Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée de l'Orangerie

Like most museums in Europe, the Musée de l'Orangerie in Paris wasn't always an art space. As its name would imply, its original purpose in the 19th century was to house the orange trees away from winter weather. Later, it was used for just ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Found the first part of tour disappointing as walked to the gallery and not given a tour by the guide just left at the gallery which took approx 1 hour to go through and next part of tour not until around 3 hrs later. The gardens part of the tour was not long enough as lots to see. Could have spent a lot longer there. Would not do tour again but definitely would go to Monet gardens.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I recently made our first visit to Paris. We love the Impressionists, so we decided that the theme of our visit would be art. The Impressionist Art Tour exceeded our expectations. Our guide, Fred, was a delight. We highly recommend this tour to anyone who loves art, beautiful gardens and good food. We plan to book another Viator tour on our next visit!

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my favorite tour during my trip to France. Our tour guide, Frank, was informative, fun, and accommodating. The pace of the trip was good, and allowed for plenty of exploration at both stops. Would highly recommend this tour and guide.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a lovely day--definitely the tour to book to see and understand Monet and his work! Loved every minute. The skip the line passes are the only way to go!!!

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I love the paintings of Claude Monet, knowing his house and the garden that inspired his paintings was a wonderful experience. However I think it was too much time to do it. I think a combination of Versailles and Giverny can have the best of both places in one day.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great way to experience Monet and his masterpiece!

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was above and beyond in getting us around and giving us the information we needed to know to get the most out of our day.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I nearly cancelled as i could not print my ticket and the 'helpline' put fear of god that no printed paper no tour. This was rubbish! If you book you are on the system... Simple. The tour was good, too crowded to enjoy and there was no information in the house. I think the guides do a good job

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

Sylvia A
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

You walk to the Orangerie Musee through the Tuillary Gardens, which is nice, the gallery is worth the visit.
Giverny was great even though there were hundreds of people there, the gardens were fantastic.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Relaxed and informative way to see Giverny in particular. Hotel Pickup and drop off made it an easy way to get to all three places. Guide used the driving time to provide excellent commentary of surroundings as well as the things we would see. Very well informed and responsive to our particular interests. Giverny gardens crowded but magical to see in spring. House well worth a visit. Superb lunch and location at Chatou. Musee de l' Orangerie made nice finishing touch to a satisfying day

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good trip and nice to do at the same time. Very crowded and a bit rushed but glad we did it.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The Musee and Monet's place are magnificent--a great combination of activities. I only wish Viator did a better job of presenting them. About all they did of value was get us into l'Orangerie ahead of the line and provide a bus to Giverny. We were essentially on our own in both places and the commentary they provided on the bus was infuriatingly inaudible. For a person who makes a living from communicating with people the guide showed little ability or concern in this regard. Moreover, they allowed much too much time between the morning museum tour and the departure for Giverny, making the time at Giverny rushed. The interval was for lunch, but we could have had 3 lunches and time left over! I'd rather have a box lunch on the bus and do more in Giverny. We booked this to make our day easier as first timers to Paris. I recommend buying tickets in advance to the 2 locations and taking the train on your own. Viator was not a value add.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Absolutely disappointed: It is very badly organised and tour guides are the worst I've ever came across. You'd enjoy it more if you do it yourself without any tour, this one basically just provides transport, during 9 hours tour, 20-30 mins is guided!
The tour started with 10 mins delay, a young lady walked us to Musee de l'Orangerie in silence, we ask what was a huge glass building and she had no idea at all! She bought us tickets, told us to get back to the tour office and wait for the second part of the so called "Tour" and then left us. The museum has an amazing permanent collection and a temporary one. There was no time to visit the temporary collection which is a shame. If you're lucky you might hear wonderful stories of the masterpieces from other tour guide, which you'd miss with this tour, shame! We rushed through lunch to find our way back to the tour office, then waited for 20 mins and only accidentally heard someone making the last call for the bus leaving for Giverny!!! Then we joined a crowd of 40+ people on a full bus with two guides.
The Spanish guide seemed much more informed than the English one and she said lots of stories of Impressionist painters stories which the English guide missed totally!!! When we finally made it there, they walked us to the house, dragged the whole group to the front of a very long queue for the house, gave us wrong instructions to find our way back to the bus and left to smoke! We had two hours to see the house and garden, 30 mins spent just waiting in the queue.
Thanks to the wrong instruction, we ran hard not to miss the bus then waited 20 mins as the rest of the people finally made it back. Poor guys were shamed and then shushed by those awful guides when they asked why the guides couldn't wait for the people at the house or at least gave them correct instructions.
Overall, it is an over-priced and badly organised tour with worst guides. In 9 hours tour, 20-30 mins is guided, I wish I've done it on my own!

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Breathtaking! Monet's house and garden in Giverny was picture perfect and amazing! We had a perfect Spring day, all flowers were in full colour and bloom. The water garden was spectacular. The museum was also gorgeous and I was blown away by the magnificent beauty of Monet's waterlilies. Absolutely love!

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

Michelle E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely superb day. Really organised and on time. Excellent walk through gardens and home followed by a glorious lunch together afterwards. The cruise was fabulous too and really informative. All up, I would thoroughly recommend to anyone interested in a day of Monet and Impressionism.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message