The Musée d'Orsay houses a superb collection of French Impressionist and post-Impressionist works, making it a must-see for any art lover. The museum displays France's national collection of paintings, sculptures, objets ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Having been to Paris on several occasions and seen the usual tourist attractions - all of which are well worth seeing again, we wanted to check out something different. This canal trip ticked all the boxes. Friendly welcome on-board at the quayside near Musee D'Orsay, short trip along the Seine then through the first lock into Port de l'Arsenal. From there through the long tunnel - very atmospheric - and into several more locks up to Bassin de la Villette and Parc de la Villette. The boat itself seemed an attraction to the local landlubbers as it navigated each lock. OK - the area outside the Parc is not exactly touristy but the Metro at Porte de Pantin ligne 5 was easy to find if you wanted to quickly head back into the comfort of the city centre. Would we take the Paris Canals Tour again? - a definite - yes.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Chris Carroll was an unbelievably great guide a master of his subject perfect diction and articulation without the need for headsets and being an actor, a storyteller as well - he made the Lourve, the Orsay and the fine arts COME ALIVE for us. My wife and I could not have been more impressed.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing. While crowded very crowded Monet's home and gardens were beautiful and made his paintings so real. If you are a fan of Monet's work take this tour. Had a very good tour guide. One day we were in his gardens and home, two days later we were in Musee D'Orsay viewing paintings of the very places we had been standing. Wonderful.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was wonderful and our guide Chris knew so much about the treasures in the Louve and Orsay Museums. I would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept up a good pace. We enjoyed his stories and flip chart depicting various locations and history. The skip the line Orsay ticket was well worth the money. A beautiful gallery and minimal waiting to enter. A great first day in Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was Jaques. He was very informative and very passionate about the art and artists he was telling us about. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Musee d'Orsay.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable walk. Tour guide very knowledgeable and friendly. Musee D'Orsay was awesome.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Belen was super intelligent, super informed and super excited about art and history. On a scale of 1 to 100 she gave 110 percent.
I have been to the Louvre and to the Musee D'Orsay many times but still learned a ton from her. I would recommend it times a million!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a great way to orient ourselves to Paris. Love the historical context- the guides were quite knowledgeable. Expected a little bit more about Impressionism and art- but got great tidbits . Loved the included museum d'orsay ticket ms the night tour including the Louvre grounds.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Musee d'Orsay tour was great. Our guide Joelle was very good and we had a private tour with her. However, our letter told us to meet at the elephants foot and Joelle was told to meet us at the horse. It was a bit confusing with so many people in the area.
Giverny tour was good too. We felt the tour guide could have talked to us about the surrounding area as we drove in the coach as we hadn't been in that part of France before.

Doing what: Paris Impressionism Art: Skip the Line Musée d'Orsay and Giverny Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Musee d'Orsay tour was very nice. Enjoyed just the right amount of audio

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

For us, the tour to the D'Orsay tour through this company was a big disappointment and was a complete waste of money. The tour cost us over 40 per person and it wasn't worth it. There is no tour guide. It's an auto guide as advertised. It covers 32 paintings with some sculptures. You must pick up the audio tour at the ParisCityVision offices and then walk to the museum which is about a half mile!. There is no bus. Once you arrive at the museum you do skip the line and enter at different door. This is the one benefit.

Following the map and guide provided by the tour you find the gallery and the art pictured on your map and listen to the commentary. It became quite clear that the audio tour was skipping numerous galleries and focusing only on the highlights of the museum's collections, bypassing many seminal works.

Becoming frustrated with this myopic focus, all five members in my group gave up and rented the museum's own auto tour for just 5. Much better solution and informed commentary. After doing some simple calculation we determined that we would have been much better off going straight to the museum, buying tickets for 11, getting the 5 audio guide and standing on line for the 15 or less minutes to enter. Or getting a more expensive tour for our group of five with a docent or guide.

Oh, and btw, at the end of your ParisCityWalks you had to return to their offices on the other side of the Seine to return your audio device and cancel the charge they put on your cc in the interim.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This was not worth the price. You have to pick up your tickets and audio at a tour agency by the Louvre (yes several blocks away) and then walk to the d'Orsay! Then we still had to wait in line for 45 minutes. After you need to return audio at the agency - the most disappointing "tour" we took!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

enjoyed gaining more of an insight to Monmatre - where some of the impressionists lived and the scenes they painted. Guide knowledgable and also gave helpful hints re restaurants and metros to use.
Priority pass to Musee D'orsay essential on a busy Sunday .

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour is split into two parts of the day, morning and evening. We toured Montmartre in the morning, nice little walking tour. At the end of the morning tour our guide gave us our tickets to the Museum de Orsay which we could use any time during our trip. We really liked that option, we didn't have to go that very day so we saved it for a cloudy day.
The evening tour was not exactly what we thought it would be, but that's probably our fault. Our guide did a good job of explaining things in the St. Germain area, just didn't thrill us very much.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

We had to cross over the Seine far away from the D'Orsay to pick upour tickets and the awful awful audio. We did not expect to have to do this- we expected to take the paperwork directly to the D'Orsay and go in at 10:00 am- we had to read the fine print- locate where we pick up the real tickets

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This tour was misleading. The Musee D'Orsay no longer recognises this tour so they don't provide audio equipment. They did not recognise the barcode as two people, only one. I was very disappointed with the so-called tour.

The Musee was fantastic but the tour is a waste of time and money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The skip the line tickets were a colossal waste of money. We saved all of ten minutes in line and paid an extra 40 Euro each for the privilege. We learned our lesson however and bought tickets to the Orsay Museum, the Orangerie, Versailles, the Arc de Triomphe, Sainte Chapelle and the Louvre on site. All we had to do was show up a few minutes before opening and we never waited in line more than fifteen minutes. Despite this misstep at the beginning of our visit we had a great time in Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower Ticket in Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Tour was great! However, nowhere did my documentation tell me I had to go to the Tour Offices to collect the tickets! This delayed and reduced my time at the Musee d'Orsay. Very disappointing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Dario met me at the Louvre, we spent all morning there, then a quick lunch and off to the Musee' D'Orsay. He was informative a walking Wikipedia, in the nicest meaning.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Alex was wonderful! So knowledge and friendly. We would have been lost, overwhelmed and in the Lourve for days if it wasn't for him! I had never been to the Orsay and with Alex it was even more memorable. I loved hearing about the history behind the art. So happy we booked this tour!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

As first time visitors to Paris and we were with my sister and her husband who had visited Paris previously we wasted a lot of valuable time searching for the place where we got the Paris Pass. We made good use of the travel part, but only used the Pass at the Musee d'Orsay and The Palace at Versailles where we had to queue in the blistering cold for what seemed hours before we even entered the palace. Then, we had to pay extra to visit the gardens, which we thought were included in the price. We visited places like Monet's Garden and the Musee Montmartre that were not included in the pass. Unless you are quick at viewing places and moving on to the next venue, and the places listed suit your interests, do not bother with this pass. If we go back to Paris, we will simply follow our interests and pay as we go.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was FANTASTIC!!!!!! Our guide grew up in Montmartre and his love of his neighborhood was clear. He took us to places one normally would not go. He spoke perfect english, gave us so much information about the history, the places from a truly local perspective. The tickets for the D'Orsay Museum were terrific as it saved so much time when entering.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an excellent and informative tour bringing the period in which the painters lived to life. Excellent guide in Marie. Would recommend. Went to D'Orsay museum afterwards to complete the theme for the day.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

For art lovers especially for getting to know more about impressionism and impressionist artists of the 19th century this tour is a must. A morning walk along the hidden streets of beautiful Montmartre area of Paris with a highly knowledgeable and truly helpful guide made this a day to remember. The tour ended at the Sacre Ceour basilica with breathtaking views. The cherry on the cake was the afternoon visit to the Musee dOrsay.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message