Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Picasso Museum (Musée Picasso)

Europe has no lack of Picasso museums, but the Musée Picasso in Paris should be at the top of your list. The Hotel Salé, a mid-17th-century home in Le Marais, was renovated from residence to museum, starting in 1968, and since then has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful morning's tour of the Marais. We heard a nice history of the area and then learned a lot about the previous and current art scene.
Our guide was also very versed in Picasso's history. It was nice to be well primed before we saw the newly reopened museum.
We were there on a weekday morning in July and there was no problem with crowds.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great time. Informational. Pretty sights and gardens. We could have covered a little more ground but it was an overall wonderful day and we leaned a lot about Le Marais. The Picasso Museum is worth a visit. Much more visitor friendly than coping with the Mona Lisa mob in the summer! Our tour guide was lovely and her personal insights were terrific.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful, knowledgeable guide. Very personable and informative. The Picasso Museum was, of course, fantastic, though there was no line at all when we got there.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the tour with our local guide, a true Parisian. It was a small group, and she was open to individual questions. The information she shared on the history of the Marais was most interesting, and her tips on local cuisine and shops were terrific. The end at the Picasso museum was a little disorganized. Also, I did not realize the Paris multi-day museum pass covered the Picasso. The staff at the museum were puzzled by tour ticket we had to skip the line. And we didn't really skip the line, it was just a little shorter.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Our tour guide was informative and energetic, and she did a nice job giving us an overview of the Marais, particularly on its evolution as a venue for public art and street art. The tour lasted a little less than 90 minutes, which isn't enough time to cover the full breadth of history and culture in the Marais. I wish there had been a bit more focus on the immigrant communities that have populated the Marais over time. Some recommendations on favorite cafes and restaurants would have been nice as well. Being able to skip the line at the Musee Picasso is well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good tour, could have been more informative as a large portion of the Marais history was not discussed. Skipping the line at Picasso was well worth it, saved us an hour of waiting. Awesome museum.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Eva was wonderful and so knowledgable. We learned so much about the area, and stopped along the way at some amazing patisseries. The Picasso Museum is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Eva was wonderful and so knowledgable. We learned so much about the area, and stopped along the way at some amazing patisseries. The Picasso Museum is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Eva was wonderful and so knowledgable. We learned so much about the area, and stopped along the way at some amazing patisseries. The Picasso Museum is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Eva was wonderful and so knowledgable. We learned so much about the area, and stopped along the way at some amazing patisseries. The Picasso Museum is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Eva was wonderful and so knowledgable. We learned so much about the area, and stopped along the way at some amazing patisseries. The Picasso Museum is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I was able to see quite a bit in Paris with it, although there were some issues. The Picasso Museum shows as being included in the Paris Pass, but when you arrive at the museum, they say it is a mistake and you have to pay. Luckily since I was talking to a manager, I was able to pay and not have to also wait in the long line for tickets. The transit ticket said it was good for two days, although it only worked the first day. Even with the skip the line at the Louvre, I had to wait in line for over two hours, they kept letting large groups in ahead of the skip the line. This cut into my time so I was unable to go to a couple of other places, so it wasn't cost effective to get the Paris Pass.

Doing what: Paris Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed hearing the Picasso information. Guide was not as interactive as I would have liked and the fact that we had three other guides shadowing her was distracting. I would definitely use this tour guide company again.

Doing what: Small-Group Le Marais Art Walking Tour and Skip-the-Line Picasso Museum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the perfect "hands on" way to learn about and enjoy the cheese of Paris. The shop is a two generation family affair (Father and Daughter) and the large cellar level under the store which houses the maturation room (wall to wall cheeses) is where everything takes place. Pierre, who also has a winery background, has set up the homey space with all sorts of displays that bring his story of the history of cheese to life. He is warm, extremely knowledgeable and made both the art and science of cheese making come to life in the "presentation" portion of the session. The cheese tasting part was fabulous and set up just like a great wine tasting. It included generous helpings of six very different (and fabulous) cheeses, baguette, apples (for palate cleansing) and both a red and white wine. As both a wine and cheese expert, Pierre provided great insights on the art of pairing wine and cheese, in addition to his guidance on the cheese tasting itself. It was a great way to savor one of the best Paris foods in a relaxing atmosphere, and the time of day/area made it easy to fit this activity into a packed schedule of site seeing. It is very near the Picasso and Pompidou museums in the Marais district.

Doing what: Cheese and Wine Tasting in a Paris Cheese Cellar

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The hop on hop off bus takes 2 hours and is very limited in terms of where it stops. In contrast, the hop on hop off bus was great when we took it in Dublin but it's not worth it in Paris. The 2 day metro pass was good but the steps were too difficult for my elderly parents. It's really not practical to see more than one or two museums per day and so this pass is just to expensive to be worthwhile. Note that the new Picasso museum is NOT included.

Doing what: Paris Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Marion, our guide, gave us many intersting stories as we trekked through Monmartre by foot. Don't do this unless you are used to walking uphill. Part of the tour included going by Dalida- an Egytian singer's home; St. Denis' statue; an ancient vineyard; and a path bordering a philosopher's home which have nothing to do with Impressionist art. We were shown a street leading to Van Gogh's home but did not go there. We sldo stopped outside the studio where Picasso worked and lived for a time. we ended at the top of the hill at Sacre Coeur. The trickets to the Musee d'Orsay was great but only had 2 hours there by the time we took the Metro there.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A great day out. For me the highlight was the canal trip. But I also found two unexpected treats - exhibitions by Picasso and others, and another one by Dali. Fabulous. I hate to be a killjoy - but you are not buying Belgian hand-made lace at such prices. The majority comes from China. It is still hand-made. And you bought it in Belgium.

Doing what: Paris to Bruges Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Gil was great-he not only showed the historical spots where Renoir painted several of his masterpieces as well as where Braque and Picasso lived. But he also showed us examples of current street art and told us about the street art scene. Very informative.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

A nice contrast to the downtown tourist areas, even if you're not interested in Picasso's misbehavior.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

A wonderful afternoon was had on this tour of Montmartre with our wonderful tour guide. She was friendly and informative. She gave us plenty of time to climb the steep streets of Montmartre and explained so much about the culture of this area of Paris especially at the start of the 20th century. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who would like to learn more of the cultural side of Paris and see where famous painters such as Picasso lived and worked. The tour concluded at Sacre Coeur at the top of Montmartre, where we could then choose to stay as little or as long as we liked. The guide supplied us with a map to show us how to get to where we wanted to go following Sacre Coeur. This was one of the highlights of our European trip.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Robert B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

Excellent, entertaining, and informative tour. The insight into the various personalities who have graced Montmartre with their presence over the years was great, particularly the artists, such as Picasso, Braque, Modigliani, and of course Toulouse-Lautrec. The duration of the course was just about right.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message