• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Cathedral

If Paris has a heart, then this is it. The cathedral of Notre Dame (Cathédrale de Notre Dame de Paris) is not only a masterpiece of French Gothic architecture, but has also been Catholic Paris' ceremonial focus for seven centuries. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was disappointing. We were just dropped off at Notre Dame Cathedral and picked up in an hour and we were on our own. The city tour was ok but not to my expectations.

Doing what: Historical Paris Sightseeing Tour Including Notre Dame Cathedral

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an excellent tour for our group of 8! The guide was extremely knowledgeable and we covered so much in one day. We could have never seen so much in such a short amount of time on our own. This tour hit several places on our "must see" list and made it so easy because we didn't have to worry about transportation of our large group from one place to another. And the tour guide got us past lines at both the Louvre and Eiffel Tower. The only thing is that, if you are going to go on this tour and you want to go to the top of the Notre Dame Cathedral, watch the time. By the time we got through the tour of the cathedral, it was too late for those in our group who wanted to climb to the top.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Illuminations was pretty average from my point of view. The river cruise was ok but i thought it could have gone further up/down the river - we just cruised up and down the main area from the Eiffel Tower to the Notre Dame cathedral. BUT the dinner on the Chamlps Elysee was genuinely very good. Food was plentiful and full of taste, wine included and the dessert was also great. Restaurant was ideally situated right up near the Arc De Triomphe . We enjoyed this most of all.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise, Paris Illuminations and Dinner on the Champs-Elysees

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

While we enjoyed the tour, we thought it was overpriced. The timings weren't mentioned before and as it was organized just before Christmas, I didn't have time to inquire as much as I should have. We got 3 hours (10 - 1) with 1 guide and then another 3 hours (3 - 6) with another. Our first guide, Kevi, was a very nice guide very knowledgeable about the neighborhoods he showed us, etc. I wasn't impressed with his knowledge of the Notre Dame cathedral - the tour company pix that he shared were dilapidated and while there were a few "oh! interesting!!" moments...most of what he shared with us could be found with a quick scan of Wikipedia. We ended at the Pantheon but we didn't go in! I was surprised and he said, "well, there is an entrance fee." While I am sure this is true, I believe that we just didn't plan our time well enough and he didn't have time to take us thru. He dropped us at a restaurant near his home, which he highly recommended for lunch - but it was closed. So - he pointed to a few streets and suggested we explore. While we were ok to do this.... we shouldn't have had to organize this part ourselves for the price. And, meeting the afternoon's guide was a bit dodgy - I had to ask for her number before Kevi left us. It took awhile for my text to get thru to her (Audrey) but it finally did and we found her with no problem (navigating a 15 min walk thru the neighborhoods ourselves). Audrey was lovely - she showed us some additional neighborhoods and is a Louvre expert. We found her knowledge to be quite good and appreciated the time we had with her. She also "gave" us a free hour of her time in the Louvre.

The organization was lacking and left an unprofessional feeling. Kevi gave us the tix for the Louvre but then Audrey asked that we pay her for them. With tips, we paid almost $800 for 6 hours! I wonder if despite the higher prices for the holiday period, we got the less experienced staff?

Doing what: Private Tour: Customize Your Perfect Day in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on this trip. Our guide Françoise was fantastic and we learnt loads from her. Lunch on the Eiffel Tower was lovely and the Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral were amazing to see. Would definitely recommend especially for a first visit to the city. Thank you for a great day.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on this trip. Our guide Françoise was fantastic and we learnt loads from her. Lunch on the Eiffel Tower was lovely and the Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral were amazing to see. Would definitely recommend especially for a first visit to the city. Thank you for a great day.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on this trip. Our guide Françoise was fantastic and we learnt loads from her. Lunch on the Eiffel Tower was lovely and the Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral were amazing to see. Would definitely recommend especially for a first visit to the city. Thank you for a great day.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I have been to Paris two consecutive summers. Both times I have used Viator for many tours and have never had a problem. The tour guides are great and everything goes as planned. The first summer I was in Paris, I just viewed Notre Dame Cathedral from the outside and the lines were too long to go inside. This time around, I booked a "skip the line tour" ahead of time to gain entrance to the inside of Notre Dame. The first two hours was a walking tour around the area and in the neighborhood by Notre Dame. It was interesting to learn the history around the area. Next, we were able to walk right into the Cathedral and our tour guide continued to give us great information. Finally, we were going to the top of the bell tour. It is over 400 plus steps. We made it to the gargoyles and our small group was able to go out and take pictures of the city of Paris. It was beautiful and we took pictures of the city and of course the gargoyles. We decided not to go the next 200 steps up, only because we already had a wonderful view of the city! I will continue to use Viator, they are great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR!!! If possible I would do this one first. We only had 2 days in Paris and did this our 2nd day. We had Richard, from Cambridge, London as a tour guide and he was great. The Eiffel Tower in itself is awesome to see but once up there Richard shared all his knowledge of Paris from 4 different vantage points pointing to each one which made the tour that much better. It actually allowed us to go see some things right after the tour we probably would have skipped like the Notre Dame Cathedral and watching the tower light show at night. The extra money for the skip the line and small group tour is worth every penny. You don't really wait for anything except to go to the very top. Obviously the views are amazing as well.
As well as Richard being so good, the tour company was very accommodating. After a long previous day and trying to get use to the time difference we overslept for our scheduled tour and they got us right in to another one.
Again, this is definitely one you don't want to miss

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Tickets and Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour, excelent tour guide keeping it very dynamic and fun.
I would say, the only way to do the Notre Dame Cathedral. Saw everything and more than I expected. Definetly, will recomend this to all my friends and family.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a fast-paced highlight tour that included the Louvre, lunch at the Eiffel Tower, two 40-minute cruises on the Seine via river shuttle, and a stop at Notre Dame cathedral. Basically, the tour is as described by Viator. The only complaint I have is that we were not provided with "quiet boxes" and ear buds. Our guide had a very quiet voice and I missed most of what she said. Our guide was most effective in the Louvre where quiet boxes were issued. While the Louvre was crowded on the Saturday of our visit, our guide made sure that we saw the most well-known exhibits. The lunch in the Eiffel Tower was excellent.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The tour through the streets of Paris was amazing - from the Notre Dame Cathedral, to the Latin Quarter, to Luxingburge Gardens/Park with the finale being the Louvre. Both of our guides were well versed in the historic components as well as modern day adaptions - and brought such passion to their descriptions of everything. They demonstrated their love for Paris and their pride as they took us through everything. English was exceptional as well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Customize Your Perfect Day in Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Tower was closed. Notre Dame Cathedral is free to enter on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We learnt a lot about the history of Paris and of course Notre Dame Cathedral is just stunning

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The Seine River Cruise was amazing, we were able to see the gorgeous views of Paris (from the smallest house to the stunning Notre Dame Cathedral) whilst learning from the guide all about the different places we could see. There is so much more to this cruise than just the river views, as you have the luxury of travelling through the canals and hidden sights of the city! There is a long stretch inside a tunnel where you can view the streets above, this is beautiful. There are many locks which are interesting to travel through.

Be prepared to spend a while on the boat through the canals, it is worth the time. We found it was good to relax in a buzy city whilst cruising along the river. Also, It is a lot easier to find the starting point in the morning, by the Musee d'Orsay, as you can see the boat moared up on the river bank and is easy to get to from the Metro Stop. Whereas, the starting point in the centre of the park (Bassin de la Villette) is a little more of a challenge. So if you chose to start from the park, allow plenty of time time get there, else you risk missing it. Toilets were available on the boat and access to a soft drink via a vending machine. Overall, we would fully reccomend this trip.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message