Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Père Lachaise Cemetery

The Père Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetière du Père Lachaise) was founded in 1804 and today contains more than 70,000 ornate tombs in a verdant, open-air sculpture garden. Take the time to wander and really explore for all the beauty and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I joined a large group of 16 people in early September for this tour.
We were expertly led by Avi, a knowledgeable and friendly young man who was fluent in English and French.
The registration process was very simple and clear. It is a good idea that you advise participants to arrive 15 minutes early; 2 people still arrived late. Nevertheless we started close to the 3:00 starting time and filled the next 2 hours with wonderful information about Paris, Pere LaChaise and the interesting people buried there. It was one of my favorite experiences in Paris!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyed this walking tour - the cemetery is so large that without a guide you would miss alot

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great guide, Avi, who was very knowledgeable. He took us to an intriguing variety of gravesites. The trek was well planned and his narrative interesting. We had ominous thunder, but no real rain, so that added a great spooky atmosphere. I was trying to do some research as well, so kept having to catch up because I stopped and took too many pictures - but Avi did give time for some photos. The tour was generally well-paced and very interesting.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour! Guide, Alberto, was excellent and provided us with so much interesting information. Marvellous afternoon which passed in a flash! Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We moved too slowly the first half hour but then our guide finally picked up the pace. He was very knowledgeable and I was interested in seeing and learning more. I realize it is celebrity-focused but I was more interested in the funerary art and architecture and names of sculptors. Alberto tried to please us all. Very nice man.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was good and the decedents were illustrious. Would have liked a little more time at the holocaust area with its haunting sculpture.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Due to illness, we were unable to go.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent guide and tour

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an awesome tour this was. The Guide was very informative and made our trip extremely interesting - would recommend this tour to anyone

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent. Alberto was a fantastic guide. I had to drag my parents along to this tour (my dad doesn't see the fascination), but they were very impressed and enjoyed it.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Terrific tour guide. Would recommend to anyone
WLP

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I highly recommend this beautiful and serene tour! We were a small group - about 8 people - and our guide made our walk through the cemetery unforgettable! He had a lot of information to share about famous and not so famous people buried in Pere LaChaise and answered any questions that visitors had (and the questions were quite a few!) I great tour to make while one ponders life and death... And a very picturesque one too!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed this tour. It's a beautiful cemetary full of history and lots of stories.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alberto provided a great tour of Pere LaChaise Cemetery including the history of the site and guided us to many fascinating points of interest. The cemetery is enormous and we could not have fully appreciated this unique cemetery without his assistance.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide provided an informative and entertaining tour of this famous landmark.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message