The Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. Don't be daunted by its size and overwhelming richness; if you have even the merest interest in the fruits of human civilization from antiquity to the 19th century, then visit you must. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 374 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Can't recommend this enough .... One of the best ways to get around and see some of the main attractions in Paris. We had an evening tour booked at the Louvre museum and were able to stop along the way and visit some of the other sites prior to our 6pm tour. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Seine River Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Cruise in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From the time we met our guide to the time the tour can to an end we felt that we were the most important group that's she had guided. her knowledge of the Louvre and the pace of the tour allowed us to really appreciate the art we were we're seeing. Fortunately the numbers of people in the museum was lower than normal perhaps because we took the afternoon tour.When the tour ended we felt well satisfied and certainly better informed that when we started. Having used Viator previously in Rome we were not disappointed with the standard.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a lovely and unforgettable experience,the guide was very nice and warm as well as informative,we did a lot on this trip,visiting the eiffel tower,having lunch on its first floor restaurant,skipping the lines for the same was a great relief.Visting the louvre museum and gettying snapped with mona lisa was like icing on the cake,the notre dam experience was divine,overall my wife and I simply loved this trip.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Worth the money just for the skip the line at the Louvre and the Museum D'orsy. I did not like having
to cross town to pick up the passes since we had no car and were not that familiar with Paris and its areas.
I prefer the print out passes that are online.

Doing what: Paris Pass

mrsceh
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Christophe our guide was really good.....very passionate about art and provided good commentary on the sections of the museum we visited. Louvre was very busy but he did a great job keeping the group together. Front of the line is the only way to go.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

As a "must see" we were disappointed to find ourselves in more of a circus atmosphere verses a museum. There are obviously no limits on # of tourists admitted to the Louvre so NOT a place to comfortably gaze reflect and ponder - you will be herded through the masses and strain for views. Of course not the tours fault - they do their best considering - but still had hoped for a more intimate experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This was not a good experience. We entered the Louvre via the exit point as directed by the your staff. We followed the directions on the the map that the representative gave us, however when we hit an area on god way to the ticket entry, we asked a museum staff member for assistance. She told us "you would have been told "skip the queues" by tour companies but this does not happen, you need to join the queue. We did this and had to wait which was difficult for my elderly mother and disabled son. I paid extra money to make this experience as pleasant as possible for them, but it didn't happen. I let the tour company know when I went back to drop off the guides, but I was told "I went the wrong way".

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

The day we went to the Louvre Museum, there was no queue. However, the audio guide was very difficult to use and did not work the majority of time. When it did work, the volume was not loud enough to get anything out of the tour. We ended up walking through the museum on our own. It would have been more of a value to spend the 12 euros for entry and then rent the audio with headphones that covered the entire museum rather than the very limited tour we received. Not worth the price we paid.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We used the Paris Pass at the beginning of our trip, while we were relatively fresh, and saw quite a lot. We also plotted out which museums were open what days before we went, so we didn't waste time each day trying to figure out where to go. We have a good background in art history and history, so we spent more time at the museums than Rick Steves suggested because there was so much to see; still this was a good deal for us. We went to the museums we were interested in; being able to skip the long lines at the Louvre, Orangerie, etc. was priceless. Having the Metro Visite card in the first place was helpful, as you only had to keep track of the one ticket. But afterwards, a 5-day Metro Visite card by itself is not worth buying. A 5-day card is 35.70 euros, and a carnet of 10 tickets is 13.70, so you'd have to travel the Metro 4-5 times/day to make the Visite card pay for itself. All in all, I would buy the Museum pass next time, but for a first time for my daughter in Paris the Paris Pass was a great introduction.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good tour and a very fun, interesting guide made it better. We saw a great deal in our 3 hours and appreciate how much we did not have time to see. A marvelous collection of interesting art, the Louvre Museum would be worth a week in Paris by itself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous. Meeting point was near the Louvre (and our hotel). Included a walking tour of the Tuileries Garden. Excellent guide - almost all tours use the radio and earphones. One thing I would recommend on any tour with radio and earphones is to stick as close to the guide as possible to hear clearly what he or she has to say. The museum is crowded with people even inthe morning, so the skipping the line feature is fantastic. You get to see the highlights of this museum - the statues (Winged Victory, Venus, Egyptian pharaohs) and the paintings (Mona Lisa, David) The guide provided you with information about technique and the history of the work. Strongly recommend this tour if you have one chance to tour the Louvre for the first time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a wonderful way to see Le Louvre. I did a lot of research prior to my visit to Paris this July, and read that visiting in the evening was the way to go. I'm so glad we booked this tour! Our guide was very knowledgable and passionate about art, and also very succinct, taking directly to all of the "high points" and providing us with detailed information on each piece. I learned so much. When she was done, we were allowed to stroll through the museum until closing time. I was very appreciative of this tour, and left feeling very satisfied that I had gotten a thorough experience in a minimum amount of time. A big thank you to Viator!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Convenient meeting point under the arch. English-speaking guide, Katherine, very knowledgeable - covered highlights of Louvre in less than 3 hours (more than enough). Almost no waiting in various lines.Good audio with supplied headsets. Our tour was in the morning, but museum soon became very busy. Crowd at Mona Lisa rather disorderly; you will need football or hockey skills for close-up photos. This Viator tour highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I made a good decision to book this tour mainly because there were too many people during our visit. It would be almost impossible to capture the essence of Le Louvre in one day with the crowd that day. George our guide is very experience hence was able to keep us together in the group despite the many people there on that day. He manage to walk us through the highlights of the museum. Thank you George.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to see the best things in the museum on a time budget. We only missed one piece that was being restored. The tour ended in the early evening as it was getting dark and it was cool to see the Louvre in the dark. The guide was terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message