Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée de l'Orangerie

Like most museums in Europe, the Musée de l'Orangerie in Paris wasn't always an art space. As its name would imply, its original purpose in the 19th century was to house the orange trees away from winter weather. Later, it was used for just ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sara

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This tour seemed a little overpriced and underwhelming. We expected much more from our guide for the pricing of this tour.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Erin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was amazing and our tour guide was outstanding! Chris was so knowledgeable about Paris and it's history and his passion for the city was infectious. He also made the tour of the Louve exceptional. I would highly recommend this tour and ask for Chris!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our personal guide was funny and very knowledgeable. It was great to be able to tailor the tour to our liking and to not have to fight for position in a group to ask questions and hear the answers.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were so lucky enough to be in Montmartre on a rainy day and have a very customized tour for us. My husband and I met our amazing guide Claire at the bottom of the hill in Montmartre, from there she took us to see where Van Gogh lived, where Picasso used to work and funny stories about the village itself. We absolutely loved Claire, she was insightful, well-educated about the area and full of life. We were sorry to leave her. In all, I give this tour two thumbs up!

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is a must. Selina was an amazing guide. Not only was the whole experience relaxed and highly informative, but the paintings especially were absolutely incredible. Be prepared for a lot of walking.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Kimberly K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Randa was an amazing tour guide. She was very knowledgeable not only about the sites we were seeing, but the museums and all of Paris. We got lucky and were her only clients that day, so had a private tour which allowed us to ask a lot of questions. When we finished she also had great recommends for the rest of our stay in Paris. Wonderful!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

IRENE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Harryette was very knowledgeable, pleasant, interesting tour guide that we ever met before.We would definitely recommend her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

themrsrev2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the highlight of our trip to Paris. For anyone visiting Paris for the first time this trip is essential.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

CM L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Berdine our guide was well educated. Her knowledge on her subject matter was extraordinaire. Would recommend her to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Gisell and Sean United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was amazing, we went on this beautiful tour and our guide was this young 21 year old guy and he was amazing. He knew everything about Paris and its history. After the walking tour we went off to see the museums on our own. We walked so much but it was all worth it. Book this now!!

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Juan Carlos G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would toward guide Chris was phenomenal. He was extremely knowledgeable. One of the best experiences I had on this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Lewis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

this the best part, our guide Hari..was on time and knowledgeable. skip the line is the way to go with the added expense, The paper said to meet in the Place Louie NOT out in front so we stood in line to go into the police station for a look around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was one of my favorite tours. Daryl, my tour guide, was very knowledgeable and nice. I learned a lot and really enjoyed walking through this part of Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Jeff M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our Tour Guides were Lilia and Dario. They were both excellent.
Could not have wanted more from our tours.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

steve balmer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent we had a private guide who was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

mikewsc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Got to museum. No one there knew where our tour was. Were able to get in and tour on our own, which of course we could have done without Viator. Called the contact number and the emergency number and never got an answer. Our other two tours were fine but could have been booked directly. My advice wouldbe to do alittle research on the web and book tours directly with the entitty.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Hali M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour guide was not great in English and had trouble talking so we could understand and often fumbled over words that we got little out of her chatter ! She was not there in time and we had to call her up. No tullieries on tour. Very big rip off ! Cost under $20 both admissions pd. $388! Unhappy!

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Maria Angelica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent. Alexander lead our tour masterfully. All four of us, aged 12-47, loved the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Sarah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Randa was a fun, extremely knowledgable tour guide in Paris. The tour was only 3 hours but we packed a fair bit in. There's so much to see in Paris but this gives you a fairly Good base and the tour of the Louvre is really good also. Thanks !

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Louise's Birthday

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a special trip to Paris as it was my daughter's 21st birthday and her first visit to Paris. Alex our guide could not have been more interesting, congenial, professional. He is a great story teller and showed us many hidden secrets in Paris!! The Louvre can be overwhelming and if you do not have as much time as you need to do it justice, please have Alex take you through it. He showed us many pieces, aspects and areas that most tourists don't see or even know about. He certainly captured the imagination and attention of two 21 year olds who didn't look at their iPhones for several hours!! Thank you, Alex!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour-- we really enjoyed Alex as a tour guide. He was extremely knowledgeable and really put the history of the city into context for us. His knowledge of art history was also great since the tour ended in the Louvre. Fantastic tour-- highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

G W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

fantastic trip. Phillipa as our guide. Morning spent walking old city tailored to our interests with great stories linking places. Picnic lunch where we could chat with Phillipa about all sorts of issues and then 2 hour personal tour of Louvre. as first time visitors to Louvre only way to go as get a feeling for the place, get to see highlights but also start to understand the "why" of the place. Great value and highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

anita

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Had Randa as our guide, and private it was!!! Just myself and my daughter what a great tour! Did the area around Notre Dame and the cathedral then skip the line Louvre and the top 10 or so displays with great info for each. Many thanks for sending us to enjoy the BEST hot choclat ever!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Historical Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum with Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message