Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée de l'Orangerie

Like most museums in Europe, the Musée de l'Orangerie in Paris wasn't always an art space. As its name would imply, its original purpose in the 19th century was to house the orange trees away from winter weather. Later, it was used for just ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

donnard_sturgis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a complete delight it really felt like a good friend showing me his home town. Alex, my guide, was very knowledgeable, and personalized the tour to my interests. If you love to walk then I highly recommend this way of exploring Paris. It began with Notre Dame and ended with the Louvre. Alex left me with plenty of options to continue to discover the delights of Paris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our experience was entirely dependent upon Harriet, our guide, who was incredibly knowledgeable, passionate about French history and art and coud not have been more charming and personable. There wasn't a question I asked that she couldn't answer and the color and context she gave to every point of interest and certainly, our tour through the Louvre, absolutely made the tour for me and my 17 year old as well. She was a gift on our trip - and I would highly recommend requesting her if that's possible. This is a great first day walking tour to take - to acquaint yourself with the history and points in time as you begin your stay in Paris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Frank D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Marie is an excellent guide with a great knowledge of art and a sparkling personality. She is a credit to the guide industry of Paris, and specifically Monmartre.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Karin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved our guide Anna. Beautiful part of Paris, definitely shouldn't miss it. Great recommendation for lunch from Anna as well.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

angchie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide patiently waited for us in front of the train station. Good thing this was a private tour so we were the only ones she's waiting on. Our guide knows quite a bit of facts and place of interests. She was also helping us with our baby stroller. She was patient and didn't mind going over time. Weather permitting, this tour is great for all ages. You get to put things in perspective.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

caseylupton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide Romain was fabulous. He was well prepared with stories and photos of the art that he talked about. We went to many houses and workshops of famous painters. He could sing very well and did some Edith Piaf and others. Very knowledgeable guide. It was very cold and rainy on our tour but it didn't phase him and he carried on in spite of the fact that it was such a dismal day. We would highly recommend this tour and guide to a fantastic part of Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Sara

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This tour seemed a little overpriced and underwhelming. We expected much more from our guide for the pricing of this tour.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Erin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was amazing and our tour guide was outstanding! Chris was so knowledgeable about Paris and it's history and his passion for the city was infectious. He also made the tour of the Louve exceptional. I would highly recommend this tour and ask for Chris!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our personal guide was funny and very knowledgeable. It was great to be able to tailor the tour to our liking and to not have to fight for position in a group to ask questions and hear the answers.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were so lucky enough to be in Montmartre on a rainy day and have a very customized tour for us. My husband and I met our amazing guide Claire at the bottom of the hill in Montmartre, from there she took us to see where Van Gogh lived, where Picasso used to work and funny stories about the village itself. We absolutely loved Claire, she was insightful, well-educated about the area and full of life. We were sorry to leave her. In all, I give this tour two thumbs up!

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is a must. Selina was an amazing guide. Not only was the whole experience relaxed and highly informative, but the paintings especially were absolutely incredible. Be prepared for a lot of walking.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Kimberly K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Randa was an amazing tour guide. She was very knowledgeable not only about the sites we were seeing, but the museums and all of Paris. We got lucky and were her only clients that day, so had a private tour which allowed us to ask a lot of questions. When we finished she also had great recommends for the rest of our stay in Paris. Wonderful!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

IRENE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Harryette was very knowledgeable, pleasant, interesting tour guide that we ever met before.We would definitely recommend her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

themrsrev2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the highlight of our trip to Paris. For anyone visiting Paris for the first time this trip is essential.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

CM L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Berdine our guide was well educated. Her knowledge on her subject matter was extraordinaire. Would recommend her to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Gisell and Sean United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was amazing, we went on this beautiful tour and our guide was this young 21 year old guy and he was amazing. He knew everything about Paris and its history. After the walking tour we went off to see the museums on our own. We walked so much but it was all worth it. Book this now!!

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Juan Carlos G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would toward guide Chris was phenomenal. He was extremely knowledgeable. One of the best experiences I had on this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Lewis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

this the best part, our guide Hari..was on time and knowledgeable. skip the line is the way to go with the added expense, The paper said to meet in the Place Louie NOT out in front so we stood in line to go into the police station for a look around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was one of my favorite tours. Daryl, my tour guide, was very knowledgeable and nice. I learned a lot and really enjoyed walking through this part of Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Jeff M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our Tour Guides were Lilia and Dario. They were both excellent.
Could not have wanted more from our tours.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

steve balmer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent we had a private guide who was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

mikewsc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Got to museum. No one there knew where our tour was. Were able to get in and tour on our own, which of course we could have done without Viator. Called the contact number and the emergency number and never got an answer. Our other two tours were fine but could have been booked directly. My advice wouldbe to do alittle research on the web and book tours directly with the entitty.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Hali M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour guide was not great in English and had trouble talking so we could understand and often fumbled over words that we got little out of her chatter ! She was not there in time and we had to call her up. No tullieries on tour. Very big rip off ! Cost under $20 both admissions pd. $388! Unhappy!

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message