The Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. Don't be daunted by its size and overwhelming richness; if you have even the merest interest in the fruits of human civilization from antiquity to the 19th century, then visit you must. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 544 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rena L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really excellent guided. Very knowledgeable and also very kind and friendly. We saw an amazing number of art works and her commentary was interesting, enlightening, and never too long or boring unlike other guides I have had. I recommend this guide to anyone who wants to enjoy the Louvre, a difficult museum to navigate without assistance.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Spring F

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

There is so much more to the Louvre than what is on the tour. We left the group early and the crowds early to see what interested us. Worth the tour to skip the lines for all the famous stuff but then go see what you really want to see.

Part of the Palace is still a Palace and not a museum. That is great, but not on the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

elkev410

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

One of the best City Passes in Europe. You get unlimited transportation and free admission to all major museums such as the Louvre and d'orsay. The only thing that isn't cover is the Tour Eiffel.

Doing what: Paris Pass

Jean Luc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guided tour of the Louvre and Museé dOrsay was excellent. It turned out to be private, because my husband and I were the only ones on it. This made it super special. Lilia was our guide and we were very lucky. We are not what you could consider into art people. She managed to keep it interesting by linking history to the paintings, sculptures and objects of art during the visit. Time flew away and before we knew it, the tour was over.
Starting at the Louvre and finishing at Museé dOrsay takes you from ancient to modern. She took us to see many of the famous pieces housed at these two wonderful museums Diana, Cupid and Physique, Venus, Monalisa, Van Goghs, and many others famous artists. She told us about their personal lives while admiring the pieces, which are intrinsically linked to who they were.
Half day to discover and admire these treasures is short. They contain so many pieces of art that a few days would be the rule. But if time is short while in Paris, we recommend this tour to wet your appetite and come back for more on your next visit to the City of Lights.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Perry

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The pro's - excellent guided tour. Excellent knowledge and explanation by the tour guide. It was highly worth exploring the Louvre museum in guided a tour to understand the nuances of the art work. Highly recommended for visitors to Paris.
The cons - the guides keep changing like in a relay race from one place to the other. which is not bad in itself but when you get left behind at Eiffel tower to Notre dame and your efforts to contact the office go futile and you waste part of your money for nothing, you don't appreciate it.
Overall, the tour seems to be like a jackpot - if you hit it, it's well worth it and if you miss it - bad luck for you! Try next time!!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Anavil Shukla India

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

My guide was useless, i guess her name was Rachel- she started the tour from Louvre and left us in the beginning- and we have to cover the whole museum of our own - she was rude and arrogant and not at all supportive- during whole tour she was busy chatting with her colleagues and not attending the people properly. Waste of time and money.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Anne-Lise K Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed the Louvre museum tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and knew the French history. Didnt have time to go back as we would have liked that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

ktnickell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guided tour of the Louvre was fantastic! Our guide, Marine, was extremely knowledgeable and spoke flawless English. She deftly guided us through the huge collection and large crowds to see the museums highlights. We highly recommend this tour its the best way to get an introduction to the Louvre!

Doing what: Louvre Museum Guided Tour in English

TBatrik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was wonderful and the guide was perfect Very friendly, knowledgeable and funny She showed us the important art pieces in the museum and talked about the history of some. She also gave us a map for the museum so that we can continue in the museum alone after the tour was finished. Of course the Louvre is too big and full of great works that cannot be finished in the 4 hours of the tour, so probably you could stay after the tour on your own.
This tour must be taken by anyone who is going to Paris.

Doing what: Louvre Museum Guided Tour in English

Kenneth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We met our guide at 11:30 right across from the Louvre. Juliet was very friendly and easy to talk to. She had been doing these tours for a little while, but really knew everything we asked about. We started by entering the Louvre through a VIP entrance skip the line, and went to the original part of the castle which had been a medieval castle.
The entire area is lit by purple/blue light showing where the moat used to be. We saw the original Paris city walls and some really interesting ruins.
We then went up a floor to see the masterworks from the 15th, 16th, and 17th century. We saw the Veins De Milo absolutely worth seeing if you enjoy sculptures!
We then entered Louie the 14ths chambers where they had all of his more elaborate items out for display. The whole room looked like Versailles from the floor all the way up to the ceiling.
The Greek and Roman statues were as in any museum, gorgeous! And we saw the major artists work from France and Italy.
There is an entire area that has a glass roof. In this hallway you see 4 works of art by Da Vinci and then you walk around the corner into another room that has the Mona Lisa displayed by it self. We were floored by how few people were there that day we went right after the terror attack.
After the tour we walked around on our own. We saw the Egyptian area very well done. We also went to the courtyard where you can see the famous pyramids and then back through the museum to see the inverted pyramid. The tickets they give allowed you to leave and come back in the same day if you want to.
Over all: This is the only way to see the Louvre! The tour normally has a maximum of 6 people total and is well worth the one-on-one time it gives you!

Doing what: Louvre Museum Guided Tour in English

elizzy86

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I forgot my guide's name but she was great. We had no lines to go into the Eiffel Tower and all the way up to the summit. After we finished we went straight to the cruise which was also amazing. I was only in Paris for one day so I did not have time to use the Louvre museum ticket but supposedly I have an entire year.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Summit, Louvre Museum and Cruise

Mr Charles D O

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting, informative and whilst you cover a lot of ground having a guide means that you see everything that you should without wasting time trying to figure how to get from one area of the museum to another. Our guide had been an art student at the Louvre so there was much additional information about much of the paintings and sculptures that we were looking at. Got to be the easiest,most interesting and instructiveway to see what you should in a museum as enormous as the Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

liethuang

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

In the morning they brought us to the Louvre Museum, but note that it only opens on Tues n Fri till 10pm so the morning wait IS NOT WORTH IT. The lunch at the Eiffel Tower is fantastic, and the guide's commentary on Notre Dame is also fantastic. But I would suggest doing the Louvre at night so you can fully appreciate the artworks.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Colin P W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic 3 hour tour at the Louvre with a fabulous guide who spoke English clearly, slowly and was happy to answer questions. Although there were 25 on the tour the audio earpieces worked well a necessity in a crowded art museum. Only concern was the slow start after some took up the offer to go to the toilet before moving ahead. Otherwise, brilliant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Belen was a joy! My wife and I were part of a tour with Belen that included another couple and a single woman. We were taken through the Louvre by Belen and she was able to cover alot of ground all while providing very interesting information abut the sculptures, the paintings and the building we were in. Belen walked us over to Musee d'Orsay and really came into her element. We had a wonderful time exploring the treasures of the museum. Belen was engaging, knowledgeable and funny. Belen made our day a complete pleasure!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Janice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was amazing! Loved that we didn and #39;t have to queue anymore to go the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre Museum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Summit, Louvre Museum and Cruise

Drew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was exactly what I was hoping it would be. I had visited the Louvre once before a decade ago and I suffered thru the wondering walk around a million paintings and sculptures half lost half amazed until my feet hurt and I just wanted to be back in my hotel room lol. This tour is efficient but not rush. Shows you the highlights but shows you more things you may have missed otherwise. I really enjoyed how we started and ended the tour. To start - we took a very uncrowded entrance that lead past the original city walls of ancient Paris now underground and underneath the pyramid to the main entrance of the museum. Very cool. Then we saw the highlights and dealt with some crowds...this was when my feet started to hurt hah! But just toward the end. Standing room only during the summertime! But once we hit the highlights we ventured off into the Napoleon Apartments - something TOTALLY different than the main part of the Louvre and not what I was expecting. Overall I really thought this tour was perfect unless you were hoping to spend more time in the Louvre, but that just depends on how into art history you are I suppose. I think at the end you can just wander off from the tour group if you feel you didn't get to see everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had 1 day for museums so this was a fantastic way to see the highlights of the Louvre! We selected the option of having lunch there as well and were really impressed with the meal. We didn't expect much at a museum cafe but it was great! Well worth it!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum Small-Group Tour with Champagne and Gourmet Lunch under the Pyramid

Ron B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The Louvre Is so large that you really need a guide. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and moved us through main areas of the museum. Really, this is the only way to go. Unfortunately she was not able to get us into the last wing because we were a few minutes late and the people in charge of admittance to that gate would not budge. to be honest, we were pretty wiped out at that point anyway. I would recommend this tour without any reservation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

IMRAN K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was great and our tour guide, Ms. Francois was very knowledgeable. Just be aware the tour guide will breeze through the Louvre hitting only the famous parts of the museum such as the Mona Lisa. This is because there is so much to see in Paris, our 7.5 hour tour went by fast.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Nicholas M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very good, I especially enjoyed the lunch at the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre. The visit to the Louvre museum was a bit rush as we have to reach the ferry quay in time for the river cruise. But a great introduction to the key attractions of Paris.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Rhonda I United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The guide as to the location of the meeting was not clear. the taxi driver drop us to the same address the location was stated in the guide however, it was referring to outside of the Louvre museum. We were running looking for the person who has our ticket. It was worth to have the ticket and not waiting for the line to get in.

Doing what: Louvre Skip-the-Line Ticket with Audio Guide

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a tour with just 4 of us - how awesome was that! Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgable, sharing information about the louvre, the paintings and her experiences in living in Paris. It was just the right amount of time to spend at the museum, and gave a great overview of what is in the Louvre. The wine tasting afterwords was really fun too. It was at a great little wine bar, great fun atmosphere. We loved meeting other people from around the world while we tasted wine. I would definately recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

Jean K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is a must for the Louvre to reduce the chaos in the museum and to see key items of importance in the collection. Our guide, Caroline, was absolutely AWESOME!! Her passion for art history was apparent and I learned so much from her that I would never have gotten on my own by just wandering through the museum. She knew where to go, where to have us stand, and how to maneuver through the crowds to maximize the visit. This tour is worth the time and money! It is easy to find the meet up space at the arch and the Viator staff person waiting there was very helpful when we arrived very early for our tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent Tour. Led by an artist, Belen, my wife and I and another couple were taken on a journey through Time at the Louvre and Musee d'Orsay. We stopped for lunch between the museum visits at a restaurant in the Tuileries Gardens. Was provided with quick access to the museums, great direction to the key exhibits and received a deep understanding of what made each work of art significant and how the times impacted the respective artists. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message