The Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. Don't be daunted by its size and overwhelming richness; if you have even the merest interest in the fruits of human civilization from antiquity to the 19th century, then visit you must. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 486 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome overview of the Louvre, which can be overwhelming. After tour you can stay in the museum as long as you want. Our tour guide can't remember her name, from Croatia was great - very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. We visited the Mona Lisa, Nike/Winged Victory, Venus de Milo, Psyche Revived by Cupid's Kiss by Canova, Michelangelo's Slaves, Artemis, Delacroix and other French romantic paintings, and several others near these major locations. She knew how to navigate the museum and get from point A to point B very quickly. Nice way to get into Paris - next time we will do the longer tour!

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Small Group Louvre Masterpieces Express Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From Trip Advisor - July 29th 2015 - We booked the Skip the Line Louvre Museum Walking Tour through Viator. We met at the Arc as instructed and were provided headsets to hear our guide during the tour. Our tour was great and took us to the highlight pieces we could not have done on our own in 3 hours. Our guide was knowledgeable and patient but this was a long tour. Be prepared to walk a lot, fight for a spot in from of the Mona Lisa and understand the museum has no AC. Overall it was a good trip and worth the money. Cheers!

Visited July 2015

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I just can't say enough nice things about the Paris Louvre Museum and the guide that we had through Viator. She was amazing. I would NEVER go there with out a good guide. You would walk yourself to death and still miss so much. WELL WORTH THE MONEY.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour of the Louvre was excellent and was structured to highlight some of the most important holdings of the museum. Given the size of the Louvre, this was much appreciated. Our guide was informative and enthusiastic. The wine tasting was unespectedly delightful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour of the Louvre was excellent and was structured to highlight some of the most important holdings of the museum. Given the size of the Louvre, this was much appreciated. Our guide was informative and enthusiastic. The wine tasting was unespectedly delightful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great way to see the Louvre! It was crowded and hot but our guide took us too all the important places with ease. He had been going to the museum since he was a boy and his passion carried through to all of us. We saw the tourist things but also his personal favorites. Everything was perfect!

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Forgot the name of our French tour guide but he was great. The Louvre is a massive museum that is overwhelming if you are not prepared so having a tour guide was great. Skipping the line was also worth it. He was very knowledgeable and showed a passion for his job. Gave us time to take pics of art.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Susy C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thought this was a coach tour. But it is a walking tour. Great tour, our tour guide Joanna was great. Started at the Louvre Museum, and so good to do this tour otherwise would take you weeks to go through. We skipped the line, and our guide showed us the main things of point of interest. Best way to see this museum. Travelled down the Seine River, admiring the sites on a beautiful day. Got to the Eiffel tower and again skipped the line, had a really nice 3 course lunch and coffee, drinks for free on Level 1 restaurant. Took photos, plenty of time to go higher if you want. Then back on the Seine and went to see Notre Dame Cathedral, worth every cent, this is a must, skipping the line and seeing the main sites of Paris. Viator only way to book.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I have been through the Louvre many times before, but our guide was extremely knowledgeable and cut to the most important parts of the museum. I am not a big museum goer but wanted my children to go- this was perfect. She was engaging and gave fantastic information on museum and art we saw. We would have never seen the things she showed us and told us about and they were fascinating. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a fabulous tour of the Louvre. The museum was very busy but we got right in. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept our family of 5 engaged. For reasons we never understood, the Louvre security closed access to several rooms at different times during the tour but our guide was able to reroute the tour on the fly and we still were able to see everything we wanted to see.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a must see tour if you are short on time and want to see the highlights of the Louvre. The information the guide provides is priceless. You learn a lot. The museum is so large, it helps having someone walk you directly to the most famous pieces.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Eric C
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our family of 5 did the small group, skip the line tour of the Louvre and the Musée D'Orsay with Amanda. She did an amazing job of balancing the art, the history and the beauty of the city in a fun and interesting way. Amanda let us pace our day as we liked which helped for our jet lagged group and provided us with a great insight into both museums as well as other cool things to see, do and eat while in Paris. It was a great tour and wonderful day!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Louvre is both amazing and overwhelming. Having a PERSONAL tour guide to help you progress through this magnificent museum is entirely worthwhile. Our guide provided us with nearly three hours of uninterrupted attention, and customized our visit to match our interests. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line Louvre Must-See Introduction Private Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Nice and informative guide, Raphaelle. The Louvre Museum lady did not allow my group guide go in when my group was in the cue. My nice and I lingered around that area to rest aAfter my group has been dismissed. The said museum lady had a quick chat with my group guide. I am assuming that she was giving my guide the go signal, but at that time, it was too late--my group was gone. My guide looked at my direction and left. She couldn't help the situation. She really fought for my group to get in.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great guide. We were in high tourist season, so I was surprised how crowded the museum was even in the evening. But it was worth it to jump the line. The wine tasting was off site, not in the Louvre which was fine.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great - and skipping the line was a must! However, the Louvre Museum itself was incredibly crouded - claustrophobic almost. I am definitely glad I visited this very famous place - however - I doubt I would go again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I believe this tour is a little overpriced. I agree with some of the other reviewers regarding not getting what was offered in the description. Pick up point was near the Louvre, left about 45 minutes after time stated. Driver and guide were very friendly and courteous. Took about 1 hour to get to the castle. Don't be confused with the title of the tour and the pictures. You don't get a candlelight visit outdoors under the fireworks like it shows in the pictures. We were all herded upstairs to a small cramped restaurant section of what was most likely once a bedroom. What you do get is a dinner of the restaurants choice, unlike the three options that are shown in dinner section. We were served the foie gras, chicken and rice pilaf, and a strawberry dessert. Good part about dinner is instead of a glass of red or white wine, they gave us a whole bottle to share at our table for two. I think the table for six were given two bottles to share. With that being said, if there are two of you then go for the single table.

We didn't get a tour of the chateaus' Carriage Museum. The chateau, was unspectacular. You've seen one you seen them all. You're given what resembles an old style flip cell phone that has audio for you to listen to during the tour. There are no earphones, so it looks as if everybody is holding a cellphone to there head the whole time. Like another reviewer said, by the time you are done touring the interiors, there isn't much time left to go explore the gardens with what daylight is left.

Find yourself a nice seat on the steps behind the chateau or anywhere that faces out to the left. That's where the extremely short firework show will take place. After the fireworks, all of the onlookers walk out to the same side of the chateau and come across the dining section where you thought you would be having your own candlelight dinner / firework show.

At this point, you're back to the bus waiting on all the others. Bus driver makes attempt to bring to hotels.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

You can't go to Paris and not visit the Louvre Museum and of course the famous Mona Lisa.

The Louvre itself is something that will leave you in awe of how massive it actually is. From the famous pyramid to the incredible sculptures and paintings on the inside.

The gardens of the Louvre are so beautiful too and are a must see. Green Green Grass and beautiful flowers and maze like shrubs and bushes.

The Mona Lisa, is well the Mona Lisa. In a decent sized room with hundreds of people so be ready to have your elbows out to get to the front or close to to get a good view. In saying that, we were quite far back and could see it pretty clearly behind its very very thick shatter proof glass. And our camera got some pretty good shots from far.

Be prepared for a lot of people in there but not too many that you can't keep walking and not have to stop every few minutes because of crowds.

Definitely recommend the skip the line as with ANY tour in Europe at this time because in the Parisian heat, you don't want to be waiting outside for hours.

We got the Audio Tour which is like a little handheld skinny phone that you point at the map provided to you at each point of interest and it tells you about it with multiple languages as options.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was good! The guide was very knowledgable and made his way around the Louvre quickly and with the highlights we want to see in mind. The museum is so crowded and hot that now that I've see at least part of it, I wouldn't venture back.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Easy to use, helped shorten lines and wait for museums, but still waited. Maybe not a good deal for the money but did enjoy chocolate museum, D'Orsey, Louvre, and unlimited metro pass.

Doing what: Paris Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Louvre was incredible and it was great to skip the line, however the guided tour was hard to use and we were not impressed compared to other guided tours going on at the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Good morning,

Yesterday I took the tour of the Louvre my reference number for booking is BR-557554899. The tour was supposed to be three hours, and we were told several times that we would be able to remain in the museum after our tour was finished by the tour guide. Let me start by saying that the guide was very nice and the information she gave about the art was informative and accurate. The problem was that we were not allowed to complete the tour by the museum staff. So not only was our tour cut short it was not three hours only 2hrs and 20min but we did not get to see everything that was promised. This is extremely disappointing, this is a once in a life time experience for me and to have it cut short is unacceptable. I have several friends that travel often. I will not recommend your tour

Nicole Daniels

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Louvre is very big and you need a good guide to help you see the important art and areas of the museum this tour does that and more

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Yes! This was great to using the Metro and getting into the museums. We had a wonderful time at the Musee d'Orsay and would highly recommend that museum. The Louvre was too crowded, but our pass did get us in for free without waiting in line.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip is a long day, but we got to see the major sites of Paris on the ground: the Eiffel Tour, the Louvre and Notre Dame. It was very well organized, and our guide Sandrine kept track of all 14 of us throughout the large crowds at each site. The lunch at the Eiffel Tour was worth the price of the entire tour, as we skipped the lines even though we still had a sizeable line to get through security and had lovely 360 degree views of Paris from the 2nd floor. The Louvre visit was about an hour in the museum, but we saw what most people want to see including Venus de Milo, the Mona Lisa and Winged Victory. One could spend a couple of months just in the Louvre! The two boats trips also gave us the iconic Paris experience. Great tour!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message