With its rich display of culture and stellar collections, the Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. The former fortress began its career as a public museum in 1793 with 2,500 paintings and now houses some 30,000, covering human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2141 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Louvre was fairly crowed but our tour guide did an excellent job of navigating us through security and through the museum to see many of the key works of art. Venus De Milo, Winged Victory, Mona Lisa. She was extremely knowledgeable and was open to questions. Be ready for a lot of walking and standing. Also, may want to plan transportation back to your hotel ahead of time, especially for the evening tour we took. Had to flag down a taxi as the metro lines were not convenient to our hotel. overall a great experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

lori p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The only way to see the Louvre is you only have a few hours. You buy this tour online, pick up your tickets at the tour office around the corner 5 minute walk to the Lourve get your headsets with all the highlights to hit. It took us about 2 1/2 hours to see all the must works of art. Skip the HUGE line of people waiting to buy tickets. You go through security and are inside in minutes. There are free lockers once inside to store all your belongings. Would Highly recommended this tour to everyone. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

donnard_sturgis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a complete delight it really felt like a good friend showing me his home town. Alex, my guide, was very knowledgeable, and personalized the tour to my interests. If you love to walk then I highly recommend this way of exploring Paris. It began with Notre Dame and ended with the Louvre. Alex left me with plenty of options to continue to discover the delights of Paris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved the Louvre tour as it gave us so much more insight into a few exhibits and artists that I would never have known if we had of just walked around without a guide. The wine tasting was basic but loved the location of the bar in the caves and enjoyed meeting the other people on the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

Janice K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This Louvre tour was excellent with a wonderful guide, Elise. It was especially helpful navigating the huge expanse of the Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved everything about this tour. Boating on the Seine, The Eiffel Tower, The Louvre and Notre Dame was just amazing. A great tour on an amazing City. The express entry and the knowledge of the staff was incredible!!!!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

robert s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Paris was wonderful, all that we expected. The Louvre was spectacular. The only downside of this tour was the stay at the museum was too short. The Eifflel tower was amazing ant the lunch was very good. Notre Dame was beautiful. Overall, this tour was well worth the money

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Patrick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip, Pauline, our guide was amazing. We have been to the Louvre before without the guided tour but it was not nearly as enjoyable, The history of the Louvre as related by Pauline was a fascinating as the history of the paintings and sculptures. I highly recommend the tour and hope you are lucky enough to get the same guide we did.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Kristian_Vegas United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was the perfect way to spend one day getting to see many of the Paris sites. Our guide Florence was fantastic! Very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about so many topics. During the river cruise she shared even more as she patiently answered my many questions. We had beautiful weather and bypassing the lines at the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower saved us a lot of time. We were given adequate time for our delicious lunch and photo taking at the Eiffel Tower. Will definitely recommend this tour to family and friends!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our experience was entirely dependent upon Harriet, our guide, who was incredibly knowledgeable, passionate about French history and art and coud not have been more charming and personable. There wasn't a question I asked that she couldn't answer and the color and context she gave to every point of interest and certainly, our tour through the Louvre, absolutely made the tour for me and my 17 year old as well. She was a gift on our trip - and I would highly recommend requesting her if that's possible. This is a great first day walking tour to take - to acquaint yourself with the history and points in time as you begin your stay in Paris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful experience on this tour. We found ourselves in a group of only 4 people and our lovely and very knowledgeable guide Melissa made the tour a really personal experience, offering us a lot of her own personal insights and views on the art we were seeing. The Louvre is a magnificent gallery and a half-day tour can only scratch the surface but we have been inspired to find time to go back when we can, by this superb introduction to the highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Angela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tina, our guide, was wonderful! She was extremely knowledgeable about the art and history and made the tour so very interesting. My two teenagers were enthralled with all the information. On top of that, Tina was friendly, personable, and flexible. She made the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay one of the hi-lights of our trip to Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Silvia Sellares ...  Spain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Got to see the best of the Louvre, you could spend days there with all the incredible master pieces but this tour fits perfectly if you travel with a tight schedule, definitely the express line is worth it. Tamara, our tour guide was great and with lots of knowledge on art and history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small Group Louvre Masterpieces Express Tour

soaringeagle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Most importantly - we DIDN'T have to wait in a line up. There are skip the line up, line ups for major tour attractions!!

Our tour guide was experienced, knew how to read a crowd, flawless in his transitions from connecting each piece of art to the next while explaining the story and deeper meaning/hidden details/stories in each piece. He took us to all the major pieces such as the Mona Lisa, Wings of Victory, Venus de Milo, Madonna and Child with Saint John the Baptist, The Wedding at Cana, The Coronation of Napoleon,The Raft of the Medusa, Liberty Leading the People, Dying and Rebellious Slave, Psyche Revived by Cupids Kiss, etc... The Louvre offers one the opportunity to see works by three historical masters: da Vinci, Michelangelo, and Raphael, and our tour guide was wonderful in his flow and structure showing us their treasures!

The length of time of the tour - 3 hours - was a good length - 1 hour to get everyone from our meeting place at the Arc du Carrousel to inside the entrance, past security, time to go to the toilet, get a drink, check our coats and umbrellas, gather everyone back and explain how the tour would work.....to then actually entering the Louvre itself. Our tour was in the oldest section of the vast expanse of the museum - and again our experienced guide taking us exactly where our curious minds wanted to go! At the end of a two hour tour - the group grew restless, ready to venture off to explore on their own.

I highly recommend this tour, as I walked away not only seeing some of the most important pieces of art in the world, I have a better understanding of the history and story as to WHY.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Antonio F Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is for sure a must-do walking and boat tour, especially if you have limited time to discover Paris.

The tour guide efficiently kept the group together and provided excellent, informative narration through an audio kit/earbud set provided free of charge. With the tour we skipped most lines, making entry very fast.

The tour started with a walk from the City Vision tours office to the Louvre. From there we walked a short distance to the Batobus dock where we took the taxi boat to the Eiffel Tower. There we had a very nice and slow a good thing sit-down lunch at the Restaurant 58 Tour Eiffel on the 1st level. Excellent service, very good food and an alcoholic beverage wine or beer of your choice. After lunch we climbed the stairs to the 2nd deck no additional charge to take the stairs. We then took the Batobus boat to the Notre Dame Cathedral where we were given a full narrated tour. The tour ended there.

As an added bonus, the Batobus boat tickets are valid for the day until approx. 7:30 pm - so we took the boat back to a stop where we could walk back to the hotel.

City Vision has done an excellent job with this tour. We were tired at the end approx 7.5 hours but it was well worth it!

Thank you Viator. We'll definitely be back to book with you.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Paris tour was excellent! It covers the most common things to see in Paris via the canal boat. The canal boat was the taxi used to get to each place and no commentary was provided while on it.

The first stop is the Louvre Museum to get a nice summary of the important pieces in the exhibit, including the Mona Lisa. Next, we stopped at the Eiffel Tower and had lunch and some spare time. There was enough time to climb up to the 2nd floor, but not enough to go to the 3rd top floor, which I was a bit unhappy about, but the views are still amazing at the second floor.

The final stop is the Notre Dame Cathedral. Although I wasn't too interested in the cathedral, some background information about the cathedrals in Paris piqued my interest and really got to see the cathedral for what it was.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

jeancalladine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent way to see the Louvre! Hats off to our very informative guide, Alexandre, who made the time we spent there most worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

ddizon726

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Totally worth it. We were thinking of just getting the combo of City tour + Louvre but glad we didn and #39;t. There were just so many works of art and at 3 hours, this tour was enough to show us through all the best ones. It could get exhausting though. We forgot the name of our awesome tour guide: Merci!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Garth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a beautiful spring day in Paris and made so memorable by Catherine with her detailed knowledge of the Louvre. It was amazing to see the famous art works that you have read about and seen photos of for real. Catherine added the cream on the top with her interesting background to each work. There is no way we would have been able to find our way to the highlights of this amazing museum on our own with out taking twice as long and getting lost! We would thoroughly recommend booking this tour when in Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Anne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour, well worth the money. It was all perfect, from the Louvre tour to the cruise along the Seine. Lunch on the Eiffel was a highlight and was a very memorable part of this tour. Our guide Manuela was fantastic and I cannot thank her enough for being such a great tour guide.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Violet is an amazing guide. She is as beautiful as she is knowledgeable on history, and that is very knowledgeable. The Louvre is huge. I suggest taking a tour just to avoid losing your way in there. We saw all three wings and she was a wealth of information on every period of history contained in the museum. On top of that she also had amusing stories and kept things interesting and moving.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour guide, very passionate about the louvre and what it represents.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hillary is an awesome guide!! She is very knowledgeable in all aspects of art and art history. She was fun to be with and we enjoyed a lunch with her between the Louvre Museum tour and the Musee d Orsay tour. She was insightful and kept our attention throughout both tours. We cannot say enough about Hillary and hope you get her for your tour!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Lennix Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent Tour. We got to see all the main highlights with an extremely knowledgable and passionate guide. The Louvre is so large that I think this is the only way to see it if you have never been before.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

jenniferfirstclass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AWESOME!!! Our guide was great and we toured the Louvre, Eiffel Tower with lunch and Notre Dame. She highlighted main points and gave us free time as well. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message