Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Père Lachaise Cemetery

The Père Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetière du Père Lachaise) was founded in 1804 and today contains more than 70,000 ornate tombs in a verdant, open-air sculpture garden. Take the time to wander and really explore for all the beauty and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a fascinating place, it is both an historical site and also a current working cemetery. Our guide was friendly and also informative. He asked our small group if there were any particular graves of interest to them and he ensured that our tour included those graves.
The Cemetery covers such a vast area that having a guide ensured that we saw as much as possible in the time frame. You could spend a week exploring and still not see it all.
Be prepared with good walking shoes as it is hilly and quite uneven walking in parts. The major surprise was how green the area is, thanks to the 5,300 mature trees which give the most wonderful shade and atmosphere to this place.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great. One of my favorite tours.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Choosing to visit the cemetery with a guide was a great decision. He was knowledgeable about the history of the location and, of course, was able to show us the way to find the graves we wanted to see. As well he showed us many other famous residents. The rain really added to the atmosphere of our visit.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide, Alberto, was great. He was funny, patient, and super knowledgeable. We were able to customize our tour so we could swing by graves we were interested in. He had a map in his mind that allowed us to cut all across the cemetery. The cemetery was so beautiful and rich in history!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent value. Very interesting; a guided tour is the way to go during one's first visit to the cemetery. (Next time I'll visit this peaceful location, and walk around independently.)

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We took the tour with Paulina in June 2014. We both enjoyed it very much thanks to Paulina's interest and knowledge. Couldn't have wished for a better guide. The cemetery itself is very interesting, and well worth a visit if you want something a little bit out of the main-stream Paris experience.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour, our guide Adam knew everything off the top of his head, no book. He also started the tour at the back of the cemetery so we walked down hill wheras the other tour groups we saw walked upwards. I would definitely do this again!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great experience and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Bring good walking shoes and an umbrella!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This tour requires a lot of walking thru the cobbled stoned streets of Pere LaChaise cemetery. Highlights included graves of Jim Morrison, Oscar Wilde, Chopin, Edith Piaf and Maria Callas. Our guide Alberto provided additional insight into the history of the cemetery and folklore stories. It was an okay tour however I would not recommend it to someone visiting Paris for the first time.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pere LaChaise was our favorite tour in Paris! Our tour guide was terrific - educational and entertaining. We would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A fantastic tour, very informative and the guide was excellent - really did all he could to accommodate everybody'd requests. The guide was very knowledgable and had a good sense of humour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Alberto, our guide, was fantastic! I'm a bit of a "cemetery buff" but my wife, not so much. She was truly impressed. We had a small group of 7 which made the tour even more enjoyable. Alberto asked if any of us had "special requests" of graves we would like to see (which we did). He satisfied all of our requests and answered all of our questions. He had a wealth of information and a great personality! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Alberto was nice and very knowledgeable. I enjoyed the tour very much and will definitely take it again with a friend of mine who also wants to see the cemetery. At the end of the tour, Alberto waited for me to get a cab and made sure I wasn't overcharged.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. We saw most of what we wanted to see. The guide was extremely informative and he went out of his way to take us by a grave that my wife was interested it. It was good value for money. However within the allotted time it is not possible to visit everyone so my recommendation would be to do your research before, because the guide will ask you in advance if there is someone you are really interested in. This is true if the person is not one of the most popular like Jim Morrison, Oscar Wilde, Chopin etc. I didn't realize until afterwards that Sarah Bernhardt was there. I would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message