The Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. Don't be daunted by its size and overwhelming richness; if you have even the merest interest in the fruits of human civilization from antiquity to the 19th century, then visit you must. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 351 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Exactly as advertised, we entered the Louvre quickly and saw the highlights. Our guide Laurens was terrific. She knew about the history of each piece and made the artwork come to life. After we stayed and enjoyed more of the museum. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Chelle
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is the only was to see the Louvre. A small group tour is perfect for getting around the Museum without too much hastle. Our guide was really informative and passionate about her job, which made it great for us. I would recommend this particular tour as you get to see all the "must sees" in the museum and it only takes a few hours. If you want you can stay there after the tour is finished and have a look yourself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My wife and I had a tour of The Louvre and Musee D'Orsay with Dario. It was a small tour on a rainy Wed with just 2 other people. Dario was an excellent guide, knowledgeable about the museums and how to maneuver through them to avoid long lines and waits. He was funny while also being passionate about the art and history. He taught us how to view art and helped us appreciate it. We had a nice lunch in between museums and had a fun, educational day. I highly recommend his tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We used the heck out of our travel and attractions pass. I was especially happy to find we could indeed use the Pass to get to, and tour, Versailles (no skip the line, but it moved pretty well). You do have to pay to see the gardens. Skipped the lines at the Louvre and other museums, as well as Seine River tour. Absolutely worth it!

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Victoria took us on an introductory evening walk of the Louvre on this particular tour. She was very upbeat and had some really interesting historical side notes about the history of the museum itself and many of the art pieces we saw. I liked this tour because it wasn't overwhelming. There was just enough time to get a good idea of the important pieces in the museum, and spend time talking in a small group about them. It is also quieter in the museum at this time of day, and by the time you leave, the lighting is different, it's calm, and it's gorgeous to see the Louvre lit up at night! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow, what a great day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and guided us very skilfully to ensure we saw key features from different parts of the museum. Despite the crowds, we moved easily in our small group and finished the tour feeling that we had been well informed of the history of and in the Louvre, but also encouraged to think about the art displayed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The only way to see the best of louvre museum is to join this group tour. My kids enjoyed this as well. They probably have complained if we took the general line in the entrance.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Skip the Line Louvre Tour surpased our expectations! Our guide (Mato-Felix) was excellent, knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. He clearly had a passion for the museum and art within. He was accommodating to our children ages 13, 12 and 10 answering all questions in a way that made it easy for us an them to understand. Our meeting place was easy to find and the guides were right on time and prepared for us. We walked straight into the Louve leaving the rest of the tourists to wait in the hot sun as the wait was over an hour... This tour with a guide is a must especially if you do not have a working uderstanding of French.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent... the local travel agency did a fantastic job....the guide we took us around on 21st June at Paris (our group number was 15), was amazingly supportive and helpful. The coverage at Louvre Museum and Notre Dame cathedral were simply great.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Wish here was more than one location to pick it up. It was quite the hike from our hotel to get there. It really wasn't explained well how to use it but we read the book a figured it out. We used the Metro pass and the Museum pass. The Metro pass was worth the money, easy to use and was time efficient. The Museum pass works in more locations than we initially realized. We initially took a private tour through the Louvre but wanted to return a few days later to see a specific exhibit. The pass saved us a great deal of time to gain entry. We never braved the bus system

Doing what: Paris Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great way to see the Mona Lisa without having to wait in long lines. The guide was interesting and knowledgable about many items in the museum. At the end of the tour you are free to leave or stay and enjoy the Louvre at your leisure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Obviously, if you go to Paris, you should go to the Louvre. It's nice to have someone give you all the information, and this gets you to the famous highlights without getting lost in certain galleries. You do walk from an outside shop, so the first half hour of the tour is getting through the park and to the museum, so take that into consideration.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This skip the line tour is a little tricky. Tickets and audio devices were located a few blocks away, which was very easy to find. What is tricky about it is that you are skipping the lines in the Louvre to get the ticket, but you cannot skip the line to security and bag scanning. If you have no bag you are in good shape. If you have a bag, you wait with everyone else. Our ticket time stated 9:45 AM, but we took a chance and went to the office at 8:30. There she told us that we did not have to wait, and if we hurried and got in line we would do well, as the museum opened at 9. We had about 20 people in front of us (and about 200 behind us) to get our bags scanned. Then the stampede began - people running to get in line for tickets. The ticket office did advise us of a an alternate entrance, which helped a bit. The other thing that is tricky is that children are free normally (and we paid because of the audio) and the adult tickets at the museum were 12 euros (about $15), which makes this cost quite high. I would say if you get in line very early, you will do as well as we did, or if you don't take a bag, you will also do well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

It was not worth the money for this tour. First, it was not clear where we were to meet. I took our vouchers and the family to the entrance to the Louvre at 9 A. M. It opens at 9, and there was a line of about 50 people at that time. We could have entered then for a much lower fee than what we paid for the tour. I learned there that I would have to obtain tickets to the tour from the tour office about two long blocks away, and that the vouchers were not good for entry. We joined our group of about 20 people at the tour office and walked back to the Louvre, wearing headsets. When we arrived at the Louvre again, the line had grown to over 200 people, and there would have been a fair wait to enter. The tour guide, Chloe, was very nice, but was very difficult to understand, with her strong accent. My headset was distorted, so I exchanged it for another one, which was a little better. But, I could still understand only about half of what was said. Later I learned that we could have rented a Nintendo player that would let you self-guide through the museum for a much lower price than this tour. I would recommend arriving a bit before 9 A. M. and renting the Nintendo player over paying for this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

the pass is a good idea but disorganized in many ways and difficult to work with. It also seems that they have put together a bunch of low end services to incorporate in this pass. The BIG bus has only one route, stops for 15-20 minutes at times and stays... waiting for??? People are sitting in the sun in the bus, wasn't well thought out at all. (the yellow bus has 3 routes and AC on their buses and run more frequently) The museum pass should offer skip the line entry, even if it made the pass more expensive, because who will wait 3-4 hour in the courtyard of the louvre in blistering sun and 32 degree weather to get in and see the museum... again, not well thought out all. We skipped a lot of the things we wanted to see because of the line up, so basically we paid a lot for things we didn't do. The Seine cruise is the same, HUGE lineup, other cruises are running more frequently and offer hop on hop off privileges. So again, a low end element there.
Some thinking and re-designing of this pass is required, like this it's a cash grab and nothing more. I would not buy it again. One can do far better $ for $ on their own, without the pass.

Doing what: Paris Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message