Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Opéra Garnier

It may not be the first iconic structure that comes to mind when you think of Paris, but to Parisians the Palais Garnier - Opera National is a beloved symbol of the importance placed on the arts in the City of Light. Completed in 1875 per architect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 408 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great experience, certainly a must see when in Paris.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Veda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour !!!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Sergii S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I really enjoyed our tour guide

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Kathy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour should not be missed. The Opera Garnier is such a spectacularly beautiful building it like a mini palace and the tour guides are so knowledgeable - its a fun, fast tour. Don't forget to check out Box 5.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

marina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

We signed up for this trip. When we arrived at the Opera House, the Opera House told us they were closed for tours since there was a performance. The operator never even contacted us or tried to rescheduled for another day. I would not recommend using this provider.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is way beyond my expectations!! And I expected PLENTY!!!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Graeme C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The waiting area was a bit chaotic, with various groups standing around in crowded space waiting to set off. However, the tour itself was very good, and it was good to be able to take photos without flash.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Carolee M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Very nice to be at the Opera after hours - that's one of the values of this tour - beautiful, must see facility for those interested in theater venues and the Belle Époque. That's the . Tour itself led by guide from the Theater, kind of a routine, perhaps glib overview...

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Kathleen C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

A bit crowded, but the earbud system worked great. Not really 'behind the scenes' at all, just the public places and the theater itself. Guide was absolutely charming, though, and a lot of fun on the whole.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Lescol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was just so informative and the oper house itself a magnificent building achievement. Would recommend this tour as a must see. It was a highlight for myself and my daughter.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. A real treat to see behind-the-scenes at the Opera Garnier, with our charming, informative guide we even got a sneak peak of Don Giovanni in rehearsal. Highly recommended for lovers of art, architecture, and design, as well as opera.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Russell W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour even if your not interested in opera this a spectacular building well worth a visit. Definitely do the tour as the guides are really good and informative.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing building, well worth the visit.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Nicole D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful time! We were taken throughout the Opera house. Our guide was excellent and had great passion about the Opera Garnier and knew a lot about it. It was absolutely beautiful and we loved learning history and secrets about the different rooms.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Lori M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Toured this on my 2nd visit to Paris. But, if you are going on your 1st visit to Paris, don't miss this, with a guided tour, of course!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Interesting, entertaining and well-paced for walking weary tourists. Only recommendation would be to make it clear that even as a pre-paid tour, the individual needs to get on the line INSIDE the Opera and be assigned there to an English tour. The tour itself...wonderful!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Amarish Joy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The building is spectacular!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Micahel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was super literary, reasonable in details, super informative! Highly recommend, worth money we paid!
Thank you

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Holly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I LOVED this tour!! I took this tour on my second visit to Paris. Last year I visited Versailles Palace and it was beautiful, but I honestly think that Palais Garnier is MORE beautiful than Versailles!!! On the inside at least. I would highly recommend this tour, it was well worth the money, and I liked hearing the stories and a little history about the building's past. My group got to go into the auditorium and sit in the seats that cost about 250-300 Euros to see a show. Definitely a highlight, but the best part is the grand foyer. So much better than the Hall of Mirrors at Versailles. Plus there's less people in your photos! I also liked that we were free to go back and walk through all the rooms by ourselves after our tour to get any extra photos as I always have my camera out. I walked back through the grand foyer and out onto the balcony where you could see The Louvre at the end of the avenue! I would rate this ten stars if I could.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Annette J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I would recommend taking the tour, versus doing it on your own, to gain information.

I also enjoyed hearing the tour guides voice

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Faizan Hassan United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An absolutely stunning building. Our tour group was about 16 people however the tour guide really knew her stuff and got into a lot of details about the history of the building, architecture, use, etc.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Sandra M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

We arrived to be told there were no tours that day. The opera refused to honor our voucher the next day. We were forced to buy 4 new tickets.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

JANET S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I have been to the Opera Garnier before but wanted an in-depth history so scheduled this tour - Very disappointed. First, the technical audio was horrible - loud screeches through out the tour - had to remove the ear piece. Tour guide was not structured at all - very scattered - didn't learn anything new - she was hard to understand and spent too much time trying to get to know the children in the group. Really need to rethink this tour as is was terrible

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message