• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Versailles

The Chateau de Versailles was the creation of Louis XIV. He took his father's hunting lodge, transformed it into a work of wonder and excess and moved the whole court and government of France from Paris to Versailles in 1682. The next two French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The surprise part of the tour was the trip to Giverny, a most delightful addition, with a tasty, generous lunch at a very picturesque spot by a mill. Pure charm. The Versailles part was also worthwhile, with a fine commentary on the palace. Well organized and planned, this was good value for the money and made an enjoyable side trip to our visit to Paris

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I loved this trip. Our guide was so knowledgeable and took us all around the groves behind the palace, describing all of the different fountains, statues and areas that we would have never known about. The line to enter Versailles was estimated to be 2-2.5 hours, so skipping that was great. Who has time to wait in line for hours while in Paris? I would recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WOW and WOW!! What a wonderful day this was. We had a great tour around the city and seen everything we wanted to see then it was lunch time and off they took us to the Eiffel Tower for lunch. A table for two was awaiting for us right by the window - how cool is that!!! The food was superb and the service was excellent.
Then off to the Versailles Palace we went and that was a very nice ride, we loved the palace and it's gardens. Then we went back to Paris for our Cruise Dinner on the Seine River another superb meal and music, and laughter, and of course the scenery. Starting from the Eiffel Tower area and went as the Isle the Cite` a two and a half hour tour. Just loved it. Everyone should take this Tour as you can say you have seen and done everything in Paris.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The bike tour was a really nice way to visit Versailles. We had been to the palace before but I had always wanted to see the grounds. The tour was a great opportunity to venture further afield. Our picnic lunch next to the Grand Canal was lovely. After a peaceful and scenic ride around the grounds the palace was noisy and crowded in comparison!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A good tour guide really makes the difference for a tour like this, and ours was fantastic. Not only did Isabella explain everything in detail (amazing knowledge with her masters in Art History) and answer every question we had about Versailles and the surrounding grounds, she also gave us quite a bit of Paris history on our drive out of the city to the palace. Would recommend Isabella and this tour to anyone. Top notch.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour gives you the ultimate French experience, meet your guide and group the take a 20 min train ride from Paris to Versailles. Collect your bike, then off to the local market to buy your picnic and what an experience that is in itself, truly fantastic. Amazing scenery, great company, Bill our guide made it very interesting. The palace it's self was very interesting but for us it was the visit to the market, ride around the grounds, meeting some great people and the views that made our day!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Just a great half day! A nice way to get away from the hustle of central Paris. Awesome company! Our tour guide was amazing! 33 year old guy with curly hair (can't remember his name). Well organized, funny, very knowledgeable, just the perfect guide. Versailles and this tour are a must. Worth the extra few dollars you pay for this tour, just to skip the line is worth it. The train ride and meeting point were very easy to find. The tour of the gardens is amazing! and the Palace audio guided tour is great. Palace takes about 1 hour to walk through. Look up what days the fountains are on at Versailles. Always an added treat! A great place to go, not far from Paris at all. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Versailles Palace and Gardens are outstanding. Martin, our guide, was fun and informative. We arrived very early and the palace and grounds were already very busy, and our skip the line feature really came in handy. We toured the gardens when we first arrived with Martin, and then he obtained our palace tickets and audio guides to see the palace. We were able to explore the palace at our own pace and return to our favorite spots in the garden. Martin gave us clear instructions as to returning to Paris on the train.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour was excellent. The group was quite diverse, from different countries and young
to mature participants. The guide provided a history lesson about France. The bicycles were cruisers
and were easy to ride. The ride went through the village of Versailles. We stopped at the local market
and shopped for our lunch. The picnic was on the bank of the Grand Canal, which allowed viewing
of the palace. We rode in the beautiful property around the palace, and then toured the palace after
the ride and picnic lunch. This was a casual, easy ride and I would recommend it to visitors touring Paris..

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour provided metro tickets to and from Versailles, tickets to the gardens and palace and well as an audio guide for the palace tour. We were escorted to Versailles and through the gardens tour by Victor. Victor herded our group on the metro, through the lines to the gardens entrance. He then provided a two hour tour of the gardens that was both educational and entertaining. He then provided us with our tickets back to Paris and our audio guys. Also, the lines we skipped that day were over two hours long.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour exceeded our expectations. Our tour guide, Stephanie, provided informative narrative as we traveled with our tour party of eight from Paris to Versailles. The personalized tour was fantastic. We skipped all the lines and crowds, and enjoyed an intimate tour of rooms that most tourists never see, or only see from a roped-off area. We spent a leisurely three hours touring the palace, and then had an additional three hours to tour the gardens and grounds. Upon returning to Paris, we were individually dropped at personally requested locations. It was well worth every penny.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a home run experience. The meeting point is a local bike shop where they do a safety and general briefing, then it's a 5-10 min walk to the RER train station for a short ride out to Versailles. The train was really crowded but Dan, our guide, did a good job preparing the group for the crowds and we all met at the Versailles station without issue. After a short walk to their local office where the bikes are stored, the group rode through the streets of the town of Versailles to a local farmer's market. Dan made several excellent recommendations for picnic supplies (you're on your own for about 45 mins to shop at your own expense) and the experience there was fantastic. Then it's a short ride onto the palace grounds with regular stops to learn about the history of the palace and its inhabitants. Dan is a fantastic storyteller and engaged the whole group. I think we covered about 8 miles by bike, mostly flat but with a few gradual hills. About halfway through, the group stopped to eat the picnic lunch. The bike portion concluded back at their local office, followed by a 10 min walk to the palace's main entrance where we skipped the long queue and entered as a group. The palace portion is self-guided at your own pace, with the option of riding back to Paris at an appointed time with the guide or going back on your own. Train tix are included both ways. Overall a fantastic experience and a full day adventure.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you don't have a lot of time in Paris - this is a great tour. Our tour guide on the bus was terrific along with the guide at Versailles. We like to explore and Versailles is a great place to do that. The only thing I would recommend is that the tour be extended at least one-two (1-2) more hours for exploring after the palace tour - there's just so much to see - not just the palace but the gardens and Marie Antoinette's village. A few things you need to be aware of 1) the bus does not say Viator on it; 2) the bus does not pick you up at your hotel (the metro runs early AM - we were able to get to the meeting sight); 3) BE ON TIME, the tour leaves when it says it leaves. But overall - if you are limited on your time in Paris, then this is the way to go.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a very special trip to Versailles. Stephanie, the host who met us in Paris was a fabulous guide and gave very insightful information on our journey over to Versailles. We then had a guided visit of the Palace with one of their guides who was also very interesting. It was brilliant being able to leave the crowds behind and head into the private apartments. We then had time to walk through the gardens and head up to the Trianon, stopping on the way for some lunch. It was a great mix of having a guide but also some free time where we could explore on our own. Overall a highly recommended experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour included a tour of Paris in the morning, lunch at the Eiffel Tower, an afternoon at Versailles and then dinner on the River Seine. It was a very full day but wonderful. We skipped the line at the Tower and went straight up to the restaurant for lunch. Lunch was not what I expected. You place your order from the selected menu and everything comes out at once. Everything is placed on the table in a picnic style. Different but still a nice lunch. A mini van took 8 of us to Versailles where we spent the afternoon on an audio tour of the Palace and wandered around the gardens. At the appointed time we were picked up and dropped off at the water front just in front of the Tower. Plenty of time to have a glass of wine or take some photos before boarding the boat for dinner. Service and food was fabulous. It was a big day but not tiring as it is an early dinner. This is a must do adventure.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message