• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée de l'Orangerie

Like most museums in Europe, the Musée de l'Orangerie in Paris wasn't always an art space. As its name would imply, its original purpose in the 19th century was to house the orange trees away from winter weather. Later, it was used for just ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely superb day. Really organised and on time. Excellent walk through gardens and home followed by a glorious lunch together afterwards. The cruise was fabulous too and really informative. All up, I would thoroughly recommend to anyone interested in a day of Monet and Impressionism.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Celine was fabulous, so knowledgeable and very personable! It was a beautiful day and we enjoyed the boat ride and our guide on the boat was wonderful as well. It was a peaceful day and we could see why Monet spent his days painting in the beautiful Giverny.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great trip with a great guide

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very good for people who appreciate art, particularly paintings. The tour involves a lot of walking, so those who would like to take the tour should be physically fit.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very comprehensive tour to combine Musee de l'Orangerie and Giverny on the same day.
Opportunity to fully appreciate Monet's paintings and the inspiration that he got from his garden.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Best tour in Paris and well worth it!! Enrique was an amazing guide and gave us the history of Giverny on the ride to Monet's house and gardens. Once we got there, he took pictures of us and walked us through the gardens. Then we went to lunch..and ended the day on the Seine....

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really loved this tour. It was publicised as a small group tour and it transpired that there were only three participants plus the very lovely guide. We cannot emphasise enough the enjoyment of the Giverny property and the excellent intimate lunch at Chatou. The final aspects were not quite as captivating but certainly very informative. Highly recommended for Impressionist enthusiasts.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was incredible. He was friendly, conversational and knowledgeable. Monet's house is worth the visit and the garden is like walking through a painting. Lunch was amazing, again like being in a painting. Unfortunately, l'Orangerie was closed due to electrical problems but we were able to return another day. What an amazing musee. Ii loved this tour and would do it again.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

our guide named Francois was informative, friendly, and a joy to be with. The museum was spectacular. Loved the Giverney tour as well

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Musée de l'Orangerie, Monet's Gardens and Giverny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour to Giverny was everything we had hoped for. Our guide was on time and very friendly. His english was very good and easy to understand. During the ride to Giverny he gave us lots of history of Monet, the house and gardens. We arrived early and enjoyed a walk through the gardens before the tour buses arrived. The gardens are wonderful and so enjoyable to walk through at your own pace. The house is very interesting - loved the kitchen! We had lunch at a pretty place overlooking the Seine. The drive back to Paris through the country side was very pretty. It was nice to have a quiet drive out of the busy city. We throughly enjoyed the Musee de l'Orangerie. The river cruise tour guide was hard to understand. She would comment in French then English. The noise from the boat made it hard to hear. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic guide. Delightful tour. Enjoyed the lunch venue. And having an almost personalised river se ine guide was gorgeous. Learnt so much in the day.

Doing what: Impressionist Art Tour: Giverny, Chatou and Musée de l'Orangerie

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message