The Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. Don't be daunted by its size and overwhelming richness; if you have even the merest interest in the fruits of human civilization from antiquity to the 19th century, then visit you must. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 464 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Louvre is very big and you need a good guide to help you see the important art and areas of the museum this tour does that and more

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Yes! This was great to using the Metro and getting into the museums. We had a wonderful time at the Musee d'Orsay and would highly recommend that museum. The Louvre was too crowded, but our pass did get us in for free without waiting in line.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip is a long day, but we got to see the major sites of Paris on the ground: the Eiffel Tour, the Louvre and Notre Dame. It was very well organized, and our guide Sandrine kept track of all 14 of us throughout the large crowds at each site. The lunch at the Eiffel Tour was worth the price of the entire tour, as we skipped the lines even though we still had a sizeable line to get through security and had lovely 360 degree views of Paris from the 2nd floor. The Louvre visit was about an hour in the museum, but we saw what most people want to see including Venus de Milo, the Mona Lisa and Winged Victory. One could spend a couple of months just in the Louvre! The two boats trips also gave us the iconic Paris experience. Great tour!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was our first visit to Paris and the Louvre was at the top of our list of sights. We had heard this tour was the best introduction to the museum and we were not disappointed. Our guide, Deborah, was wonderful. Her insights, humor and engaging personality brought the exhibitions to life for us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family of 5 including 3 teenagers loved our tour of the Louvre. Dario was our guide. he was fabulous!!! The museum was so crowded with a lot of very large tour groups. Dario took us on short cuts in order to see the vital parts of the museum. His knowledge of museum and history facts made the tour more enjoyable. If you want to spend only a few hours in the Louvre, I highly recommend this tour. And request Dario as your tour guide!!

Doing what: Skip the Line Louvre Must-See Introduction Small Group Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour! Our guide, Maeva, was knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic. She wisked us through the Louvre, hitting the highlights and teaching us about French history, art history and art techniques. Highly recommend! A perfect tour for individuals who have short attention spans in museums!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small Group Louvre Masterpieces Express Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great experience. We got so much more out of the museum having a guide well versed in the details of the prominent pieces...not just the pieces themselves but also how they came to be in the Louvre. Our guide, Caroline, was EXCELLENT.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The museums are outstanding and our guide was super knowledgeable and friendly. We saw most of the top attractions at the Louvre, but you really need a lot more time that 2 hours. The d'Orsay tour was about the right amount of time.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Louvre Museum evening tour was great. I really enjoyed our guide who was an art historian and was very informative. The audio set up provided a clear presentation. The evening tour was reportedly less crowded than daytime but it was still fairly crowded. This highlights tour was well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I like this tour but the skip the line tour was like a mob. I felt like cattle when we got to the Mona Lisa. The tour guide was exceptional about all of the other items that we toured that day. I realize that the Louvre is one biggest museums in the world so I would suggest anyone who was planning to go to get this tour because you would never see anything there unless you knew where to go.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Hi, We were glad we had signed up for a tour, as lines are very long for tickets at the Louvre Museum. We did have trouble understanding the local guide because of the heavy French accent. Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I want to love the Louvre but the crowds take so much away from the intimacy of appreciating so much historical works of art. But it is what it is, and this is the most famous museum in the world. A must see and a must be patient tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Louvre is quite the intimidating presence, even for a new Yorker like myself who has been to the Met a few dozen times. It is MUCH larger than the Met. It was also very crowded when we went, as I assume it usually is, so I would suggest checking when it is open later and going in the evening if possible. Our tour guide was very knowledgable, but the tour had 50 people in it, which was far too large a group for anyone to handle. Although, as a History professor, I much appreciated the detailed analysis of the paintings and sculpture she gave us, it might have been a bit more than someone only interested in the basics would have wanted, lastly, most of the museum is not air conditioned, so it can get a bit warm--be forewarned.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Louvre is amazing and filled with spectacular works of art. The crowds around the more famous works are thick and troublesome, but patience got us up close eventually. The audio guides needed top be returned 2 or 3 hours later. This did not allow for much time in the Louvre.
We were able to skip the line, but maybe only saved about 20-30 minutes. The cost on each adult ticket was 12 Euro, kids were free. I felt paying to get the kids the audio guides was just taking my money. The audio guides were less than expected. We were given maps and audio guides that were not powerful enough to use earbuds. The only information on the audio guides was accessed by pressing the guide into a picture on the map. This limited the available information to very few works of art and planned routes. They were often more frustration than help.
If I could do this again, I would NOT by the audio guide and only purchase tickets for adults 18. I WOULD pay for the Louvre provided audio guides that include digital pictures and audio tours through Nintendo Game Boy XLs. They seemed large, easy to use, powerful, and contained much more useful information. I would not recommend this process to a friend, but would highly encourage skip the line tickets only because this museum should not be missed or rushed.

Doing what: Louvre Skip-the-Line Ticket with Audio Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was good and the guide was knowledgeable. The Louvre was very crowded peak season so our guide avoided some of the prime sections such as the Egyptian portion. One key problem is that you do NOT get individual tickets, so you cannot go out to get food after the 2 hour tour is over. I wish the tour operators would have provided us tickets so that we could go out and come back into the museum after lunch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

We had a nice guide Elizabeth who was very diligent and informative showing us around the Louvre.
The problem was getting into the Louvre. Instructions were to meet at tour office at 0900. Tour group was put together and actually only left the tour office at 0930. The process wasn't helped by several members of the tour group wandering off to get coffee etc. forcing everyone else to wait. Tour guide was very patient putting up with this. Then had to go and pick up audio guides and then wait in a line to go through security. Finally got into the Louvre at 1040. The museum was packed by the time we made in in. By the time we got to the Mona Lisa there were about 10 rows of people taking selfies or other forms of photography - making it impossible to get a good view. To a large extent these delays were mainly the result of the sheer number of people wanting to visit the Louvre. However, the process was not a skip the line tour as promoted. We would have been better off getting to the Louvre early and waiting in line with everyone else - we probably would have got in before the crowds that way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The Louvre Museum is very interesting and beautiful.
Unfortunately the audio that was provided for this tour was useless as it is a hand held device without headphones. The museum was packed and impossible to hear audio.
when we told them upon our return they said oh well not our fault the museum was busy
Really??

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

I was very disappointed with this tour. The meeting instructions were not helpful and the guide was late. Not being issued headsets, we had to gather around the guide at each stop to regroup which wasted time and we still couldn't well. We spend the last 30 minutes in the new Islamic section 25 of the our tour time! which was nice but not the reason we came to the Louvre as evidence by the lack of people in that exhibit. The lunch was disappointing as best. We waited 75 minutes to be served despite being the first to be seated. But worst of all, when lunch was over we were surprised to learn that we could NOT renter the museum without paying the full entry price.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum Small-Group Tour with Champagne and Gourmet Lunch under the Pyramid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour of the Louvre was exceptional, considering the huge crowds in the museum on the May 1 holiday weekend. Our tour guide was extraordinarily knowledgeable and well prepared. There was not one policy or even one inch of area in the Louvre that she did not know intimately. I would use your company again for any such tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Louvre museum is heavily attended and getting through the lines is worth every euro. The museum itself is grand and a must see. We paid particular attention to the apartments that are on exhibit to really get a sense of the opulence of the royally. The Mona Lisa is heavily attended, but significant of course. Pay particular attention to the art work on the opposite wall. Magnificat

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Anthony Narvais
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Louvre was awesme. We purchesed tickets online(easy). Our Tour Guide was very good. She knew the Museum and the exhibits and gave us insight to the displays. She watched over us and kept us from loss.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I could not have seen the Louvre like this without our wonderful guide Michele. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. This is the best way to hit the highlights of the museum and then spend the rest of your day exploring more if you wish. The museum was extremely crowded but with our small group and guide, we were not as affected. Strongly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour of the Louvre was great. Our guide was very knowledgeabe and engaged. It was helpgul having someone guide us in navigating this huge museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Doug R
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Kattrino was a wonderful guide for our tour of the Louvre. She is so knowledgeable about the museum, the art and especially the background stories of the artists, sculptures and their works. Kattrino expertly navigated our group through the museum at a comfortable but efficient pace. We saw and discussed all the major works and still had plenty of time to see other important pieces. The 2.5 tour went by very quickly although we never felt rushed. A great day in a one of the most fascinating places in the world!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour immensely. Our guide was a charming and knowledgeable woman originally from England who has lived in Paris for many years. We were lucky that our group was small as it made maneuvering through the Louvre much easier. I did not realize how large this museum was until we arrived. Not only did we go immediately to the front of the line - no waiting- but we found the major exhibits quickly and learned of the history and political background of the art from our guide. Super experience!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message