I loved the idea of the four different routes so that we could go off the beaten path a bit (the other two competitors only offered one route). We were absolutely PLEASANTLY surprised - the drivers were friendly and helpful; we always had a seat; and the buses came every few minutes at every stop we made. No waits at all...Two days were perfect. We had a real lay of the land after two days of touring around. Great price/value.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a lovely city Paris is. Took the bus from Avenue des Champs Elysees and went around and enjoyed the scenery in comfort and ease. Went to Notre Dame Cathedral, Musee de Louvre, Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, the Opera, River Seine, etc. When I go back to Paris I'll use this tour again. Worth recommending to people planning to go to Paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Hop On Hop Off Bus was excellent. Unfortunately it rained most of the trip and busses tended to be rather crowded because you could not sit on the top deck. Busses were clean and staff was very pleasant. I forgot my voucher at home in the USA, but the driver took me to the office and the Paris staff let me access my home e-mail so I could print it out. Kudos to them. I think there should be a way to spread a 3 day pass out instead of using consecutive days, because it is too tiresome to go 3 consecutive days after you've made a long journey. Maybe they could punch your voucher each time you use it or swipe it to see that it has not expired. I don't know, but I am sure Viatour can come up with something. Even though I had a three day pass, I only used it the first day.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Do not even try to drive in Paris. Wonderful way to see the sites and take pictures.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best way to see Paris. They go everywhere, and run frequently. You need to do your homework before getting there to know what sites to see and where you want get off, but that is part of the fun. Pleasant bus drivers and clean busses. You are given ear buds that plug into the bus at each seat and you choose the language that you prefer to listen to the prerecorded descriptions of the sites. Lots of French stereotypic music in between the explanations. I enjoyed it and would use them again for getting around.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent value for money.
Handed the voucher which was printed off before arrival to the bus driver and was given the 2 x 2day tickets without any problems at all.
Would thoroughly recommend booking in advance as it saves a great deal of time.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good way to get around . Bus drivers are very helpful.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

There were only 2 of us on the tour. Charlotte was an excellent guide. She was knowledgeable about wines from France and also knew about the area. We felt that we learnt not only about wine and the Left Bank but about life as a Parisian.

Doing what: Paris Left Bank Wine Tasting and Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable, buses arrived every 10 to 15 minutes. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to see all the attractions of Paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

There are two hop on hop off bus companies traveling thru Paris- make sure you buy the yellow bus tour by L 'open tour because this one gives you multiple routes to follow and will give you the most comprehensive tour of paris and the outer ring of the city.The bus stops can be hard to find though- sometimee they are just a little yellow square with the bus logo on the regular paris bus routes bus stop sign so look closely to find where to get on.Most of the drivers are cery helpful though so ask them where to catch the intersecting routes.Took it for two days and managed to do 3 routes- very interesting.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good value, easy to hop on and off, friendly and helpful drivers

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message