• USD ($)
  • English
The Musée d'Orsay houses a superb collection of French Impressionist and post-Impressionist works, making it a must-see for any art lover. The museum displays France's national collection of paintings, sculptures, objets ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Marion, our guide, gave us many intersting stories as we trekked through Monmartre by foot. Don't do this unless you are used to walking uphill. Part of the tour included going by Dalida- an Egytian singer's home; St. Denis' statue; an ancient vineyard; and a path bordering a philosopher's home which have nothing to do with Impressionist art. We were shown a street leading to Van Gogh's home but did not go there. We sldo stopped outside the studio where Picasso worked and lived for a time. we ended at the top of the hill at Sacre Coeur. The trickets to the Musee d'Orsay was great but only had 2 hours there by the time we took the Metro there.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

this was one of the best things we did on our t rip--guide was funny and knowledgeable and it was a lovely place to walk and learn. She gave us helpful advice for time on our own and very good information about the impressionists in Montmartre. Musee d'Orsay tickets were great to avoid the lines and this museum was very user friendly--sitting areas, crowd control--spacious.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Easy way to get around main sites in Paris - we travelled from Eiffel Tower to D'Orsay Museum then to Notre Dame and finally the Louvre. All very easy and nice boat!

Doing what: Seine River Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Cruise in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were met by an amazing young French women who was our guide for this tour. She was very informative, very patient, very charming, and we loved every minute of the time we spent with her. We are both in our sixties, and slow to move, and she was very responsive to our needs. The tour took us through the heart of Monmarte, and the commentary was fantastic. We are very interested in Impressionist Artists and this gave us a huge insight into the haunts and homes of these artists. Our tour guide then took us via the Metro the the Musee d'Orsay where we spent the remainder of the afternoon. Would highly recommend this wonderful walking tour of the most gorgeous part of Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was by far the best tour guide ever! Olivier was passionate, knowledgable and so energetic, it made the fact the we were in pouring rain and walking up hills actually enjoyable. Would not have been possible if not for this terrific young man! Only criticism is the fact that I saved going to the musee d'orsay for monday after Oliviers terrific tour because that is how it should be done- HOWEVER did not read the fine print which states that the museum is CLOSED on Mondays!!! Since was leaving the next day, could not utilize the tickets!! Good news is that they are good for one year and can be given to anyone BUT missed seeing this very important museum. So take the tour, request Olivier but not on a Monday unless you can go another day.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour was outstanding. Guide was so knowledgable and interesting. I am so sorry I didn't get his name so I could request him next time.
This was the best way to see the Musee d'Orsay!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

While there were so many things to see and do in the 48 hours, not having to stand in line at the louvre and musea d'orsay and river cruise saved us so much time which was well worth the cost. The on/ off bus is fantastic as a way to get your bearings. The metro pass was also well worth the cost as there was never a reason to look for change while racing to the station. Having to pick tHe pass up was somewhat annoying but we got to learn how to use the metro pretty quickly.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We began our Orsay tour outside with a wonderful tour guide who was very knowledgeable about the Museum and its art, as well as having a passion for it. He pressed through crowds to get us as close as possible to each piece he was discussing and used his time to explain the emergence of the Impressionist period from start to finish. I would have wanted it to go on for hours, as the two hour tour seemed like 30 minutes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful day with our terrific guide Dave Costigan. Easy bike ride, scenic picnic area and beautiful gardens...even in October! This tour made our visit to the Musée D'Orsay the next day even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Paris is a wonderful experience-and using Paris Pass makes it enormously better---but know these things. First, to pick up the pass, you need to go over by the Opera House area-for us across town. This is tricky because you want to get it on your first day--jet lag/not knowing the area. So I recommend you take a taxi, pick it up and enjoy that area of town for a bit. Then, READ THE BOOK. A wealth of information that will help you plan your trip. We had a four day pass. The bus and the boat ride helps orient you to the city, so do these early on. The passes to the museums make it amazing in avoiding the huge lines. Still go to the big museums EARLY. But we basically walked right in to the Lourve, L'Orsay, and a number of smaller ones. Don't miss Salvatore Dali's Museum in Montemonte-and take the little train ride---get the right train--around town. Go to Rodin's Museum. The pass does not cover the Eiffel Tower-so plan around that. And it does cover Versaille but not Marie Antionette's village in the back-so pay for this because it's wonderful. Hope this helps--incredible experience and Paris Pass made it easier, and cut the line times enormously giving us more time to---enjoy.

Doing what: Paris Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The shuttle driver, Dario, picked us up from our hotel at the scheduled time and amicably chatted with us as he navigated through traffic to bring us to the dock (across Musee d'Orsay). He walked us to the boat, gave us the tickets, and showed us where to meet up with him afterwards. We were seated next to the window and served a great meal (4 appetizers, a choice of entree, and 4 desserts, including a glass of wine). The cruise itself took about 1.5 hours and stopped for a few minutes near the Eiffel Tower so that people could take pictures. After the cruise, the driver picked us up and made a stop to pick up 2 other couples before bringing us to the Moulin Rouge show (you can't bring cameras inside so we left ours to the driver's care). There were 6 people sharing a table, which was about 2/3 from the center stage, and each couple was given a bottle of champagne. The 2-hour show was more entertaining than I thought! The great thing about this package is that after a long evening, we were promptly picked up around 11 pm across the theater and brought safely to our hotel. Truly worth it!!!

Doing what: Dinner Cruise with "La Marina de Paris" and Moulin Rouge Show

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

If you plan not to do anything else but museums all day for 2-4 days this's the way to go. You can only squeeze in 3 museums per day at the max as you definitely don't want to rush through the world best museums like musée du Louvre, musée d'orsay and musée de I’ Orangerie give at least 3hrs/museum.

Doing what: Paris Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful tour - although it was basically self-guided as we were driven there and given our entry tickets. The garden and house were terrific and one can see how Monet took much of his inspiration from this place and from the broader area. It was a great thing to do before seeing so many of his works at the Musee d'Orsay.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We had a really bad experience when we did this tour. Our pick up point was the Arsenal Marina, where we were the only ones waiting. We got there at the required time 15mins early and after asking for directions as the instructions said the boat should be right below and obvious to see. We were informed that its actually the 2nd pick-up point so the boat should be along soon. After waiting greater than 30mins for the boat I was starting to panic and then noted the boat finally coming (20mins late). So we moved down the bank towards the boat and were waiting at the only able pick up point. It soon became apparent it wasnt going to stop for us despite a lady working at the marina alerting the captain to 2 passangers waiting on the shore. So we began waving and shouting at the boat to no avail. We were left forgoten on the shore after wasting over an hr of our morning between walking to the pick up location and waiting. Unfortunatly of course it was also Sunday so when we rung the contact number on the piece of paper it was a message bank. After ringing the tour group the next day we didnt really get an apology they just said we could come another time if possible. So we did eventually do the tour which was nice, but a little long I guess and felt ripped off from wasting a morning of stressing. If you do this tour catch the boat from Musee d'orsay so you are not forgotten!

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This Tour was the perfect tour to get the information you needed and seeing the sights directly without wasting any time waiting in line or figuring out what you're looking at. We met up with the first guide in Paris outside of train station at Musee d'Orsay and she guided us all the way to Versailles where we met our second tour guide. She was very informative and patient. She gave us ample time to view sights and take pictures as well as giving us insightful information about the different areas of the garden and the palace itself. If there was one thing worth visiting while you're in Paris, I recommend taking this tour. The gardens are magnificent and breathtaking and the Hall of Mirrors was absolutely beautiful in all its sunlit grandeur. While there could have been more time spent exploring the gardens, the entire tour lasted about 3 hours and was the perfect amount of time to take in Versailles. Once the tour completed within the palace walls, you were free to explore the palace on your own or checkout the area. There are lots to see and do and it was absolutely great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message