The Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. Don't be daunted by its size and overwhelming richness; if you have even the merest interest in the fruits of human civilization from antiquity to the 19th century, then visit you must. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 446 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour of the Louvre was exceptional, considering the huge crowds in the museum on the May 1 holiday weekend. Our tour guide was extraordinarily knowledgeable and well prepared. There was not one policy or even one inch of area in the Louvre that she did not know intimately. I would use your company again for any such tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Louvre museum is heavily attended and getting through the lines is worth every euro. The museum itself is grand and a must see. We paid particular attention to the apartments that are on exhibit to really get a sense of the opulence of the royally. The Mona Lisa is heavily attended, but significant of course. Pay particular attention to the art work on the opposite wall. Magnificat

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Anthony Narvais
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Louvre was awesme. We purchesed tickets online(easy). Our Tour Guide was very good. She knew the Museum and the exhibits and gave us insight to the displays. She watched over us and kept us from loss.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I could not have seen the Louvre like this without our wonderful guide Michele. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. This is the best way to hit the highlights of the museum and then spend the rest of your day exploring more if you wish. The museum was extremely crowded but with our small group and guide, we were not as affected. Strongly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour of the Louvre was great. Our guide was very knowledgeabe and engaged. It was helpgul having someone guide us in navigating this huge museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Doug R
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Kattrino was a wonderful guide for our tour of the Louvre. She is so knowledgeable about the museum, the art and especially the background stories of the artists, sculptures and their works. Kattrino expertly navigated our group through the museum at a comfortable but efficient pace. We saw and discussed all the major works and still had plenty of time to see other important pieces. The 2.5 tour went by very quickly although we never felt rushed. A great day in a one of the most fascinating places in the world!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour immensely. Our guide was a charming and knowledgeable woman originally from England who has lived in Paris for many years. We were lucky that our group was small as it made maneuvering through the Louvre much easier. I did not realize how large this museum was until we arrived. Not only did we go immediately to the front of the line - no waiting- but we found the major exhibits quickly and learned of the history and political background of the art from our guide. Super experience!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

When we arrived we were told that they had a very small group and we were given our own personal tour guide for just the 5 of us. Tina, our guide was wonderful and she expertly guided us through this very large museum. She made sure that we saw everything that we were interested in and also helped us see some of the hidden gems of the Louvre. It was a great experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A Paris Pass is essential, especially for a first trip to Paris. Skipping the line at museums alone is worth the price of admission. We recommend taking the Hop-On/Off bus tour early in the day because it gets very crowded. It gives you a great overview of the city. The river cruise gave us a nice break from all the walking. It would have been nice to have been able to pick up our Paris Pass and the bus ticket at the same location. The bright side of having to go to two different places, because we walked it, was that we saw many wonderful things we would have missed otherwise. The bus place is very close to the Louvre.

Doing what: Paris Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our Skip the Line tour of the Louvre was in April. As it turned out our group was just the two couples that were traveling together. This made the tour one where everyone knew the expectations of each other. Our guide Lillia sic was very good. She pointed out things about the Louvre we would have just bypassed on our own. While all of us had visited the Louvre in the past, we were still interested in seeing some of the major exhibits as well as help in getting a better feel for the museum's layout. Lillia was very good in pointing out relationships between works and providing some historical context.

The one thing she should have done was stop referring to the works for the Check it off List and she should have asked us if there were certain pieces we wanted to see besides the Check it off pieces.

Otherwise a very good tour and one I would recommend to others.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice to get priority access and not have to wait in the long line. Museum experience was great. We went at 5pm, which seemed a little less crowded than it normally might be. My only complaint is we went to the Louvre to pick up our tickets first. We didn't see that the address to pick up the tickets was different than at the actual museum. It would've been nice if the voucher said note: ticket pickup is NOT at the museum. We opted NOT to get the audio tour because we had to return the devices back at the location not at the museum and we didn't want to go back that way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Louvre museum was amazing.. audio gear not good.. headsets would be much better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a great way to orient ourselves to Paris. Love the historical context- the guides were quite knowledgeable. Expected a little bit more about Impressionism and art- but got great tidbits . Loved the included museum d'orsay ticket ms the night tour including the Louvre grounds.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Louvre was magnificent and everyone should take the time to visit. Our tour started in close proximity to the museum and was great to skip the line. It focused on highlights like the Mona Lisa and Nike. Our guide was very knowledgeable about all art on display and fluent in English. She had lots of information to share and many interesting facts. She was somewhat lacking in the presence the keeps the group engaged on a tour. There was a good amount of walking and stairs that present a bit a challenge to several participants. Although the guide was aware, it seemed they were always trying to catch up. The day in Paris was quite warm and crowded for Paris in June and that may have added to the problem After the tour we were encouraged to continue to enjoy the museum on our own and we did that until closing at 6pm. Overall, well worth the time and will most likely go back because there is so much to see!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The Louvre Museum is so large that it was very helpful having a guide just to find the entrance! I was very glad that we opted for the small group tour as it made it much easier to move through the crowds as well as being much faster. As a result we were able to see several galleries not included in most tours. The guide was exceptionally well informed as to the Museum, works of art, and artists. There were several communication problems that I would like to advise Viator of and I have one suggest change to the itinerary. First, the our tour apparent included pickup at our hotel but the email instructions did not make this clear. The assembly point listed in the email instructions was incorrect. The tour guide was late due to traffic. Finally, the first part of the tour included a drive through the neighborhood and around the Louvre. I would have much preferred spending the time in the Museum than in the mini-van. With minor changes I would have rated this tour 5 stars.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was awful because the tour guide was unfortunately the worst guide we've ever had! He showed up late - 10 minutes past the tour start time, so basically almost 1/2 hour if you count the time he was supposed to be there in advance of the tour start time, and showed up wearing a ball cap, which seems unprofessional for a museum guide. He had very little patience for us or the other tour guests stopping to take photos - and really didn't seem that knowledgeable - for example he often read what things were from the museum plaques, we could have done that our self! I don't really like giving a bad review but this was just an awful experience and I want to stop others from wasting their time - there's soooooooooooooooooo many other Louvre tours to choose from that I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Egyptian Antiquities Guided Tour at the Louvre Museum

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Useless: entry to attractions was not simplified nor helped by the Pass. Eiffel Tower not accesible wuth the pass as advertised. Le Louvre Museum, after a 45 minutes wait on line entry fee was covered by the Pass very low return for a high price you charged. Not worth the money. Dr. G. P. Carrera

Doing what: Moulin Rouge Show Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The guide did not seem like he really wanted to give the tour. Continually commented on his thoughts that the Louvre was more than the Mona Lisa. Over and over again!!! Took us to little visited areas of the museum that were not very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This was awful In that we could not find the office to pick up the tickets. Not well defined in our paperwork.
We hardly used the audio guide, too difficult to follow the map in the Louvre. Next time, I would just buy my tickets directly from the museum - lines were not long. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The audio tour provided by Viator is very limited. They only pick out certain place and items in the Louvre. This is a waste of money. You can get a better audio tour from the Louvre Museum with all the items available from a touch screen and cheaper.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour is a sham, for 35 you will get ticket and a device with few dozen recordings.
The guide has no affiliation with the museum so they cannot go inside. This means that after 3 hours you spend in the Louvre, you will have to stop everything and go all the way to exit to return your equipment, and then go back in through the queue in order to continue your day in the Louvre.
Equipment you receive is not compatible with Louvre's audio guide system, so it is simply does not work, unless you spend time locating point on the map the guide gave you and try to identify an article you like to get info on. It was much faster to use Google instead, since out of thousands of objects only few dozens appear on that map.

I end-up spending 30 min to get my ticket from the guide, 30 min to return the equipment.

You can order your ticket directly from Louvre website and get Official Audio guide from the Louvre for 18 euro total and save a lot of time this way, plut your audio guide will have much more articles and will work with museums navigation system.

Doing what: Louvre Skip-the-Line Ticket with Audio Guide

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I have been to the Uffitisi and Vatican museum and thought the Louvre was unfortunately much to do about nothing and the only noteworthy items were the Venuses and of course the Mona Lisa. The wine tasting was a complete bust as our group,was placed in a small room and mostly forgotten about but this was not the case with the larger group who the bar staff focused on. Sorry

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour... none should visit this museum with a tour guide. It does not matter how much you appreciate art, without all the history behind each painting is hard to appreciate the value of the Louvre.

Our tour guide was great explaining, very knowlegeble, smart and well organize

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Our guide was cordial and informative. I would recommend this tour for anyone going to the Louvre...especially first time visitors to this extraordinary museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I feel bad for not remembering the name of my guide. I think it was Jessica. There was a big delay on the tour. Tour coordination with tour staff is awful Paris Local Offices, you go to them for help and they treat you as if you are doing something wrong. They need to improve their customer experience.

The Louvre and our guide were excellent. She did a great job feeding us with history and historical context for the arts and sculptures. Her English was perfect and she was very professional. I really recommend this tour. Unless you are an art/history savvy, you will need an expert to help you appreciate the importance and the history of all the great things in the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message