The Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. Don't be daunted by its size and overwhelming richness; if you have even the merest interest in the fruits of human civilization from antiquity to the 19th century, then visit you must. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 379 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Can't recommend this enough .... One of the best ways to get around and see some of the main attractions in Paris. We had an evening tour booked at the Louvre museum and were able to stop along the way and visit some of the other sites prior to our 6pm tour. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Seine River Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Cruise in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From the time we met our guide to the time the tour can to an end we felt that we were the most important group that's she had guided. her knowledge of the Louvre and the pace of the tour allowed us to really appreciate the art we were we're seeing. Fortunately the numbers of people in the museum was lower than normal perhaps because we took the afternoon tour.When the tour ended we felt well satisfied and certainly better informed that when we started. Having used Viator previously in Rome we were not disappointed with the standard.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the first major tour of our trip. Annaliese, our tour guide was an art history major. She was very knowledgeable about the art and museum and quite congenial. She quickly got us to the Mona Lisa before the crowds arrived and then gave us an interesting survey of the museum and the art which whe felt would be most interesting to us. (She asked whether any of us had anything specific we wanted to see, but we chose to follow her lead.) The Louvre is such a vast museum that the guidance of a knowledgeable guide is essential to its enjoyment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a lovely and unforgettable experience,the guide was very nice and warm as well as informative,we did a lot on this trip,visiting the eiffel tower,having lunch on its first floor restaurant,skipping the lines for the same was a great relief.Visting the louvre museum and gettying snapped with mona lisa was like icing on the cake,the notre dam experience was divine,overall my wife and I simply loved this trip.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Worth the money just for the skip the line at the Louvre and the Museum D'orsy. I did not like having
to cross town to pick up the passes since we had no car and were not that familiar with Paris and its areas.
I prefer the print out passes that are online.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everyone who comes to Paris must go to the Louvre. Of course you will go see the Mona Lisa and Venus de Milo just like everyone else. Museum was huge and wonderful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

mrsceh
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Christophe our guide was really good.....very passionate about art and provided good commentary on the sections of the museum we visited. Louvre was very busy but he did a great job keeping the group together. Front of the line is the only way to go.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We loved the Louvre. We lost a jacket there. Royal Rhodes insignia. We do not know where it went. We bought an audio tour. We had to meet the tour away from the museum. We had difficulty finding the meeting
Place. It was our first time there so we lost time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

As a "must see" we were disappointed to find ourselves in more of a circus atmosphere verses a museum. There are obviously no limits on # of tourists admitted to the Louvre so NOT a place to comfortably gaze reflect and ponder - you will be herded through the masses and strain for views. Of course not the tours fault - they do their best considering - but still had hoped for a more intimate experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This was not a good experience. We entered the Louvre via the exit point as directed by the your staff. We followed the directions on the the map that the representative gave us, however when we hit an area on god way to the ticket entry, we asked a museum staff member for assistance. She told us "you would have been told "skip the queues" by tour companies but this does not happen, you need to join the queue. We did this and had to wait which was difficult for my elderly mother and disabled son. I paid extra money to make this experience as pleasant as possible for them, but it didn't happen. I let the tour company know when I went back to drop off the guides, but I was told "I went the wrong way".

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

JOSE F
Brazil

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Large museums are not my turf. I like museums like the D'Orsay. But you cannot go to Paris and not to see the Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

The day we went to the Louvre Museum, there was no queue. However, the audio guide was very difficult to use and did not work the majority of time. When it did work, the volume was not loud enough to get anything out of the tour. We ended up walking through the museum on our own. It would have been more of a value to spend the 12 euros for entry and then rent the audio with headphones that covered the entire museum rather than the very limited tour we received. Not worth the price we paid.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Not good, we were 2 minutes late due to taxi driver taking us to a different location.
When we got there, there was no one with a sign, and none of the other persons waiting saw any one with a viator sign.\We could not beleive that the guide could have been there and dissappeared in 2 minutes.
we went to the line for people with prepaid pass to go into the Museum, no luck
So we did not get to the Louvre tour, very dissappointed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We used the Paris Pass at the beginning of our trip, while we were relatively fresh, and saw quite a lot. We also plotted out which museums were open what days before we went, so we didn't waste time each day trying to figure out where to go. We have a good background in art history and history, so we spent more time at the museums than Rick Steves suggested because there was so much to see; still this was a good deal for us. We went to the museums we were interested in; being able to skip the long lines at the Louvre, Orangerie, etc. was priceless. Having the Metro Visite card in the first place was helpful, as you only had to keep track of the one ticket. But afterwards, a 5-day Metro Visite card by itself is not worth buying. A 5-day card is 35.70 euros, and a carnet of 10 tickets is 13.70, so you'd have to travel the Metro 4-5 times/day to make the Visite card pay for itself. All in all, I would buy the Museum pass next time, but for a first time for my daughter in Paris the Paris Pass was a great introduction.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good tour and a very fun, interesting guide made it better. We saw a great deal in our 3 hours and appreciate how much we did not have time to see. A marvelous collection of interesting art, the Louvre Museum would be worth a week in Paris by itself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message