Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Père Lachaise Cemetery

The Père Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetière du Père Lachaise) was founded in 1804 and today contains more than 70,000 ornate tombs in a verdant, open-air sculpture garden. Take the time to wander and really explore for all the beauty and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very informative guide. Really interesting location. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Kutnu D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was really nice tour and the tour guide was very gentle and helpful. He tried to give information as much as he can.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Walking Tour of Pere Lachaise Cemetery

Thomas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

me and my friend enjoyed the tour it is well worth the visit our guide Linda was great she made it a great day
without her we would not have found the most of the graves we seen
Tommy

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was terrific! He shared the history of the cemetery, but not in 'cold facts' but in anecdotes. The group was quite small and he was very engaged and personable. We are recommending this tour to all our friends.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

tmcalhany

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The tour guide did not seem to have enough knowledge. We didn't get too much information about all of the important folks buried there. I would rate the experience about 2 1/2.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent. Informative guide, right amount. Of interaction with the group a famous out experience.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

PROJIT B M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was easily one of the top highlights of our Paris trip this July. We took a guided tour of the cemetery and our guide - Alessandro I think his name was - was not only very knowledgeable but also very enthusiastic and charming. Aside from telling us about the rich histories of the cemetery and the famous and not-so-famous graves, he also entertained us with charming little anecdotes of the cemetery. All together, it was a great tour and if we visit Paris again next summer, we will definitely take another guided tour and preferably with the same guide!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

dave b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent, very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Visiting Pere La Chaise Cemetery is like strolling through an outdoor museum filled with beautiful and unusual works of art. The tombs and monuments are truly works of art. A great way to spend an afternoon.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

smudge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Such an experience. To find out the history of the place plus visit the final resting place
of so many famous people. My partner is French and to visit the grave of Piaf was a standout
moment of the tour. For me, although touched with sadness over the events that led to his death, I
was humbled to see the grave of Jim Morrison. Again, thank you Viator for such a great way to
learn about this incredible part of Paris

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Julie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Alberto was amazing - he was interesting and the stories he shared were very informative.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Nicole D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour guide. Very informative and fun. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Charles F B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

It was not what we expected and it seemed long .I would prep
F

It was
to long and not what we expected .I would of preferred to just looked on my own rate 3

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Ben I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My partner and I signed up for the tour of the Pere LaChaise tour since we figured it would be valuable in such a vast space to have a guide. Alberto was incredibly insightful and informative and the tour was entertaining, humorous, and thoroughly enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

steven h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Avi, our guide was absolutely fantastic! He was very knowledgeable about the cemetery and had many stories that brought the people buried there to life no pun intended. A very interesting tour, bring your best walking shoes and get set for a most enjoyable time

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Jose Mauricio P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

perfect. I've been to pere lachaise before but this time was exceptional. our italian guide really knew what he was doing. great knowledge and fun. Don't visit pere lachaise without viator team, it won't be the same.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Gail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour on Thursday September 10 was excellent, and our guide Harve'? set just the right tone. He dedicated extra time and effort to make sure that my visit to the grave of Marcel Proust was a meaningful experience for me. My whirlwind tour of London, Paris, and Rome included many fabulous and fascinating moments, but The Pere LaChaise Gravestone Waling Tour is what I'll remember the most. The cemetery's history is intriguing, and the gravestones and setting are beautiful. I urge every tourist to carve out time amid the bustle and sign up for this marvelous tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide Ruta from CityWalks Tours. Very knowledgeable about the residents within the cemetary - really knew her way around. Could not have done this tour without guide. Seen so many famous people's graves and learned some history along the way. Highly recommend

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Alberto, our guide, did a wonderful job satifying all the members of his group. He asked everyone whose grave they would like to visit and off we went. He explained a lot of history of Paris and the foundation of the cemetery. We visited the final resting places of such people as Jim Morrison my daughter's request, Oscar Wilde, Chopin, Maria Callas, and Edith Piaf, Moliere and many more. This is one of my favorite attractions in Paris. Don't just stroll through the cemetery, book the tour and learn

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Isabel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A superb tour: thoroughly well informed, thoughtfully designed tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Francesca L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I enjoyed this tour very much. Couldh't have found so much famous tombs so easily without following the guide! Alexandra was a very effective guide providing just the right amount of information to make the tour really interesting.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

John D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Not much I can say. We left the tour after 20 minutes

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Thomas P H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I am now finding that Viator tours are staffed with personal, professional and truly knowledgeable guides. This is the third one that I have taken.

Our guides was truly first rate both in explanation about the cemetery and the individuals interred there. I would strongly take another tour with her, as she made the experience both fascinating and memorable.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message