Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Père Lachaise Cemetery

The Père Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetière du Père Lachaise) was founded in 1804 and today contains more than 70,000 ornate tombs in a verdant, open-air sculpture garden. Take the time to wander and really explore for all the beauty and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Interesting tour. I don't think walking around the cemetery would've been nearly as cool without a guided tour. The cemetery itself is really pretty, but knowing the history of it and the people buried there made a big difference.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Alexandra was wonderful, very engaging and couldn't have been more informative or helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, and Alexandra organised and saw us on our way to our next port of call. Would highly recommend this tour, cemetery was beautiful.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

the guide was very knowledgeable and patient with the slow walkers

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This was the most disappointing tour we did on our 2 week holiday. It lacked narration and interesting anecdotes which are the hallmarks of a good tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour and our guide, Chelsea.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting to learn about the history of the graves. Our guide was very pleasant and enjoyed talking about the interesting people buried there.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A beautiful setting with such interesting stories amongst the graves. To truly get the feel for Pere Lachaise, you definitely need a guided tour. Our guide was awesome- patient while we took many many photos and very knowledgeable about the history of the cemetery, including its residents. Book it!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Patrice was EXCELLENT and I would recommend this tour and his knowledge and humour in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great tour, very interesting and informative and Alberto is a great guide

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing and I enjoyed the experience. A very knowledgeable tour guide who kept the tour intriguing and interesting!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guide was pleasant but walked really fast, meaning I missed the first half of her commentary, and I am a fast walker! It made a pleasant change to be in a quiet area of Paris away from the tourists, but wasn't that interesting and I was a bit disappointed. We did get the background to each of the famous people buried there and I would never have been able to have found their graves by myself as the area is huge and there are many paths although there are street signs and maps. You can get to the graveyard easily using bus 69, which also gives a tour through the tourist areas of Paris for the price of a Metro ticket.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I will be sending you a complaint by email when I arrive home.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

GERAT.. Patrice was a wonderful tour guide ..don't miss this one but be ready yo waly!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Yes, you should go. But you should know it is a long, vigorous hike up and down and around all the monuments and markers. The paths are cobbled, so there is no smooth walking. Toddlers, or the elderly or handicapped will have a hard time of it. Even so, Pere La Chaise has a unique history and it houses the memories of so many notables that you may overlook the difficulties. Our guide was very familiar with the surroundings and we were grateful that he helped us over many of the steps and narrow places.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

In nice weather it was a perfect event!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I have contacted you several times regarding this tour but so far no one has responded to my emails.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent guide who was knowledgeable and conveyed the history of how Pere LaChaise evolved. We passed many people trying to go through the cemetery with a small map that listed the locations of graves, and we were so glad we had decided to take this well guided tour rather than go on our own. One could spend days wandering around, and our guide selected routes that revealed information we would never have gotten otherwise. Terrific tour - excellent value.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, tour leader was very knowledgeable.. cemetery is fantastic and well worth a look :)

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great guide- fabulous tour- highly recommend

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I joined a large group of 16 people in early September for this tour.
We were expertly led by Avi, a knowledgeable and friendly young man who was fluent in English and French.
The registration process was very simple and clear. It is a good idea that you advise participants to arrive 15 minutes early; 2 people still arrived late. Nevertheless we started close to the 3:00 starting time and filled the next 2 hours with wonderful information about Paris, Pere LaChaise and the interesting people buried there. It was one of my favorite experiences in Paris!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyed this walking tour - the cemetery is so large that without a guide you would miss alot

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great guide, Avi, who was very knowledgeable. He took us to an intriguing variety of gravesites. The trek was well planned and his narrative interesting. We had ominous thunder, but no real rain, so that added a great spooky atmosphere. I was trying to do some research as well, so kept having to catch up because I stopped and took too many pictures - but Avi did give time for some photos. The tour was generally well-paced and very interesting.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour! Guide, Alberto, was excellent and provided us with so much interesting information. Marvellous afternoon which passed in a flash! Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful and quite knowledgeable with stories and the lives of each grave we visited and others not far from our walking track. The walk was planned so we wouldn't walk up hill which was helpful as the tour takes a couple of hours. Our guide was easy to find, right outside the metro station with a sign and helpful directions were given after the tour had ended on how to get back to a near by metro station.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message