Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Place de la Concorde

The Place de la Concorde is between the Tuileries Gardens and the Champs Elysées on Paris's famous axis. It was laid out between 1755 and 1775. The 3,300-year-old pink granite obelisk with the gilded top in the square's centre was given to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed this tour, highly recommend. Meeting point unclear due to works in place de la Concorde. Called to find out meeting point but no call back. Was still able to find tour close to meeting point.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Secret Sites and Hidden Gems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Bart, was so friendly, considerate and knowledgeable. Awesome tour. It started at the Place de la Concorde and ended in the Marais at the Pompidou. Along the way, we stopped at a shop and enjoyed picking out a delicious macaroon Later on in the walk we enjoyed sampling various cheeses with that wonderful French bread. Both are included in the price of the tour. The walk was well paced so older travelers can manage this three hour tour easily. We saw so many famous sights and many hidden gems we may have missed on our own. Do this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We met our tour guide, Bart, at the place de la Concorde. He was prompt, friendly and very knowledgeable. This tour was marvelous and memorable. We strolled down narrow streets, walked through charming Passages, visited churches and theaters and points of interest we may have missed or spent precious time trying to locate on our own ... enjoying Bart's comments along the way. We stopped at one place and enjoyed a delicious macaroon. Later, we stopped and enjoyed a delicious assortment of cheeses with that marvelous French bread!!! Our tour ended at the Pompidou. Bart was very helpful in pointing out metros and directions. My friend and I were so glad we chose this tour. VIATOR is very helpful in scheduling their tours

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Secret Sites and Hidden Gems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent. Comfortable "convertible" minibus took us there and back from the Place Concorde. Extremely knowledgeable courier with a wicked sense of humour told us all about the four Louis who occupied the palace up to the time of the revolution. A French guide took us round the Royal Quarters before they opened to the general public, who could only look through the doorway of the chapel and were not allowed in the Opera House at all. He spoke excellent English and obviously enjoyed his job as he works as a guide in the Musee d'Orsay in the week and at Versailles at the weekend. My only complaint was that he was so enthusiastic that we were in the palace a little too long so missed some of the fountains that are only turned on for 45 minutes at noon on Saturdays.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time. Time was tight with bad traffic on the Place de concorde, but everyone was fed and looked after at the Eiffel Tower, we made the boat trip and were looked after at the Moulin Rouge, despite late arrival. Special access got us in, with plenty of time for the show: real VIP treatment.

Doing what: Eiffel Tower, Paris Moulin Rouge Show and Seine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very informative tour, Kevin was great. Very recommended for your visit to Versailles.
The driver extremely careful. Kevin was with us all of the way helping in every way that he could. We all arrived on time so Kevin took time to show us a little about beautiful Paris. We even had time for a cup of coffee before going in. The meeting place is conveniently located at the Metropolitan metro station-easy to get to, on the Place de la Concorde.
To see Versailles away from the crowds is the only way. The history shared on the tour was amazing.
When you walk out after the tour by a palace guide with Kevin's guiding eye the crowds are unbelievable. You truly get the feel of the palace with this tour. My only suggestion would be
to meet at the end of the little green engine ride. The suggested restaurant is a hidden from view and signs obscure. When I asked the trolley driver for directions, the old man crudely blasted me in French. I did not reply, though I do speak French.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We deliberately booked this tour for the first morning of our visit to Paris in order to get a quick overview of the main sites of Paris and how they were geographically linked and distributed; this Segway tour did not disappoint! We sure most of the main features of Paris: Dome church, military school, peace monument, Alexander Bridge, Invalides, Concorde, Louvre, Eiffel Tower etc. And at up to 10 miles per hour you can sure cover some distance. Our guide was clearly working to a pre-written script but that script was very well written, interesting and information about the different landmarks and our guide put a huge amount of effort into making the tour go well. My only slight criticism as an Englishman with a Cuban-American guide was that the "awesome's" and John Wayne "Let's go's" could grate a bit at time but that should not put anyone off. The Segways themselves were really easy and quick to get the hang of, no-one should be scared of them and to book this tour. The first 30 mins is spent with one-on-ones to get everyone trained in how to use them and on safety. They are a breeze - one hour in we were using them with no hands and being reprimanded for improper use - a real shame that each Segway has a built in speed limiter :-) Another bonus was that after the Segway my wife and I had our real bearings about the layout of Paris and where everything was. We then were able to walk everywhere and stay off the metro. Not only is walking almost as quick but you also get more time to experience the general Paris architecture. We would highly recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Paris City Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I think this is hands down the best way to see a lot of the city if you're short on time. I would suggest dowloading a map prior to boarding and planning which stops you will skip and which to get off at since the stops come up quickly and it's hard to keep track of where you are. We decided to do the Paris Grans (Green) Tour since we were short on time as this tour has the highlights of city. We were staying near the Eiffel Tower so we boarded at stop 15. We got off at the Invalides (great museum of you have time),Concorde Royal (many designer boutiques in this area), Opera House/Department Stores, Notre Dame and had planned to switch to the orange line and walk around the Latin Quarter and St. Germaine but since it was rainning and cold we decided not to. The only con is that the map provided doesn't make it easy to find the stop if you've ventured too far from where you got off so plan accordingly.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Sjla
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Learned alot about the Eiffel tower's history and the history of those buildings seen from the tower, like the Ecole militaire, Eglise de Dome, and the Place de la Concorde. Hannah, our tour guide's stories were interesting and engaging. And skipping the hours and hours of lines was awesome. Definitely recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Tickets and Small-Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

I was very disappointed with the hop on hop off tour we chose. The first bus we got on would not accept our voucher/confirmation and said it was probably the wrong tour operator but that they really didn't know either. She didn't do anything to inquire or to assist us in any way. (Actually I felt like she couldn't be bothered) The second bus we did get on. It was the exact same bus line. No problem this time. Sat down and the bus went on route from Notre Dame to Place de Concorde without any commentary, just music. Very dissatisfied. Tried to ask the bus driver but he was too busy using his telephone. Finally demanded to let us off. Had to walk quite a ways to get to the next bus stop. Wasted a lot of time as a result of these issues. Commentary on this next bus was good. Also the buses go way too fast to enjoy the sights. Wasted our money.

Doing what: Paris City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The tour provided a great overview of Paris. We drove along the Champs Elysse, went by Place de la Concorde and everywhere in between. And of course, the 2nd floor view from the Eiffel Tower was breathtaking (skipping the line was also great..i might add). The only thing was that the earphones for the audio guide on the bus didn't work very well, so I feel I missed out on some informative parts of the tour, but overall was very good.

Doing what: Paris City Tour, Seine River Cruise and Eiffel Tower

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

This tour had some good moments, such as visiting Place de la Concorde, however it would have been nice to enter Musée de l'Armee and see Napoleon's tomb.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

excellent way to know the CIty, very convenient, unfotunately, the service ended at 4:30 pm at la place de la Concorde, if you are close by, fine, if not, like me, I have to pay for a taxi to get back

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Norma S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

A potted history of France delivered by a Canadian. However it worked out well. We started at 'Hotel des Invalides' then walked across Le Seine to Place de la Concorde and finished outside Le Louvre. OUr Canadian guide, Scott, was very entertaining and informative.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We paid for the two day ticket. We got on the bus at the Place De La Concorde on our first day handed over our printed ticket and was given our 2 day tickets without any fuss. The commentary is very good through the given headphones and we initially went on the grand tour which was very informative and took in all the main attractions along the Seine. We then spent the next 2 days visiting a number of the attractions, using the bus. We also did the Montmartre tour. Friendly and helpful staff, buses stopped very near to all main attractions. A must for first time travellers to Paris.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message