Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Cathedral

If Paris has a heart, then this is it. The cathedral of Notre Dame (Cathédrale de Notre Dame de Paris) is not only a masterpiece of French Gothic architecture, but has also been Catholic Paris' ceremonial focus for seven centuries. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mvautrot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderful tour of Paris. Paj was an enthusiastic guide and made me, at 67 years old, see art in a whole different way. Her descriptions and explanations were spectacular. Some of the artifacts she described in Notre Dame Cathedral helped me to understand my religous beliefs better. The Eiffel Tower was a repeat for me, but the lunch was a new experience--fantastic! I also enjoyed riding on the bateau bus. An excellent beginning to a week in this wonderful city.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

BabyBluesMomof4 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide on January 16, 2016, was exceptional! She had been a tour guide for over 30 years and she was excellent at sharing her vast knowledge of the Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Seine River, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Truly an amazing day! Thank you!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Nick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Want to see Notre Dame Cathedral? This is the way to do it. A must.
Awesome. Perfect guide with all the history info. No waits anywhere. Amazing views from the top. The bells. Lots of stairs, but worth the exercises to the top.
Highly recommended. Loved it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide from Citywalk tours. Very knowledgeable about the history of ile de la cite and the artifacts within Notre Dame Cathedral. We did not skip the line to get into the cathedral but line moved quickly, so it didn't take long. Perhaps, skip the line was for Tower tour, which I booked but didn't do as weather was too cold and windy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Roslyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It should be noted that there is a lot of walking in this tour and there are stairs to be dealt with as well.

We started our tour by entering the Louvre from the underground shopping mall that we had no idea was even there. As we were led by tour leader, we entered free of the normal queues. We toured the Louvre for a good couple of hours and we did see the Mona Lisa and the Venus de Milo along with hundreds of other items. The museums at the Louvre are worthy of days of touring and can not possibly be accomplished in just two or three hours, but you do get a taste of what there is to see.

We made our way to the River Batobus where we began our river cruise up to the Eiffel Tower. When we got to the Tower we again skipped past most of the queue of people at the Tower and went straight up to the 58 Tower Restaurant where we had a very nice lunch. We were given another 90 minutes or so to eat lunch and walk up the Tower stairs to the sightseeing level you can actually pay an additional fee to take the elevator that takes you to the very top if you wish and if there is time. After the Tower, we got back on the River Batobus and slowly made our way back past the Louvre and then up the River to the Notre Dame Cathedral were we were provided with a very nice tour of the Cathedral.

We then opted to walk back to our hotel from the Cathedral so that we could get ready for our Seine River Cruise tour that we were taking that evening. The rest of the tour got back on the Batobus and returned to the River Batobus original departure point near the Louvre. This was just a couple of blocks from the original morning meeting point.

We booked both the daytime Pairs in One Day Sightseeing Tour and the Seine River Cruise, Paris Illuminations and Dinner nighttime Tour all for the same day. That's a lot of tours for one day but we felt that it was worth it.

Overall, we felt that this was a very nice tour and we highly would recommend it to others.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Cheryl C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

It was fun to see the iconic buildings from the river. The view of Notre Dame Cathedral was terrific! For a good overview of the city we thought the bus trip might be better.

Doing what: Seine River Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Cruise in Paris

ETHEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Another awesome tour. We booked all our tours through Viator and were so glad we did. Every one of them was everything we expected it to be and more. Notre Dame Cathedral was just beautiful. So glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Historical Paris Sightseeing Tour Including Notre Dame Cathedral

JANNETTE V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WOW. What a great experience. Tour guide was excellent. She knew every single aspect of the Notre Dame Cathedral. The Cathedral is impressive and we had a great time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thought this was a coach tour. But it is a walking tour. Great tour, our tour guide Joanna was great. Started at the Louvre Museum, and so good to do this tour otherwise would take you weeks to go through. We skipped the line, and our guide showed us the main things of point of interest. Best way to see this museum. Travelled down the Seine River, admiring the sites on a beautiful day. Got to the Eiffel tower and again skipped the line, had a really nice 3 course lunch and coffee, drinks for free on Level 1 restaurant. Took photos, plenty of time to go higher if you want. Then back on the Seine and went to see Notre Dame Cathedral, worth every cent, this is a must, skipping the line and seeing the main sites of Paris. Viator only way to book.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Isabelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Felix, our guide, knew so much information! He was great! The tour, to learn Paris' history, was really worth it! Notre Dame Cathedral was beautiful and the view from the top was spectacular!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Glenn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed our tour of the Ile de la Cite and our tour of the Notre Dame Cathedral. Our guide was very good and explained many things about Paris and the Cathedral that we had not read before. I would highly recommend this tour to first time visitors to Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The guide was very informative. We bypassed many lines and the lunch and dinner were great experiences! I do wish we had a little more time at Notre Dame Cathedrale as we could only take pictures from outside and didn't get a chance to go in because there was a long line outside.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The guide was very informative. We bypassed many lines and the lunch and dinner were great experiences! I do wish we had a little more time at Notre Dame Cathedrale as we could only take pictures from outside and didn't get a chance to go in because there was a long line outside.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The guide was very informative. We bypassed many lines and the lunch and dinner were great experiences! I do wish we had a little more time at Notre Dame Cathedrale as we could only take pictures from outside and didn't get a chance to go in because there was a long line outside.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The guide was very informative. We bypassed many lines and the lunch and dinner were great experiences! I do wish we had a little more time at Notre Dame Cathedrale as we could only take pictures from outside and didn't get a chance to go in because there was a long line outside.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The guide was very informative. We bypassed many lines and the lunch and dinner were great experiences! I do wish we had a little more time at Notre Dame Cathedrale as we could only take pictures from outside and didn't get a chance to go in because there was a long line outside.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The guide was very informative. We bypassed many lines and the lunch and dinner were great experiences! I do wish we had a little more time at Notre Dame Cathedrale as we could only take pictures from outside and didn't get a chance to go in because there was a long line outside.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

snowmanfl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour allowed me to surprise my wife with what turned out to be one of the highlights of our 9 day trip to Paris! The guide, David Jornet and the photographer, Anne Sylvaine, led us on a magical 2 hours around the Notre Dame Cathedral. We have received the photos and they are all great.

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

Joyce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I'm not at all sure how this happened but my husband and I ended up with a nearly private tour of Notre Dame Cathedral and the surrounding area. Our Viator tour was conducted through Paris City Wonders and Davor, our tour guide, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and informative and made our tour most enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Isaac R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Violette, was great. The wine tasting was a highlight. It is a nice walk. I would recommend adding a 10 to 15 walk into the Notre Dame Cathedral.

Doing what: Heart of Paris Tour: Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cite with wine tasting

Jeffrey N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Liked the tour ... especially Notre Dame Cathedral . . . wish it included Sainte Chapelle too

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Roger N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide, Avi, provided an excellent tour of Notre Dame Cathedral and the walking tour of the area was informative and entertaining. He really knew his information and answered all our questions. It was a pleasure going on a tour with him.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

josephmrees

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The guide was experienced but a little hard to understand. The was compounded by the radio headphones which constantly cut in and out throughout the day but became useless most of the time. The tour was to the Louvre, Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame. The tour ended at Notre Dame Cathedral however at no time were we told that the tour would end there and you would have to make your own way back. For visitors to a foreign city it should be made known to you beforehand.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

jwheelerusmc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic tour!! Our tour guide Lindsey was absolutely amazing. She was extremely knowledgeable about the entire Ile de la Cite as well as Notre Dame Cathedral. She is the reason our tour was absolutely wonderful. After our tour ended, we walked around Ile de la Cite because we wanted to explore the island and some of the other sites/buildings/bridges she told us about during the tour. We highly recommend this tour, especially if Lindsey is the guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

kelley

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour was worth doing, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun - a young woman originally from Philadelphia. She shared stories of French History and gave many insights into life in Paris and France both historically and present day. We truly enjoyed the walking tour of Ile de la Cite which honestly was an added bonus as we were initially just interested in seeing the Cathedral and going in the Tower. Our guide explained much of the architecture of the Cathedral, and its place in the French Revolution, as well as present day events. Walking up the Tower gave an incredible view of the city, not to be missed. And I loved the gargoyles! Please note: the Skip the Line is only for entrance to the Tower, not Notre Dame Cathedral.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message