• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Versailles

The Chateau de Versailles was the creation of Louis XIV. He took his father's hunting lodge, transformed it into a work of wonder and excess and moved the whole court and government of France from Paris to Versailles in 1682. The next two French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you don't have a lot of time in Paris - this is a great tour. Our tour guide on the bus was terrific along with the guide at Versailles. We like to explore and Versailles is a great place to do that. The only thing I would recommend is that the tour be extended at least one-two (1-2) more hours for exploring after the palace tour - there's just so much to see - not just the palace but the gardens and Marie Antoinette's village. A few things you need to be aware of 1) the bus does not say Viator on it; 2) the bus does not pick you up at your hotel (the metro runs early AM - we were able to get to the meeting sight); 3) BE ON TIME, the tour leaves when it says it leaves. But overall - if you are limited on your time in Paris, then this is the way to go.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a very special trip to Versailles. Stephanie, the host who met us in Paris was a fabulous guide and gave very insightful information on our journey over to Versailles. We then had a guided visit of the Palace with one of their guides who was also very interesting. It was brilliant being able to leave the crowds behind and head into the private apartments. We then had time to walk through the gardens and head up to the Trianon, stopping on the way for some lunch. It was a great mix of having a guide but also some free time where we could explore on our own. Overall a highly recommended experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour included a tour of Paris in the morning, lunch at the Eiffel Tower, an afternoon at Versailles and then dinner on the River Seine. It was a very full day but wonderful. We skipped the line at the Tower and went straight up to the restaurant for lunch. Lunch was not what I expected. You place your order from the selected menu and everything comes out at once. Everything is placed on the table in a picnic style. Different but still a nice lunch. A mini van took 8 of us to Versailles where we spent the afternoon on an audio tour of the Palace and wandered around the gardens. At the appointed time we were picked up and dropped off at the water front just in front of the Tower. Plenty of time to have a glass of wine or take some photos before boarding the boat for dinner. Service and food was fabulous. It was a big day but not tiring as it is an early dinner. This is a must do adventure.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was amazing. We had our 12 year old son with us and he was the only child on the tour, but he was made to feel most welcome by Costigan our tour guide and all the other participants. The palace and its grounds along with the town of Versailles are spectacular. The bikes are so easy to ride, that any one can do it. We would highly recommend this tour and would do it again if we came back to Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a great tour and we were glad to include Versailles during our trip to Paris. Our guide picked us up on time and the transportation was very comfortable. We were lucky to be the only ones on this morning tour as we were able to ask alot of questions. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot. We especially enjoyed the Marie-Antoinette portion of the tour as she seemed like a fascinating individual. Versailles is beautiful as is the palace and the grounds! Unfortunately we didn't have time for the Dalloyau meal option but the menu looked delicious.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles and Marie-Antoinette Estate Tour plus Optional Dalloyau Meal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very informative tour, Kevin was great. Very recommended for your visit to Versailles.
The driver extremely careful. Kevin was with us all of the way helping in every way that he could. We all arrived on time so Kevin took time to show us a little about beautiful Paris. We even had time for a cup of coffee before going in. The meeting place is conveniently located at the Metropolitan metro station-easy to get to, on the Place de la Concorde.
To see Versailles away from the crowds is the only way. The history shared on the tour was amazing.
When you walk out after the tour by a palace guide with Kevin's guiding eye the crowds are unbelievable. You truly get the feel of the palace with this tour. My only suggestion would be
to meet at the end of the little green engine ride. The suggested restaurant is a hidden from view and signs obscure. When I asked the trolley driver for directions, the old man crudely blasted me in French. I did not reply, though I do speak French.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Paris. Versailles is incredible and our tour guide was entertaining and informing. I don't know how anyone can see Versailles properly without going on this tour, there's just so much to see outside alone, let alone the palace as well.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the best day I had in Paris. Enjoyed it enormously. Sixteen of us, cycling along the cobbled streets of Versailles, the markets to buy lunch, then onto the palace grounds. Phil was a terrific guide, good sense of humour and just enough information. A most beautiful area to cycle (many acres of parkland), easy going, lots of photo opportunities, and then picnic lunch by the lake. Then back to Versailles town to drop off the bikes. Two hours to view the palace and gardens, then metro back to Paris. A very full day, very enjoyable.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful day in Versailles! What a great way to see the palace. Very knowledgeable tour guide gave us historical perspective rarely found in audio guided tours. We will do this same trip again the next time we are in Paris. The beginning of the bike trip started at a fabulous market that is a wonderful experience in and of itself. We do not ride bikes but found this trip very easy to do.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

On a very rainy day we met our guide Stephanie, a very pleasant and knowledgeable young lady who made this tour worthwhile. Her care for use was fabulous under dismal condition. Lunch was very good and the additions from the market place, fresh fruit, cheese and local wine, made it more then enough. This tour has quite a bit of walking, so if you can't, don't. The gardens and palace are impressive! The fountains were great and the show enjoyable. The "skip the line" entrance to the palace should have been better organized by the Versailles Employees. Our tour guide did everything she could to try to get us in, but wait we did. It was very crowded in the Palace and not for those that do not like crowds, but impressive none the less. Finally were taken back to Paris and Stephanie insured we all got to our trains safely. The guide was a five and the tour a four.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is also a great day trip from Paris. The morning visit to Giverney is wonderful and after the commentaries, you have free time to visit the home and gardens of Monet at your leisure. Lunch at the old mill on the Apte River is delightful, especially if you have wonderful companions at your table, as we enjoyed.
The afternoon visit to Versailles is very interesting. It certainly causes one to reflect on the contrast of the incredible opulence of the palace as opposed to the grinding poverty of the general population.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This Tour was the perfect tour to get the information you needed and seeing the sights directly without wasting any time waiting in line or figuring out what you're looking at. We met up with the first guide in Paris outside of train station at Musee d'Orsay and she guided us all the way to Versailles where we met our second tour guide. She was very informative and patient. She gave us ample time to view sights and take pictures as well as giving us insightful information about the different areas of the garden and the palace itself. If there was one thing worth visiting while you're in Paris, I recommend taking this tour. The gardens are magnificent and breathtaking and the Hall of Mirrors was absolutely beautiful in all its sunlit grandeur. While there could have been more time spent exploring the gardens, the entire tour lasted about 3 hours and was the perfect amount of time to take in Versailles. Once the tour completed within the palace walls, you were free to explore the palace on your own or checkout the area. There are lots to see and do and it was absolutely great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was, by far, the best experience of our trip to Paris and Barcelona. I've been to Versailles before but never realized what was beyond the palace. This trip introduces you to a whole new side of Versailles that you never knew existed. We rode all over the grounds and saw Marie Antoinnette's peasant play village, rode all around the Grand Canal (where we had a great picnic), and saw smaller buildings on the grounds. The guide was fantastic with lots of great info. Actually, seeing the inside of the palace afterwards was somewhat of a let-down after this incredible tour.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We were met promptly at the elephant statue in front of Musee d'Orsay by Adam, an extremely friendly young man who is a Canadian going to school in Paris. He took us to the metro and gave us all tips, suggestions, on how to use the metro and helped us with several other questions. When we arrived at Versailles, he handed us over to Caroline who was going to give us the tour of the Palace, etc. Caroline was an excellent tour guide with a great sense of humour. The Palace and Gardens are spectacular. It was a very hot day and quite crowded but she was able to guide us through the crowds fairly quickly and was able to get us to the front of the line quite adeptly. Caroline was very passionate about the history and it was highly evident. In fact she commented that she "loved" Versailles Palace. She was an excellent tour guide and you would be very fortunate to have her if you went on this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was excellent. Our guide (Alex) did a great job of keeping the group together, accommodating special requests from people in the group, and providing us with his knowledge of Versailles. The tour was the right amount of time. We walked the grounds extensively (wear closed toe, comfortable shoes, as the walkways are gravel/sand and we walked over 4 miles) and it was beautiful. The "bag lunch" was very good, too. I was a little surprised that we spent about 75% of our time on the grounds and 25% of our time in the Chateau/Palace... but I was also glad. Our guide allowed us about 45 minutes of time to browse the Versailles street market, and get a phenomenal banana/Nutella crepes (I highly recommend it).

Another great aspect of this trip is that you get back to Paris in time for dinner. We felt like we saw everything we came to see in a relatively short time frame. Excellent trip and well organized!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message