Montmartre is the hilly part of Paris. There are stairs galore and the crowning glory is, of course, the famous Sacré Coeur Cathedral perched at the top, looming over Paris. There is another church on the hill, the older Saint Pierre de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Discovered Montmartre like I never have before... Tour guide was brilliant!

Doing what: Paris Movie Tour of Montmartre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide, Pierre, was passionate and knowledgeable about the places and artists and gave us great insight into the time and works of the Impressionists. This is a great tour of Montmartre combined with the Skip the Line for the Musee D'Orsay!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour! Pierre our guide was just simply wonderful and so very knowledgeable. He discussed not only the history of Montmartre, the impressionist painters who had lived in the area but other fun facts as well. Montmartre is a fabulous place to visit even after the tour. Will definitely go back again. The "icing on top of the cake" so to speak was the skip the line Musee d'Orsay ticket which we used immediately following the tour. The best museum EVER!!!! Could have spent a whole day there.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Paris Pass is the best travel tool. No waiting on LONG lines at major museums. Wonderful views from the top of the Arc de Triomphe and Montparnasse Tower. A lovely little Tourist Train ride around Montmartre. Unlimited metro/bus access. A great boat ride on the Seine. Fantastic Hop On/Hop Off bus ride. We definitely used this pass to the max and would highly recommend it to everyone spending time in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Pass

Elizabeth J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We met our guide, Laura (from Babylon Tours) close to the Moulin Rouge in Montmartre at 10am.
There were four of us plus Laura.
Her knowledge and enthusiasm for Paris, it's history and it's art, particularly the impressionists was excellent.
(She is Australian and has lived in Paris 3 years and spoke fluent French)
We spent the morning walking around various places of artistic interest away from the usual tourist traps and hoards of people. We chose the private tour to avoid large groups and it paid off enormously so it was well worth the extra cost .
Laura chose a local French bistro for lunch which was excellent!
We then went by taxi to the Musee d'Orsay which is former magnificent railway station on the river side.
You could quite easily spend a day here - the art is displayed beautifully - the Skip the line entrance gave us extra time inside and Laura chose specific areas to show us to enable a clear and informative tour of the great impressionists with lots of interesting facts.
Our tour ended there at around 5pm to allow us extra time to view the Van Gough exhibition which is superb.
Laura was a excellent guide, friendly,welcoming and very knowledgable - I would highly recommend this tour and particularly Laura !

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musée d'Orsay & Montmartre Impressionist Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My husband and I loved this walking tour. The travel guide was very knowledgeable and charming. She knew all the special, unusual spots that most tourists don't get to see because she lives in Montmartre. Sacre Coure and the d'Orsay museum were wonderful!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent walking tour of Montmartre.
Knowledgeable guide who knew the history of the Impressionists of the time. I was not disappointed and would do the tour again if I could. I would recommend this tour to those who love" discovering" Paris

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent walking tour of Montmartre.
Knowledgeable guide who knew the history of the Impressionists of the time. I was not disappointed and would do the tour again if I could. I would recommend this tour to those who love" discovering" Paris

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and felt privileged to walk along such a wonderful streets and walkways. Our tour guide was wonderful and extremely knowledgeable about Montmartre. I felt a special thrill to be shown a tavern where Edith Piaf worked and where she probably sang on the sidewalk for tips.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An excellent tour for individuals or families in London looking to see more of Europe while on vacation. The train ride from London to Paris was great and fast. Upon arrival we were greeted by our tour guide whom got us to the bus and on our way to the Eiffel Tour. Admission to the tower was fast as our group was able to cut the lines and go right up the tower. We were given about an hour and a half at the tour to explore and get lunch. From there we met at the riverfront a short walk away where we took a boat ride down the Seine. After the boat ride we were driven to the Louvre where we had the remainder of the afternoon to explore. We booked the overnight tour,so we were given accomodations on the northern part of the city near MontMartre. This worked out well for us as I wanted to explore Montmartre and Sacre Couer in the morning before heading off on a different tour of Versailles. Hotel accomodations were good. The hotel was clean and modern and the breakfast buffet choices were good. The rooms were a bit small, though again clean and suiting our needs. If you are looking to take a quick tour of the city on a tighttimeframe, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Where to start? This tour was excellent and my favorite thing I did while I was in Paris! Who knew that Paris had hills and that I would be climbing a majority of them. Kit, my tour guide, was so informative and passionate about the history of Montmartre. He really made the area come alive with the history and personal stories. I was the only person on our tour, so I was fortunate to have the entire 3 hours to myself. Kit was able to answer all of my questions and even brought along various reference books to show the then and now of the area. We saw Moulin Rough, Montmartre Cemetery, Moulin de la Galette, back ally street art, the apartment building that once housed Van Gogh, Au Lapin Agile, the pink cafe, various monuments, a vineyard, the Sacre Coeur, along with so much more. By far one of the best tours. Thank you!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

These two tours really made our first full day in Paris memorable, and had the added benefit of making us much more comfortable with the city and what it had to offer. Both guides were amazing -- so friendly and very knowledgeable about their respective areas. I especially enjoyed Montmartre -- as a little part of the city it made me feel at home, and our guide, Marion made the tour extra special. She was a real treat. I couldn't be more delighted with Viator's tour packages. Thanks for making our Paris trip amazing!

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took this tour in January and our tour guide and tour stops really helped us with our French practice. Everyone was friendly and we were able to really try lots of yummy treats along the way. We did the afternoon tour in Montmartre - be ready to walk and climb stairs to get to Sacre Coeur! Our tour guide indulged our interest to do the tour in French so we could practice our French and we really felt like we got more of a real French experience. I would highly recommend this to others!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

this was one of the best things we did on our t rip--guide was funny and knowledgeable and it was a lovely place to walk and learn. She gave us helpful advice for time on our own and very good information about the impressionists in Montmartre. Musee d'Orsay tickets were great to avoid the lines and this museum was very user friendly--sitting areas, crowd control--spacious.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour and a pleasant walk through Montmartre. The guide we had was excellent and very knowledgeable about the area. While Montmartre is hilly the walk was not arduous.

Doing what: Small-Group Montmartre Walking Tour: Fine Wines and Famous Artists

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message