The Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. Don't be daunted by its size and overwhelming richness; if you have even the merest interest in the fruits of human civilization from antiquity to the 19th century, then visit you must. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 366 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We used the Paris Pass at the beginning of our trip, while we were relatively fresh, and saw quite a lot. We also plotted out which museums were open what days before we went, so we didn't waste time each day trying to figure out where to go. We have a good background in art history and history, so we spent more time at the museums than Rick Steves suggested because there was so much to see; still this was a good deal for us. We went to the museums we were interested in; being able to skip the long lines at the Louvre, Orangerie, etc. was priceless. Having the Metro Visite card in the first place was helpful, as you only had to keep track of the one ticket. But afterwards, a 5-day Metro Visite card by itself is not worth buying. A 5-day card is 35.70 euros, and a carnet of 10 tickets is 13.70, so you'd have to travel the Metro 4-5 times/day to make the Visite card pay for itself. All in all, I would buy the Museum pass next time, but for a first time for my daughter in Paris the Paris Pass was a great introduction.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good tour and a very fun, interesting guide made it better. We saw a great deal in our 3 hours and appreciate how much we did not have time to see. A marvelous collection of interesting art, the Louvre Museum would be worth a week in Paris by itself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous. Meeting point was near the Louvre (and our hotel). Included a walking tour of the Tuileries Garden. Excellent guide - almost all tours use the radio and earphones. One thing I would recommend on any tour with radio and earphones is to stick as close to the guide as possible to hear clearly what he or she has to say. The museum is crowded with people even inthe morning, so the skipping the line feature is fantastic. You get to see the highlights of this museum - the statues (Winged Victory, Venus, Egyptian pharaohs) and the paintings (Mona Lisa, David) The guide provided you with information about technique and the history of the work. Strongly recommend this tour if you have one chance to tour the Louvre for the first time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a wonderful way to see Le Louvre. I did a lot of research prior to my visit to Paris this July, and read that visiting in the evening was the way to go. I'm so glad we booked this tour! Our guide was very knowledgable and passionate about art, and also very succinct, taking directly to all of the "high points" and providing us with detailed information on each piece. I learned so much. When she was done, we were allowed to stroll through the museum until closing time. I was very appreciative of this tour, and left feeling very satisfied that I had gotten a thorough experience in a minimum amount of time. A big thank you to Viator!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Convenient meeting point under the arch. English-speaking guide, Katherine, very knowledgeable - covered highlights of Louvre in less than 3 hours (more than enough). Almost no waiting in various lines.Good audio with supplied headsets. Our tour was in the morning, but museum soon became very busy. Crowd at Mona Lisa rather disorderly; you will need football or hockey skills for close-up photos. This Viator tour highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I made a good decision to book this tour mainly because there were too many people during our visit. It would be almost impossible to capture the essence of Le Louvre in one day with the crowd that day. George our guide is very experience hence was able to keep us together in the group despite the many people there on that day. He manage to walk us through the highlights of the museum. Thank you George.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to see the best things in the museum on a time budget. We only missed one piece that was being restored. The tour ended in the early evening as it was getting dark and it was cool to see the Louvre in the dark. The guide was terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I highly recommend this tour. We avoided long lines and were able to see many highlights of the Louvre Museum. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and patient.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Louvre. It was such a hot day we were very glad we did not have to queue. Our guide was Heidi and she was great. It was a small group of 5 which was ideal as it was so busy. We were able to move through the museum at a good pace and we got to see all the main highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had very good access to every museum we entered including The D'Orsay, Rodin, and Louvre with either alternate entrance ways or being steered to bypass the line at the main entrance.

Doing what: Paris Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful museum and guide. Pity the Louvre is so crowded!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

My family of six took this tour the last week in July, 2014. While it did give us immediate entry to the Louvre and an audio guide, which we appreciated having, we were somewhat disappointed. The audio guide only included two sections of the museum, the Sculptures and Italian Painting. I realize that we could have continued to other sections of the museum but would not have had any guide information for them. Being the height of tourist season, the museum was extremely crowded so we choose only to complete the audio guide and then leave. Overall, while I am glad we purchased this tour since all the advanced purchase entry tickets were sold out from the Louvre web site when I went to book (in early June), I do wish the audio tour had given us more information about the many other exhibits at the museum. Having to pick up the tickets and the audio equipment at a site about three blocks from the museum was a minor inconvenience and we were able to return the audio equipment to a site closer to the museum than the one where we acquired them. Another note, there is a sizable deposit required for the audio equipment that I don't remember seeing mentioned when I booked this tour. They did accept the deposit on our credit card and it was immediately refunded when we returned the equipment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The tour guide is OK . The Louvre Museum is overran with tourist mainly from a particular nation who are rude and noisy and have no appreciation for the Arts apart from having plenty of money and want to show off with those back home that they have came to Paris and be seen with Mona Lisa. The Louvre Museum management also should be on notices that under the Geneva Convention of Human Rights they should not shut down the male toilet . There is 1 cubicle open for the men in the entire Louvre. They should be ashamed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Enjoyed the museum but not the tour guide, Reni. Had difficulty hearing him on the sound system as he was holding the microphone and could not manage to keep it near his mouth (asked him to pin it to his shirt but it would not stay out), he did not carry his flag so that you could easily follow him through huge crowds and he seemed to have to think of how to describe art in English. He waited for various people to catch up along the way but we somehow got left behind during a 10-min recess. It might not be reasonable to expect 1 guide to manage a group of 50 people in The Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The weather is bad and the tour guide from the local tour company is equally worse . He is grumpy from the start . He has some issue with us choosing the bike and the day is getting worse from there . Versailles Palace is also overran from the same people presented in the Louvre Museum . Also the garden is blocked off and the management demand another fee. They should be ashamed.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message