• USD ($)
  • English

Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Père Lachaise Cemetery

The Père Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetière du Père Lachaise) was founded in 1804 and today contains more than 70,000 ornate tombs in a verdant, open-air sculpture garden. Take the time to wander and really explore for all the beauty and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was fabulous. Our guide was amazing. We learnt so much , her knowledge was outstanding and her presntatation was filled with humour and passion . Thank you

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I can only recommend the Viator experience. Booking was effortless and when we arrived at the designated metro station a rep was there waiting for us The Pere la Chaise tour was fabulous. Our guide Alberto,who spoke four languages, was superb. He was well informed and was able to answer every question that we asked with the certainty of someone who had done his research. Pere la Chaise is a vast cemetery and a vsitor could easily miss the significant points of interest. Alberto took us off the beaten track and took us, via short cuts, to where we needed to see. My husband was a reluctant participant on this tour - but even he was won over by Alberto!s charm and found the experience enjoyable and worthwhile! Do go and visit Pere la Chaise while you are in Paris- but if you want to get the best from it - book a guide. It was the best money that we spent.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was very interesting! Our guide told us lots of interesting facts and legends. There are things you never find in any guide-book. Besides if we were alone we would be still there looking for exit! Thank you, Roberto! Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year !

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, very good Canadian guide, i have been in Paris several times but never at Pere LaChaise; i am very happy i signed up for a tour. There is very limited info at the cemetary so a guided tour is absolutely necessary to get anything ouf from visiting the site

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

One of the places you must visit when in Paris. And I would recommend going there on a guided tour because you see and learn more than just following a book.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour of Pere le chaise was very informative. The diversity of the deceased who came to rest at the site was interesting to say the least. Our tour guide Linda was well informed and asked at the beginning of our tour who we were most interested in seeing to be sure to include them in our tour, her English Was impeccable. You travel through time as you explore the vast cemetery. It was a bit drizzly on our visitors and the ravens added intrigue. A great experience

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

So glad I did this tour! Had no idea that this graveyard was even there. So interesting! Our guide was great! Loved the way she organized the walk.....downhill :)

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a really cool way to explore Pere Lachaise - the guide (Linda??) Was very knowledgable and had a dry wit - loved it. As far as value for time and money goes, I highly recommend it. We certainly could not have gotten so much out of 3 hours on our own.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Michelle E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic tour, really informative and just fabulous to hear the stories associated with all the headstones we visited. Fascinating and well worthwhile. Terrific guide.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour but not enough time spent at Oscar Wilde's tomb which I had particularly wanted to see and too much time at Jim Morrison's tomb in which I had no interest at all! Attempt should be made to cater for all in group.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent tour. Our guide, Alberto, was professional, well informed and respectful. We learned so much from him. We highly recommend this tour. It was everything we had hoped it would be.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour and value for money!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

There were only 5 of us on the tour so the guide could have given us alot more information. We had to ask questions to get any extra information. Felt the guide was just "doing her job" Have paid a lot less for a tour and received much more information.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour of Pere LaChaise was great. Our tour guide was terrific, I think his name was Antonio, he really knew his french history! There were only 4 of us on the tour which was also great. I would definitely sign up with more tours with Viator next time I am in Paris - which I hope is soon!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Alberto was perfect as a tour guide. The walk was well paced and always interesting.
This is something you might dismiss as being a little ghoulish, but for me it was another interesting and important piece of Paris' history puzzle.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message