Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Versailles

The Chateau de Versailles was the creation of Louis XIV. He took his father's hunting lodge, transformed it into a work of wonder and excess and moved the whole court and government of France from Paris to Versailles in 1682. The next two French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the time with our guide Ricardo who was very knowledgeable and informative about Versailles and all things Paris. Versailles was an impressive palace and a must see if you have the time while in Paris. Our day was exceptionally crowded, but you were still able to take in the grandeur of the reign of the Sun King. I would definitely book this tour again!

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was off the charts. We did this tour after arriving in Paris and not sleeping on the plane. We were exhausted but once we arrived at the Palace it rejuvenated myself and my family. The palace, the gardens, everything about it was magnificent. After the tour, we stayed in Versailles and had dinner. It is quite a lovely town with some wonderful shops and restaurants. This is a must see!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were a group of 5, including our 19 month grandson. The tour delivered as promised- we met our first guide in front of the designated Metro stop and instead of riding the train, there was a nice motor coach for us. The guide on the journey to Versaiiles was Patrice- he was funny and kept us entertained and informed as we traveled through Paris and then out to the palace. Once we were there, Patrice turned us over to our guides for the walking tour and the bus was split into two groups. Our group had to wait around 25 minutes for some people who were supposed to meet us at Versailles but finally we left without them- our group did not have much time in the gardens as a result. We did not have to wait in the mile long line snaking through the courtyard, thank goodness. I feel we did luck out with our marvelous guide, Clair, however! She was so adept at getting us through the palace- it was Thursday so less crowded, she said and fewer pickpockets. It was still wall to wall people inside the rooms. The palace is a must see when visiting Paris- it creates historical perspective on the French Revolution, for sure- much in the way of excess and opulence!
In conclusion, I am not sure if a train ride would have been as easy as the bus we had but this tour was highly enjoyable for our group and a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Ruth
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Versailles was absolutely fabulous! the bus ride was very comfortable and well air conditioned. The tour guide, Antoine Weber from Fat Bike Tours, was awesome!! He was very knowledgeable and was able to give great backstory on the palace. He made all the passengers feel welcome and made us laugh with his jokes. The hall of mirrors was beautiful and the gardens magnificent. This was the best part of our vacation in Paris!

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Chris A.
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our awesome guide on this tour remains one of our highlights from the entire trip. The van ride from Paris to Versailles was clean and comfortable, and Keith was awesome as both a driver and a guide. He gave us a good balance of time to explore on our own and guided tour time, and was kind enough to drop everyone off near their final destinations rather than back at the tour's origin. In Versailles Palace where pushy tourists are elbow to elbow, having a tour guide that is aggressive and knowledgeable makes all of the difference.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was absolutely the best was to do Versailles. Please do NOT do Versailles with a big bus tour. Having only 6 people in our group in a very nice and air-conditioned minivan was awesome. Our tour guide, Nabila, was awesome as well. Looking around at the other groups and guides, we definitely got a more entertaining tour than anyone else!
The lunch at La Flotille on the Grand Canal was good and we had plenty of time to wander around a bit on our own. Given how enormous and busy the palace and grounds are, I was quite happy we were able to relax on the way there and back, rather than having to take the train from Paris and stand in live forever.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both the bus coordinator and the French guide through Versailles were good. The palace guide was especially knowledgeable, answered all questions and was quite funny. This tour was the highlight of our visit to Paris.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was just right! We were picked up on time, the guide was friendly and spoke perfect English. She was extremely knowledgeable about Versailles and the parts of Paris we drove through to get there. Our lunch was perfect and was taken in a very charming restaurant on the grounds of the Palace. We loved the small tour Eight people.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was outstanding in all respects: hotel pickup, skipping outside crowds and lines, an outstanding lunch and a most personable guide in Natasha. Crowds inside Versailles were unavoidable. Grand Trianon and Petit Trianon palaces were much less crowded and therefore more enjoyable. Lunch was exceptional, even by Paris standards and on the grounds of the palaces with most of the patrons local - very enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Lisa M
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the BEST tour we have ever taken and I do not say that lightly. We have taken some great expensive tours. Kevin was a wonderful narrator and guide on the trip out to Versailles. We left on time but be warned that you have to travel to the Place de la Concord to meet the group so just take a cab and get there on time since you leave pretty early. When we arrived at the Palace we were served a light breakfast of croissants and coffee which were excellent. Paris is not the time or place to be dieting so just try it! It was free and yummy and the server was very sweet.

We were then walked to the Palace and we waited for our Palace guide. She had a skeleton key which opened EVERY door - it was so cool. She worked there and she was very knowledgeable. We were the ONLY ones in the Palace for quite a while and it was so quiet so she could tell us all the details. We got to go into most of the private rooms and we were able to go to the Opera house AND the Chapel which were both incredible! The general public was allowed in a t some point and the halls were jammed but we were in our own little world. As we exited the Chapel one lady who was viewing it from 60 feet or so away asked me just how we got to go in there and I said VIP TOURS! I don't know what we missed on the general tour but the rooms we saw were exquisite.

After the tour we rented a golf cart to see the grounds, fountains, sculptures and had so much fun. Yes you have to pay extra but come on, how many times are you going to see this place.

I would highly recommend this tour and in fact HAVE to 2 friends who are traveling there next month. My husband and friend thought this was one of the highlights to our trip to Paris. It was my favorite! Do it! You won't be sorry. It is a VIP experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We booked this tour because my wife loves Versailles and she wanted to make sure we saw ALL of it, AND skipped the lines. This tour was absolutely awesome, especially thanks to our tour guide, Riccardo! They picked us up at our hotel, and Riccardo wore a little mic headset so he could tell us about Paris and the buildings we were passing on the way out of the city. As we entered Versailles, he explained the history of the city and the grounds/landscape. He walked us through the palace with special headsets so we could hear him talk. It was really busy, but we still got lots of great pictures and were able to push through to the front of each rooms rope barrier to get shots without people in them. The tour of the palace ended and Riccardo explained we had about 1.5 hours to explore the gardens and gift shop before meeting for lunch. We could have spent all day in the gardens aloneits unfathomable how large and impressive they are. The walls which look like simple rows of bushes on the maps you see are actually towering, making you feel like youre in a maze! There are benches, fountains, flowers and pathways everywhere you turn.

We met for lunch at a restaurant right off the canal in the gardens and enjoyed the delicious food and wine.

After lunch, we still had several hours ahead of us to explore the Petit and Grand Trianons, the Queens hamlet, and all the gardens and paths that went along with them including a petting zoo and the Temple of love. It was quite an experience, and by the end of the day we were exhausted.

Highly recommend this tour if you are a history buff and want to see ALL of Versailles! Thanks Riccardo!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour of the Palace of Versailles and the Gardens our tour guide was very knowledgeable, however, when we first arrived at Versailles we had to wait quite a while because the tour guide that took us to the palace on the train did not have enough tickets for everyone to go in. Some sort of misunderstanding from their office. They had two groups of people and they could not figure out who to leave behind and how to solve the problem. Finally our group of about 6 entered the palace and it was great from that point forward. This is one of those places everyone should visit if you are ever in Paris. There is a lot of people though, especially on the weekend because the Fountains are working so it attracts the crowds. It is worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I had a great time on this tour. This was our last day in Paris and we had seen quite a lot up to this point and the Palace of Versailles was one of our must see while there. The Palace was very nice but to me the Gardens and the property itself was really impressive. Our Tour Guide Martin was very knowledgeable about the history of the Palace as well as providing a very good French history lesson. I would certainly recommend this tour. One thing to note is that this is a walking tour and it involves quite a bit of it through many gardens. Well worth it in my book.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I had a great time on this tour. This was our last day in Paris and we had seen quite a lot up to this point and the Palace of Versailles was one of our must see while there. The Palace was very nice but to me the Gardens and the property itself was really impressive. Our Tour Guide Martin was very knowledgeable about the history of the Palace as well as providing a very good French history lesson. I would certainly recommend this tour. One thing to note is that this is a walking tour and it involves quite a bit of it through many gardens. Well worth it in my book.

Doing what: Best Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Isabella was a wonderful tour guide for this particular tour, and was able to give us wonderful and fun facts about the Royal family, and the palace itself. She went into great detail about the design, interior and the palace furnishings, which was incredibly insightful. She was also able to keep us entertained driving through Parisian traffic to Versailles. They are true to their word with small groups - there were only 5 people in my group!

I was picked up from the place I was staying at with no problems in the morning, and it didn't take long to pick up the other guests and head to Versailles. The palace is a wonderful place, and you can really take in the extent of the opulence and wealth of the upper class and nobility. In the tour you are able to view the royal apartments, the gardens (which are beautiful even in winter), Marie Antoinette's chateau, the chapel where Marie Antoinette and King Louis were married, the hall of mirrors (which is stunning), and other small rooms. Isabella gave detailed descriptions and information about each place we visited throughout the tour.

Lunch was average, but delicious - salad for starters, salmon or beef for main, and a fruit tart for dessert. You also do get a complementary glass of wine. I was able to get to know the rest of my group during the lunch, which is always an added plus for these guided tours.

I would definitely recommend a visit to Versailles -- it is a must see if you are planning on a visit to Paris! If you end up getting Isabella as a guide, you're in for a real treat!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you can afford the cost or you only plan on seeing Paris once this tour was worth the cost. Private coach pick-up at the hotel, commentary of the history of Paris and Versailles on the drive over was thorough and fun. We were dropped off right in front of the Palace where we saw a mass of people waiting in line to enter. We were then escorted to a private side entrance and greeted by our guide and were taken to the private rooms and bedrooms, and the cathedral of the King and Queen where no one else were permitted to go into. The tour was excellent. It was very quiet, peaceful and the pace unrushed. Definitely worth doing to avoid the hoard of the crowd and the noise and jostling that go with it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunning! Our guide Dan was excellent - informative and entertaining at the same time. And we saw so much more of Versailles and it's grounds on a bicycle...picnic by the water with a view of the palace a highlight! An experience to be repeated when next in Paris

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to see a lot of Paris in a day! Our city tour guide was fantastic and knowledgeable. The Palace of Versailles tour is by headset, but we had a bit of time to see a bit of the gardens also. The dinner cruise could have been better if there was some commentary as to what we were seeing, but the dinner was good.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

OMG!!! If in Paris, don't miss this tour. Our guide Janelle was wonderful. She provided vast knowledge of the Palace and history. The palace of Versailles is magnificent and when you add a terrific tour guide to guide you thru it, is fabulous. Take this tour, you wont regret it.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! I had an amazing group and a great tour guide.
The experience at Versailles and the biking were great. I would recommend spending more time in the garden, and less time in the palace, both are awe inspiring, but the garden is truly beautiful and worth more of your time (and is less crowded).
We ran into some bad weather but that didn't deter us, as we found some shade under trees and were able to eat our picnic lunches comfortably outside.
I would recommend this to anyone, and have already told my friends to book it when they are in Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our day started off on the wrong foot as we slept in and missed our connection with the group in Paris. Nonetheless, we hopped on the metro and headed to Versailles where we met Mark who was headed that way with another tour group. He made the connections happen and we met Dan and our group in Versailles and had the best day in Paris ever!!!! The bike tour is the only way to see Versailles. The spectacular views every time you turn a corner, the market area where you purchase your picnic lunch, the Peasant Village, the Grand Canal area where you eat your lunch and finally the palace. We arrived at the palace close to 3pm, the crowds were minimal, very easy to walk through at your leisure talking pictures along the way, this is done at your own pace. Our tour guide was Dan, he was very informative and passionate about the palace history and all its characters which made our day more enjoyable!!! Highly recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to see Versailles. Our guide was Anna (can spell it both ways). Meeting in Paris and then on train to Versailles. After getting bikes ride to market to buy picnic lunch - then onto the grounds of the palace. You could easily spend the day just here. Lots of surprising places, interesting facts and probably the best picnic spot in the world. After lunch visit the Palace itself. Great fun, top guide and real value for money. Highly recommended. Thx.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic and worth the money! Our guide, Stephanie, was fabulous. She kept us riveted to and from Paris with interesting stories and bits of history. We got to Versailles just barely ahead of the large tour groups and general mass of visitors and were able to see the Hall of Mirrors alone. You cannot imagine how crowded the Palace becomes in just 30 min of opening. It is cheek-cheek and everyone trying to take pictures. We toured the private apartments and the chapel in solitude. It was so peaceful and enjoyable. Gardens are toured on your own. They are expansive and beautiful. Lots of walking and stairs.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My favourite day in Paris. It was my 2nd your with this tour company and our guide Anya was fantastic. I am not used to bike riding but I totally enjoyed shopping for the picnic in the marketplace, riding through the streets and the cycling and picnic in the Versailles Palace magnificent gardens.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to see lots of things in Paris if you are a first timer. Open top and sides on small bus. City tour first, then up to the first level of the Eiffel tower for lunch. Unusual lunch served like a picnic. You chose entree, main and dessert and all were delivered at the same time. Lift not available to second level, but free to walk up if so inclined. Then to palace of Versailles. Pretty spectacular place though would have liked longer to explore the gardens, but they are huge and that is really a full day tour on its own. Then our dinner cruise on the Seine. Really nice way to finish off our evening. Finish back at the Eiffel tower so need to find your own way back to your hotel. Not a criticism - but just a heads up. Stay at the Eiffel tower if you have the time, at least until it gets dark as the tower "twinkles" on the hour for five minutes only. Quite spectacular. Tour guide was informative along the way.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message