Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée d'Orsay

The Musée d'Orsay houses a superb collection of French Impressionist and post-Impressionist works, making it a must-see for any art lover. The museum displays France's national collection of paintings, sculptures, objets d'art produced ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 505 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Terrific tour. Francesca a wonderful guide. Her love for the art shines through her great commentary. A pleasure to be in her company at the Orsay.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Christie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding! The highlight of our trip. However, with this kind of tour, the guide really makes it. Our guide Belen was superb. She had a passion and knowledge of art that took us on a journey through the ages, marrying the history of France with each piece of art we viewed. We started our journey at some point BC as we entered the Louvre and six hours later wound up in the early 20th century at the Musee d'Orsay. I would recommend everyone who visits Paris and has any interest in art take this tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

dschims

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice guide with a wealth of information to share about the Orsay history and art collection.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Grant R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Claudia, was very knowledgeable about the Musee d and #39;Orsay and guided us through the museum in a a way that highlighted, in chronological order, very nicely.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Syovata E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The times are restrictive despite the fact it's self guided. There's also still
A line. Finally, the biggest scam is that for 5 euros, the Musee d'Orsay gives you a much better self guided audio tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the most entertaining tour /walks that I have been on. The Montmartre neighborhood and it's past residents are well known and most interesting. Our guide Adele is an actress and entertainer, suddenly breaking out into song and dance with a je ne sais quoi.....engaging and emotive.
This is not so much an intensive art tour, but a vibrant neighborhood immersion. It should be mentioned that this is an uphill excursion ending at Sacre Coeur, perhaps the highest point in Paris! The ticket to the Musee d'Orsay not nearby! gets you in the members entrance. Useful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Angela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tina, our guide, was wonderful! She was extremely knowledgeable about the art and history and made the tour so very interesting. My two teenagers were enthralled with all the information. On top of that, Tina was friendly, personable, and flexible. She made the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay one of the hi-lights of our trip to Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Terry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Orsay Museum with our guide, Katrina. She was very knowledgeable and pleasant and took plenty of time with us to ensure that we saw everything and had all our questions answered. She was initially expecting a couple with a different name, but when her people didn't show up and our guide didn't either, she took the initiative to resolve the situation. We give Katrina very high marks!

Doing what: Skip the Line Orsay Museum Semi-Private Small Group Tour

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hillary is an awesome guide!! She is very knowledgeable in all aspects of art and art history. She was fun to be with and we enjoyed a lunch with her between the Louvre Museum tour and the Musee d Orsay tour. She was insightful and kept our attention throughout both tours. We cannot say enough about Hillary and hope you get her for your tour!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Emil E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great Tour, highly recommend it for introduction into the impressionist artists! The tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable! The Orsay museum is huge and the collections vast, one can spend days getting lost, it was great to be guided to iconic pieces of art that changed or defined the era.

Doing what: Skip the Line Orsay Museum Semi-Private Small Group Tour

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If you can do it, I highly recommend this tour. My tour guide, Belen was amazing and I spent a wonderful day in Paris on this tour. She gave me a great tour of Montmartre and Basilica Sacre Coeur that was rich with history. After lunch, we toured the Musee d'Orsay and while she explained the different styles of painting associated with the Impressionist genre. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musée d'Orsay & Montmartre Impressionist Walking Tour

Tiann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Paris Pass was perfect! It was all we needed to be able to see all of Paris in just 2 days. Minus the Eiffel Tower admissions We loved having so many options of places to see for free with this pass and the fast pass was amazing for The Louvre and Musée d'Orsay. We really enjoyed having the metro and bus pass included. Paris is a very large city and you will need to use the transportation to be able to see everything!
Also Viator is incredible as well! We will definitely use them again on our next trip!

Doing what: Paris Pass Including Entry to Over 60 Attractions

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was one of the highlights of our Paris visit. The cruise was beautiful! The food was excellent and so was the service! The only slight problem was finding the meeting place. It is not marked, we walked up and down the Seine, but then the river boat drove up, and we were in the right place all along. It is across the street from the Museum D' Orsay.

Doing what: La Marina de Paris Seine River Cruise Including 3-Course Lunch or Dinner

stbdabner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Belén was so informative in our tours of The Louvre and Musee d'Orsay. I not only learned about the works themselves, I learned of the different periods of art, how they progressed and how they influenced not only the art world but the world in general. My Father who is a bit more knowledgable than I, being a retired high school art teacher, thoroughly enjoyed himself. Excellent tour, educational and fun, thank you Belén!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were a group of 6 travelers and as it turned out we were the only ones on the tour so it was absolutely fantastic. We all enjoyed it very much and would recommend it. Our only problem was finding the meeting place which was by a subway entrance/exit. We were walking from the D'Orsay and had to ask a couple of policemen for directions. We eventually found our guide and he was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

elkev410

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

One of the best City Passes in Europe. You get unlimited transportation and free admission to all major museums such as the Louvre and d'orsay. The only thing that isn't cover is the Tour Eiffel.

Doing what: Paris Pass Including Entry to Over 60 Attractions

Jean Luc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guided tour of the Louvre and Museé dOrsay was excellent. It turned out to be private, because my husband and I were the only ones on it. This made it super special. Lilia was our guide and we were very lucky. We are not what you could consider into art people. She managed to keep it interesting by linking history to the paintings, sculptures and objects of art during the visit. Time flew away and before we knew it, the tour was over.
Starting at the Louvre and finishing at Museé dOrsay takes you from ancient to modern. She took us to see many of the famous pieces housed at these two wonderful museums Diana, Cupid and Physique, Venus, Monalisa, Van Goghs, and many others famous artists. She told us about their personal lives while admiring the pieces, which are intrinsically linked to who they were.
Half day to discover and admire these treasures is short. They contain so many pieces of art that a few days would be the rule. But if time is short while in Paris, we recommend this tour to wet your appetite and come back for more on your next visit to the City of Lights.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

celticrx

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The meeting place was quite a distance from the Tower and our group had difficulty getting there. Make sure you look at the meeting place and time and probably take a taxi directly there instead of the Tower. Also, be aware that there is no skip the line for the river cruise and you may have to wait there for a while. All in all though, it was still a kick to actually go up in the Eiffel Tower and to cruise the Seine and see some of the really famous sites -- the Louvre, the D'Orsay, Notre Dame, etc.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise

Denise G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The dinner cruise on the Seine River was wonderful. Food was good, plenty of wine and champagne for enjoyment. 3 hours is a good amount of time. The late evening tour is best because you can see the light show on the Eiffel Tower. The scene from the water is fabulous. You get a different perspective than a walking tour.
One recommendation - it was difficult to find the boat at the marina. There were several boats there and the directions don't give you an exact location. Across from the Musee D'Orsay there are dozens of boats. We had to call the booking agent to make sure we were in the right place. Other than that, it was fantastic.

Doing what: La Marina de Paris Seine River Cruise Including 3-Course Lunch or Dinner

Susan D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We met the guide outside the museum were she gave us the headsets and told us where the line was. When we asked her, she said she had never done the tour. The map kept indicating level I, level II, but inside the museum it was organized completely different. We followed the crowd and saw the monalisa, etc, but It was certainly not what we had envisioned. The only good thing was the Skip the Line. We did d'Orsay the next day and didn't even bother with the audio besides the fact they wanted to charge us something like 40 Euros as a deposit for the audio sticks. We just took the tickets and skipped the line.

Doing what: Louvre Skip-the-Line Ticket with Audio Guide

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took a private 2-day tour of Paris with Marion and could not have asked for a better tour guide or experience for a first-time trip there. Particularly given how much we wanted to see in a short amount of time, Marion allowed us to relax and enjoy the sites as well as to gain a deeper understanding of what we were seeing. We took along our 8 and 9-year old children and Marion was very patient with them explaining things in a way they could understand. They have a particular interest in art and Marion efficiently guided us through the Louvre and Orsay, as well as through the Montmartre neighborhood where many of the artists lived. This neighborhood around Sacre Coeur was a highlight of the tour. Marion kept us on schedule, but did not sacrifice any of the things we really wanted to see. Liz with Viator did a great job lining out our itinerary and listening to what we wanted to see rather than just giving us a standard list of sites to see. With Marion we were able to overcome the language barrier as well as efficiently traverse the city either by walking or by Metro. We got so comfortable with this that were able to handle the third day of our trip on our own with equal efficiency. We would recommend Marion to anyone looking to gain a deeper understanding of Paris, particularly as it relates to the arts. She also introduced us to new French pastries at Maison des Choux, and took to some sites we didn't even know about for great views and photo ops. This tour was a great way to start our stay in Paris.

Doing what: Private 2-Day Tour: Customize Your Perfect Stay in Paris

Malcolm F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We went on the walking tour last Saturday, and highly recommend it. The guide was outstanding punctual, friendly and knowlegable. She took us all around the area and to out of the way places. When the tour finished we had 'skip the line' tickets for the Musee d'Orsay. A great way to learn more about and enjoy Paris!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

TBatrik

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour in Notre Dame was wonderful and the tour guide was really friendly and knowledgeable. He gave us many information about the Notre-Dame and its surroundings.
The your in Musee d'Orsay was good but the tour guide was not worth the paying. Visiting the museum would have been the same if not better without him.
But both the cathedral and the museum must be visited if you are in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Notre-Dame Cathedral and Skip-the-Line Musée d’Orsay Tour

MICHAEL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lilia rocked! She knew the Musee d'Orsay inside and out. She was fantastic! Lilia was knowledgeable, agreeable and truly loves Paris! We learned so much in the 2 1/2 hour tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Orsay Museum Semi-Private Small Group Tour

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Belen was a joy! My wife and I were part of a tour with Belen that included another couple and a single woman. We were taken through the Louvre by Belen and she was able to cover alot of ground all while providing very interesting information abut the sculptures, the paintings and the building we were in. Belen walked us over to Musee d'Orsay and really came into her element. We had a wonderful time exploring the treasures of the museum. Belen was engaging, knowledgeable and funny. Belen made our day a complete pleasure!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum and Musée d’Orsay Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message