Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Versailles

The Chateau de Versailles was the creation of Louis XIV. He took his father's hunting lodge, transformed it into a work of wonder and excess and moved the whole court and government of France from Paris to Versailles in 1682. The next two French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 136 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was "Top Notch" Guide Victor was extremely knowledgeable about Versailles and there was not a question that he could not answer. He gave a very thorough tour of the gardens and then we went to the palace where he got us in with no line, got our audio tour sets and bid us goodbye. We were then able to see the building on our own pace and leave when we wanted. When we were done, we used our garden tickets to re-enter the garden where we purchased two very good Ham and Swiss sandwiches for 4.50 Euro each. With a bottle of wine from the backpack, we enjoyed a great lunch before boarding the train back to Paris. I rate this a 10.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was fantastic, but our tour guide, Nicola, was out of this world. She provided an informative and entertaining narrative for all of the sites and history of the city. As others have mentioned, lunch as the Eiffel Tower was reasonably good, but not having to stand in line made it that much better.
The afternoon drive to Versailles was once again highlighted by Nicola's entertaining commentary. It would have been nice to spend more time at the palace and its grounds, but we definitely got a sense of the iconic place.
The dinner cruise was quite nice. The default seating is in the middle of the boat. If you want a window table, you can upgrade immediately upon boarding for a small fee. We did, and it was well worth it. Overall, it was a terrific tour that I would recommend to anyone trying to get a feel for Paris in a day.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was fantastic from start to finish! Seeing the sights of Paris via an open air small bus was much better than being enclosed. The roof was retractable, so it could be opened and closed as needed. The morning began with a tour of highlights of the city, followed by lunch at the Eiffel Tower. Being able to go straight through the line to the restaurant was nice. After our lunch with a view, we had some time to look at the views from the Tower at the restaurant level. Then, off to Versailles to see the Palace and Palace gardens.....beautiful! Back to the city for a dinner cruise on the Seine river. Food was great and wine was too! We didn't want to get off of the boat! You end the dinner cruise and tour at the base of the Eiffel Tower, so we had time to go to the top at dusk (on our own, not included in the price) and see it lit up at night. Guide was very nice and the tour was great.....we saw exactly what we wanted to see. It helped that the weather was perfect. The only suggestion would be for the tour operators to have bottled water available for their customers, especially when it's warm out. We had to wait for an opportunity to get water and we were all thirsty. Didn't help that the guide and driver drank their bottled water in front of us. If it hadn't been so warm, we wouldn't have noticed, but they definitely need to have it available or advise customers when/where they can get water/drinks so customers can be prepared as they were. We all enjoyed the tour (two 13 year old girls with their moms).

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour and such a fun way to see Versailles. The picnic lunch is a genius idea and was one of the best parts of the trip, if you can decide what to eat from the myriad of amazing foods on offer at the Versailles market! I wanted to buy everything. The guide took us to the perfect spot with a direct view of the Palace. Skipping the huge line of people waiting to enter Versailles is a huge bonus and whilst the Palace is incredible we really enjoyed our time in the grounds more. This trip was certainly a highlight of our visit to Paris. Certainly recommend as a way of seeing the other side of Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was great, it was a small group of 8 which made it very pleasant. We were very lucky when at Versailles it was not very busy, it was very comfortable to walk around and enjoy the magnificent palace.What amazing place, a must see when you go to Paris. Go with a guide to learn all about the palace, try and stay as long as you can. Do not got Monday or Tuesday always busy, we went Thursday.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fantastic way to see Versailles. For people with a limited amount of time - the direct bus ride out and knowledgeable guides made it very pleasant - even though it was raining. I have been to Versailles before - took the Metro, walked the 10 minutes to the gates and waited for over an hour to go through the doors. The "skip-the-line" tour was a fantastic and interesting way to see parts of Versailles that I have never seen. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave a well-paced and informative history of the palace. However, I was disappointed in that the fountains were only running on the week-end - and it had been advertised that they were also on Tuesdays - the reason for us booking that day. And - considering how big Versailles is - next time I would probably want to go for the whole day - walk through the gardens a bit, take the train for their guided tour ride - and have some time to sit and have a lunch and soak up the beauty and ambiance of the palace. With a young teenager in tow, this was the perfect timing and tour to introduce him to such an impressive place - especially considering it was raining and too cold to appreciate the gardens - something that is definitely more suitable for a warm, sunny day. I would certainly recommend this kind of tour to anyone who wants to be introduced to the beauty and history of this incredible place, especially if they have a limited amount of time to take in the many sights in Paris. One consideration - considering the bus ride is at least 40 minutes - could the guide point out interesting landmarks along the way - give a bit of a history preamble about Versailles along the way - basically to prime the uninformed tourist who has no knowledge of the palace. Thank you

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a lovely way to visit the Palace of Versailles, particularly in summer with all the thousands of other visitors.It was so lovely sitting beside the canal having our picnic in the shade with provisions purchased at the market place.Jeff was a great tour leader, he has lots of knowledge about French history that makes the visit come alive. The only downside is trying to find the rather out-of-the-way start point of the tour back in Paris.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The surprise part of the tour was the trip to Giverny, a most delightful addition, with a tasty, generous lunch at a very picturesque spot by a mill. Pure charm. The Versailles part was also worthwhile, with a fine commentary on the palace. Well organized and planned, this was good value for the money and made an enjoyable side trip to our visit to Paris

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I loved this trip. Our guide was so knowledgeable and took us all around the groves behind the palace, describing all of the different fountains, statues and areas that we would have never known about. The line to enter Versailles was estimated to be 2-2.5 hours, so skipping that was great. Who has time to wait in line for hours while in Paris? I would recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WOW and WOW!! What a wonderful day this was. We had a great tour around the city and seen everything we wanted to see then it was lunch time and off they took us to the Eiffel Tower for lunch. A table for two was awaiting for us right by the window - how cool is that!!! The food was superb and the service was excellent.
Then off to the Versailles Palace we went and that was a very nice ride, we loved the palace and it's gardens. Then we went back to Paris for our Cruise Dinner on the Seine River another superb meal and music, and laughter, and of course the scenery. Starting from the Eiffel Tower area and went as the Isle the Cite` a two and a half hour tour. Just loved it. Everyone should take this Tour as you can say you have seen and done everything in Paris.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The bike tour was a really nice way to visit Versailles. We had been to the palace before but I had always wanted to see the grounds. The tour was a great opportunity to venture further afield. Our picnic lunch next to the Grand Canal was lovely. After a peaceful and scenic ride around the grounds the palace was noisy and crowded in comparison!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A good tour guide really makes the difference for a tour like this, and ours was fantastic. Not only did Isabella explain everything in detail (amazing knowledge with her masters in Art History) and answer every question we had about Versailles and the surrounding grounds, she also gave us quite a bit of Paris history on our drive out of the city to the palace. Would recommend Isabella and this tour to anyone. Top notch.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour gives you the ultimate French experience, meet your guide and group the take a 20 min train ride from Paris to Versailles. Collect your bike, then off to the local market to buy your picnic and what an experience that is in itself, truly fantastic. Amazing scenery, great company, Bill our guide made it very interesting. The palace it's self was very interesting but for us it was the visit to the market, ride around the grounds, meeting some great people and the views that made our day!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Just a great half day! A nice way to get away from the hustle of central Paris. Awesome company! Our tour guide was amazing! 33 year old guy with curly hair (can't remember his name). Well organized, funny, very knowledgeable, just the perfect guide. Versailles and this tour are a must. Worth the extra few dollars you pay for this tour, just to skip the line is worth it. The train ride and meeting point were very easy to find. The tour of the gardens is amazing! and the Palace audio guided tour is great. Palace takes about 1 hour to walk through. Look up what days the fountains are on at Versailles. Always an added treat! A great place to go, not far from Paris at all. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Versailles Palace and Gardens are outstanding. Martin, our guide, was fun and informative. We arrived very early and the palace and grounds were already very busy, and our skip the line feature really came in handy. We toured the gardens when we first arrived with Martin, and then he obtained our palace tickets and audio guides to see the palace. We were able to explore the palace at our own pace and return to our favorite spots in the garden. Martin gave us clear instructions as to returning to Paris on the train.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message