Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Père Lachaise Cemetery

The Père Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetière du Père Lachaise) was founded in 1804 and today contains more than 70,000 ornate tombs in a verdant, open-air sculpture garden. Take the time to wander and really explore for all the beauty and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I am now finding that Viator tours are staffed with personal, professional and truly knowledgeable guides. This is the third one that I have taken.

Our guides was truly first rate both in explanation about the cemetery and the individuals interred there. I would strongly take another tour with her, as she made the experience both fascinating and memorable.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Kate was an unbelieveable guide. Very knowledgeable and personable. She has the the perfect personality and education for these types of tours. I will recommend to my family and friends. I will tell them to ask for Kate.
Jeff from Cleveland

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great, I highly recommend it!.
Kate, our guide, was awesome! Very interesting and amusing. We went on several walking tours during our stay, and out of all guides, she was by far the best!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So much fun and informative!!! Highly recommend!!!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

two hours with guide Kate providing facts, fun and a general sense of knowledge about historical and sometimes notorious figures buried here. Book this tour it is excellent and Kate is the best.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Linda, was very knowledgable and passionate about the cemetery, and told us stories of the interesting people who were buried in Pere LaChaise. She asked if there were any specific graves we would like to see, then tailored the walk around our needs. A leiurely walk around the cemetery.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Long walk between the graves that you want to see but most of all long walk from the metro, when you could got of another metrostation that was closer.To slow presentation but we learned a lot of new things about all the famous people and Haussmann with the boulevards in Paris..

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Interesting tour. I don't think walking around the cemetery would've been nearly as cool without a guided tour. The cemetery itself is really pretty, but knowing the history of it and the people buried there made a big difference.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Alexandra was wonderful, very engaging and couldn't have been more informative or helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, and Alexandra organised and saw us on our way to our next port of call. Would highly recommend this tour, cemetery was beautiful.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was very good. She had great knowledge about the cemetery and about Paris in general.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

the guide was very knowledgeable and patient with the slow walkers

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This was the most disappointing tour we did on our 2 week holiday. It lacked narration and interesting anecdotes which are the hallmarks of a good tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour and our guide, Chelsea.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting to learn about the history of the graves. Our guide was very pleasant and enjoyed talking about the interesting people buried there.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A beautiful setting with such interesting stories amongst the graves. To truly get the feel for Pere Lachaise, you definitely need a guided tour. Our guide was awesome- patient while we took many many photos and very knowledgeable about the history of the cemetery, including its residents. Book it!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Patrice was EXCELLENT and I would recommend this tour and his knowledge and humour in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great tour, very interesting and informative and Alberto is a great guide

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing and I enjoyed the experience. A very knowledgeable tour guide who kept the tour intriguing and interesting!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guide was pleasant but walked really fast, meaning I missed the first half of her commentary, and I am a fast walker! It made a pleasant change to be in a quiet area of Paris away from the tourists, but wasn't that interesting and I was a bit disappointed. We did get the background to each of the famous people buried there and I would never have been able to have found their graves by myself as the area is huge and there are many paths although there are street signs and maps. You can get to the graveyard easily using bus 69, which also gives a tour through the tourist areas of Paris for the price of a Metro ticket.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I will be sending you a complaint by email when I arrive home.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

GERAT.. Patrice was a wonderful tour guide ..don't miss this one but be ready yo waly!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Yes, you should go. But you should know it is a long, vigorous hike up and down and around all the monuments and markers. The paths are cobbled, so there is no smooth walking. Toddlers, or the elderly or handicapped will have a hard time of it. Even so, Pere La Chaise has a unique history and it houses the memories of so many notables that you may overlook the difficulties. Our guide was very familiar with the surroundings and we were grateful that he helped us over many of the steps and narrow places.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

In nice weather it was a perfect event!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent guide who was knowledgeable and conveyed the history of how Pere LaChaise evolved. We passed many people trying to go through the cemetery with a small map that listed the locations of graves, and we were so glad we had decided to take this well guided tour rather than go on our own. One could spend days wandering around, and our guide selected routes that revealed information we would never have gotten otherwise. Terrific tour - excellent value.

Doing what: Paris' Pere LaChaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message