Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Cathedral

If Paris has a heart, then this is it. The cathedral of Notre Dame (Cathédrale de Notre Dame de Paris) is not only a masterpiece of French Gothic architecture, but has also been Catholic Paris' ceremonial focus for seven centuries. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic tour!! Our tour guide Lindsey was absolutely amazing. She was extremely knowledgeable about the entire Ile de la Cite as well as Notre Dame Cathedral. She is the reason our tour was absolutely wonderful. After our tour ended, we walked around Ile de la Cite because we wanted to explore the island and some of the other sites/buildings/bridges she told us about during the tour. We highly recommend this tour, especially if Lindsey is the guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour was worth doing, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun - a young woman originally from Philadelphia. She shared stories of French History and gave many insights into life in Paris and France both historically and present day. We truly enjoyed the walking tour of Ile de la Cite which honestly was an added bonus as we were initially just interested in seeing the Cathedral and going in the Tower. Our guide explained much of the architecture of the Cathedral, and its place in the French Revolution, as well as present day events. Walking up the Tower gave an incredible view of the city, not to be missed. And I loved the gargoyles! Please note: the Skip the Line is only for entrance to the Tower, not Notre Dame Cathedral.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was very good and spoke English very well. We started out in Lle de la Cite in front of the police station and had not gone far when the mounted police on their horses crossed the street in front of us. Our guide said this was vary rare to get to see them. We then walked by the Seine river and were able to see the police practicing water rescue in the River. We toured Notre Dame Cathedral and were so glad we purchased the "skip the line ticket" to go up in the towers. The line to enter was very long and we were able to arrive and go up with no waiting. We had happy faces and the people in line had sad faces!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mind blowing. Notre Dame cathedral a must see.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was given by Nati. She was one of the best tour guide we had. Nati went above and beyond to epxlain all the art pieces and history. She was opened for all types of questions and she was very friendly.This tour was awesome from the Louvre museum to the Eiffel tower to the Notre Dame Cathedral. This was also the city i got engaged in, so it will always be special.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

There were just 4 in our tour group. The guide did not introduce herself to us or ask us where we from. The guide was very knowledgeable on all sites we visited and spoke very clearly. We had enough spare time to explore on our own. The lunch at the Eiffel Tower was excellent as was the seine river boat ride to Notre Dame Cathedral. We used the priority entrance at the Louvre so no line ups. Similarly at the Eiffel Tower, we had priority boarding on the elevators....saved us a lot of time. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful excursion, but once again the tour guide(I believe from the same company that took us on our Versailles trip) took back our headphones once we arrived at Notre Dame cathedral saying the headsets were needed elsewhere. The headsets were certainly needed in Notre Dame and we all missed a lot of the details because we were not able to hear her.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour was replaced by a tour around the city, trip up to Eiffel Tower and Seine River Cruise. Wasn't keen to go up to the Eiffel Tower as I would prefer to visit the Basilica, Notre Dame Cathedral, etc. But the trip was alright overall.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan and Montmartre

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This tour could have been much better if there were not technical difficulties, it was a large group and the tour guide attempted to use a microphone while we wore headphones and listened to her walking guide of the city, unfortunately the microphone did not work for the majority of the tour. This tour does hit all the highlights of Paris including the Louvre, Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame Cathedral.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Laney T
United Arab Emirates

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I think this tour was a waste of time. First, there were a lot of people in the group (~30) and without microphones, it was difficult to hear the guide. Second, the tour only included a rush through the Louvre (15euro), lunch in the Eiffel Tower (~30euro), a cruise down the Seine from one place to another (13euro), and a tour of Notre Dame Cathedral (FREE). You can plan this same trip on your own for a lot less money and actually make it to the top of the Eiffel Tower (not included in this tour). I ended up leaving the tour after lunch because I was disappointed. I was not the only one as several other people left the tour before I did. I've booked a lot of tours on Viator and have always been satisfied. This time I wasn't. Book another tour to truly enjoy Paris.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a lovely city Paris is. Took the bus from Avenue des Champs Elysees and went around and enjoyed the scenery in comfort and ease. Went to Notre Dame Cathedral, Musee de Louvre, Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, the Opera, River Seine, etc. When I go back to Paris I'll use this tour again. Worth recommending to people planning to go to Paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The stops are very convenient, all are near the famous travel spots. They provided raincoats to passengers (it rained hard when we were there). Be careful though of suspicious individuals near the Notre Dame Cathedral, they follow unsuspecting persons and steal whatever they can steal (I was a victim of phone thief). They use a young girl who pretend to ask for signature and speak to you in French. While you are distracted, a group of individuals would dip their hands into your purse. That nasty situation almost ruined my trip.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent... the local travel agency did a fantastic job....the guide we took us around on 21st June at Paris (our group number was 15), was amazingly supportive and helpful. The coverage at Louvre Museum and Notre Dame cathedral were simply great.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Cost of entrance to tower is $6.50 euro. Entrance to Notre Dame cathedral was Free. Therefore tour was expensive for advantage of jumping the cue. Walk was not half day - just 2 hours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An interesting tour through the Louvre (art seen : Venus de Milo , La Joconde,...) then you take the batobus (very enjoyable) to the Eiffel tower where you eat at 58 Eiffel Restaurant (food was very good but the service and seating not much) . After the lunch we had free time so went to the 2nd floor (3rd floor needed more time so we avoided the queues) - once done it took around 30 minutes to be able to go down. Both Louvre and Eiffel tower had skip the line and that was great. After the Eiffel tower we took again the batobus to the Notre Dame Cathedral which is our last stop and also was very enjoyable . Overall Great tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great way to see Paris in a short time frame. We were able to learn some history and also had photo stops at the Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame Cathedral. The boat tour was also nice and the crepe was delicious. Nicola the bus tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly (even though she was from Liverpool and not France).

Doing what: Paris Sightseeing Tour with Optional Seine River Cruise

Kevin B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We did this tour on a hot Saturday afternoon with Bart as our guide. We spent three and a half hours walking the streets and learning about the students, the scholars and history of the Latin Quarter and about the St. Germain area. Bart led us down side streets, through the Luxembourg gardens, and onto the Seine. We discovered a little hidden area of Paris on the Ile de la Cite where we had a charcuterie tasting and a cold drink, then we played a game of pétanque. Our tour finished shortly after at Notre Dame Cathedral. Bart was a lovely, informative and easy going fellow, whose company we enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a wonderful time in Paris! This tour was great!! I got to experience the Louvre Museum, Eiffel Tower for lunch, and the Notre Dame Cathedral. The tour guide was very informative and was able to answer my questions during the tour. My main objectives were the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower, but upon seeing a painting of Napoleon and the Pope in the Notre Dame during the Louvre Tour, I was looking forward to seeing the Cathedral. Wonderful experience all around! Met a few new friends during the tour. Would highly recommend this tour for future travelers to Paris!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

Awful tour. Skip it. Poorly organized. A lousy bus ride and they put 3 different languages on the same tour. They put all of the visitors at risk as the guide cut a long line at the Notre Dame Cathedral. They left no time for any viewing on your own. If you weren't ready in20 minutes you had to make it back on your own. Save your money and skip it.

Doing what: Historical Paris Sightseeing Tour Including Notre Dame Cathedral

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and engaging. Enjoyed seeing 3 key sites (Eiffel Tower, Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral) that made the tour worthwhile. Lunch at the Eiffel Tower exceeded our expectation. Highly recommended tour for all!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was disappointing. We were just dropped off at Notre Dame Cathedral and picked up in an hour and we were on our own. The city tour was ok but not to my expectations.

Doing what: Historical Paris Sightseeing Tour Including Notre Dame Cathedral

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an excellent tour for our group of 8! The guide was extremely knowledgeable and we covered so much in one day. We could have never seen so much in such a short amount of time on our own. This tour hit several places on our "must see" list and made it so easy because we didn't have to worry about transportation of our large group from one place to another. And the tour guide got us past lines at both the Louvre and Eiffel Tower. The only thing is that, if you are going to go on this tour and you want to go to the top of the Notre Dame Cathedral, watch the time. By the time we got through the tour of the cathedral, it was too late for those in our group who wanted to climb to the top.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Illuminations was pretty average from my point of view. The river cruise was ok but i thought it could have gone further up/down the river - we just cruised up and down the main area from the Eiffel Tower to the Notre Dame cathedral. BUT the dinner on the Chamlps Elysee was genuinely very good. Food was plentiful and full of taste, wine included and the dessert was also great. Restaurant was ideally situated right up near the Arc De Triomphe . We enjoyed this most of all.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise, Paris Illuminations and Dinner on the Champs-Elysees

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

While we enjoyed the tour, we thought it was overpriced. The timings weren't mentioned before and as it was organized just before Christmas, I didn't have time to inquire as much as I should have. We got 3 hours (10 - 1) with 1 guide and then another 3 hours (3 - 6) with another. Our first guide, Kevi, was a very nice guide very knowledgeable about the neighborhoods he showed us, etc. I wasn't impressed with his knowledge of the Notre Dame cathedral - the tour company pix that he shared were dilapidated and while there were a few "oh! interesting!!" moments...most of what he shared with us could be found with a quick scan of Wikipedia. We ended at the Pantheon but we didn't go in! I was surprised and he said, "well, there is an entrance fee." While I am sure this is true, I believe that we just didn't plan our time well enough and he didn't have time to take us thru. He dropped us at a restaurant near his home, which he highly recommended for lunch - but it was closed. So - he pointed to a few streets and suggested we explore. While we were ok to do this.... we shouldn't have had to organize this part ourselves for the price. And, meeting the afternoon's guide was a bit dodgy - I had to ask for her number before Kevi left us. It took awhile for my text to get thru to her (Audrey) but it finally did and we found her with no problem (navigating a 15 min walk thru the neighborhoods ourselves). Audrey was lovely - she showed us some additional neighborhoods and is a Louvre expert. We found her knowledge to be quite good and appreciated the time we had with her. She also "gave" us a free hour of her time in the Louvre.

The organization was lacking and left an unprofessional feeling. Kevi gave us the tix for the Louvre but then Audrey asked that we pay her for them. With tips, we paid almost $800 for 6 hours! I wonder if despite the higher prices for the holiday period, we got the less experienced staff?

Doing what: Private Tour: Customize Your Perfect Day in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on this trip. Our guide Françoise was fantastic and we learnt loads from her. Lunch on the Eiffel Tower was lovely and the Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral were amazing to see. Would definitely recommend especially for a first visit to the city. Thank you for a great day.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message