It may not be the first iconic structure that comes to mind when you think of Paris, but to Parisians the Palais Garnier - Opera National is a beloved symbol of the importance placed on the arts in the City of Light. Completed in 1875 per architect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

AMAZING TOUR.

First of all, our guide was this beautiful Italian girl named Tiziana sp? and she was so good at her job. SO GOOD. She was informative, lively, and was full of anecdotes as well as facts about the history of this place.

Second of all, prepare to save A LOT of room in your camera/phones because you will be taking a lot of photographs here. The interior is INSANELY OPULENT. I wont say anymore, dont want to spoil the surprise.

BOOK IT, ITS WORTH IT!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was a good tour . But English was not good

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This is a must-do tour on your trip to Paris. Simply amazing.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This is a must-do tour on your trip to Paris. Simply amazing.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This is a must-do tour on your trip to Paris. Simply amazing.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This is a must-do tour on your trip to Paris. Simply amazing.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour itself was quite nice. The booking process was NOT. My wife booked this for Saturday, 4/4/15 only to receive tickets for 4/1/15, the day we actually arrived in Paris and we would never have made it in time. So we asked to move the tour and were told that Saturday was no longer available. We went back online and found Saturday availability and booked it. We asked Viator to cancel the initial booking. When we showed up on Saturday there were 4 tickets although it was only my wife and me.

The tour is definitely worth doing. Our guide was good, knowledgeable and the history of the building is fascinating. The artwork and design are remarkable and the Chagall ceiling is worth the cost of the tour and more.

Now if only you could fix that booking piece you would have earned 4 stars. Let's hope my credit card wasn't charged for 4 tickets.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Bit of a muddle getting the tour started, and needed to deposit drivers licence as security for audio.
Crowded but guide did her best to inform, worth the visit would be good if the start was better
organised lots of people in wrong line and with wrong group!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The docent was not greatly fluent in English. She spoke in too low a voice even when I asked her to please speak up. She said a lot of silly things like I just love Garnier, isn't he handsomel? And she said OK?
after almost every sentence. I give tours at a large performing arts center theater and concert hall and if I were evaluating this docent, she'd have to try again in order to continue giving tours. Members of the group often talked while she was talking, and she should have asked them to share their thoughts or wait until the group had heard what she had to say. She also stated a strong prefeernce for the Garnier over the Bastille, and I don't think that's very wise as it might lose business for the tours there.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a outstanding tour and the guide was great in all aspects. He had good stories and did not rush us .
I recommend this tour and the whole setup,
Regards, Beckmans

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable. Beautiful building and a lovely way to see it.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This building was so magnificent. The tour guide for the English speaking tour was very knowledgeable. If you are an Opera lover look at the ticket schedule and view a performance in this magnificent building. The prices are a lot cheaper than the Metropolitan Opera in N. Y. I regret that I did not see a performance.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well done tour of this beautiful Opera House. They were just starting to use a new mic/headphone system that worked great! Guide was very good wish I could remember her name. She made the tour fun and very interesting!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide, amazing building, a good length of tour(not too long or too short) and time to explore on our own after. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message