Les Invalides began as the army hospital, initiated by Louis XIV in 1670 and finished six years later. These days, it is a complex of buildings including a collection of museums, a hospital and retirement home for war veterans, and a chapel which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great! Better than we could have expected. Viator guide was there at Les Invalides metro meeting place early - and so were we- John from UK was witty and knowledgeable.
Viator was recommended to me by my son and a friend. And they were right!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour coordinators (3 of them) met us outside the Invalides station, had our train tickets ready to go for us (which were included in the price) and gave us our audio guides before we got to the palace. The tour guide, Chloe, was knowledgeable and gave us great insight into the history of the time of Louis XIV and the building of the palace. The fountain show was fun to watch but the gardens themselves were a bit plain, just a lot of tall hedges and a few statues here and there. The view from the back steps of the palace is spectacular, as are the rooms inside the palace itself. Definitely get a nice picture of the hall of mirrors from the entrance! We only had about ten minutes to go through the gift shop since we wanted to leave with the tour coordinators, but we had the option of just getting our return train ticket from them and taking our own time to go back to Paris. We felt very well-taken care of!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I loved this! It was so relaxing to go across the River Seine. Was able to take photos of the Notre Dame, Eiffel and Pont Invalides from the river's POV. Warning: If you hate climbing stairs, or easily get short of breath, don't take this cruise.

Doing what: Seine River Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Cruise in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We deliberately booked this tour for the first morning of our visit to Paris in order to get a quick overview of the main sites of Paris and how they were geographically linked and distributed; this Segway tour did not disappoint! We sure most of the main features of Paris: Dome church, military school, peace monument, Alexander Bridge, Invalides, Concorde, Louvre, Eiffel Tower etc. And at up to 10 miles per hour you can sure cover some distance. Our guide was clearly working to a pre-written script but that script was very well written, interesting and information about the different landmarks and our guide put a huge amount of effort into making the tour go well. My only slight criticism as an Englishman with a Cuban-American guide was that the "awesome's" and John Wayne "Let's go's" could grate a bit at time but that should not put anyone off. The Segways themselves were really easy and quick to get the hang of, no-one should be scared of them and to book this tour. The first 30 mins is spent with one-on-ones to get everyone trained in how to use them and on safety. They are a breeze - one hour in we were using them with no hands and being reprimanded for improper use - a real shame that each Segway has a built in speed limiter :-) Another bonus was that after the Segway my wife and I had our real bearings about the layout of Paris and where everything was. We then were able to walk everywhere and stay off the metro. Not only is walking almost as quick but you also get more time to experience the general Paris architecture. We would highly recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Paris City Segway Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The green route was the best - it included most of the sights like Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Trocadero, Les Invalides, The Louvre. Never had to wait long for the next bus.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I think this is hands down the best way to see a lot of the city if you're short on time. I would suggest dowloading a map prior to boarding and planning which stops you will skip and which to get off at since the stops come up quickly and it's hard to keep track of where you are. We decided to do the Paris Grans (Green) Tour since we were short on time as this tour has the highlights of city. We were staying near the Eiffel Tower so we boarded at stop 15. We got off at the Invalides (great museum of you have time),Concorde Royal (many designer boutiques in this area), Opera House/Department Stores, Notre Dame and had planned to switch to the orange line and walk around the Latin Quarter and St. Germaine but since it was rainning and cold we decided not to. The only con is that the map provided doesn't make it easy to find the stop if you've ventured too far from where you got off so plan accordingly.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

My husband and I had the 2-day ticket so we could spend time on the four tours offered.
The brochure says that buses stop every 15 minutes, but on the Sunday morning we started we found that buses were more like 20-30 minutes.
The bus stop at the Eiffel Tower was chaotic. About 25 people bought tickets and the bus driver was responsible for the transactions, so we waited there almost 30 minutes. The bus agency needs to have an additional person selling tickets at the stop or helping on the bus.
At the Invalides stop, we waited 25 minutes to switch from a Green line to an Orange line bus.
The audio portion is okay, but not in line with the stops and landmarks. Static mars the audio also.
A large demonstration in Paris on the first day interrupted our plans. The bus company posted signs that some delays would occur, but we waited 45 minutes at a stop near the Pantheon and no bus came. We walked to Notre Dame and finally got on a bus at 2:45, but then the driver made everyone get off the bus. He announced that the all buses were quitting for the day.The demonstration disrupted our plans, and we didn't visit the two other museums we had planned to see.
If you are able to walk, I would recommend taking the Metro and going directly to the historic landmarks or museums that you want to see. I didn't think the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus was worth the price. I have taken the bus in other cities and enjoyed it, but the Paris bus tour is mediocre at best.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Vic
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

tour was great except for one incident wherein i was in front of the bus at the Invalides signalling to the driver but the driver decided to speed off without us and we were forced to take the subway. otherwise, it was okay

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This pass is the ticket to joy, convenience and ease. It made your trip to Paris memorable. Right from the time we reached Hard rock cafe, where it took a few seconds and the passes were in our hands. Job well done. we zipped for our tours and multiples hops on and off visits to museums, Invalides, Louvre, Notre Dame and many other place. The roof top trips was awesome, description so clear. My wife and self had waited for 21 years to visit Paris and let me tell PARIS PASS simply made this trip memorable, simply awesome. PARIS and PARIS PASS we both love you.

Doing what: Paris Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

OK except having to detour to Montmartre to collect pass. Needs to be in a more central place! Would you believe the second day was "heritage day" 16 Sept. so lots of things were free entry so we didn't achieve much buying pass. I think the bus should stop near Les Invalides!

Doing what: Paris Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Stations were too far apart to walk. Driver gave me attitude when asked if he can drop us off at the Hotel Les Invalides, as it was not a designated drop off pt. If you must, do it only for one day.

Doing what: Paris City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The afternoon got off to a very bad start when we found that we had brought the incorrect docket from Australia for this Tour. There was nothing we could do about this but we weren't too concerned because we assumed that the Viator staff would check our passports, find our booking on their system and all would be well. Not so. Turned out that the computers were down at the Invalides Viator office! The Viator staff were most unhelpful, basically shrugging their shoulders and refusing to assist us in any way. No docket, no boarding, was their attitutude. They literally couldnlt have cared less. Finally, the Tour Guide came into nthe office, spoke to the staff and we boarded the bus! The tour itself was superb, the house and garden were beautiful. Our guide was wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable. So we had a lovely afternoon after all the drama. We loved the tour, our only complaint being that it was just not long enough!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The afternoon got off to a very bad start when we found that we had brought the incorrect docket from Australia for this Tour. There was nothing we could do about this but we weren't too concerned because we assumed that the Viator staff would check our passports, find our booking on their system and all would be well. Not so. Turned out that the computers were down at the Invalides Viator office! The Viator staff were most unhelpful, basically shrugging their shoulders and refusing to assist us in any way. No docket, no boarding, was their attitutude. They literally couldnlt have cared less. Finally, the Tour Guide came into nthe office, spoke to the staff and we boarded the bus! The tour itself was superb, the house and garden were beautiful. Our guide was wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable. So we had a lovely afternoon after all the drama. We loved the tour, our only complaint being that it was just not long enough!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Excellent value, historic canals plus the main stretch of the Seine - incredible really. It's so long lasting that you should not bring young children of say under 6 years - also no refreshments are available on board so pack a picnic and a seat cushion for the hard chairs - the running commentary from the guide is a little bit like lecturing at times and the PA system is a little inneffective against the normal conversation around you - main criticism is the bad instructions about where you get on the canal boat - instructions really needs more thought as they actually send you to the wrong canal!! The tour drops you off right in the heart of Paris near the invalides Metro Station.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

It was well worth the money and we ahd a great guide. She showed us the highlights and allowed us within reason the time we needed at each piece. Our printed e mail said we had to confirm our tour 24 hours before which we were not able to do (phone no. didn't work) so we were scared the tour might be invalid, but it was not a problem. Also it wasn't clear where tour went from, we figured out it went from rue invalides and after talks with taxi driver ascertained that was right beside Louvre. Definitely recommended. I think Nona was our guide, - excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message