With its rich display of culture and stellar collections, the Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. The former fortress began its career as a public museum in 1793 with 2,500 paintings and now houses some 30,000, covering human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1940 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had visited the Louvre before and found it frustrating...too difficult to find' the galleries that held the pieces I wanted to see. This trip I decided to invest in the 3 hour guided tour and it was a great idea! Our group was small only six and our guide so enthusiastic! Really loves her job. She was prompt for our early morning meeting. In retrospect that too was a good idea as the crowds grew all of the time we were there. I do not think I would have enjoyed an afternoon tour as much due to the MANY rude people who push and plant themselves right in front of every picture one tries to take. Our guide kept a good, albeit fast pace. After my first experience of trying to see this vast building solo I am more convinced than ever of the true value of the guide. We saw much more that I could possibly have seen...and the explanations were most interesting too. A very good investment!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Samantha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can't imagine doing the very popular and crowded Louvre any other way. Our guide was funny, entertaining and well-informed. At the end of the tour you can stay inside the museum but it's possible that, like me, you'll feel very fulfilled with the big name pieces and the surprises your guide points out!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

lgraziano362 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Again I applaud Viator, as we walked right into the Louvre we turned around to see the mile long line waiting to get in, AFTER they waited in line to buy tickets. The guide was informative and very helpful. We highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Louvre is amazing! We didn't realize how large it truly would be, so very glad to have a guide to lead us to those exhibits most desired. While she was a bit difficult to understand, she gave us an amazing tour!! Our entry was seamless and for some reason the Louvre was not too crowded while we were there...truly an incredible adventure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Shannon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Rafaell was amazing! Had such a lovely time at the wine tasting and it was a wonderful introduction to the Louvre

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

Shannon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Louvre tour with the wine tasting was a solid tour. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. She showed us all the important works of art and provided explanations of the interesting facts that makes the art even more interesting. Our tour had a serious issue with three of the guest and the tour guide handled it the best she could. It wasnt smooth for the rest of the guest, but it was understandable. The Louvre was awesome what else can you say.
The wine tasting was a real treat, especially with the snafu we experienced during the tour. The man who provided the wine tasting was super funny and made the tasting so fun, while providing great information. It really was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

Cassie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The only way to see the museums if you don't know much about art. Our guide was so knowledgable and very nice to be around and listen to. I think his name was Alex but I'm not sure. He was open to doing whatever we wanted to do or see. It was obvious that he loved history and art depicting it. He got us tables at the bakery when it was busy and just took good care of us. I wished our tour was longer than 5 hours. Actually it was! He spent an extra hour with us at the Louvre but I was so interested in what we were seeing that I didn't notice at the time. He even took breaks to have us sit down a few minutes so we wouldn't get too weary on our feet. I think you should consider lengthening the time if it wouldn't scare people away. Or maybe a second tour, a day 2 option, covering different parts of the Louvre. We left him a big tip!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Francesca A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The City Vision staff in Paris were extremely helpful. This is a great way to see the Louvre museum, especially with kids in tow. The audio equipment is light and easy to manage and you can go at your own pace and wander around other art works which aren and #39;t included in the guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

ketan vrajlal g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Guided Louvre tour was just perfect to see the most important art works selected by the guide. The guide was well informed friendly funny . We didnt even realize when the 3 hours got over. Thankg to Viator and City Wonders Company for an enriching experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Robert W. W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour of the Louvre with Alex was everything we hoped it would be. Alex is a fantastic guide, mixing history, psychology and art in his presentations to make the experience truly enlightening and enjoyable. I got my money's worth.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Jeanine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Catherine my tour Guide was absolutely the best you can ask for. I learned more from her than I could ever imagine. She took us on the most amazing history lesson through each section of the Louvre Museum! She explained every level as if we were living in the days the artists were creating these beautiful pieces of work. I felt as if I were being sucked into each century of time. She ended our tour in Napoleon's apartment which was absolutely exquisite!! Catherine made our experience the best ever!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Gary Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous guide for this tour, Louise has a great passion and knowledge of her subjects and could enthrall us with her stories and history of the Louvre. We felt she made great use of the time we had to see what we could.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small Group Louvre Masterpieces Express Tour

nest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour, our guide Joshua was great with his knowledge of the Louvre and his stories on paintings and sculpture, in which he got the group involved. Pleasure of this was Joshua got us to the main exhibits without issue and quickly. Wine tasting was very good and complemented with a tasty platter. Really enjoyable night.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

pherbert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very enjoyable small group tour, well worth it to skip the long lines at the museum. Our guide, Hervé was extremely knowledgeable on the artwork and gave great insight into each of the pieces we viewed - also included some history on the Louvre and Napoleons living quarters. An excellent way to see all of the important items and get acquainted with the layout, you'll want to come back.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

picktonhoney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide and showed all the main exhibits with commentary, then left us in the louvre to explore it further.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing! The tour guide was well prepared, engaging, and had a good pace. Would recommend this your to anyone who is touring the Louvre for the first time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Paris Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Claire M was our guide to an evening tour of the Louvre. The tour was absolutely wonderful as was Clair. Without her insights and knowledge we would have missed so much. Claire helped us to really see the works of art in a new way. I would highly recommend the evening tour, the museum is much less crowded and your tour will be more relaxed. Thanks Claire for a very memorable tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Glynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide who was a wealth of information. It was somewhat rushed due to the numbers there the Louvre was just reopened after the floods the day before so I assume a backlog had occurred - we had to change our tour to 9 June and other guides giving history lessons in front of a particular piece didn't help - prevented others from getting closer look

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

maddiereddy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide to Notre Dame was very good, knowledgeable in the history of the building and of Paris.
The guide at the Louvre was awesome! She was amazing in her knowledge of the paintings and sculptures and pointed out various things we would not have known otherwise.
Put on your walking shoes!

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Skip-the-Line Notre-Dame Tower and Louvre Museum

junior

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide was a sweet girl. Very helpful. She was well versed in her teachings. She also went out of her way to help my wife with her difficulties walking the Louvre. She had patience and offered her the elevator. And waited for her and my father who also walked a bit slo

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Erin P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Claire M was fantastic! She seemed genuinely interested about the history of the Louvre and its art. This tour is a must while you are in Paris, definitely take advantage of the evening tours if you can, as the crowds were minimal. You are given plenty of time to listen to the story of each piece and take photos. Good walking pace, and we even got a bonus tour of the Napoleon III apartments at the end of our walk. Thanks Claire M.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Seth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! I highly recommend seeing the Louvre this way. Trying to find everything on your own would be very tough. Rafaelle was very knowledgeable and she kept the tour at a great pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Lance F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome! The evening tour was ideal. The Louvre was not crowded. Slowed me to take my family, boys, directly to the Louvre highlights.

Definately recommend.

Lance

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

On a potentially busy Saturday this was a wonderful way to see and experience The Louvre. Caroline was our tour guid and did an excellent job. She easily adapted to the pace and needs of our group, making sure individual needs were taken care of and respected. Her explanations were always clear. She didn't speak too quickly or too softly not to be understood. What stood out for me was her passion both for the art itself and for sharing it with those she was guiding. The tour was great. Caroline was wonderful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Elizabeth G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can't imagine touring the Louvre without a guide. It would be truly overwhelming! Our guide was very knowledgeable and packed a ton into three hours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message