Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée d'Orsay

The Musée d'Orsay houses a superb collection of French Impressionist and post-Impressionist works, making it a must-see for any art lover. The museum displays France's national collection of paintings, sculptures, objets d'art produced ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 499 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were a group of 6 travelers and as it turned out we were the only ones on the tour so it was absolutely fantastic. We all enjoyed it very much and would recommend it. Our only problem was finding the meeting place which was by a subway entrance/exit. We were walking from the D'Orsay and had to ask a couple of policemen for directions. We eventually found our guide and he was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

elkev410

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

One of the best City Passes in Europe. You get unlimited transportation and free admission to all major museums such as the Louvre and d'orsay. The only thing that isn't cover is the Tour Eiffel.

Doing what: Paris Pass

Jean Luc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guided tour of the Louvre and Museé dOrsay was excellent. It turned out to be private, because my husband and I were the only ones on it. This made it super special. Lilia was our guide and we were very lucky. We are not what you could consider into art people. She managed to keep it interesting by linking history to the paintings, sculptures and objects of art during the visit. Time flew away and before we knew it, the tour was over.
Starting at the Louvre and finishing at Museé dOrsay takes you from ancient to modern. She took us to see many of the famous pieces housed at these two wonderful museums Diana, Cupid and Physique, Venus, Monalisa, Van Goghs, and many others famous artists. She told us about their personal lives while admiring the pieces, which are intrinsically linked to who they were.
Half day to discover and admire these treasures is short. They contain so many pieces of art that a few days would be the rule. But if time is short while in Paris, we recommend this tour to wet your appetite and come back for more on your next visit to the City of Lights.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

celticrx

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The meeting place was quite a distance from the Tower and our group had difficulty getting there. Make sure you look at the meeting place and time and probably take a taxi directly there instead of the Tower. Also, be aware that there is no skip the line for the river cruise and you may have to wait there for a while. All in all though, it was still a kick to actually go up in the Eiffel Tower and to cruise the Seine and see some of the really famous sites -- the Louvre, the D'Orsay, Notre Dame, etc.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Denise G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The dinner cruise on the Seine River was wonderful. Food was good, plenty of wine and champagne for enjoyment. 3 hours is a good amount of time. The late evening tour is best because you can see the light show on the Eiffel Tower. The scene from the water is fabulous. You get a different perspective than a walking tour.
One recommendation - it was difficult to find the boat at the marina. There were several boats there and the directions don't give you an exact location. Across from the Musee D'Orsay there are dozens of boats. We had to call the booking agent to make sure we were in the right place. Other than that, it was fantastic.

Doing what: La Marina de Paris Seine River Cruise Including 3-Course Lunch or Dinner

Susan D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We met the guide outside the museum were she gave us the headsets and told us where the line was. When we asked her, she said she had never done the tour. The map kept indicating level I, level II, but inside the museum it was organized completely different. We followed the crowd and saw the monalisa, etc, but It was certainly not what we had envisioned. The only good thing was the Skip the Line. We did d'Orsay the next day and didn't even bother with the audio besides the fact they wanted to charge us something like 40 Euros as a deposit for the audio sticks. We just took the tickets and skipped the line.

Doing what: Louvre Skip-the-Line Ticket with Audio Guide

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took a private 2-day tour of Paris with Marion and could not have asked for a better tour guide or experience for a first-time trip there. Particularly given how much we wanted to see in a short amount of time, Marion allowed us to relax and enjoy the sites as well as to gain a deeper understanding of what we were seeing. We took along our 8 and 9-year old children and Marion was very patient with them explaining things in a way they could understand. They have a particular interest in art and Marion efficiently guided us through the Louvre and Orsay, as well as through the Montmartre neighborhood where many of the artists lived. This neighborhood around Sacre Coeur was a highlight of the tour. Marion kept us on schedule, but did not sacrifice any of the things we really wanted to see. Liz with Viator did a great job lining out our itinerary and listening to what we wanted to see rather than just giving us a standard list of sites to see. With Marion we were able to overcome the language barrier as well as efficiently traverse the city either by walking or by Metro. We got so comfortable with this that were able to handle the third day of our trip on our own with equal efficiency. We would recommend Marion to anyone looking to gain a deeper understanding of Paris, particularly as it relates to the arts. She also introduced us to new French pastries at Maison des Choux, and took to some sites we didn't even know about for great views and photo ops. This tour was a great way to start our stay in Paris.

Doing what: Private 2-Day Tour: Customize Your Perfect Stay in Paris

Malcolm F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We went on the walking tour last Saturday, and highly recommend it. The guide was outstanding punctual, friendly and knowlegable. She took us all around the area and to out of the way places. When the tour finished we had 'skip the line' tickets for the Musee d'Orsay. A great way to learn more about and enjoy Paris!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

TBatrik

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour in Notre Dame was wonderful and the tour guide was really friendly and knowledgeable. He gave us many information about the Notre-Dame and its surroundings.
The your in Musee d'Orsay was good but the tour guide was not worth the paying. Visiting the museum would have been the same if not better without him.
But both the cathedral and the museum must be visited if you are in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Notre-Dame Cathedral and Skip-the-Line Musée d’Orsay Tour

MICHAEL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lilia rocked! She knew the Musee d'Orsay inside and out. She was fantastic! Lilia was knowledgeable, agreeable and truly loves Paris! We learned so much in the 2 1/2 hour tour.

Doing what: Musée d'Orsay Skip the Line Orsay Museum Introduction Small Group Tour

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Belen was a joy! My wife and I were part of a tour with Belen that included another couple and a single woman. We were taken through the Louvre by Belen and she was able to cover alot of ground all while providing very interesting information abut the sculptures, the paintings and the building we were in. Belen walked us over to Musee d'Orsay and really came into her element. We had a wonderful time exploring the treasures of the museum. Belen was engaging, knowledgeable and funny. Belen made our day a complete pleasure!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Sue D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A lovely fall day to wander the streets of Montmarte! Our guide was very knowledgable about the area and the artists who made this their home. It is a difficult place to walk if you don't know where you are going. We saw both windmills, the last vineyard in Paris as well as import ants homes and artist studios. Great views of Paris and it added to our afternoon visit to the Musee d'Orsay-must do!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Symon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was our favorite. Our guide was a lovely French woman, who took us to the bakery that won Best Baguette in 2015, we all shared the baguette while she explained how they select the winner, by smelling the bread, crunching it, and of course tasting it!

Walking through Montmartre, it was amazing see where Picasso, Van Gogh lived and the various places where many artists got inspiration for their paintings. The best part is going into Musee d'Orsay and seeing their masterpieces.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed our day with the guide and she was careful to speak clearly so the non-native English speaker could understand her clearly. She also advised us regarding our plans for the rest of the day at the D'Orsay so we could see the rest of the art in the time remaining after the tour ended. We recommend this company highly and agreed that our guides were very knowledgeable and well spoken.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Mus��e d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

K A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Our visit to Crazy Horse provoked mixed reactions. As has been noted before, the beverage prices are outrageous at 10 euros for water or cola, imagine what the alcohol would cost. We also passed on the photo op. The show, an hour and a half with intermission, was enjoyed by the lady for the costumes and the precision and beauty of the dancers. The gentleman found the numbers overly long and, thus, boring. P-fly, a contortionist/dancer, added a bit of variety to the never-ending gyrations of the women. Our favorite acts were an upside downside routine with mirrors and a well-choreographed strip tease by a frantic business woman trying to cope with stock prices. As we attended this caberet the same day as the prostitution exhibit at the Musee dOrsay, the two experiences merged to our mutual delight. Special notice to the whips at both.

Doing what: Crazy Horse Cabaret in Paris

John H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This audio tour was disappointing for the following reasons
- the initial instructions at the tour company office were pretty vague
- the audio stick activation by pointing at a picture on a map is a novel idea but as we discovered has limitations. Also, the earbud headsets kept falling off and had to be held in place
- the map of the path to get from the tour office to the Musee d'Orsay was not correct I believe it was for another office... Also, the pictures of highlights along the path had very limited audio information.
- when we found the Musee d'Orsay we were able to skip the long line which was the best part of the tour
- once inside we discovered that about 1/2 the works of art illustrated in the tour's Musee d'Orsay floor maps were missing. Also, about 1/3 of the other works were not where the map indicated they would be. Finding the works that were there was further complicated because some of the pictures on the map illustrated only of part of the work of art. Because of all of this, our tour was very frustrating, lengthy and not very informative..
- I would suggest that Viator replace this tour with one that offers priority tickets to skip the line and then have the customer buy an audio tour from the Musee d'Orsay maybe at a reduced rate. These old fashion audio tours key on entering numbers associated with art works and no one seemed to be having any trouble. Also, they had working headsets, not earbuds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

Theodore S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great addition to our trip. Easy to find off a subway stop. Cut the line experience into the Louvre, Musee D Orsay and Rodin home worth the price. Didnt take full advantage of all the benefits but will next time in Paris

Doing what: Paris Pass

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent Tour. Led by an artist, Belen, my wife and I and another couple were taken on a journey through Time at the Louvre and Musee d'Orsay. We stopped for lunch between the museum visits at a restaurant in the Tuileries Gardens. Was provided with quick access to the museums, great direction to the key exhibits and received a deep understanding of what made each work of art significant and how the times impacted the respective artists. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Zadry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The port was very easy to find, it's right across the Musee D'Orsay. The food was good, nowhere near the best I had on our trip. But I will tell you that the experience was amazing. The service, the cruise and sights were definitely worth it.

Doing what: La Marina de Paris Seine River Cruise Including 3-Course Lunch or Dinner

Aretha C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even if you're going to Paris for the first time, I recommend this trip! Our tour guide, Tim, was smart, funny, and informative. The tour is a refreshing break from the over-populated tourist lines and must sees that at the end of the day leave you with a very removed perspective of the city. I booked this along side the Louvre, Notre Dame, Musee d'orsay, and the Eiffel Tower, and I think it's a good way to get a more holistic view of the city. The cheese and macaroons were great too.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Secret Sites and Hidden Gems

Justine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic way to see the all the main attractions, convenience of access to metro and bus tour allowed us to see the city in 2 days. Access to shorter lines for Musee D'Orsay and the Louvre is always a plus.

Doing what: Paris Pass

Robyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Although we only used the pass for the Louvre and Musee d'Orsay it was worth it to get fast track entry. You don't want to waste 2 hours in a queue, especially if it is raining!

Doing what: Paris Pass

Jojo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Amazing!! Santiago was a great tour guide showing and sharing with us stories that are not all from the internet or regular reading materials books, etc...kinda interesting account of the Mona Lisa and Leonardo da Vinci...haha..it was just unfortunate that we were'nt able to proceed in the afternoon tour at the Musee d Orsay because of the worker's strike...we understand though that this is an unforseen event and not within the control of the tour operator...thanks to Dario also for finding ways how to compensate however, we were already set to fly back to our country...we are glad though that we will be given a refund..thanks anyway..highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Cindy D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

YES YES, do Musee d'Orsay and Giverny, No, don't attempt to do them on the same day. You'll short change both.

Museum tour was postponed by a worker strike, but tour company handled a reschedule nicely with some confusion. Museum guide was knowledgeable and personable. We were rushed, though. Not enough time to stand back and take in the beauty of paintings we'd traveled thousands of miles to see. think National Lampoon's vacation and Chevy Chase at the Grand Canyon.

Giverny is incredible. Monet's home and gardens are well worth the drive. However, the tour left only enough time to quickly walk through. Also, very crowded, so the time was spent waiting to move through the site. No time left to enjoy the adorable little French village around the farm and gardens.

A little site / Monet information was provided by the guides on the bus prior to getting to Giverny, but the actual location was not guided. They made a big production of providing wireless communicators to all guests, but these were used for only a few moments, just to relay where entrance, exit and bathrooms were located. Then we needed to carry these devices with us for the sole purpose of returning them back on the bus. I think a little paper map would have sufficed and been less of a time sink.

The guides were very nice but had no concern for those at the back of the line. The tour company was very disorganized, crowded and chaotic. Even if you purchase tickets in advance, you only receive VOUCHERS for tickets. So all guests must stand in a very long line to trade those vouchers for the tickets that will let them get on the bus. No communication occurs between the ticketing personnel and the guides or drivers, so mis-information is the norm. It made the start of the tour exhausting, confusing and stressful. Buses were clean, modern and comfy.

I've used this local tour operator's affiliated tour co.s in other cities with great success. I was not impressed with Paris office.

Doing what: Paris Impressionism Art: Skip the Line Musée d'Orsay and Giverny Tour

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Having only three people in our tour made for a very personal experience. Amanda, our tour guide, was excellent. Her knowledge and delivery were amazing. She made the whole experience exciting. A very good way to experience the Louvre and d'Orsay, with a wonderful meal with new friends in between. I highly reommend this tour. It's a great way to miss the lines and enjoy a tour of these amazing masterpieces.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message