Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Versailles

The Chateau de Versailles was the creation of Louis XIV. He took his father's hunting lodge, transformed it into a work of wonder and excess and moved the whole court and government of France from Paris to Versailles in 1682. The next two French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you can afford the cost or you only plan on seeing Paris once this tour was worth the cost. Private coach pick-up at the hotel, commentary of the history of Paris and Versailles on the drive over was thorough and fun. We were dropped off right in front of the Palace where we saw a mass of people waiting in line to enter. We were then escorted to a private side entrance and greeted by our guide and were taken to the private rooms and bedrooms, and the cathedral of the King and Queen where no one else were permitted to go into. The tour was excellent. It was very quiet, peaceful and the pace unrushed. Definitely worth doing to avoid the hoard of the crowd and the noise and jostling that go with it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunning! Our guide Dan was excellent - informative and entertaining at the same time. And we saw so much more of Versailles and it's grounds on a bicycle...picnic by the water with a view of the palace a highlight! An experience to be repeated when next in Paris

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to see a lot of Paris in a day! Our city tour guide was fantastic and knowledgeable. The Palace of Versailles tour is by headset, but we had a bit of time to see a bit of the gardens also. The dinner cruise could have been better if there was some commentary as to what we were seeing, but the dinner was good.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

OMG!!! If in Paris, don't miss this tour. Our guide Janelle was wonderful. She provided vast knowledge of the Palace and history. The palace of Versailles is magnificent and when you add a terrific tour guide to guide you thru it, is fabulous. Take this tour, you wont regret it.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! I had an amazing group and a great tour guide.
The experience at Versailles and the biking were great. I would recommend spending more time in the garden, and less time in the palace, both are awe inspiring, but the garden is truly beautiful and worth more of your time (and is less crowded).
We ran into some bad weather but that didn't deter us, as we found some shade under trees and were able to eat our picnic lunches comfortably outside.
I would recommend this to anyone, and have already told my friends to book it when they are in Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our day started off on the wrong foot as we slept in and missed our connection with the group in Paris. Nonetheless, we hopped on the metro and headed to Versailles where we met Mark who was headed that way with another tour group. He made the connections happen and we met Dan and our group in Versailles and had the best day in Paris ever!!!! The bike tour is the only way to see Versailles. The spectacular views every time you turn a corner, the market area where you purchase your picnic lunch, the Peasant Village, the Grand Canal area where you eat your lunch and finally the palace. We arrived at the palace close to 3pm, the crowds were minimal, very easy to walk through at your leisure talking pictures along the way, this is done at your own pace. Our tour guide was Dan, he was very informative and passionate about the palace history and all its characters which made our day more enjoyable!!! Highly recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to see Versailles. Our guide was Anna (can spell it both ways). Meeting in Paris and then on train to Versailles. After getting bikes ride to market to buy picnic lunch - then onto the grounds of the palace. You could easily spend the day just here. Lots of surprising places, interesting facts and probably the best picnic spot in the world. After lunch visit the Palace itself. Great fun, top guide and real value for money. Highly recommended. Thx.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic and worth the money! Our guide, Stephanie, was fabulous. She kept us riveted to and from Paris with interesting stories and bits of history. We got to Versailles just barely ahead of the large tour groups and general mass of visitors and were able to see the Hall of Mirrors alone. You cannot imagine how crowded the Palace becomes in just 30 min of opening. It is cheek-cheek and everyone trying to take pictures. We toured the private apartments and the chapel in solitude. It was so peaceful and enjoyable. Gardens are toured on your own. They are expansive and beautiful. Lots of walking and stairs.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My favourite day in Paris. It was my 2nd your with this tour company and our guide Anya was fantastic. I am not used to bike riding but I totally enjoyed shopping for the picnic in the marketplace, riding through the streets and the cycling and picnic in the Versailles Palace magnificent gardens.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to see lots of things in Paris if you are a first timer. Open top and sides on small bus. City tour first, then up to the first level of the Eiffel tower for lunch. Unusual lunch served like a picnic. You chose entree, main and dessert and all were delivered at the same time. Lift not available to second level, but free to walk up if so inclined. Then to palace of Versailles. Pretty spectacular place though would have liked longer to explore the gardens, but they are huge and that is really a full day tour on its own. Then our dinner cruise on the Seine. Really nice way to finish off our evening. Finish back at the Eiffel tower so need to find your own way back to your hotel. Not a criticism - but just a heads up. Stay at the Eiffel tower if you have the time, at least until it gets dark as the tower "twinkles" on the hour for five minutes only. Quite spectacular. Tour guide was informative along the way.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow! What a way to spend the day! The trip to the outdoor market to buy picnic supplies, the bike tour and our guide were all just lovely! Our guide was Australian and I don't remember her name - sorry! She was wonderful! We met at the bike shop where our guide gave us the details of the day. We had to traverse Paris streets and trains to get to Versailles and she was so attentive to the pace of the group and our safety. When we got to the market she gave us some great insider info and plenty of time to pick up our picnic supplies. While touring Versailles grounds she gave us great history lessons and gave the group options for flow of the day. Once the bike tour was completed we were given our tickets to the palace and our ticket for the train ride home so we could enjoy the palace at our own pace. The guide will escort you through the group entrance so you don't have to wait in the longer lines. She gave us detailed instructions on how to get back and was also gave us the option to ride back with her later in the day, if we wanted to. I would tell anyone that they are not seeing Versailles until they do this tour!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was "Top Notch" Guide Victor was extremely knowledgeable about Versailles and there was not a question that he could not answer. He gave a very thorough tour of the gardens and then we went to the palace where he got us in with no line, got our audio tour sets and bid us goodbye. We were then able to see the building on our own pace and leave when we wanted. When we were done, we used our garden tickets to re-enter the garden where we purchased two very good Ham and Swiss sandwiches for 4.50 Euro each. With a bottle of wine from the backpack, we enjoyed a great lunch before boarding the train back to Paris. I rate this a 10.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was fantastic, but our tour guide, Nicola, was out of this world. She provided an informative and entertaining narrative for all of the sites and history of the city. As others have mentioned, lunch as the Eiffel Tower was reasonably good, but not having to stand in line made it that much better.
The afternoon drive to Versailles was once again highlighted by Nicola's entertaining commentary. It would have been nice to spend more time at the palace and its grounds, but we definitely got a sense of the iconic place.
The dinner cruise was quite nice. The default seating is in the middle of the boat. If you want a window table, you can upgrade immediately upon boarding for a small fee. We did, and it was well worth it. Overall, it was a terrific tour that I would recommend to anyone trying to get a feel for Paris in a day.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was fantastic from start to finish! Seeing the sights of Paris via an open air small bus was much better than being enclosed. The roof was retractable, so it could be opened and closed as needed. The morning began with a tour of highlights of the city, followed by lunch at the Eiffel Tower. Being able to go straight through the line to the restaurant was nice. After our lunch with a view, we had some time to look at the views from the Tower at the restaurant level. Then, off to Versailles to see the Palace and Palace gardens.....beautiful! Back to the city for a dinner cruise on the Seine river. Food was great and wine was too! We didn't want to get off of the boat! You end the dinner cruise and tour at the base of the Eiffel Tower, so we had time to go to the top at dusk (on our own, not included in the price) and see it lit up at night. Guide was very nice and the tour was great.....we saw exactly what we wanted to see. It helped that the weather was perfect. The only suggestion would be for the tour operators to have bottled water available for their customers, especially when it's warm out. We had to wait for an opportunity to get water and we were all thirsty. Didn't help that the guide and driver drank their bottled water in front of us. If it hadn't been so warm, we wouldn't have noticed, but they definitely need to have it available or advise customers when/where they can get water/drinks so customers can be prepared as they were. We all enjoyed the tour (two 13 year old girls with their moms).

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour and such a fun way to see Versailles. The picnic lunch is a genius idea and was one of the best parts of the trip, if you can decide what to eat from the myriad of amazing foods on offer at the Versailles market! I wanted to buy everything. The guide took us to the perfect spot with a direct view of the Palace. Skipping the huge line of people waiting to enter Versailles is a huge bonus and whilst the Palace is incredible we really enjoyed our time in the grounds more. This trip was certainly a highlight of our visit to Paris. Certainly recommend as a way of seeing the other side of Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message