Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée d'Orsay

The Musée d'Orsay houses a superb collection of French Impressionist and post-Impressionist works, making it a must-see for any art lover. The museum displays France's national collection of paintings, sculptures, objets d'art produced ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 513 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samantha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Meander the streets, see some places that make you want to start painting and feel as though you have travelled back in time for a couple of hours! Resist the urge to jump on the Metro at the end and take your guide's advice about a different walking route back down before walking straight past the queue at Musee D'Orsay!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

joanneg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Do it. Made all the difference. We were in the D'Orsay in 10 minutes thru security. Only small negative was the long line at the Paris Tourist office to pick up the tickets. That added an extra 20 min, but still, faster in total than the 2 hour line at the museum

Doing what: Musée d'Orsay Skip-The-Line Ticket

Alanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of hills and stairs so not for the light walker. Great tour and the guide was fabulous. Used the Orsay ticket -- enjoyed the exhibition.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Rodney N F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The d'Orsay Museum was great and I would suggest that it is for the whole family. My wife and I would recommend this for viewing while in Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

Pfflyer635

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quentin our tour guide was fantastic giving us the history and artistry which is montmatre. He spent time with each person individually to personalize our tour. Our visit to Musee Dorsay the next day was much more rewarding filled with our knowledge from his tour. He used art from the museum as examples during his tour. Musee Dorsay has Van Goghs self portrait.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

joeandkerrie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Second time we have done this tour our guide was really good and informative, without the guide you would miss lots of things. The Musee d Orsay is also a must not as crowded as the Louvre but just as amazing would certainly to this again.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Tamara M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We booked this trip because we wanted to skip the entrance line. As it turned out, we went on a Friday morning in May, and the museum was pretty empty when we arrived. It got much busier as the day went on. We took the RER to the Musee d'Orsay stop, walked across the river to the Paris City Tours office to pick up our self-guided headsets, and then walked back to the museum. At the conclusion of our visit, we walked back across the river to the office to drop off the headsets and collect our deposit. It took us a few tries to figure out how the guides worked. You have a controller and a paper museum map that you get from Paris City Tours. You point your controller at the number on the paper map that corresponds with a specific piece of art. There are narratives for about 50 or 60 different works, and you can choose your language. The narratives are pretty informative, but limited to just those pieces, so you are on your own for the others. The museum itself is exceptional. It pretty much covers artwork - paintings and sculptures - from the 1850's through about 1910. We were very glad to have been able to see the Musee d'Orsay and not to stand in a long line. Others have mentioned that the audio guides rented from the museum itself are better, and we can't comment on that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

Yvonne Q

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I was very disappointed in this tour. It was supposedly a 3 hour tour of the Louvre but the guide talked way too much. We didn't even enter the Louvre until 7pm we met at 6:15 and the tour was supposed to begin at 6:30. I had thought we would see the most famous artworks contained at the Louvre. We were given a map which had pictures of 4 celebrated pieces on each of the 4 levels. Of these 16 we saw just 6.... We saw a lot of sculpture but not many paintings. The guide blathered on so much, telling jokes and talking about herself - we could have seen so much more in 3 hours if she had been succinct and stuck to the point! Because we went in the evening the museum was much less crowded which was great but we didn't have the opportunity to stay on after the tour to actually see some of the artworks we missed out on. I did a guided tour of Musee d'Orsay with a different tour company and it was so much better!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Terrific tour. Francesca a wonderful guide. Her love for the art shines through her great commentary. A pleasure to be in her company at the Orsay.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Christie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding! The highlight of our trip. However, with this kind of tour, the guide really makes it. Our guide Belen was superb. She had a passion and knowledge of art that took us on a journey through the ages, marrying the history of France with each piece of art we viewed. We started our journey at some point BC as we entered the Louvre and six hours later wound up in the early 20th century at the Musee d'Orsay. I would recommend everyone who visits Paris and has any interest in art take this tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

dschims

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice guide with a wealth of information to share about the Orsay history and art collection.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Grant R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Claudia, was very knowledgeable about the Musee d and #39;Orsay and guided us through the museum in a a way that highlighted, in chronological order, very nicely.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Syovata E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The times are restrictive despite the fact it's self guided. There's also still
A line. Finally, the biggest scam is that for 5 euros, the Musee d'Orsay gives you a much better self guided audio tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the most entertaining tour /walks that I have been on. The Montmartre neighborhood and it's past residents are well known and most interesting. Our guide Adele is an actress and entertainer, suddenly breaking out into song and dance with a je ne sais quoi.....engaging and emotive.
This is not so much an intensive art tour, but a vibrant neighborhood immersion. It should be mentioned that this is an uphill excursion ending at Sacre Coeur, perhaps the highest point in Paris! The ticket to the Musee d'Orsay not nearby! gets you in the members entrance. Useful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Angela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tina, our guide, was wonderful! She was extremely knowledgeable about the art and history and made the tour so very interesting. My two teenagers were enthralled with all the information. On top of that, Tina was friendly, personable, and flexible. She made the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay one of the hi-lights of our trip to Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Terry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Orsay Museum with our guide, Katrina. She was very knowledgeable and pleasant and took plenty of time with us to ensure that we saw everything and had all our questions answered. She was initially expecting a couple with a different name, but when her people didn't show up and our guide didn't either, she took the initiative to resolve the situation. We give Katrina very high marks!

Doing what: Skip the Line Orsay Museum Semi-Private Small Group Tour

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hillary is an awesome guide!! She is very knowledgeable in all aspects of art and art history. She was fun to be with and we enjoyed a lunch with her between the Louvre Museum tour and the Musee d Orsay tour. She was insightful and kept our attention throughout both tours. We cannot say enough about Hillary and hope you get her for your tour!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Emil E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great Tour, highly recommend it for introduction into the impressionist artists! The tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable! The Orsay museum is huge and the collections vast, one can spend days getting lost, it was great to be guided to iconic pieces of art that changed or defined the era.

Doing what: Skip the Line Orsay Museum Semi-Private Small Group Tour

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If you can do it, I highly recommend this tour. My tour guide, Belen was amazing and I spent a wonderful day in Paris on this tour. She gave me a great tour of Montmartre and Basilica Sacre Coeur that was rich with history. After lunch, we toured the Musee d'Orsay and while she explained the different styles of painting associated with the Impressionist genre. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musée d'Orsay & Montmartre Impressionist Walking Tour

Tiann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Paris Pass was perfect! It was all we needed to be able to see all of Paris in just 2 days. Minus the Eiffel Tower admissions We loved having so many options of places to see for free with this pass and the fast pass was amazing for The Louvre and Musée d'Orsay. We really enjoyed having the metro and bus pass included. Paris is a very large city and you will need to use the transportation to be able to see everything!
Also Viator is incredible as well! We will definitely use them again on our next trip!

Doing what: Paris Pass Including Entry to Over 60 Attractions

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was one of the highlights of our Paris visit. The cruise was beautiful! The food was excellent and so was the service! The only slight problem was finding the meeting place. It is not marked, we walked up and down the Seine, but then the river boat drove up, and we were in the right place all along. It is across the street from the Museum D' Orsay.

Doing what: La Marina de Paris Seine River Cruise Including 3-Course Lunch or Dinner

stbdabner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Belén was so informative in our tours of The Louvre and Musee d'Orsay. I not only learned about the works themselves, I learned of the different periods of art, how they progressed and how they influenced not only the art world but the world in general. My Father who is a bit more knowledgable than I, being a retired high school art teacher, thoroughly enjoyed himself. Excellent tour, educational and fun, thank you Belén!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were a group of 6 travelers and as it turned out we were the only ones on the tour so it was absolutely fantastic. We all enjoyed it very much and would recommend it. Our only problem was finding the meeting place which was by a subway entrance/exit. We were walking from the D'Orsay and had to ask a couple of policemen for directions. We eventually found our guide and he was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

elkev410

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

One of the best City Passes in Europe. You get unlimited transportation and free admission to all major museums such as the Louvre and d'orsay. The only thing that isn't cover is the Tour Eiffel.

Doing what: Paris Pass Including Entry to Over 60 Attractions

Jean Luc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guided tour of the Louvre and Museé dOrsay was excellent. It turned out to be private, because my husband and I were the only ones on it. This made it super special. Lilia was our guide and we were very lucky. We are not what you could consider into art people. She managed to keep it interesting by linking history to the paintings, sculptures and objects of art during the visit. Time flew away and before we knew it, the tour was over.
Starting at the Louvre and finishing at Museé dOrsay takes you from ancient to modern. She took us to see many of the famous pieces housed at these two wonderful museums Diana, Cupid and Physique, Venus, Monalisa, Van Goghs, and many others famous artists. She told us about their personal lives while admiring the pieces, which are intrinsically linked to who they were.
Half day to discover and admire these treasures is short. They contain so many pieces of art that a few days would be the rule. But if time is short while in Paris, we recommend this tour to wet your appetite and come back for more on your next visit to the City of Lights.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message