Montmartre is the hilly part of Paris. There are stairs galore and the crowning glory is, of course, the famous Sacré Coeur Cathedral perched at the top, looming over Paris. There is another church on the hill, the older Saint Pierre de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 243 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lynn h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip under difficult circumstances - accident blocking access for vans at CDG. Drivers were encouraging and fun. Great tour of Montmartre while dropping off other passengers.

Doing what: Paris Shuttle Arrival Transfer: Charles de Gaulle Airport (CDG)

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow! I literally teleported inside the famous Louvre museum as well as Notre-Dame cathedral! I walked through Montmartre and the Champs Elysees...while standing on the Eiffel Tower! Got to access the Eiffel Tower without having to wait in line. Loved it, and I would like to congratulate the team for launching this new activity. All the best!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Eiffel Tower Priority Access Admission with Virtual Reality Tour

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the most entertaining tour /walks that I have been on. The Montmartre neighborhood and it's past residents are well known and most interesting. Our guide Adele is an actress and entertainer, suddenly breaking out into song and dance with a je ne sais quoi.....engaging and emotive.
This is not so much an intensive art tour, but a vibrant neighborhood immersion. It should be mentioned that this is an uphill excursion ending at Sacre Coeur, perhaps the highest point in Paris! The ticket to the Musee d'Orsay not nearby! gets you in the members entrance. Useful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Ben M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All the stops are manned by staff, the buses come very frequently, and the route was great. Also did the Montmartre route which was well worth doing to visit Sacre Couer.

Doing what: Big Bus Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Althea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Going on a Tour in Montmartre was awesome. I got to take a look at the local town how everything was how people lived, and how they eat. Everyday the baker makes fresh breads for people and the local only purchase what they need for the day. Not like North America where we purchase what we need for two weeks. It really was an eye opening experience and I learned a lot about different meats, cheeses, bread, wine, and tasty desserts. My tour guide PJ was the best I hope everyone goes on this tour.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If you can do it, I highly recommend this tour. My tour guide, Belen was amazing and I spent a wonderful day in Paris on this tour. She gave me a great tour of Montmartre and Basilica Sacre Coeur that was rich with history. After lunch, we toured the Musee d'Orsay and while she explained the different styles of painting associated with the Impressionist genre. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musée d'Orsay & Montmartre Impressionist Walking Tour

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Montmartre is a must for any student of art history. This walking tour provided an intimate look at the Montmartre neighborhoods, but more importantly, it took us by the studios of famous artists, such as Picasso.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Kimber R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely loved our tour of the Montmartre quarter. Our tour guide David was excellent! He was very educational and interesting. My husband has never been on a tour and was very hesitant at first but ended up loving it! Definitely a highlight of our visit to Paris.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Derek B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My wife and I did this tour on New Year's Day. Charlotte was our tour guide. She was very nice and knowledgeable of the area. It was just my wife and I that day so it was like walking around town with a local friend! The wine stops were nice. Charlotte explained the wines and cheeses as we sat and talked. Unfortunately, we did not get to tour the Basilica because they weren't letting people in when we got to it. We weren't sure why. Otherwise this was a nice way to get to see and learn about the Montmartre area through the experience of a local.

Doing what: Small-Group Montmartre Walking Tour: Fine Wines and Famous Artists

Rena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome tour! Our guide was amazing. She knew a lot of information and I learned cool little details that I would and #39;ve never known about Montmartre had I not done this tour. Many thanks!!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took a private 2-day tour of Paris with Marion and could not have asked for a better tour guide or experience for a first-time trip there. Particularly given how much we wanted to see in a short amount of time, Marion allowed us to relax and enjoy the sites as well as to gain a deeper understanding of what we were seeing. We took along our 8 and 9-year old children and Marion was very patient with them explaining things in a way they could understand. They have a particular interest in art and Marion efficiently guided us through the Louvre and Orsay, as well as through the Montmartre neighborhood where many of the artists lived. This neighborhood around Sacre Coeur was a highlight of the tour. Marion kept us on schedule, but did not sacrifice any of the things we really wanted to see. Liz with Viator did a great job lining out our itinerary and listening to what we wanted to see rather than just giving us a standard list of sites to see. With Marion we were able to overcome the language barrier as well as efficiently traverse the city either by walking or by Metro. We got so comfortable with this that were able to handle the third day of our trip on our own with equal efficiency. We would recommend Marion to anyone looking to gain a deeper understanding of Paris, particularly as it relates to the arts. She also introduced us to new French pastries at Maison des Choux, and took to some sites we didn't even know about for great views and photo ops. This tour was a great way to start our stay in Paris.

Doing what: Private 2-Day Tour: Customize Your Perfect Stay in Paris

Geraldine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide was simply superb....so engaging, informative and interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed the walking tour and learnt so much about different artists and their lives lived in the Montmartre district.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Symon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was our favorite. Our guide was a lovely French woman, who took us to the bakery that won Best Baguette in 2015, we all shared the baguette while she explained how they select the winner, by smelling the bread, crunching it, and of course tasting it!

Walking through Montmartre, it was amazing see where Picasso, Van Gogh lived and the various places where many artists got inspiration for their paintings. The best part is going into Musee d'Orsay and seeing their masterpieces.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Sheila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Marion was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw parts of the Montmartre we would have ignored. Plus, she knew the best bakeries.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Suzanne was awesome! We learned a ton about the Montmartre area and about French wines. We have a new appreciation for both.

Doing what: Paris Left Bank Wine Tasting and Walk

Stacy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the perfect way to see what was important to us. My niece and I chose to go to the Montmartre district our fantastic guide, Roman sp?, was great and lived in this district!. We learned all about the area, had a fantastic, authentic French lunch, saw the view from Sacre Couer . We visited the Louvre museum as well. This tour is such a great way to personalize your tour and time in Paris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Customize Your Perfect Day in Paris

Judy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Anton was fantastic, such a pleasant young man! He was so knowledgeable and informative. Montmartre is fantastic. So worth it!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Janine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful tour with astrid. She was sweet and very willing to help us explore this very personal connection to wonderful Montmartre. Learned many new things about the history of the area, with a stop for some wonderful pastries. Thank you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Explore Your Favorite Neighborhood in Paris

Mandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide Quentin was really knowledgeable about impressionist artists and their history in the Montmartre area. Fabulous views of Sacre Couer at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were so lucky enough to be in Montmartre on a rainy day and have a very customized tour for us. My husband and I met our amazing guide Claire at the bottom of the hill in Montmartre, from there she took us to see where Van Gogh lived, where Picasso used to work and funny stories about the village itself. We absolutely loved Claire, she was insightful, well-educated about the area and full of life. We were sorry to leave her. In all, I give this tour two thumbs up!

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Diana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing tour! Very knowledgeable and patient guide and she made this tour fun and informative!! I loved it! We took the best route up to Sacre Coeur theough the enchanting streets of Montmartre, learning quite a bit of history along the way.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

jsbrannon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely top notch! Our guide was thoroughly knowledgeable about Montmartre and it's history and presented it in a very entertaining way. Most enjoyable

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Carole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were a small group of four our guide Charlotte, made our tour memorable and entertaining, great way to see Montmartre. Can recommend this tour .

Doing what: Small-Group Montmartre Walking Tour: Fine Wines and Famous Artists

Thomas R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and he gave us all kinds of interesting insights into the works of art. I was pretty tired from a long walk from Montmartre, but he was very sensitive to the needs of all of the guests. I would highly recommend this tour - the Louvre is a special place at night.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Hector C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Mariela is excellent - so knowledgeable and gives great recommendations!

Perfect tour to do at the beginning as it gives you a good food base for what you love and what you want to look for. Montmartre has so many excellent places to go and this tour helps you find what you are looking for. Food is delicious!

- we arrived late and she even took us back tot he places to see what we missed after the tour ended, she was so kind to do that. she will answer any questions you have about Paris.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message